Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ v5.6 (last updated 27 February, 2018)

KRSplatinum KRSplatinum's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 263

KRSplatinum is a forum legendKRSplatinum is a forum legend

Nov 6, 2013, 08:50 AM
KRSplatinum is offline
Reply With Quote
Congratulations team on this release of plus, you have really gotten it right this time.

Now I'm just wondering about the diminished range of power bouncer, and why is the toaster power up color changed?
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 6, 2013, 09:22 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
I don't know about the bouncer, but the colour of the toaster powerup (the monitor) has been changed because it was the only powerup that used the colours of the not-powered up version instead of the powered up one. (Compare purple bouncers, red RFs, yellow/blue seekers, etc.)
__________________
Toni_

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2011

Posts: 193

Toni_ is doing well so far

Nov 7, 2013, 06:52 AM
Toni_ is offline
Reply With Quote
What happened with fast fire and Blaster PU colors? I noticed something different there, too, but can't figure out what :P
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 7, 2013, 06:58 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Depends. Are you playing with Spaz, perhaps?
__________________
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,024

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Nov 7, 2013, 07:31 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm pretty sure powered bouncers got fixed in the hotfix. Or perhaps only vertical got fixed. Sigh.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 7, 2013, 10:38 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Powered-up bouncers are fired with exactly the same xSpeed/xAcc/ySpeed/yAcc/counterEnd values they ever were.
__________________
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 8, 2013, 12:44 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
I think they're just trying to get us to change powered-up Bouncers so they would bounce through the level indefinitely.

Now that I think of it, that's a nice idea for a scripted level. Give every player 10 bouncer bullets that, once shot, keep on bouncing around until hurting someone or destroying something. When the player fires an 11th bullet, the oldest disappears. Could make levels very dangerous!
__________________
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Nov 8, 2013, 12:53 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
I was thinking recently that it wouldn't be very hard to introduce a third level of powerups via scripting.
Toni_

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2011

Posts: 193

Toni_ is doing well so far

Nov 8, 2013, 01:43 AM
Toni_ is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrythabest View Post
Depends. Are you playing with Spaz, perhaps?
Yes.
DoubleGJ DoubleGJ's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2002

Posts: 3,049

DoubleGJ has disabled reputation

Nov 8, 2013, 05:51 AM
DoubleGJ is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
I was thinking recently that it wouldn't be very hard to introduce a third level of powerups via scripting.
a TNT power-up that works like JJ1 TNT
__________________
"So unless I overwrote my heart with yours, I think not. But I might have." - Violet CLM

Two Games Joined releases:
Control / Splinter (twin singles)
|| Ballistic Bunny (EP)
||
Beyond (maxi-single)
|| Beyond: Remixed (remix EP)
|| Inner Monsters OST (mini-album)
||
Shadows (album)
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Nov 8, 2013, 06:27 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
How about an RF Powerup that makes it have infinite range like in JJ1? Because I never find JJ2 RF useful outside of a few multiplayer situations, but JJ1 RF is infinitely useful(Especially on the harder difficulties).
__________________
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,024

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Nov 8, 2013, 07:19 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
I find powered RF useful against the Devan boss (2nd stage).
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Nov 8, 2013, 08:30 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
Usually, if I want to destroy Devan, I abuse Seekers, Bouncers, or the powered up Blaster, depending on what's available.
However, my Jazz playstyle is unique in many ways, so maybe I'm alone in my lack of interest in the way RFs work. But my primary reason for not liking it is that the range is way too tiny.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 8, 2013, 08:55 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just a Random User View Post
Yes.
Spaz's gun is green, as you can see in the bottom right corner when using blaster. In October JJ2+, the fastfire and blaster powerup sprites now reflect this. (Fastfire made this distinction in vanilla JJ2 as well, but only for fastfire gained from shooting enemies, not for events simply placed in the level.)

