Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstrow.
SELECT u.*, p.* FROM J2Ov2_users AS u, J2Ov2_userpermissions AS p WHERE u.userID = 2288 AND u.userID = p.userID
Query executed succesfully (20 rows), returning as complete.
SELECT r.*, d.name AS levelName, ROUND(d.rating, 1) AS levelRating, u.username FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS d, J2Ov2_users AS u WHERE r.levelID = d.levelID AND r.userID = u.userID AND u.userID = 2288 AND d.deleted = 0 ORDER BY r.timestamp DESC LIMIT 20, 20
Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstfield.
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0
Jazz2Online

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
23 Mar 2005, 19:41
For: Points Of Authority + Tubelectric
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
8.0

I could download it now. I’m usually not much into reviewing musics, but there’s always the first time.

What we have here is a nice mash-up of Tube Electric (JJ1) and Linkin Park’s Points Of Authority.

Infact, I like this bootleg a lot, and will put it into my MP3 playlist I think.

The two songs fit together nicely, and create a nice new experience, especially if you knew both songs before.

The tube electric guitar was re-arranged, which sounds nice.

Overall:

A nice mash-up, worth the download especially for Rock fans.

EDIT:

Cooba, I just noticed that myself. :P

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
21 Mar 2005, 17:56
For: Digital Man
Level rating: 5.0
Rating
5.0

I recently reviewed the other one, so this one might get a review aswell.

The set itself is very small again, with a few simple black tiles with green symbols on them. You can make floor, slopes, destruct blocks with 16 hitpoints, a background and invisible floor + slopes. Hardly any eyecandy tiles, no detail. Spikes and a few blocks are included aswell, but it’s way too less. A good point is that the tileset is very easy to use, but it flops because you can make hardly any eyecandy with it and it’s too simple overall. The background doesn’t work in textured mode.

Overall:

Small tileset with only the most needed tiles, lacks eyecandy and anything original.

Overall Score: 5.0

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
21 Mar 2005, 13:52
For: Lava Processing Facility
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

Starting Comments:

I was betatesting this level, but I guess I manage to make the review unbiased.

Played with: Lori
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: N/A*

*As I betatested it, I already knew were most of the stuff was, thus playing time was shorter than usual.

Playability:

Very hard level, which is a good thing. I like hard levels. This one has very good enemy placement, nice puzzles and good item placement. The enemies are hard to avoid, but never unfair. There are also a few puzzles, which gives a nice change of pace and makes it more enjoyable.

Score: 8.0

Balance:

Hard as heck, great! I love the way the enemies are placed. A great improvement compared to the author’s last pack, which was fairly easy.

Score: 8.0

Creativity:

Not the most creative level I’ve ever seen, but the author did a nice job. The puzzles were quiet good, and some other stuff was done very well too. I like the way the level is in Nick Stadler style while still being different.

Score: 7.7

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy was OK. The sprite layer eyecandy was quite nice, the background could’ve had some more stuff. There are no tilebugs though, which is good. Overall the eyecandy is good enough for me.

Score: 7.0

Story:

This time the author even included a little story. It isn’t all around great, but it helps to make the level have a bit sense.

Score: 7.0

Overall:

Very good level with great enemy placement and good puzzles. It’s not perfect, but surely worth a download.

Overall Score: 8.0

Download Reccommendation: Yes

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
20 Mar 2005, 15:54
For: Metallic Velocity
Level rating: 5.2
Rating
5.2

Very small tileset we have here. It includes all necessary ground tiles, some grey wall tiles, a few blocks (most of them look kinda weird), (custom) text + exit signs, a spaceship, and a few more tiles. It does not look bad, but lacks major details and eyecandy tiles, aswell as background layers. It’s easy to use, but that doesn’t make up for the fact that the tileset is lacking lots of stuff. I guess you could make a decent level with it, but it will be difficult to make any eyecandy with the tileset. Maybe use it for a cutscene or something similiar.

Overall:

Very small tileset, with lack of detail and eyecandy tiles.

Score: 5.2

Download Reccommendation: No.

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
12 Mar 2005, 11:06
For: Balton
Level rating: 1.5
Rating
1.5

Starting Comments:

I’m too lazy to write starting comments.

