Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstrow.
listReviews.php:9 → class.User.php:145 → class.db.php:196
SELECT u.*, p.* FROM J2Ov2_users AS u, J2Ov2_userpermissions AS p WHERE u.userID = 2288 AND u.userID = p.userID
Query executed succesfully (20 rows), returning as complete.
listReviews.php:25 → class.db.php:196
SELECT r.*, d.name AS levelName, ROUND(d.rating, 1) AS levelRating, u.username FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS d, J2Ov2_users AS u WHERE r.levelID = d.levelID AND r.userID = u.userID AND u.userID = 2288 AND d.deleted = 0 ORDER BY r.timestamp DESC LIMIT 40, 20
Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstfield.
listReviews.php:43 → class.db.php:196
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0
Jazz2Online

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
25 Dec 2004, 19:29
For: TDI2
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.0

I played it, but never had time to review it. So here goes:

Playability:
The level pack was very nice to play, there were many cool puzzles, most of them were quite original. The items were placed very well, and so were the enemies most of the time, somtimes they were a bit unfair though. I liked the boss fight in the last level.
Rating: 8.5

Creativity:
The levels were really creative, I especially liked the several puzzles (like I already said). The only thing that dissapointed me a bit was the first level, it could’ve been a tad bit longer, not just an endboss fight. The rest was really fine, and there were some great ideas.
Rating: 8.5

Balance:
The levels were well balanced, not too easy but also not to hard. Exception is again the first level, where there is a fire shield in easy mode, which makes it too easy.
Rating: 8.

Eyecandy:
The eyecandy was different than the one from TDI 1, it wasn’t as confusing as in the first pack, but it was also not as good as in the first pack. The eyecandy was not bad, but it doesn’t reach TDI1. A lot of people complained about the eyecandy in TDI1 because it was very confusing at times, but it didn’t disturb me either. However, you still did a good job on eyecandy which is worth a 7.5 I think.
Rating: 7.5

Story:
The levels mostly lacked story elements, the only thing I knew from the first level is that I had to find the forbidden area. An exception is the last level, where it looks like Devan tells Bolly to kill Jazz, which looks kinda cool. The levels could’ve had more story elements though.
Rating: 7.0

I hope you are satisfied with this review, even though it is not all that detailed. I liked your episode and it would be cool if it was finished, good job!
I think it deserves an 8.0 overall, and I hope to see more work from you in the future.

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
16 Dec 2004, 17:49
For: Desert Adventure
Level rating: 3.3
Rating
2.5

@ Nobody: Look at the Single player archive: There are plenty of high rated nonTSF SP things there, or if you want something new, play FSP: Rent Collection.

Review for Desert Adventure:

Playability:
In the first level you wander through a hot desert with some old buildings you must get through and some evil animals. The buildings have no windows and are therefore very dark, but too dark in my opinion. If you’re in a dark room you can still see a little bit. So the lighting should be a bit higher, making it a bit less unfair. After some time aliens beamed me up to their spaceship and the level ended. After that my JJ2 crashed because the next level seems not to be included at all.

Creativity:
The level is not all that creative, wether gameplay-, nor eyecandywise. The dark rooms spend the player a bit different, but that’s all. I liked how the UFO beamed me up at the end though, which was well done.

Balance:
On the outside the level is fairly easy, while the dark parts are unfair, because you can’t see anything. Made me die once.

Eyecandy:
The eyecandy is fairly dull. The tileset used seems to be from the same author as the level, but it’s not very good at all. There are some tiny 2D graphics, a weird looking background, and that was it. Really needs some work.

Story:
There’s no story at all, there’s no reason why the player is in a desert and so you go on, until aliens capture you. Needs work too.

Overall:
Overall this level pack is first of all not fully playable, because the author forgot to put in the second level. What I’ve played was fairly dull, reasons for that are found in the above sections.

