Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstrow.
SELECT u.*, p.* FROM J2Ov2_users AS u, J2Ov2_userpermissions AS p WHERE u.userID = 2288 AND u.userID = p.userID
Query executed succesfully (20 rows), returning as complete.
SELECT r.*, d.name AS levelName, ROUND(d.rating, 1) AS levelRating, u.username FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS d, J2Ov2_users AS u WHERE r.levelID = d.levelID AND r.userID = u.userID AND u.userID = 2288 AND d.deleted = 0 ORDER BY r.timestamp DESC LIMIT 60, 20
Query executed succesfully (1 rows), returning as firstfield.
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0
Jazz2Online

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: PHTs Unfinished Episode (4 LVLS)
Level rating: 6.9
Rating
N/A

CazzNP: Isn’t it playable with Lori? That’s only level 2, the rest should work fine with her..

Sabaspaz: Than thx to you too :)
Thx for long review ;-D

Fearofdark: Thx for the review :D
Well, I’m sorry for level 1 and happy that you like the other 3 :)[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Rabbit Revange Mini Episode ( One Tileset Of Kejero And One Of Et )
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Time to review and see if the author listened what I told him.
THIS IS 1.24! Why do you write 1.23??

CHECKLIST
[x] Single player mode available
[x] Multiplayer mode available
[x] Playable with Jazz
[x] Playable with Spaz
[x] Playable with Lori (TSF)
[?] Easy/medium/hard setting*
Difficulty: Easy *don’t know because the levels are passcoded and I don’t have a hackerprogramm for 1.24

STORY
Again no story. BAAAD
SCORE: 1.0

LEVEL 1: Puzzle level (or something, I forgot the name)

LVL DESIGN AND EYECANDY AND STUFF
The author tried to make a puzzle level this time, but the puzzles are very easy and uncreative. I know it’s hard to make puzzles, but a bit more creativity could be improved. After you made three easy puzzles you fight a few baddys (pacman ghosts and stuff), hop over some spikes which are AGAIN mostly hard to avoid, and finally choose an endboss 1 or 2. If you are lucky you will choose a Tufman, if you don’t have luck you will get to fight Bilsy.
Eyecandy is bad AGAIN. I told you to put in back- and foreground layers. Nothing again. Only a blue sky. Bad!
SCORE: 4.0 (again)

GAMEPLAY
Like said before, a try of a puzzle level, but way too easy puzzles. Finding a way through layer 3 hidden blocks isn’t a real puzzle, tough.
SCORE: 4.0

SIZE
It takes 5 minutes to play through, but the author said it’s an episode so the size is ok.
SCORE: 5.0

AMMO AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
This time there is ammo in the level, a bit of TNT (very useless, but you need it for a puzzle) and some toaster ammo. I think it could have been more, because after some shots you only have your blaster (or the very useless TNT ammo) left to kill Bilsy/Tufman.
SCORE: 4.5

BADDIES
Baddy placement is better than in censored+, there are some pacman ghosts, which wants to eat you or something. They are ok placed, tough they could be more strategically. The idea of choosing an endboss (you don’t know before) is good. Tough, enemy placement is nothing spectacular.
SCORE: 5.0

HURT EVENTS AND OTHER OBSTACLES
There are the very easy puzzles, and some annoying (AGAIN) spikes. This is ok, but the puzzles are just..too easy.
SCORE: 4.0

TILESET
The author used the Egypt Light set from Kejero. This is a cool set, well chosen :)
SCORE: 7.0

USE OF TILESET
Bad. There is again no eyecandy and the most tiles aren’t used. The moving knifes animation was good, but I can’t give points for that, because you also could simply have stolen it.
SCORE: 2.0

MUSIC
Again, Try17, but it fits.
SCORE: 7.0

CONCLUSION
This is better than censored + and the author tried to do something other than normal gaming. But the puzzles are way too easy, the eyecandy just sux and there is too less ammo.
SCORE: 4.5

Let’s take a look on level 2.