Played with: Lori
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 20 minutes

Playability:

Bah. The level consists of shooting dozens of unfair placed enemies, finding some crates and a coin, and fighting two tuf’s surrounded by lots of other foos at the end. Enemy placement was horrible. I like hard levels, but not if they’re as unfair as this one. In many cases, I couldn’t avoid getting hurt. There was hardly any ammo aswell, the only thing I found was a RF powerup and three electro blasters. Carrots and savepoints were good placed though.

Score: 1.7

Balance:

Like I said, this level is way too unfair. It took me 20 minutes to finally get to the boss, where I accidentally fell off the arena and quit my game. All the enemies regenerate, and are so horribly placed that you can hardly survive and get hurt unfairly every few seconds. The placement of carrots and savepoints was good, but the enemies were too unfairly placed and too many aswell.

Score: 1.5

Creativity:

Not very creative. Shooting bunches of clumped together enemies which are unfairly placed has been there so many times. There were some elements which required you to find trigger crates and stuff, which made a little change, but still, this is not really creative. There was no plot either, and eyecandy is lame.

Score: 2.0

Eyecandy:

Dull. Only layer 8, 4 and 3 were used. Most tiles did fit together, but no real effort was put into making the level look beautiful. Very poor.

Score: 2.0

Fun Factor:

I hate unfair levels, which means I hate this one. It’s just not fun getting hurt all the time without being able to help it.

Score: 1.2

Overall:

Very unfair level, with clumped together enemies, dull eyecandy, and dull pickup placement. Not worth downloading.

Overall Score: 1.5

Download Reccommendation: No

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
10 Mar 2005, 15:11
For: Lightgazer
Level rating: 6.0
Rating
6.5

Starting Comments:

A single player pack? We’ll see what it has to offer. :)

Played with: Jazz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 20 minutes

Playability:

What we have here is a nice little single player pack with simple SP levels. Nothing more, but nothing less either. You do most of the standard stuff like shoot baddies, find coins, collect food and stuff. That sounds pretty dull, but I found playing pretty much enjoyable. There could’ve been a few more puzzle areas, but overall it’s ok. Pickup placement was nice. Sadly, after the sixth level JJ2 crashed because the author forgot to put in the tileset for level seven. :(

Score: 6.2

Balance:

The pack was pretty easy. The enemies aren’t placed in strategical locations, and for many, this will be too easy. There are some maze-like elements, but still, the difficulty could be boosted.

Score: 5.5

Creativity:

It was not all that creative, but somehow I liked it. There were also a few puzzle-like areas which gave some changes and made it more enjoyable. The story was not all that good though, and the eyecandy could’ve been better aswell.

Score: 6.0

Eyecandy:

Eyecandy was bad. Most tiles did fit together, but it was way too less decorated and it all looked boring. Needs work.

Score: 5.0

Story:

There was a tiny little story, but it wasn’t that amazing. Devan finds out about a relic called “Lightgazer”, with which he can catch souls. Jazz needs to stop him. I wonder what Devan does want with those souls, but who cares. During the levels you sadly feel nothing from the story. At least there was some kind of plot.

Score: 4.5

Overall:

A nice little level pack, nothing great, but enjoyable, at least for me. The eyecandy and story need work though, and it could’ve been more difficult aswell. Too bad, I had liked to play it to the end, but the tileset’s missing. :(

Overall Score: 6.5

Download Reccommendation: Yes

EDIT:

For a first work with JJ2 this is kinda good I must say.

Your problem about the jars floating around has something to do with layer properties (PM me if you want to have more information).

It’d be nice if you could include Plastic Dreams in the zip and re-upload it, so I can finish the pack.

Trying to find a good story is annoying I know, but like everything else in JCS, if you work hard enough you can actually come to great results.

Like I said, if you want help with layer properties you can contact me via private message or email me on pht2@gmx.de.

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
27 Feb 2005, 14:17
For: Redwall Abbey
Level rating: 1.7
Rating
1.5

Starting Comments:

We’ll see.