As only the first level is playable and the rest isn’t, I must sadly give this a 2.5

Review by PHT

Posted:
7 Nov 2004, 15:36
For: Hot Battle V 1.4
Level rating: 7.1
Rating
N/A

erm… one question to Olsen, if you try to get the average, how do you get 8.7 out of 8.7, 8.5 and 8? :)

Cooba, PLEASE FORGIVE ME I DIDN’T NOTICE THE DESCRIPTION! .

Review by PHT

Posted:
19 Oct 2004, 20:12
For: devans return
Level rating: 2.5
Rating
N/A

@ Tover:
I don’t wanna see your first level, OR WAS IT BETTER?
It rarely happens that a first level is great.

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
8 Oct 2004, 16:50
For: Power Shortage
Level rating: 6.3
Rating
6.2

Yaih Single Player! :D

Eyecandy:
The eyecandy was very boring, there are always the same tiles used. Also there could be some foreground stuff, or maybe one or two background layers. No original ideas, but at least no tilebugs.
Pros: No tilebugs
Cons: Very boring eyecandy, always the same tiles used, no creativity
Rating: 4.0

Gameplay:
The gameplay is not bad, nothing spectacular though. You run through corridors filled up with thousands of suckers and some lizards. People that like action-packed levels will probably like this. Puzzle-oriented players will really miss the puzzle elements. The only one is collecting 20 coins for the coin warp. That’s too less I think, there should have been more. The rest of the level is fine, though may boring for some.
Pros: Not too easy, not too hard, I liked the boss fight
Cons: Probably needs some more original ideas, maybe too less puzzle elements for some
Rating: 6.0

Ammo placement:
The ammo placement was good, you don’t get too many weapons and also not too less. It was balanced and it didn’t make the level too easy. Sometimes it was really hard to get.
Pros: Very good placement, hard to get in most situations
Cons: Probably too less ammo for some
Rating: 7.0

Enemy placement:
In this level the author used a major advantage of floating suckers and floating lizards: Normal enemies often loose fastfire, carrots, etc. when being shot. Floating suckers + lizards do that too, but if they are placed over spikes hardly anybody will buttstomp them (after they were shot down) to grab things because with this tactic they’d die really fast. This makes the level challenging which is a good thing. The problem of the enemy placement is that there are too many enemies. Just too many.
Pros: Author used an intelligent strategy for making it challenging
Cons: Often too many enemies in one spot
Rating: 6.2

Bugs:
There aren’t any bugs except one: The safepoint is placed next to a wall, which ‘causes that you get stuck in it if you die. That’s annoying and could easily be avoided. Other than that I found nothing.

Overall:
Eyecandy: Needs improvement
Gameplay: OK
Ammo placement: Good
Enemy placement: OK
Bugs: OK

Overall this is not a spectacular level, but it is also not bad. People that like actionpacked levels that aren’t too easy will probably like this. Others can maybe download it, but they don’t need. Because I’m undecided about download recommendation I will give a N/A.
I think a 6.2 fits.

Not recommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
22 Sep 2004, 18:42
For: The Mighty Tower (It's really hard! Try it!)
Level rating: 4.4
Rating
6.0

Actually there is stuff for layer 5 which could be used. Also what about some creativity? If you can’t find anymore eyecandy tiles think about other tiles to use.

Eyecandy:
At the start of the first level the eyecandy seems to be not bad, I like the stuff in layer five. If you go further up it gets boring because only the same tiles are used again and again. The lighting is ok though.
In the second level the tileset is changed to the night version and it’s darker which looks very cool. Still there is not really much eyecandy.
Pros: No tilebugs, good lighting
Cons: Gets boring really fast, no background layers
Final Rating: 5.0