LEVEL 2: The final puzzle bosses

I don’t really know what to do here. I’m in a room with 4 orange things which sometimes hurt me and sometimes not. No point what to do.

CONCLUSION:
Because I did not finish the second level I won’t give a rating.
DOWNLOAD RECCOMENDATION: No
HOST: No
LEVEL RANK: Below average
FINAL SCORE: N\A (4.0)

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: RAWK! (JJ2 edition!)
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

lol I agree with Bjarni, Snooz always writes “review is maybe coming later” and thinks “bahahahahahaha it’s so much fun to spam the download section muahuahahaha” (or maybe he thinks something other than that) :)

I’ll review when it’s downloadable[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Damn +
Level rating: 4.2
Rating
4.0

7.5??!!

Chandie you evil overrater >:(
This is nowhere near seven.

Seems that evil reviewer PHT has to get back in time and review this.

CHECKLIST
[x] Single player mode available
[-] Multiplayer mode available *
[x] Playable with Jazz
[x] Playable with Spaz
[x] Playable with Lori
[x] Easy/medium/hard setting
Difficulty: Easy

*There is a door which closes behind you after you got through it so you can’t play this in Co-Op (because the player/s behind you won’t have a way to get through)

STORY
No story included.
SCORE: 1.0

LVL DESIGN AND EYECANDY AND STUFF
Lvl design was really dull, you shoot some blocks, try to jump over some spikes (which mostly hurt you because they aren’t avoidable —> [is that a word?]) and shoot some enemies. After you did that for a short time you warp to the end boss, fight him and win.

Chandie what did you say? Levels are more beautiful than the original JJ2 censored levels??? No way, eyecandy sucks. There are no background layers and the sprite eyecandy is way to minor. And I know what I’m talking about (played the censored levels 2 minutes ago).

No original stuff included, it’s all very linear and way to short. Interesting air? I don’t know what you are talking about Chandie.
SCORE: 4.0

GAMEPLAY
Like I said before the gameplay is very linear and the spikes are annoying. There are way too less pickups.
SCORE: 4.0

SIZE
Way too short. It took me 4 minutes to play through it, and that’s only because I died once. A level should take about a minimum of 10 minutes (I think).
SCORE: 2.0

AMMO AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
One sentence: THERE’S NO AMMO IN THE WHOLE LEVEL! Never do this, always put ammo in a level.
SCORE: 1.0

BADDIES
The baddy placement is ok, the enemies fit and are a bit strategically placed. Also there is a hard mode setting. The endboss (Tuffman) fits well.
SCORE: 7.5

HURT EVENTS AND OTHER OBSTACLES
There are some annoying spikes and some lava thumbs but that’s all. You mostly can’t avoid to get hurt by the spikes.
SCORE: 2.5

TILESET
The author used the censored 2 tileset. Nothing wrong with that set, I like it but you don’t have to include it in the pack because it came with JJ2 :)
SCORE: 7.0

USE OF TILESET
Tileset use is really bad. No background, no foreground, and the most tiles aren’t used. SPEND TIME ON EYECANDY NEXT TIME! Good thing is that there are no tilebugs:
SCORE: 3.0

MUSIC
The author used the music track “Try17”. I like this tune and it fits well. GOOD JOB!
SCORE: 7.5

CONCLUSION
I’m really sorry that I have to grade this down, but Chandie has really overrated it (does this have a reason?)
It’s way too short and the dull tileset use really hurts the level. Next time make a playtest and stop the time. Make sure it takes long enough to get through the level. Also you shouldn’t do things like spikes you can’t avoid. Please don’t get mad on me, if this is your first level it is very good for a first try. But it won’t help you if I give you a high rating just because you are new. KEEP MAKING LEVELS, I also started with bad levels and now I make…….bad levels :) but they are better than my first ones.
DOWNLOAD RECCOMENDATION: No
HOST: No
LEVEL RANK: little below average
FINAL SCORE: 4.0