Played with: Lori
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 1 minute

Playability:

The level consists of finding some random crates, kill a bunch of ravens and find the exit. It took me 1 minute to complete, which is definately too short. There were no pickups at all.

Score: 1.5

Balance:

Very easy. Finding the crates is not all that hard, and the clumped together ravens can be easily killed. Needs improvement.

Score: 1.5

Creativity:

At least it was not a simple “find the exit” level, but it was just too short to call it creative. Maybe some obstacles which prevent you from getting the crates or something would’ve made this a lot better.

Score: 2.0

Eyecandy:

Sux. Lots of tilebugs, and no proper use of the tileset. There were some ladders which looked not bad though.

Score: 1.5

Fun Factor:

As it’s too short and too easy I did not find this fun to play at all.

Score: 1.5

Overall:

A very short and easy level. The eyecandy sucks, and it is not really worth the download.

Overall Score: 1.5

Review by PHT

Posted:
26 Feb 2005, 19:07
For: bonnis
Level rating: 3.0
Rating
N/A

If this is an update, please use the re-upload button.

You should read the upload rules.

Review by PHT

Posted:
25 Feb 2005, 09:35
For: Find your Lunch
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Starting Comments:

Hehe, Lark’s first level. ;D I just played through recently, and thought I’d get my evil fingers to write a little useless comment.

Played with: Jazz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 5 minutes

Playability:

There was some random stuff like food, enemies and lots of springs at the end. Not really that much thought was put into event placement, but hey, that’s what everyone’s first level is like. :P
After the springs part I could not find a way to go on.

Score: N/A

Balance:

Poorly balanced, with some random enemies which mostly don’t make sense at all. :P The last part was not bad, but very Jazz/Lori biased. Mine was even worse, trust me. :P

Score: N/A

Creativity:

Like I said, it doesn’t look like much thought was put into event placement, and it is not really creative. The spring obstacle part was not bad though.

Score: N/A

Eyecandy:

Sux0rs eyecandy. ;D Not as confusing as in my first level, but still lots of tilebugs. :P

Score: N/A

Fun Factor:

I like stuff that doesn’t make sense, so yes, great fun factor! :P

Score: N/A

Overall:

This comment doesn’t make sense at all, but who cares, I have nothing else to do. ;D My first level was worse than yours, with lots of stuff that doesn’t make sense and such. I like the dullness of this level. ;)

Overall Score: N/A

Download Reccommendation: YES!!! BEST LEVEL EVER!!

speaks to himself Shut up dude!

Review by PHT

Posted:
24 Feb 2005, 11:39
For: The cartoon episode 2(Unfinished).
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Starting Comments:

I enjoyed the first Cartoon episode, let’s see what this beta of the sequel has to offer.

Played with: Lori
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 20 minutes

Playability:

The level started with a kewl intro level, telling the story (more on that later). Then it goes on with pretty normal levels with lots of demons and dragonflies, a few trigger crates and a funny “endboss” at the end. There was nothing really original, which I found pretty dissapointing. The Cartoon Episode 1 had lots of original and fun stuff, while this one was too basic for me. I played with Lori, but often had to use jjfly because I couldn’t readge ledges. Ammo placement was fine though.

Score: N/A (6.0)

Balance:

The levels were pretty easy, another downfall. Some few enemies were strategically placed, but most were easy to defeat. The crates were not all that hard to find either. Pretty dissapointing again.

Score: N/A (5.5)

Creativity:

Like I said, the levels are mostly pretty basic, there was nothing that really stood in my mind. The intro level was very cool made, like you’d watch TV. The rest sadly wasn’t that original.

Score: N/A (6.0)

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy was better than in the first episode, but not that really great. The tileset lost in quality over the years, it probably could’ve been improved. The background was fine though, and I found no tilebugs.

Score: N/A (6.7)

Story:

The story was not all that original, the demons somehow came back and you have to stop them again. At least it was there though, and like I said I liked the intro level. Some text signs had spelling mistakes.