Robo: RFs have a much, much larger range if you move horizontally while firing them.
__________________
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Nov 8, 2013, 12:17 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Terrible idea: palshift the fastfire sprites in accordance to the player's gun color.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleGJ View Post
a TNT power-up that works like JJ1 TNT
I've done this but it's too beautiful for this world. Will need to do some hardcore nerfing.
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Nov 8, 2013, 12:45 PM
minmay is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
I was thinking recently that it wouldn't be very hard to introduce a third level of powerups via scripting.
I take it the "wouldn't be very hard" only applies if it's a single player level.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Nov 8, 2013, 12:54 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by minmay View Post
I take it the "wouldn't be very hard" only applies if it's a single player level.
I was thinking that if some shield bullets were to be replaced with custom behaviors, they would work with jjPLAYER::fireBullet.
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Nov 8, 2013, 02:46 PM
minmay is offline
Reply With Quote
Well hey now, that only works for up to 4 weapons :P
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 8, 2013, 03:13 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
You'd need to use jjPLAYER::hurt, though, since bullets can't do more than two damage without DA turned on.
__________________
Old Nov 9, 2013, 11:49 AM
juanpablo123
This message has been deleted by Stijn. Reason: make better posts
KRSplatinum KRSplatinum's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 263

KRSplatinum is a forum legendKRSplatinum is a forum legend

Nov 9, 2013, 11:59 AM
KRSplatinum is offline
Reply With Quote
For me, the color change to toasty power-up crate is game-breaking... Light blue and red looked better! Plus is meant to fix bugs, but instead plus takes away what made Jazz2 a good game to start with. Sike nää, I'm just trolling a bit, sorry.

Anyway, Borgia posted the following on JJNet, I think people in this thread would like to read Borgia's comment:

Quote:
noticed there is also a 'Turbo'-difficulty for Single Player, and I like that new challenge emo. There are some bugs, though. For instance, the game does not play the boss themes anymore. Everytime I encounter a boss (for instance the queen or the Schwartzenguard), the game continues playing the level theme.

There's also an error in the level Suburbia Commando, which didn't occur before. At some point in that level (somewhere at the beginning), you must break through a wall and then go down, through eight star-blocks. There are some green gems straight ahead in that building, and an invisible wall. If you shoot that wall and enter, you are supposed to go up to access a secret place you otherwise can't reach (without cheating). There are some red springs, red gems and a gold coin (you reach the coin and some of the gems from below if you're Spaz). What happens instead, though, is that you go sideways, through everything and eventually you disappear from the screen. You can't stop it, so you have to reload a previous save. I'm sure this isn't supposed to happen.

Last edited by KRSplatinum; Nov 10, 2013 at 02:55 AM.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Nov 9, 2013, 12:14 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
#2 happens because the Sucker Tube in question has had "Trig Sample" set to 2 (for no reason at all), which is equal to setting "Become Noclip" to 1 in JJ2+. Not much can be done about it other than editing the level, sorry.

I can't reproduce #1.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 9, 2013, 08:22 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Terrible idea: palshift the fastfire sprites in accordance to the player's gun color.
...JJ2 absolutely has a sprite-drawing mode tailor-made for this very purpose and I never thought of it.
__________________
burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 234

burnout92 is doing well so far

Nov 10, 2013, 04:17 AM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
Hi guys!

I have problem with the Mouse Aiming. The Mouse Aiming is don't work in Single Player mode, because I'm vainly switch on the Mouse Aiming option and switch to Kbd/Mouse control scheme the game is doesn't care about it. Thanks if you can fix it.
__________________
"Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone" Akuma from Street Fighter Alpha The Animation
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 10, 2013, 10:46 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's working as intended. If you consult the readme, you'll notice there are in fact two separate settings, /mouseaim and /allowmouseaim. You can turn on the first one at any time in any gamemode, but the second one must be turned on by the server or (in a local game) the level. Otherwise you'd be able to use the mouse in any level you pleased, completely messing up the gameplay.
__________________
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Nov 10, 2013, 11:04 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
You can use mouse aim in SP freely if you host the level in a local coop server. (It has some unwanted side effects but you're already changing the gameplay, so whatever.)
burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 234

burnout92 is doing well so far

Nov 11, 2013, 03:35 AM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
Okay. Thanks the help guys.
__________________
"Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone" Akuma from Street Fighter Alpha The Animation
KRSplatinum KRSplatinum's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 263

KRSplatinum is a forum legendKRSplatinum is a forum legend

Nov 12, 2013, 02:00 PM
KRSplatinum is offline
Reply With Quote
Sorry again for trolling, I just have to report some bugs.