[EDIT:] Green Plant, only because his first level isn’t good doesn’t mean he sucks. He didn’t spam the dl section, it’s his first try. If he makes a bunch of another levels which have the same mistakes as this one (I mean he doesn’t listen to us evil reviewers), than he’s spamming the dl section and then he sucks. [This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Castle Eclipse Race
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Leole, 8.7???
Way to high for this untested level. If you get into the time warp you get stuck in some warps which always warp you on the same place and right after you get out of the warp you get in again. If you didn’t enter it you get to some hellraisers. But if you wanna jump above them you float up into some springs, get pushed into the hellraisers and get warped back. There’s no way to overcome this in my opinion, so that’s bad.

Also the background is done kinda wrong. Alex, NEVER MAKE THE SPEED OF THE BACKGROUND FASTER THAN LAYER 4! Layer 4 has speed 1, so for the background you have to set 1 for an immediate background layer or something slower. Speed 0 doesn’t move (the background is always at the same position, often used for layer 8). So you have to put something between 1 and 0 for your background layer. For example 0.5 works fine.

Please fix that level and TEST IT YOURSELF! Make sure it’s possible to beat.

Leole, I really can’t understand you.

No rating

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Frozen Tubes (TaZaR Remix)
Level rating: 7.2
Rating
N/A

Danyjel, how can you listen to it with mp3? It doesn’t work with winamp :(

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: JJ1 Boss MIDI
Level rating: 7.6
Rating
N/A

Hey, nice track! :D
I cannot remember the original so I can’t really rate, but it’s a really cool track, very nice. Wanna have JJ1 again :’(
Sadly .mid format isn’t compatible with JJ2 and the game crashes if you try to use it in one of your levels. Acid, can you make J2Bs? You could make an alternative boss.j2b or boss2.j2b file (we can save the original one somewhere else) so we could use it in levels. It’s much better than the boss music from jj2.
SCORE: N\A

But like said before, no rating because I don’t remember the original.

RecommendedReview by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: The Froggy Quest (v.2)
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
9.0

I’ve seen this pack got a major update, so I replayed, now has come the time to re-review it. The new review will probably not be as long as the old one, because I am too lazy to write such a big one again. ;D

When compared to the old version, you can see that it was improved a lot. The levels are now longer, a new one was added, aswell as some other changes.

In the first level you meet Eva, who tells you that her mum has gone crazy, and she decided to catch Eva’s little Froggy and turn him into a moster with a morph machine. Soon after, Jazz gets caught up by Mrs Fat & Ugly and put into the castle dungeon.

From there on, you’ll have to find a way to escape, find the frog and defeat Eva’s mum.

All the levels are very fun to play, with lots of well placed enemies and other obstacles. There are also quiet a few puzzles, but sadly most of them have a text sign next to them which tells you what to do. Each level features an end boss, and every of them is different. I especially liked the Rocket Turtle at the end of the third level. The 4th level, called ‘The Crate Zone’ was almost completely redone, and like I said before, there was a new level added. That new level is not really a new level though, it’s the one you were playing earlier with Froggy. Still, it did add a nice touch.

Another good point of the Froggy Quest is that it is not easy. The enemies are often placed in very strategical locations, sometimes so evilish that it’s hardly possible to dodge attacks, but the many safepoints make up for that. The text signs next to the puzzles I didn’t like, but I can live with it.

A huge amount of work has been spent on this episode, which is easily noticable. There are a lot of inventive ideas, original bosses and every level is different from the one you were in before.

The eyecandy is also good. There are no tilebugs, and all the tilesets were used in a nice way. The ending tileset, which was made by the author himself has a bad palette, but I won’t deduct points for it, as there is an excusion in the readme file.

The story, although being not the best I’ve ever seen, is easily understandable, logical and gives it all a reason.

Overall, this is a very cool episode, the only downfall is that it was a little bit short, I began playing yesterday evening and finished today morning.

