PDA

View Full Version : JJ1 Stuff -- Improve my Python

Violet CLM
Jun 21, 2010, 07:35 PM
<a href="http://pastebin.com/9X1Fe8wU">miscjj1.py</a>
<a href="http://pastebin.com/T4X7XzeS">blockset.py</a>
I'm working on my first Python program. So far, if you give it a folder it will convert every JJ1 BLOCKS file therein to a 256-color .png for use in whatever you like. Some code is based on Stijn's JJ2 stuff, and I refer heavily to DD's various file format documentations. Since I'm very new to Python, if you know it, I'd love some instruction for how to improve this, be it formatting alone or actual optimization. If not, hopefully you want to extract some JJ1 sets.

Dermo
Jun 22, 2010, 11:54 AM
I worked with Python for a quarter in school. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me. Honestly, I think Python is not the best programming language to use, however.

Violet CLM
Jun 22, 2010, 12:28 PM
Go on...

minmay
Jun 22, 2010, 12:58 PM
Honestly, I think Python is not the best programming language to use, however.
Depends on the application, and personally I'd say Python is one of the best choices for something like this, though admittedly I don't have enough knowledge of it to correct anything in Violet's code.

Newspaz
Jun 22, 2010, 01:34 PM
I have written code for this in Python before, and it was comparable to this. It's been at least two years though so I can't really help you here Python-wise.

plunK
Jun 22, 2010, 02:21 PM
lol i used python for 2 years....never got nearly this far XD

Violet CLM
Jun 22, 2010, 04:20 PM
To be fair, I've been programming with Multimedia Fusion/etc. for ~15 years, plus a vague understanding of Javascript/C-like-stuff and I've had some practice with Python doing Django over the last year or so, although that was all very specific stuff and I didn't know any of the basic concepts behind what I was doing.