Playing CTF online with mouse aim:
-I switched mouse aim off and I couldn't chat anymore. Turned mouse aim on again and could chat again
-At one point during some 3v3 randomly, I suddenly couldn't use any keyboard controls at all (mouse controls still worked) and had to close JJ2 and rejoin
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 13, 2013, 07:26 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Keys randomly stopping to work... have you checked the batteries of your keyboard? (if applicable)


Sorry, lame question! Couldn't resist But you never know...

Anyway, if that's not it, then hmm, interesting =)
__________________
KRSplatinum KRSplatinum's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 263

KRSplatinum is a forum legendKRSplatinum is a forum legend

Nov 13, 2013, 07:34 PM
KRSplatinum is offline
Reply With Quote
No trouble there, I didn't use battery power. ��
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Nov 14, 2013, 09:06 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Hi guys. I bumped into a problem when I was writing a custom gun script. When noFire is True, AS won't let me test for keyFire. Can you please solve this one for me? Thanks in advance...
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 14, 2013, 10:28 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's how it works, yes. If you don't want keyFire to be disabled, don't set noFire to true.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Nov 14, 2013, 10:40 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
But I don't want the player to fire the original weapon's bullet, neither do I want the sound.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 14, 2013, 10:52 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Then set keyFire to false.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Nov 25, 2013, 09:52 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Wh-wh-what....??? Whatever. I have a request: can you please add something like "alreadyJumped" to AS?
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Nov 25, 2013, 01:32 PM
minmay is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
Wh-wh-what....??? Whatever. I have a request: can you please add something like "alreadyJumped" to AS?
Can't you just check if their ySpeed is near 0 and they have a masked pixel underneath them?



This reminds me, I've been thinking it would be good to refill Spaz' double jump when he touches the ground, instead of when he jumps. It's rather annoying when I want to walk off a cliff but have to jump straight up first.

Last edited by minmay; Nov 26, 2013 at 03:29 PM.
Old Nov 26, 2013, 01:07 PM
juanpablo123
This message has been deleted by juanpablo123. Reason: zepect was helping me on skype
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Nov 27, 2013, 09:15 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by minmay View Post
Can't you just check if their ySpeed is near 0 and they have a masked pixel underneath them?
I didn't mean "jumped and landed", just jumped. For example, Spaz doesn't need to reach the ground to perform his double-jump.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Nov 27, 2013, 10:27 AM
minmay is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
I didn't mean "jumped and landed", just jumped. For example, Spaz doesn't need to reach the ground to perform his double-jump.
I know. The method I described is for detecting whether or not they just jumped. If they're on the ground, they didn't just jump. Once they leave the ground, you can check ySpeed to see if they actually jumped or just walked off a cliff, etc. Obviously there are further details (players aren't 1 pixel thick etc; you wouldn't actually want to use jjMaskedPixel, because of platforms and such) but surely you can figure those out.

I'm also confused as to what you intend to do with this information in the first place...
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Nov 27, 2013, 10:34 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
Perhaps a script which fixes Spaz's double-jump? Or gives Jazz/Lori a double-jump?
__________________
zepect zepect's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 17

zepect is doing well so far

Nov 28, 2013, 06:58 PM
zepect is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanpablo123 View Post
guys a question... i've waited too much already...
when i will have an angelscript-fixed version of this release?
please... i'm getting impatient...
You'll get a plus that works with AngelScript when your issue with AngelScript is fixed. You are only the one who has this issue. So, to fix it, we can only rely on testing specific things with you to find out what is the problem. Doing this via this forum will be weird, you can add me on Skype and we can try to solve that problem.
Old Nov 29, 2013, 10:49 AM
juanpablo123
This message has been deleted by juanpablo123. Reason: alright he now has accepted me
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 191

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Dec 8, 2013, 09:36 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
I have a question. How can I do in AngelScript to know what player number is using. Like:
jjChat("/ptrigger " + *PLAYER NUMBER* + " 1 on");
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:25 PM.