Still, a must download, and I hope to see more stuff from the author in the future. ;)

Rating increased from 8.2 to 9.0

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: super_jazz v.01
Level rating: 1.8
Rating
N/A

Well, I would review, but after I killed some guys called “army” (hey, they didn’t move) there was a text sign that said I should hit the crate to get there when I need the crate or something of this sort. Actually, I don’t know what to do here, and ‘cause there’s no way to get outta here I couldn’t finish :(

Simmykrantz, can you help me?

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: 2 Pack
Level rating: 6.0
Rating
N/A

DON’T MAKE THE SAME FILENAMES AS THE ONES FROM OFFICIAL LEVELS DUDE!
Sorry, but I don’t wanna overwrite the original diamondus level. Please fix that, then I will review. Send me a private message if you have fixed that.

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Exoticus
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
8.5

Ok, I’m not good in rating tile sets, but I will try :-)

MASKING
The masking is very smoothly done, I didn’t got stuck in the example level and there aren’t any masking bugs.
Also, what looks like it’s masked, IS masked (very good) :-)
SCORE: 9.0

COLORS
The colors are very nice, I didn’t see the original jazz jackrabbit exoticus levels, but I really like the colors here. The winter version is cool.
SCORE: 8.7

GRAPHIC QUALITY
The graphic quality is high, the tiles fit together well and look very smooth.
SCORE: 8.5

THEME
The tileset has a theme of an exotic island, you can build a beach, a cave something that looks like a castle build with lego :), a forest and a black hole or something :)
5 themes in 1 tileset is great, but I don’t like the castle thingy :P
SCORE: 9.5

MISSING TILES
All the tiles I needed are there. The tileset has poles, selfmade blocks which look really cool, tubes, text signs from Jazz Jackrabbit which could work fine with Trigger Zone and more stuff.
SCORE: 9.7

USEFULLNESS
This tileset is very useful, there are 5 different themes, different backgrounds, a textured background, 2 palletes, event stuff and all you need to build a cool level.
SCORE: 9.7

TILE PLACEMENT
The tile placement is good, you fastly get to all you need, I only think those trees could be a bit more up (because I always had to switch up and down).
SCORE: 8.0

So, that’s all, I don’t really know how to rate this, I don’t review tilesets often :-) so I’ll just agree with the others and rate this 8.5

GOOD JOB

NOTES
I’m using your tileset in my episode. KeEp Up ThE gOoD wOrK :)

PHT

EDIT: Sorry, my episode got stopped because I ran outta creativity, so I won’t continue it.[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: extremely interesting winds
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
5.7

Hmm..interesting level. Here’s my review:

CHECKLIST
[x] Single player mode
[-] Multiplayer mode
[x] Playable with Jazz
[x] Playable with Spaz
[x] Playable with Lori
[x] Easy/medium/hard setting

STORY
This level doesn’t have a real story, you just have the mission to go “back in time”. I don’t really know what this does mean, but I guessed I’d have to find the exit. Because there is the try of a story I’ll give a 2.5 here.
SCORE: 2.5

LVL DESIGN AND EYECANDY AND…STUFF
The lvl design has two parts, one normal part where you shoot enemies and some mce jazzes (good!) and meet some swearing cars :-)
And one which is called Skydiving. You have to find a coin first, but it isn’t really hard to find (I don’t remember where it was :) )
Then you fall, and fall and fall and grab some diamonds on the way down. At first it’s fun, but then it gets boring. The last part with those gem rings is totally pointless because gem rings don’t give you points and you already (should) have over 100 gems. There could be more variety in gems and some obstacles.
The eyecandy was ok, There was a background layer and a tiny bit in layer 3. What confused me at the start is that all here is pink :-)
Oh, I forgot after skydiving you have to beat a robot. Sadly, this is totally easy if you got the ice powerup (which is easy to get), because once a robot boss is freezed, he doesn’t move and you can easily shoot him with blaster.
After the endboss the game counted about…2300 gems (!!) :-)
SCORE: 5.5