Score: N/A (6.0)

Overall:

This was sadly not as good as The Cartoon Episode 1. It was decent, but lacked originality. Eyecandy was decent too, the story was a bit dull. Download reccommendation? Maybe

Overall Score: N/A (6.5)

Download Reccommendation: Maybe

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
23 Feb 2005, 11:25
For: Fragile Existence
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
8.7

Starting Comments:

It’s been a while since I played this, but it seems I forgot to write a review. So I played again, and here goes:

Played with: Spaz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 45 minutes

Playability:

The level is very claustrophobical, you wander around in a maze of caves with lots of evilish enemies, and some very cool puzzle elements. After getting deeper into what I think is supposed to be an abandoned mining shaft you need to find a code. There are two signs telling you what the code is, but both are hardly readable, and so you have to find both and form a proper sentence out of them. After you got it out, you need to enter it in the security area. What happens after that I don’t know, because I lost my last life while trying to find the way back, and gave up on it. Yes, this level is very difficult, and can get pretty much frustrating. More on that in the following section.

Score: 8.0

Balance:

This level is very difficult, with lots of enemies in strategic locations, and a bunch of puzzle elements. I often found myself trying to find my way through a maze of corridors. The level begins not too hard, while still not being too easy. Once you’ve found the first check point it gets really difficult. I love the difficulty of this level, very well done.

Score: 9.0

Creativity:

Very creative. I like the layout, which is different than from most levels I’ve seen. The several puzzle areas are very original too, very well done. I don’t know about the story, so no points for that.

Score: 8.5

Eyecandy:

Nice eyecandy. It looks very good, and gives a nice atmosphere. No tilebugs, and some cool effects, make me give this an 8.5 again.

Score: 8.5

Fun Factor:

Players that like difficult levels with lots of maze and puzzle elements, will love this. However, the ones which like lots of ammo and not too hard levels will probably not as much. I enjoyed playing though, and will definately try to finish it in the near future.

Score: 8.0

Overall:

Very cool level. It has great layout, cool and original puzzles, and well placed enemies. People who liked Tomb Rabbit, will love this.

Note: I probably overrated this, as Nobody gave it only a 7, but I think this deserves more than a tiny 7.0.

Overall Score: 8.7

Download Reccommendation: Yes

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
20 Feb 2005, 15:14
For: A brand new Alien base
Level rating: 3.8
Rating
4.0

Starting Comments:

Phew. Reviewing time.

Played with: Spaz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 2 minutes

Playability:

I’ve recently played an older level by the same author, and it’s pretty similiar to this one. You’re in a base, this time inhabited by aliens instead of monkeys. You walk around, eat at the restaurant and kill some stupid aliens (lizards). Then the level ends. It was terribly short, and there was no ammo at all. Not that it’s needed but, oh well.

Score: 5.5

Balance:

The level was very easy, with only lizards and one or two floating ones. I finished in two minutes, and had not lost a single heart. Difficulty needs to be boosted a lot.

Score: 4.0

Creativity:

The restaurant was nice, but I’ve seen it before in that older level by the same author. The rest was not really creative. Nor was there any point why the player is in an alien base.

Score: 5.0

Eyecandy:

OK, you can’t make really good eyecandy with Mez01, but still, it could’ve been a lot better. It was just dull. The restaurant looked nice, but that was all. Needs improvements. No tilebugs though.

Score: 4.0

Fun Factor:

The easiness and shortness make this level very boring. The lizards are not really a “challenge” or something, and therefore it was very boring.

Score: 4.0

Overall:

I liked the old Monkey Base better, though not much. This level was very short, and very easy. The eyecandy suX0red and the rest was not great either. Not worth the download, unless you like easy, short levels with bars inside.

Overall Score: 4.0

Download Reccommendation: No

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
20 Feb 2005, 12:58
For: FEAR
Level rating: 4.5
Rating
4.5

Starting Comments:

Time for my daily review, and to rate this upload

Played with: Spaz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 25 minutes

Playability:

The levels mainly consist of very dark tombs (or something similiar) filled with enemies and spikeballs. From time to time you have to find a trigger crate. No goodies or ammo of that sort, just running around trying to avoid bats and ravens coming out of nowhere. I made it to the fourth level, where I gave it up, because it was really frustrating to get hit by enemies I couldn’t see all the time and having no ammo.

