PDA

View Full Version : A New Program Idea

Spaz Boy
Jul 27, 2002, 01:17 PM
I posted this on the J2HG Message Board, but I feel like if I post it here too, it might get a little bit more attention.

A few days ago, I was surfing around, and came across an internet radio program. It was similiar to others, but, not being a big internet radio fan, I had never seen a request button before.

The whole idea of internet radio is only listening when a song you like is playing, right? So, since Overlord has proven with Project Controller, it is possible to change the level loop. So do you think it might be possible to create a program interacting with webpages to allow a server to be run where users could vote and request levels to have the server to run?

Unfortunately, I'm no expert on coding...I can read/understand most code, but I don't have enough knowledge of it to actually write a program possible to do this.

It should be fairly easy actually. The users visit the site, request a level which is then sent to the queue in a MySQL database. The program reads from the MySQL database to figure out what level to put on next. As it reads the loop, it changes the level loop accordingly.

Gimme your thoughts and maybe something might get accomplished.

-sb

Btw, I didn't mention this on the post in j2hg, but I can help. :P

KRSplat
Jul 27, 2002, 03:35 PM
Nice idea. But isn't thay kind of killing the point of having a server or client?

stripe
Jul 27, 2002, 04:35 PM
Or how about in-server level voting?

And while we're at it, is there no program to switch levels automatically after a certain time? This is really common in other games.

stripe

Link
Jul 27, 2002, 06:07 PM
I could make that! :D

It doesn't even have to use MySQL. I know enough about HTTP protocol that I could make a simple web server within the same program as the level changer.