GAMEPLAY
The gameplay was ok, but there could be more items, more variety in the skydiving part and it could be a bit harder.
SCORE: 5.0

LENGTH
The level took me 6 minutes, but I think the skydiving is too long.
SCORE: 6.0

AMMO AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
Ammo placement is very bad. There is only one ice powerup, which lets you deactivate the boss. There should have been more ammo + no freezer ammo (if you use the robot boss, be sure the player can’t have ice unless he cheats).
SCORE: 1.5

BADDIES
The enemy placement is ok, those mce jazzes are good. After the skydiving part you get sucked into the boss (oh dear). The boss is too easy because of that ice powerup.
SCORE: 4.5

HURT EVENTS AND OTHER OBSTACLES
There aren’t any other obstacles, I wish there would be some in the skydiving (would make it less boring). Oh, I forgot you need a coin for skydiving, but that’s way too less.
SCORE: 2.0

TILESETS
The author used the megamegatropolis tileset from Disguise. He used a weird pink version and that’s original.
SCORE: 7.5

USE OF TILESETS
The tileset use is neither good nor bad. It’s average. I think there could be more stuff in layer 3 and maybe a second background layer. The skydiving parts should have more eyecandy. And I think layer 8 moves a bit too fast, but that’s only my opinion.
SCORE: 5.0

CONCLUSION
This level is ok, but needs several fixing. Next time make your level more interesting, use ammo and more eyecandy.
DOWNLOAD? Your decision
HOST? I think the skydiving idea could be used very well for a treasure hunt level (hint hint!!) but with less gems :)
LEVEL RANK: Average
——————-
FINAL RATING: 5.2
——————-

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND CONTINUE MAKING JAZZ JACKRABBIT 2 LEVELS!

PHT

NOTES
Oh and please don’t get mad that I rated lower than the other ones :-)
I’m a bad guy muahuahahahaahaaaaaa
joking :-)

See you

[EDIT] + 0.5 Bonus Pointz because Nim helped me out with that MCE thingy
You rule dude :D[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: easter feaster and helmers cave
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Well, sadly I don’t like this so much than BloodRabbit.

The level design was very confusing, you don’t really know where to go. Also there are some parts where you die or get hurt without having any point of knowing that if you jump down here there is a spike pit which doesn’t let you out. Also, in the second level (Helmer’s cave) I killed a cat, walked to the right and jumped of the level (172,12). As this was my last live I typed jjq and quitted JJ2 because I didn’t want to do all the stuff again.

BloodRabbit, eyecandy was excellent????
No way. There are some carrots in the foreground at the start, and a castle which cuts of at the bottom in the background. This is excellent eyecandy? No way! Look at LWE or Tomb Rabbit. These have excellent eyecandy (in my opinion).

The gameplay was okay, tough I don’t like some surprise deaths. The dragon flies are strategically annoying placed. In level 2 there was a path, where I wanted to go in and suddenly I got warped back. Does this have a reason??? I don’t really know the sense of this.

The ammo was also okay, alltough on some parts in level 1 I missed some seekers or toasters(&%$#! dragonflies). Before the frozen spring could be some fire because the spring doesn’t make a sense without.

Like I said before, also the enemy placement was really annoying. Mostly, because of those dragonflies. Tough, baddy placement isn’t the worst part of the pack.

This pack has a lot of obstacles. And they are sometimes, just, bad placed. For example it isn’t a good idea to place a text sign and if you wanna read it a rock falls on your head and kills you. Or placing a H-Pole before spikes also isn’t a good idea.

The author used the easter tileset. It is maybe a bit late for using this set, but it doesn’t really matter.

The tileset use was ok, but the background is too empty (doesn’t mean level 2).

CONCLUSION:
I hope I made clear why this pack may never deserves 8.0.
I would give about a 7 but because I didn’t finished it I don’t rate.