Score: 5.0

Balance:

The pack was somewhat unbalanced. Like I described in Playability, enemies come out of nowhere all the time and you can’t see them, because it’s dark. Often, I couldn’t find the way either, which was frustrating. There’s no ammo, and hardly any carrots or anything else to help you, which frustrates even more. In the fourth level I died, because a sucker tube ending right before a bat, which I couldn’t avoid. Hard levels like Tomb Rabbit are great in my opinion, but they should never be unfair, like this level pack.

Score: 3.0

Creativity:

The pack is not really creative, just hordes of enemies you can hardly avoid, some random passages and from time to time a trigger crate. There were some story bits, but I did not really get the story of this. I don’t think this is really creative, and therefore can’t give a high score.

Score: 4.0

Eyecandy:

Because of the dark lighting you can hardly see anything, but the parts with higher lighting looked pretty dull most of the time. In the first level it wasn’t bad, but it gets worse the more far you get. Needs improvement.

Score: 5.0

Story / Fun Factor:

I’m not sure, wether I should rate Story or Fun Factor. Like I said, there are some story bits, but I did not really get why I’m doing this. The Fun Factor was not better, mainly because it was so incredibly unfair. Some kind of story would’ve helped the atmosphere of this pack I guess.

Score: 3.0

Overall:

A very unfair pack, with clumped together enemies and lots of unfair stuff which isn’t fun to play. The eyecandy was pretty dull too, and what is supposed to be the story is not really good. No download reccommendation.

Overall Score: 4.5

Download Reccommendation: No.

Review by PHT

Posted:
19 Feb 2005, 14:49
For: Jungleswamp
Level rating: 6.0
Rating
6.0

Played with: Jazz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 20 minutes

Starting Comments:

This upload was left blank without review, so I clicked ‚Download’ and played.

Playability:

The concept of this level is to find crates to open doors. To get a crate, you must solve a parcours. Each has different obstacles. For example, in one you’re getting morphed to a frog and need to jump over enemies to find Eva. Another one is an airboard test, with annoying floating suckers. Overall the concept is not bad, but some things just don’t fit to a jungle, which destroyed the atmosphere. For example, why do the green leaves in the airboard test beam you back? A bad point of the level is ammo placement, on which I can be really short: There’s NO ammo. That means you have to get through the whole level with your blaster. The enemies were often placed in strategical places, but sometimes in an unfair way. In the airboard test I mentioned above I often could decide: Either get hurt by a sucker or get warped back. Overall not bad, though it could be better. Also I’ve seen most of the stuff in here before.

Score: 6.2

Balance:

Some parts, especially the airboard thingy were freaking annoying, because they were unfair, while others like the frog parcour were pretty easy. That made the level very unbalanced. Same with enemy placement. Some enemies were placed well (=they have an advantage, but can be countered), while others were unfair. If the level was more balanced, it would’ve been more fun I think.

Score: 5.5

Creativity:

The concept was not amazingly original, but at least it’s not a standard “find teh exit and kill tha boss” level. Most things in here I have seen plenty of times before though. Nothing more to say.

Score: 6.5

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy was good. Not amazing, but the set was used well and I saw no tilebugs. Some more foreground stuff would’ve been nice, but it’s good the way it is. Again, nothing amazing though.

Score: 6.7

Fun Factor:

The unbalancedness of the level has really hurt the fun factor, aswell as the “I’ve seen that before” effect. It was not bad, but I’ve had more fun with other levels. Nothing more to say.

Score: 6.2

Overall:

Not bad as first level, though it really needs to be more balanced. A story would be nice too, because there was no real reason why I am doing this at all. The eyecandy was well done, though not amazing.

The authors have asked to not to rate this too hard, but I’m rating this like everything else, otherwise it would be unfair.

Not a bad level at all, though several things need to be improved on. Download if you like.

Score: 6.0

Download Recommendation: N/A

PS: No offense, just one thing I’d like to tell you, a sentence like “Find the crates to get to the exit !!!!” looks and sounds a lot better with only one explanation mark.

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
15 Feb 2005, 16:00
For: Foggy day
Level rating: 7.1
Rating
6.7

Starting Comments:

I have lots of time, so I shall review this level.