Gameplay:
Gameplay is not really original, but I found it interesting to play. You have to get up a tower which is guarded by a lot of enemies. Sounds boring, but the enemies are a bit strategically placed which keeps it interesting (I didn’t believe someone would find a way to place a floating sucker strategically :D). In the first level you get some weapons and start your journey to the top. In one place there’s a “froggy lane” which is ripped from “Snow in Carrotus”, with the difference of it being easier.
In the second level there seems to be some sort of puzzle, but one spot is impossible because a sucker tube is modified in a wrong way. Because I really didn’t knew what to do I won’t rate the rest of the level.
Food placement is decent, gems are a bit sparsely placed. I only used the blaster powerup and sometimes the bouncer pu, the other weapons aren’t really needed I think.
Pros: Sometimes strategically placed enemies keep it interesting, decent food placement
Cons: Froggy Lane is ripped, too less gems, most weapons at the start aren’t really needed.
Final Rating: 6.0

Weapon Placement:
At the start of the first level you get six weapons, I only used two of them which gives me the feel the other four weren’t really needed. Also there could be a coin warp or something which gives you some additional weapons, and less weapons at the start.
No pros and cons this time because Violet is a pink elephant. :)
Final Rating: 5.7

Enemy Placement:
The baddys were sometimes strategically placed which is good. Also I like that there are many different enemies used. The baddys were neither unfair placed, which makes a 7.5
Pros: Often strategically placed baddys, many different ones, no unfair placed enemies
Cons: Some don’t really fit to the tileset
Final Rating: 7.5

Bugs:
In the first level there is a gate which you have to open. Above there is a vine, but you can’t get through because it seems the author forgot to put vine events. I cheated jjnowall though so I could continue.
In the second level there is a sucker tube which is wrong modified, it pushes you back down when you enter it and there are no other things you could do. Sadly there’s no real why to ignore this bug with cheating, so I sadly have to give a 5.
Final Rating: 5.0

So now my review seems to be finished,
so let’s do the ending comments. Overall:
Eyecandy isn’t all that interesting, really needs more work.
Gameplay is ok, though there could be some new ideas
Weapon placement…..some will like the idea, others won’t
Enemy placement is not bad, but next time look a bit if your choices fit to the tileset
The bug in the second level really ruins the hole pack, the player isn’t able to finish it, so sorry no download reccomendation, but a solid 6.0.

Review by PHT

Posted:
15 Sep 2004, 17:12
For: Easter Battle
Level rating: 4.0
Rating
N/A

First thing is that I said in the readme that I’m unable to test if the trigger system works in Internet mode because I’m unable to play over the internet. So that’s possibly not my fault. Second thing is the start position + text strings are hardly reachable and it is nearly impossible to kill someone from there with your blaster, also for that stuff I put a full energy carrot inside every weapon room. The room with the fast fire gun instead of powerup has no powerup because TNT powerup doesn’t work correctly. The thing with weapon rooms are unfair could be right, though (<— spelled right now?) the room with the Ice Powerup not only has RFs, it also has the RF POWERUP. Also seeker room has only one weapon instead of two.
No TNT in battle, heck you are right that’s my fault.
Design? OK, I see it’s not really great. Sorry.
For the eyecandy I do not agree with you, at least I don’t agree it’s buggy because there are no tilebugs I could find, also on the bottom it’s not dull, on the platforms it’s hardly possible to put eyecandy. I don’t know why layer 3 gets confusing for you, because all the stuff (except a few) is before walls which shouldn’t disturb anybody.

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
8 Sep 2004, 15:44
For: BRH - Episode 1
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
9.0

As there are only two reviews yet I will also make one. :D

Eyecandy:
In all levels the eyecandy was very good, I see the author put a lot of effort into it. I especially liked the background layers, but the sprite eyecandy was also done very well. In the last level there is a wall in a forground layer with speed 0 which I think is because this way you can see a bit less which makes it harder. I saw no tilebugs, and I really have to give a 9.2 for this great eyecandy.
Pros: Very good eyecandy, a lot of effort put into
Cons: in the 3rd level could be a little bit more in the foreground
Final Rating: 9.2

Gameplay:
The gameplay was interesting. Even tough it was a bit too easy, I really had fun playing this. Cool enemies, original ideas, good puzzles and else. Nothing amazingly cool tough.
Pros: Original ideas, good puzzles
Cons: Too easy
Final Rating: 8.5

