PDA

View Full Version : How do you guys come up wit names for characters?

SpeedyGPW
Apr 16, 2001, 06:51 AM
I'm a good writer, but I can never come up with good names. Any suggestions?

Ducky
Apr 16, 2001, 07:06 AM
D'you mean you have characters already, but you can't think of names?

Uh..well first off this is PROBABLY Misc, but I don't really know. If Night Fire pokes his nose in here we can ask him(what a dumb moderator, huh :P).

Second, um, get a baby name book, or a California phone book.

Slam your fingers down on the keyboard a few times and rearrange the letters...Take a name and turn it backwards..

Uh.

What are...your characters like, if they exist?

Lots of people on here can come up with good stuff..

IS it misc?

Kepp it in mind. I don't know. http://jazz2.nagcentral.com/forum/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif

`Ducky

-~Blizzard*~-
Apr 16, 2001, 07:54 AM
Simple, Put some time into it, I combined names from Dragonball Z to get one of my characters nicknames, and stole some others from games, or just use yours, like Speedy the great!

Tanpopo Kiku
Apr 16, 2001, 08:38 AM
Speedy is the name of my rabbit, to let you know.

I'll give some of mine, but you'll have to ask me for permission to use them:

First names:

(F)Smellveeta

(M)Speedy (like your name)

(M)Hyperion

(F)Nelthilta (from Watership Down, by Richard Adams)

(F)Hyzenthlay (also from WD)

(M)Ganemyde

(F)Sakura

(M)Thlayli (from WD)

Surnames:

Harez

Firez

Botan (Japanese)

Fiery

Purr (not that original, but I use it)

You can use foreign words also, if you know some.

-~Blizzard*~-
Apr 16, 2001, 08:41 AM
Watership down!

I LOVE THAT BOOK!!!!!

Wild Angel
Apr 16, 2001, 01:05 PM
UUUmmmmm.....

I used Aslan, heh.

Wild Angel
Apr 16, 2001, 01:05 PM
UUUmmmmm.....

I used Aslan, heh. Oh yeah, and Seigel but that one is being used in the near future.

Violet CLM
Apr 16, 2001, 03:51 PM
I'm writing a story with Harri and Loony.

Tanpopo Kiku
Apr 17, 2001, 08:35 AM
Some others (first names):