Played with: Lori
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 5 minutes

Playability:

The level was, apart from the fog, a pretty basic single player level. There was nothing really special in gameplay, but I had fun playing. Sadly the level was very short, I played through in 5 minutes. Nothing more to say on this subject.

Score: 6.0

Balance:

Sadly the level was very easy. I lost a heart or two being hit by fencers, but that’s all. The difficulty should be boosted a lot, by adding enemies in places where they have an advantage, and maybe an endboss.

Score: 5.5

Creativity:

The fog idea was good, apart from that the level is not really creative. Like I said in Playability, the only thing to do is get to the exit. Maybe a puzzle or something similiar would make it more fun, but for such a short level it’s enough I guess, and I did not get bored.

Score: 6.0

Eyecandy:

The fog in one of the foreground layers looks pretty cool, I liked it. The rest was fine, there were no tile bugs and the Colonius tileset was used perfectly. The sewer area was very dark, which made it look pretty cool.

Score: 7.0

Fun Factor:

The level was very short, and featured nothing really original apart from the fog, still I enjoyed playing, so I guess it deserves a 7.

Score: 7.0

Overall:

A nice little level to play through. Nothing amazing, but I enjoyed it. If you like Single Player, download this. If you are looking for an amazingly original single player pack you better go with FSP.

Overall Score: 6.7

Download Reccomendation: Yes

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
11 Feb 2005, 16:16
For: Fall Of Carrotus v1.0
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
7.5

Starting Comments:

This pack was uploaded a while ago, but the author is back on J2O now and so I decided to make him happy via writing a review for this pack. :)

Played with: Spaz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 1 hour 30 minutes

Playability:

The pack started fairly easy, with not too long sewer level. Nothing special about that one. In the second level it gets a lot harder. You travel through a city, where it seems all the rabbits have been killed by evil lizards and rats. There are also lots of passages with spike balls and similiar stuff. The third level was not as hard as the second one, but still it wasn’t easy. The fourth level forced me to finally give up, as it was very hard again.
The item placement was fine in all the levels, but I feel some more carrots would’ve been useful because some places are really too hard.

Score: 7.5

Balance:

The pack started with an easy sewer level, but got very hard then. Too hard for me. Strategically used enemies everywhere, and lots of evil spikeball traps. After a long time I managed to get through the second level, just to die soon after in the fourth one. I like difficult levels, bit some parts of the pack were just unfair, like the part in the second level were you had to fly through dozens of spikeballs with an airboard. In the fourth level there was a place with lots of platforms with keys on them. I often had no clue where I’d land on, as it was often not visible where to jump. The difficulty should be toned down a bit, I think, because I really got frustrated with it.

Score: 6.0

Creativity:

Some parts of the pack were pretty creative, like the end of the second level where you have to defeat a lot of Robots. Doesn’t sound very original, but somehow the author managed to do that the player needs to defeat all of them, instead of just one which I’ve never seen before. I liked the story too, which was pretty cool.

Score: 7.5

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy was decent, but nothing more. The third and the fourth level had way too less sprite eyecandy, while I liked the background layers of level 4. There were no tilebugs, but a little more work could’ve made the pack more enjoyable to look at.

Score: 6.5

Story:

The pack had an intricated story, which I found very good. It’s not the most exciting story line ever, but it added a nice touch to the levels.

Score: 8.0

Overall:

I liked some aspects of this pack, while I hated others. The first thing is that it really was too hard some times. I often I couldn’t help getting hurt, which was not fun at all. The second dissapointment was the eyecandy, which was decent, but nothing more. Other than that the pack was nice, it had a cool storyline and the levels were fun (apart from those unfair parts). It’s worth a download reccommendation I think.