Ammo placement:
The ammo placement was very good, I never ran out of ammo but sometimes there was just too much ammo.
Pros: Solid ammo placement
Cons: sometimes too much ammo
Final Rating: 8.5

Enemy placement:
The enemies were placed very well, they always fit the level (I don’t agree with Superjazz :P) and are sometimes strategically placed.
Pros: good enemy placement, sometimes strategically placed
Cons: In some places are definitely a bit too much
Final Rating: 8.5

Bugs:
I couldn’t find a lot of bugs, the only one I remember is in the first level. You have to answer a question from wise owl, but where is it? She never asked me anything else then “Do you believe you can answer this question?” I answered yes and she said I should go on.
Pros: Not many bugs
Cons: Wise Owl bug thing
Final Rating: 9.0

Overall:
Overall I really like this pack, it’s done in a way which makes it a lot of fun and I hope to see part 2 soon. Good Work!
Pros: Original Gameplay, solid enemy and weapon placement, great eyecandy
Cons: Bug with Wise Owl in level 1, sometimes too much ammo, too easy
Final Rating: 8.7 + bonus level included: 9.0

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Escape from Nippius
Level rating: 8.2
Rating
N/A

Can ya make a jj2 version? Don’t have JJ1 :(

Cooba, I don’t care if you care as I asked Violet and NOT YOU! I don’t need comments like that if I not even thought on you while typing. Next time, shut up or say something nicer.[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Harry Potter Music 2
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

What’s wrong if it’s bigger than 1MB? I don’t understand you Jarno..

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: JJ1: Bloxonius
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
7.7

Hi!
I’m too lazy to write a long review, so I’ll keep it short. I really like this conversion. I started to make a level, and after a minute I knew a story. :)
Well, I decided to make a level pack and the first level will be with this conversion from lil Labratkid. :D
The tiles are converted very well, and Labratkid added some useful things like slopes and a funny guy which head you can shoot. :)
Also, there is a sky texture, which let’s you create outdoor passages.
I WON’T rate the example level (tough I don’t understand why people always come and punish me when I do..), but it doesn’t work as well, because there’s something done wrong with the triggers. Tough, I like the Randomizer idea.

However, good work from LRK and worth downloading. The only thing I dislike is that the shadows are a bit hard to use (until you got out how they work).

I think I’ll give this a 7.7, it would be higher, but I wished there would be more new tiles..

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Quidditch Race
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
7.7

Yet, another race level from Jaws. There’s no review yet (or at least as I began to write there wasn’t any) so let me do the job.

The gameplay is cool, you first get an airboard, then one of those dudes from Harry Potter tells you to catch the snitch. The snitch, fly’s away from you and you have to catch it to win. The level isn’t insane hard, but the sprite layer is confusing because I couldn’t tell what’s solid and what isn’t. At least, the level is original and not too easy.

The background layers were cool, I really like the way they are done. What gets on my nervs is the sprite layer. At the start, I was really confused, because I didn’t knew what’s solid and where you can fly through. That’s probably the tileset’s fault. Well, it’s the fault of the author of the tileset, which, in general means Jaws should’ve putted in some shadows on the sides of unmasked layer 4 tiles, so you could easier see where you can get through. Tough, I like how the snitch was done and the Harry Potter dudes are kewl.

The weapon placement is good, you get what you want, and enough of it. It’s only TNT and Ice, but that are the most useful weapons in race. Also, in the tunnel passage the ice ammo was very useful.

Overall, this is a spiffy race level and it’s worth a play, or two, or three, or what da hell ya want :)
The only thing that really disturbed me was the sprite layer, I suggest Jaws to edit it so that it’s easier to see where you’re going. Download Reccomendation and a 7.7
Oh, and a note to lil Jaws: Sorry for the review of your Space Vikings race lvl being so short. :)

PHT

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Space Race
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
7.2

Cool level dude :D
This is a spiffy little race level, no super hyper mega level, but worth to play and beat your friend with :P
The level isn’t too hard, but it is long and uses the tileset in a very good way.
Overall a good level, and + 0.2 points because race levels are very rare in these times. Have fun.