Download? You’re decision
Level Rank: Above average
Host? No, it wasn’t made for Co-Op I think
FINAL RATING: N/A (7.0)

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: The Castle Of Ghosts!!!!!!
Level rating: 4.5
Rating
N/A

I have no idea how to finish that. After you passed the second door you get to Eva who is prisoned in some trigger blocks. She tells you to help her (you have to find a trigger crate for that). So I gone to the door on the right and had absolutely no point what to do. There’s no way to get out.

Also, Bjarni, I see you didn’t even listen to that what I told you in my review for party in castle (ok, you did a new level), but like Green Plant said before, this is very familiar to Party In Castle. I don’t rate (because I don’t rate things I didn’t finish anymore), but I agree with Green Plant.

[EDIT]
Bjarni, I didn’t say you didn’t listen to Violet. I said you didn’t listen to me (or not enough). But I’m sure you will get better =)

@ GreenPlant: I know, but I can’t find the trigger crate.

R3PTILE, WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU??? WHY DO YOU OVERRATE THIS SO MUCH?
THERE’S NO REASON WHY THIS COULD DESERVE A 10!

Bjarni, are you R3ptile?[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: BEACHTOWN
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
N/A

THX DX! :D
Well, I din’t play those two CTF levels you mentioned (because I have no one who plays JJ2 multiplayer with me and my internet connection mostly breaks in 30 seconds )= ) but it doesn’t matter. It’s nice to see you on Jazz2online :-)

Also thx to you Janus Jackrabbit :D
I always like to read reviews about my levels

And thx to Chandie
Is the story good? Thanks :D[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Party In Castle! (updated version)
Level rating: 4.2
Rating
4.2

Well, I din’t play the old version but it seems that I have to review this, so let’s go on.

At first, like the author mentioned above, this is the fixed version of his old level “Party in Castle”. Well, What this has to do with a party isn’t clear for me (ok, except the bridge thingy), the level has, sadly, no story. You come in a castle, and fight multiple enemies. Well, in the readme (Yes, I read it!!) you can read what Bjarni changed, but there are still very much things which aren’t right.

LVL DESIGN
I think the level design should probably be remade fully, alltough nothing does have a totally understandable reason (I don’t mean spelling errors in text signs). For example the area with that bridge which will break if you walk over it. A text sign tells you that over you Lizards are dancing and the bridge could break. Well, you see Lizards dancing on a bridge above you, and not on that one you are standing so there’s no reason why this thing breaks. Also, the water part. There’s no reason why suddenly water comes up and after a short swimming it doesn’t exist anymore. Sorry Bjarni, but I’m such a perfectionist :-)

EYECANDY
Well, there aren’t tile bugs (maybe some minor), but even with the fact there aren’t any, you should know that you have to change it. Why? Because it is all out of time. Some years ago this might have been reasonable eyecandy, but not today. Not after “Demon Invasation” from Moonblaze, “Tomb Rabbit” from Kejero and so on. There are some background layers, but they are stolen from “Formerly A Prince” from Cliff Bleszinski. Also you could have used some different tiles for the wall.

CONCLUSION
Well, Bjarni, I see your “fixing” of levels is, just done wrong. Listen to ALL what a reviewer says is wrong and if it needs to, rebuild your level. There are several more downfalls (like ammo and food placement, enemy placement and more) but I’m too lazy to mention them all. Sorry, if you want to fix a level, then put effort in it.
DOWNLOAD RECCOMENDATION: No, maybe if you want to see how to NOT fix a level.
HOST: nope
LEVEL RANK: Above average
FINAL RATING: 4.0

NOTES:
….Leole, could you work on your english some? I don’t understand a word, sorry =P[This review has been edited by PHT]

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Jazz 1: dimondus treasure hunt
Level rating: 5.2
Rating
5.2

First, before I’ll begin this review to Cooba and Dx, the field “Submit review” is there for people which write reviews and not for a chat. We have the private message function for that. This will probably be the same as Violet or Trafton will tell you. =p

Now for the review, noone seemed to review this, so I’ll do now.