Overall Score: 7.5

Download reccomendation: Yes

Review by PHT

Posted:
10 Feb 2005, 22:27
For: Fearofdark: Jazz 1 game. (Episode 1: Devans Comeback
Level rating: 7.0
Rating
6.7

Starting Comments:

This pack was uploaded some time ago, but as there is only one review so far I gotta write one too. :)

Played with: Jazz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 31 minutes

Playability:

The levels were pretty decent for me. They were fun, but not a masterpiece. You travel through various JJ1 planets killing baddies, collecting goodies and sometimes solving a little puzzle. The levels were not very long, but the size was ok for me. Some more different obstacles would’ve made the pack more fun though, and some shields were toi easy to get. I found the bonus level in Lagunicus, which was cool, but a bit bugged. There is an event for secret levels which actually WORKS, though the author seems to have used the wrong one.

Score: 6.5

Balance:

I found the pack pretty easy, mainly because the only obstacles are enemies, which are not used in strategic areas most of the time. Increased difficulty would make this a lot more fun.

Score: 5.0

Creativity:

Most of the pack was pretty basic, some creativity was shown only in the secret level of Lagunicus, which was kind of original, and the few puzzle areas. The rest was pretty standard. Maybe more puzzles or some other stuff would make the pack much more enjoyable.

Score: 6.5

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy could’ve been a lot better. There were no major tilebugs, if any, but the background was often very empty and the sprite layer did not have enough eyecandy either. It’s decent though.

Score: 6.0

Fun Factor:

At the start of the pack there’s a message telling you Devan warped Eva to the end of the universe, therefore you have to travel through all those planets. However, that’s all so I guess I’ll rate Fun Factor instead of Story.

Apart from the easiness the pack was pretty fun, maybe a bit short but not bad at all. There could be more places with springs, poles, etc. like in the original JJ2 levels. Maybe some endbosses would’ve been cool too. Those who like fast paced packs which are not too hard will like this a lot. I found it too easy though, like I’ve already said.

Score: 7.0

Overall:

Overall a decent pack. It’s not a masterpiece, but worth a play if you have like not too long packs with not too hard difficulty. The eyecandy should be boosted, aswell as the item placement should be renewed and changed a bit. Still I think it’s worth a 6.8.

Overall Score: 6.7

Download Reccomendation: Maybe

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
10 Feb 2005, 17:57
For: The Monkey Base
Level rating: 4.3
Rating
4.2

I’ve seeked through the review ideas section and found this two years old upload with only two reviews. I have too much spare time, so I downloaded and wrote a review for it.

Played with: Jazz
On difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 5 minutes

Playability:

Your objective in this level is to escape from the Monkey base. To do so, you’ll have to kill some monkey guards, solve a few puzzles, steal the monkey’s bananas (hehe), and find the escape pod, which brings you home. The level was pretty easy and very short, but not all that bad. I liked some aspects of it, like the monkey cafe (or something similiar, I forgot the name). The weapon placement was bad, at one point there was a blaster powerup which makes your gun too powerful, at another there was some useless toaster and TNT ammo, which I did not really use. The ammo should be placed on more strategic locations I think.

Score: 4.5

Balance:

The level was very easy, the monkeys were no problem at all and the puzzles were rather easy too. Needs to be improved drastically.

Score: 3.0

Creativity:

The level was not a masterpiece at all, but some creativity was shown, like there is an actual plot (escape from the monkey base). Like I said before I liked the monkey bar. There are some little puzzles too, which helps to keep the players interest.

Score: 6.0

Eyecandy:

Eyecandy is were the level really fails. OK, you can’t really make great eyecandy with Mez01, but some little more than this could easily be done to improve this level. It doesn’t really look like a base, and there are only two layers used, 4 and 8 which is too less. There are no tilebugs though.

Score: 3.8

Story:

There was a little plot, Psycho_Man (the player) is held captive inside the monkey base, and must find a way to escape. It wasn’t all that much, but at least there is something. There are some things I don’t understand though, like what Eva does in the monkey base, or why the monkeys captured you at all.

Score: 4.0

Overall:

Overall this level is not bad, but also not good. It lacks eyecandy, the item placement is messed up, the level is too easy and it’s too short, not to forget the story holes.

No download reccomendation for now, but we’ll see. Maybe next time.