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Captain Cook (both versions) v1.2
Level rating: 8.3
Rating
7.5

Hey, very cool programm! :D
I like the idea of the programm, and no one of the errors Trafton mentioned happened as I tried it out.
The bad point is that I also think the layout could’ve been more interesting and some more info on the level would be cool. Overall, I give this a 7.5 and a strong download reccomendation for all those with a bunch of files in their JJ2 directory.

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Tropicana Bay
Level rating: 7.3
Rating
N/A

I like Single Player, so here’s my review about this one:

LEVEL DESIGN
The level design is not like in normal single player levels. The concept is, that you find 5 keys and then go to a cave where maybe a treasure is hidden. This concept is not new, but it’s something other than simply “Find the exit, or I’ll eat you” levels.

SCORE: 7.0

EYECANDY
Eyecandy is ok, but nothing really special. The level has no tilebugs, and I don’t understand why Olsen thinks the texture on layer 8 doesn’t work, because for me it worked fine. The level could use more background layers, and I guess you can make much better eyecandy with the tileset Cracco used. I’ve seen worse, tough.

SCORE: 6.5

GAMEPLAY
The gameplay is very well, tough the level has some things I don’t like. First is the water, it’s not really logic that if you jump into the water you can walk in it (because the water is on layer 5 and Cracco didn’t use the water event). The second thing is the big jump, which I didn’t manage to do with Spaz because of a masking error. After several tries I had to switch to Jazz. >:(
I also think, if there is a part which you should do with Spaz, and not with Jazz there simply should be buttstomp blocks, made in a way that only Spaz can kick them, then a sucker tube and right after them and there’s no way to do it with Jazz.

What I like is how Cracco made the Vulcano (is that a word?). It’s made very well, so congrats for that. I wished there would be some food or stuff, but there wasn’t. Also it’s plainly easy.

SCORE: 7.0

AMMO
There was only one spot with ammo in it, a cave “under” water, but you won’t need more and it’s regenerating for no reason. :P

SCORE: 6.7

BADDIES
There are very few enemies, not many tough. I think there should be more, to make the level harder. Also, Cracco, trust me, fish do not work without the water event. :P

SCORE: 5.0

HURT EVENTS AND OTHER OBSTACLES
There aren’t any hurt events, but lotsa other obstacles, mostly some jumping passages. They could be harder, I think. Also, there’s still the mistake with the jump, that you should do with Spaz, if you don’t wanna be a lamer, but that’s impossible with Spaz.

SCORE: 6.2

TILESET
I like the tileset. Don’t get mad, please, but I will now break up this review and make a level with the set. :P
I’ll finish the other sections later :)

USE OF TILESET
coming soon…

CONCLUSION
coming soon…

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: SuperStencil 2.0 TSF
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Can you please explain what it is and what you can do with it, in general? :)
I’m dumb :P[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: CaKeY
Level rating: 7.9
Rating
6.7

I like reviewing, so I’ll review this set now :P

TILESET
The tileset has some very well made graphics, but sadly it’s rather small. It doesn’t have enough stuff to make an interesting level at all. Like said before, the graphics are nice, but the background is confusing and hard to use. Also I don’t really know what it should be in general. There isn’t any foreground stuff, and only one thing to use at the background. That’s too less to make good eyecandy with this set.
SCORE: 6.0 out of 10

LEVEL
The example level is ok, it shows what you can do with some tiles (hooks, hurts and stuff), but it doesn’t have enemys, food and all that other stuff you need in a level. Also, as I played the level I didn’t realize that weird thing was supposed to be a sucker tube :P All in all, the level could be more detailed, tough I think it uses all the tiles.

3.0 out of 5

MUSIC
The level uses the Hell music, which surprisingly fits very well.

