View Full Version : question about j2e
zapS
Apr 11, 2007, 03:07 AM
just wondering if anybody knows how the image is stored(what kind of format) in the j2e files.
Stijn
Apr 11, 2007, 03:10 AM
IIRC, it's a PCX file, probably compressed with zlib.
zapS
Apr 11, 2007, 03:13 AM
so pcx is alot smaller than bmp?
Stijn
Apr 11, 2007, 03:28 AM
PCX is compressed (and in JJ2's case 8bit) while BMP is not. There's probably some info here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCX).
However, the tool used to make J2E's requires you to give it a PCX file, so I guess that's the format used :P
Neobeo
Apr 11, 2007, 03:58 AM
A J2E contains, among other things, 3 BMPs (not PCX), compressed with zlib. More specifically, the images are stored one byte per pixel (once you get past zlib).
Grytolle
Apr 11, 2007, 05:14 AM
:( Then it would be false of me to say "it's raw - like me"
DoubleGJ
Apr 11, 2007, 07:42 AM
One image is the episode pic, second is the title. What's the third picture, then?
Stijn
Apr 11, 2007, 08:09 AM
A low-res of the title image, I believe, for the zooming in-and-out effect.
Violet CLM
Apr 11, 2007, 10:33 AM
The title switches to a highlighted version when you select it.
ShadeJackrabbit
Apr 11, 2007, 11:53 AM
That's just done with shaders I believe.
Also, I used to have the program that made .j2e files, but lost it 3 hard disk deaths ago.
Stijn
Apr 11, 2007, 11:59 AM
That's just done with shaders I believe.
No, it's done by using the other image.
ShadeJackrabbit
Apr 11, 2007, 12:03 PM
*thinks back for a few moments*
Sorry, my bad, it is.
Neobeo
Apr 11, 2007, 05:05 PM
Also, the size of the image alone leads me to conclude that JJ2 was meant to be played in a resolution of 640x400.
zapS
May 19, 2007, 03:49 AM
does all the 3 bmp images start with "BM"when uncompressed?
and where do i find the uncompressed size in the header? i can only find the compressedsize (4 bytes before 78 da).
Neobeo
May 19, 2007, 04:57 AM
The uncompressed size is not given, because it is a static value. I don't have the exact figure at hand though. Basically width * height.
Newspaz
May 19, 2007, 05:48 AM
Also, the size of the image alone leads me to conclude that JJ2 was meant to be played in a resolution of 640x400.
Well, it makes sense. The game was originally meant for 320x200 like JJ1 was. And 640x400 is exactly the double obviously.
zapS
May 19, 2007, 07:13 AM
ok, now i can uncompress everything so no more questions about that, but i don't know what the 8 bytes after the width and height are, can anyone tell me?
http://www.freewebs.com/dvugglan/j2e.bmp
and one more thing, when i compress images, they become just 41 bytes and i think that is too small and jj2 doesnt like it. why?
zapS
May 20, 2007, 11:14 PM
I think the compressed size in the j2e files are at least around 10000 bytes and 41 is quite small compared to that.
Neobeo
May 21, 2007, 12:23 AM
ok, now i can uncompress everything so no more questions about that, but i don't know what the 8 bytes after the width and height are, can anyone tell me?
http://www.freewebs.com/dvugglan/j2e.bmp
and one more thing, when i compress images, they become just 41 bytes and i think that is too small and jj2 doesnt like it. why?
I have no idea what the 8 bytes after are. They're marked as "unknown" in my file format specs. And 41 bytes definitely doesn't sound right.
I think the compressed size in the j2e files are at least around 10000 bytes and 41 is quite small compared to that.
At a guess, you probably used the compress/compress2 function wrongly.
zapS
May 21, 2007, 12:43 AM
well how should i use it?
it returns Z_OK or something like that.
i tried to increase all the unknown bytes by 1 and it worked just as usual, but when a set the all to ff, there was a memory error, it said something about memAlloc().
zapS
May 24, 2007, 02:53 AM
I have found the problem and now i can compress and make my own j2e files!
:-) thanks neobeo for your help.
Neobeo
May 24, 2007, 03:03 AM
You're welcome. :) Just out of curiosity, what was the problem?
zapS
May 24, 2007, 03:19 AM
i did wrong when i read the file into a char pointer.
in the fread funtion the first parameter must be an adress you know,
and usually i want to read data and put them in int variables or similar types and then i have to write fread(&var,... and i forgot that in this case it was a pointer and i wrote "&" before. the result were just alot of -51:-), quite a stupid thing to do:-) but that's the kind of small mistakes i often run into;)
zapS
May 24, 2007, 03:22 AM
now i try to read the .LEV files in 1.00g:-)
i have found out how the tileset data is stored.
Neobeo
May 24, 2007, 03:27 AM
This probably warrants a thread of its own, but the LEV file format is full of hate. </3 Among other things, each tile is stored differently depending on whether it has any transparent pixels, and where the transparent pixels are.
zapS
May 24, 2007, 03:34 AM
i know, and it's really annoying. but i think i've found out how it works.
the reason for doing this is because i want to get the cool jungle tileset.
ShadeJackrabbit
May 24, 2007, 09:34 AM
Any chance of releasing a program publicly that allows this j2e editing?
(*dodges really sharp knife*)
n00b
May 25, 2007, 05:26 AM
Didn't you already get one?
ShadeJackrabbit
May 26, 2007, 08:41 AM
About 4 hard disk crashes ago...
zapS
May 27, 2007, 11:36 PM
that's possible :-)
ShadeJackrabbit
May 28, 2007, 01:58 PM
Yay! :)
zapS
Jun 22, 2007, 02:05 PM
ok, now I've made a simple console app, which creates a j2e file. you just have to enter som filenames etc. it works fine. does anyone think that could be something? :)
cooba
Jun 23, 2007, 02:03 AM
Well if it's made completely by you, it could be freely distributed, by being uploaded to J2O for example :)
ShadeJackrabbit
Jun 23, 2007, 06:06 AM
Excellent idea!
Olsen
Jun 28, 2007, 08:45 AM
it's uploaded now //zapS
Grytolle
Jun 29, 2007, 06:29 AM
zapS, please add me to msn (or unblock me) :p grytolle@craccoclan.com
And more importantly; nice job :D
Doubble Dutch
Jun 29, 2007, 07:48 AM
So is there something to *extract* said images from the j2e file?
Grytolle
Jun 29, 2007, 08:00 AM
jj2 and print screen
Doubble Dutch
Jun 29, 2007, 08:35 PM
Doesn't that just give you the whole screen and not the image?
Violet CLM
Jun 30, 2007, 12:46 AM
Umm... yes. To be solved by cropping, I suppose.
FreeFull
Jun 30, 2007, 06:26 AM
If you do Alt+Print Screen it will do a screenshot of the active window without anything else.
Doubble Dutch
Jul 1, 2007, 05:35 AM
Yes, but not the actual images in the .j2e? Without background and highlights? There are a million tools for grabbing an active window.
Valco
Jul 10, 2007, 07:49 AM
I assumed it was any non photographic picture compressed with zlib.
I'm probably wrong. Don't listen to me. I'm a do do who lost his cheese.
vBulletin® v3.8.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.