Overall Score: 4.2

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
5 Feb 2005, 21:17
For: End Game
Level rating: 1.5
Rating
1.5

Played with: Spaz
Difficulty: Medium
Playing time: 3 minutes

Playability:
The gameplay somehow sucks. In the first level you kill some randomly placed enemies, then get an airboard, fly around and kill some enemies again. After that I saw the exit, but there was a path to go up too, and as I had an airboard I followed it. I found out that it was actually Jazz’ part, so I flew back, and got into the exit. The second level is filled with around 10 bosses. I first tried beating them, but soon noticed there was a path I could follow too. I decided to flee, shot a birdy morph, and flew away, into the exit. There were no goodies, or anything else, just this stuff which doesn’t make sense at all, and is not fun to play.
Score: 1.2

Creativity:
I can’t call this creative, really. Nothing more to say.
Score: 1.2

Balance:
The levels are somewhat untested, and don’t make sense at all. They’re both pretty easy, and 3 minutes is definetely too less.
Score: 1.2

Eyecandy:
There is absoluetely NO eyecandy. Just some corridors, lined up with a random tile. The first level has some background layers, which I believe are stolen from one of the original levels though.
Score: 1.0

Story:
There was some plot behind, but I don’t really understand it. The only thing I got from it, was that Devan built a base (at least that’s what it’s supposed to be) on Tube-Electric, and Jazz has to stop him somehow. The rest I did not really get.
Score: 1.2

Overall:
Overall this has probably taken 10 minutes to make, while it takes 3 minutes to play through. There’s absolutely no effort or something, but I give it a 1.5 because I’m nice. :P

No download reccomendation, for the reasons mentioned above.

Review by PHT

Posted:
5 Feb 2005, 20:37
For: Bjossi´s LevelPack 2.2
Level rating: 6.2
Rating
6.2

Well, nobody has reviewed this pack so far, so I’ll do my best and write a little bit about it.

Played with: Spaz
Difficulty mode: Medium
Playing time: 1 hour and 30 minutes

Playability:
Most levels in the pack are pretty basic. You run around, shoot enemies, collect goodies and way too much ammo, and somehow find the exit. A storyline or some original stuff would make playbility much better. A little break is the diamondus level, which has lots of witches, which were fun to beat. Rating: 6.2*

Creativity:
Creativity is where the pack fails. Like described in the playbility part, there’s hardly anything which stands out in memory, nothing really creative. What about including some puzzles for example? Would be much more fun then. Or maybe a special arena for boss fights, a story line, whatever?
Rating: 3.0

Balance:
All levels, excluding the Diamondus level, were too easy, mainly because enemies were not used strategically and there were no puzzles. The difficulty should be boosted a lot, by using the enemies in places where they have an advantage. For example, flying enemies like bats or ravens can get through walls, while Jazz can’t. That can easily be used to their advantage, making it more difficult and challenging.
Score: 5.0

Eyecandy:
The eyecandy needs to be drastically improved imo. Most levels have tilebugs and too less eyecandy. Do something original, infact, make it look different than the standard levels + make it look good.
Score: 6.0**

Fun Factor***:
It may sounded like this pack was really bad, but well, it’s not that horrible. Some of the levels, especially level 8, my favourite one were pretty fun, and if you’re a fan of lots of ammo and enemies, you’ll like this. If the eyecandy is made better, a few unusual things get added, and the difficulty gets boosted the pack will be pretty fun, so I’ll give it a 6.0 for now.
Score: 6.0

Overall:
I’ll give the pack a 5 for now, as I guess it took very long to build it. Still there are several things which need to be improved, remember, BE CREATIVE! Once your stuff is different than other’s stuff, it will get much more enjoyable to play. Good luck!

PS: Feel free to contact me for more help, betatesting or whatever.

-PHT

EDIT: I’m not sure about download reccommendation, so I’ll check N/A.

EDIT 2: Be careful to use less ammo next time. ;-)

EDIT 3:

  • The rating for Playability was raised to a 6.2, because it seems I have counted to much on the non-existing story, which the author planned not to make.

  • The eyecandy rating was increased to 6.0, because the author has bad vision and therefore the tilebugs are not his fault.

  • Due to the complains of some people I’ve rated Fun Factor instead of Story, which increases the overall rating a 6.2

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3


Database object (reading from database "jazzonli_j2o") terminated.
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0