4.0 out of 5

CONCLUSION
Well, this set has an interesting idea, but it’s too small and there isn’t enough stuff to do with it. Tough, keep in mind that I have seen much worther tilesets than this, and it isn’t very hard to use (except the background, which I couldn’t get like I wanted it to be). Use this? Well, maybe for a battle level once. But for single player it just doesn’t have enough stuff.
SCORE: 6.0

Have fun

NOTES:
Cooba: In my opinion rating example levels is ok, as long as it doesn't affect the final score as much as the tileset itself. ALSO DON'T CALL ME PARP OR A POLAR BEAR WILL COME AND EAT YOU :P ToxicBunny: I’ll vote for the set on the poll now, good luck.
EDIT:

GOOD
-better example level
-better background
-sucker tube now looks more like a sucker tub
-some new tiles

BAD
-background has the same color than the normal walking ground (it should be a bit darker)
-background is the same as the sprite layer ground in smaller

I like this set a lot more now, and I’ve also finished my own level with this set today. Rating raised to 6.7
[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Sandy Sunset
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
7.0

I agree with Moonblaze, I don’t think this is a 9.7
We’ll see, here’s my review.

TILESET
When I was looking on the set the first time in the example level I thought ‘Wow! This tileset looks great!’
But when I tried to make a level with it I fastly noticed that there just wheren’t the tiles I needed.

Spazie sais: ‘You included all the needed tiles, hooks blabla…’

All needed tiles?
There’s a txt sign but only for one background, I would’ve needed a text sign for the stones. Also I miss some platforms with thin masking, but not too thin for a puzzle. I tried the cactus tiles, but they don’t work for it.

Also, what Moonblaze said, the background looks weird, the sand is lighter than the sprite layer ground, the clouds don’t look like clouds.

What I like is the foreground. The sandstorm and the rain looks cool. But what is good foreground without good background? Nope!

The houses for layer 4 are ok, though they remind me a bit on one of Blades tilesets. However, the whole tileset reminds me on one of Blades tilesets :P

Well, to say something good (don’t wanna see Violet crying :P) the ground looks good (tough, darker than the bg sand) and I like the quicksand.

SCORE: 6.5 out of 10

LEVEL
The example level isn’t bad, tough I don’t understand why there’s all those regenerating ice ammo. The level doesn’t have enemies, but shows well how to use the tileset. I really like how Violet did the Quicksand, and I didn’t knew that you can use sucker tube speed 0 (I thought 1 is the lowest).

SCORE: 4.0 out of 5

MUSIC
I really like the music Violet found, it fits perfectly.

SCORE: 5.0 out of 5

CONCLUSION
So, I hope these are enough reasons why this tileset doesn’t deserve 9.7 (Beware!). Don’t get mad please, I know you can do it, Violet. You have the ability to make very good sets (and not many people have that ability). Your next tileset will be better I think :D

FINAL SCORE: 6.7

See ya, PHT

EDIT: lol, Spazie started with rating it 9.7, now it’s 8.2 lol!

@ Cooba: Even if it’s ripped from JJ1, does it matter? No! (in my opinion)

@ Violet: It is a race level? OH! sorry :D I didn’t knew that :P

Rating raised to 7 because I’m dumb :P

Oh, and another note to Violet, please don’t mind Bjarni, it isn’t his fault (read JSZ Jazz’ article about autism)[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Battle 1 Psych Conversion
Level rating: 5.8
Rating
6.0

I feel like reviewing today, and my evil fingers grabbed this upload today :P

LVL DESIGN
The level design was converted very well, I saw no errors or something. I didn’t get stuck, or had any problems.

EYECANDY
The eyecandy is the bad part of the level, but a very important one in level conversions. The author said in his descriptions he had problems with the background, so I’ll try to help out.

I think your problem is, that you did not edit the layer properties. Layer properties??? What da hell is that??? Go into a layer (for example layer 5). Now right click and click on properties. Now you see a bunch of fields. You should now close the layer properties and load a second JCS. Open a psych level (for example psych1) and go to layer 5. Now copy the properties of the original psych level into your level and close the level properties. Now put in a background which fits. If you are more experienced you can use the same layer speeds (how fast a layer is moving) and put in other things as background. If the size is wrong, modify it so that it fits to the things you want to put in.