LVL DESGIN, EYECANDY AND…STUFF
The lvl design is nothing special, normal Treasure Hunt, but it feels good to see a Treasure Hunt level after so much time. :D
The problems start with eyecandy: The background layer which contains those mountains (layer 6) doesn’t work properly, the mountains fly in the air. The author mentioned that in the description so I won’t take points for that, but I will explain how to get it work. Dark Ryhorn, the mistake you did is that you set the Y-Speed to 1, the same speed as layer 4. I tried it out it should work with 0.0499878 (put the mountains above three lines of invisible blocks!). The sprite eyecandy is nothing big, you used layer 3 too less times. Layer 5 is used a bit, but not too much.

GAMEPLAY
The gameplay is ok, nothing special, but there isn’t a need to because Treasure Hunt lvls are very rare in last time. Sadly the level is a tad bit small. Alltough there are enough gems and ammo.

AMMO PLACEMENT AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
The ammo plcmnt is ok. It could maybe have some secrets.

OBSTACLES
Not many…

TILESETS
The author used the Diamondus Evening tileset by NOKA. I don’t agree with Cooba and Dx, this tileset isn’t too much overused. I like this set, it reminds me on the good old times…

USE OF TILESETS
The tileset use is good, it almost uses the most tiles of the set and there is a bunch of animations. Well done.

CONCLUSION
Well, it’s good to see a treasure hunt level in those days, but it seems to be nothing special. Sadly, I can’t give more than a five, but keep making levels! Wanna see more projects from you.

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: JJ1 Music Pack Vol. 1
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
N/A

link is broken…:-(
bye bye DaPete

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Jazz Jackrabbit Remix Pack
Level rating: 6.3
Rating
N/A

You can’t listen to it with Winamp

Review by PHT

Posted:
Posted more than 10 years ago
For: Castle's Of Horror
Level rating: 6.3
Rating
6.0

Well, let’s review this…

CHECKLIST:
[-] Single player mode available
[x] Multiplayer mode available
(CTF)
[-] Splitscreen mode available
[x] Internet mode available
[x] Network mode available
[x] Playable with Jazz
[x] Playable with Spaz
[x] Playable with Lori

LVL DESIGN, EYECANDY AND…STUFF
The lvl is design is simply CTF style, nothing other. It has some suckertubes, coins and hard to reach bases (took me very long to find the red base).
Also there is a big problem with eyecandy: In the background are platforms, the same platforms as on which you can walk, DON’T DO THIS. In CTF mode you have to be really fast, and if you then don’t know what’s solid and what belongs to the background scenery, it’s very bad. Also, I just don’t like the pallete of this tileset. And I agree with BlurredD, it gets weird to use a tileset converted for 1.23 in a TSF level.

GAMEPLAY
The gameplay is very hard, mostly because of that &$/$(” background. But also the bases are hard to find (especially the red one). It just gets very hard to manouver around because of that eyecandy problem. There are some coins, but they are easy to get. In the coin warp is a seeker powerup and a full energy carrot.

AMMO AND OTHER WEAPONS STUFF
Ammo is ok placed, but I mostly don’t see it, because of that #%!/ pallete change (not Dx’ fault).

TILESETS
The set used for this lvl is Haunted House lite edition by pyromanus. Well, at first there’s the weird thing of using a 1.23…bla bla..you know what I want to say.. and then I also just don’t like …bla bla bla bla bla (said all those things before)

USE OF TILESETS
Look on eyecandy

CONCLUSION
Maybe you will be very angry about me and slay me or something (you even are angry on me I think) but well, I don’t like this, so I’ll have to give a 6
DOWNLOAD: No
HOST: No
LEVEL RANK: Little big above average
FINAL RATING: 6

NOTES
Don’t want to see Dx crying..so here 6.0[This review has been edited by PHT]

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3


Database object (reading from database "jazzonli_j2o") terminated.
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM J2Ov2_downloadReviews AS r, J2Ov2_downloads AS u WHERE r.levelID = u.levelID AND u.userID = 2288 AND u.deleted = 0