So, left is the sprite eyecandy, which is, sadly kinda empty. One part of Cliffy’s Battle1 had bricks in the background, but I don’t see them here. Well, in Psych there isn’t any layer 4 background, so I suggest you to use those bricks with layer 5 (make layer 5 speed 1). Also not enough stuff in layer 3. I don’t see anything in layers 2 and 1, but in battle these two layers are kinda disturbing, because they hinder the view of the player, so I won’t detract points for that.

OTHER STUFF
Another bad point of this conversion is, that it has the same glitches than the original battle1. It has the bubbleshield (which everybody hates), the two deadends on the sides, the blaster powerup doesn’t respawn, and again it has that !%&§$# copter which makes the level unable to play with Lori.

GAMEPLAY
The gameplay is converted very well, but like already said it has the same glitches than the original Battle1.

AMMO AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
The ammo is exactly the same, again no glitches fixed.

USE OF TILESET
The tileset is used in an ok way, tough I really, really miss the background. You could for example have asked in the forum, before you uploaded it. Very few tilebugs, tough.

CONCLUSION
Well, I’m not really sure about that, it’s not great, but it’s also not bad. It’s just…average. I think the eyecandy could have a lot more detail in it, and the glitches should’ve been fixed. All the other things are allright, so here’s your 5.7 this time. Next time it will be better, I guess. :D

Have fun
PHT

EDIT
Changes I noticed:
GOOD:
-blaster pu does respawn now
-fast fire instead of the bubble shield
-instead of the copter event which Lori can’t grabb a sucker tubes takes you up now
-I noticed a part where there is a little bit on layer 5

BAD:
-I’m missing some ammo (toaster and ice)
-the room which had sprite background in Battle1 by Cliffy still is empty
-the dead ends still exist
-still too less things on layer 5

The level didn’t change too much at all, but enough to give + 0.3 points as a little thanks that Spazie even read my review I wrote so carefully :) (some dudes seem to not listen what others say at all)

Edited Final Rating: 6.0[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Tests (for the ones that are not so quite good)
Level rating: 4.6
Rating
2.7

This level has two different ratings, 6.5 from Wadledee and 1.7 from Cooba.. I don’t know which is right so I will review this to find out.

LVL DESIGN AND EYECANDY AND STUFF
The level consists of various tests, in each you have to do something different. Let’s begin..

GAME 1
Here you have to jump from platform to platform and avoid some spikes and stuff. I dunno if the spikes hurt or if you get warped back, because I didn’t get hit of them. It’s very short and you don’t need the last platform to reach the trigger crate. Above the crate there’s a full NRG carrot so I guess the spikes hurt. NEVER DO THIS IN MULTIPLAYER!!

GAME 2
I don’t know why this one is called Trigger Blocks, because you just have to use TNT to smash the blocks. Also I think you don’t really know what a test is. A test is a parcour where you have to get through, but don’t hit the sides because they are filled with warp events. This one has nothing to do with the test mode.. However, it’s very easy and not a real challenge to collect TNT and press the shoot button.

GAME 3
In this one you have to jump over some weird things. It’s again too easy and if players that are not so good play easy levels they won’t get better in my opinion.

Well, after that three thingys I got to the level 2 challenges and got stuck in level 3 which is impossible because some platforms are moving too fast and I always fall down and get back to the start.

Eyecandy is not great either, the background is a bit dull, and the tileset is boring.

I expected a level with tests, but this is something totally other. Well, the idea is good, but it’s pointed out in a bad way. Also keep in mind that you should never use weapon blocks (for example for seekers) if the player has TNT :P

Overall, I don’t agree with Wadledee, he rated too high, but I also think Cooba rated too low. This deserves..maybe a 2.7 I think.

Keep up the good work ;)

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3


Database object (reading from database "jazzonli_j2o") terminated.
class.db.php:497
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0