Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ v5.6 (last updated 27 February, 2018)

Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 15, 2014, 12:36 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn View Post
There's several improvements for that in the next release that will solve your problems, I think.
Good to know.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Old Dec 15, 2014, 03:33 AM
Jelly Jam
This message has been deleted by Jelly Jam. Reason: IT'S NOT REAL! I LOOKED UP THE VIDEO AGAIN AND IT'S SOME 'JAZZ JACKRABBIT 2.5' PACK BETA, MY BAD...
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 15, 2014, 09:27 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Well, i remember seeing some beta footage, and i played the beta race level is some servers.
When I read it first I thought you were talking about the bonus round. I was like whaa... Well, I wish to get the entire beta on my PC.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 15, 2014, 09:59 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Why do you need the damn beta, anyway? Are you really a THAT BIG JJ2 fanboy?
EDIT: But yeah, the race level really was beta.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 15, 2014, 10:12 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Why do you need the damn beta, anyway? Are you really a THAT BIG JJ2 fanboy?
EDIT: But yeah, the race level really was beta.
Pretty much obsessed. I just want to play the beta myself, to see differences and stuff. Videos and info aren't enuff for me.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 15, 2014, 10:13 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
okay, but go post about it in a different thread
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 15, 2014, 10:22 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
okay, but go post about it in a different thread
Erm, right. So, what other features will the new JJ2+ update have?
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Old Dec 16, 2014, 02:42 AM
Jelly Jam
This message has been deleted by Stijn. Reason: This thread is about JJ2+, not the beta
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 16, 2014, 06:42 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRSplatinum View Post
Whoever is making a level where they want to use Tweedle boss, will have ample reason and opportunity to make AngelScript code for Tweedle. Although there probably is no precedent for how to use Tweedle in a level, which could make it harder.
Well, even if someone was able to pull it off, there are not enough animations for the tweedle boss battle, i mean, there are boss animations, but there aren't enough gunless animations.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,275

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Dec 16, 2014, 06:57 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
I don't see any harm in answering this question; yes, it has. blur arose from the dead and edited some code that nobody else understood and now that particular crash is gone. (Or so I've been told, since I wasn't personally able to trigger it to begin with.)
Ah, thanks for the top secret info. And nice of Blur to 'sharpen' up that old code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Well, even if someone was able to pull it off, there are not enough animations for the tweedle boss battle, i mean, there are boss animations, but there aren't enough gunless animations.
I remember someone in the early days of Plus AS made a version of Bubba with Tweedle animations. Yes it was silly but funny to see him hop around in his intended Psych arena.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 17, 2014, 12:00 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
Ah, thanks for the top secret info. And nice of Blur to 'sharpen' up that old code.
I remember someone in the early days of Plus AS made a version of Bubba with Tweedle animations. Yes it was silly but funny to see him hop around in his intended Psych arena.
Ha! Same here. There was this player called Nick, who made the exact same thing, but not in the psych level though, just a level for testing porpuses. In that battle, tweedle used his magnet animation while jumping, so hilarious.
EDIT: Also, i think that those cool animations (ledge grabbing, diagonal running, shooting up while in air etc.) were replaced with the lori animations. So, if it was possible to make the gunless fight, what about the TSF users?

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Dec 17, 2014 at 12:34 AM.
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Dec 17, 2014, 09:53 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
Well, you could just have it check which version of JJ2 you're using. If it's TSF, it keeps the regular animations but still disables the gun, and if it's 1.23, you get both the animations and the disabled gun.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 18, 2014, 06:52 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Wait, so, the new JJ2+ has some updates to JJ1 as well?
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,275

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Dec 18, 2014, 08:43 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Wait, so, the new JJ2+ has some updates to JJ1 as well?
Violet & co are quite mysterious about it, but earlier teaser screenshots suggests OpenJazz integration with Plus.

That could mean JJ1 data is usable in JJ2, likely through new JJ1 gamemodes. I wonder though, if levels could use JJ2/AS and OJ aspects at once, or if it'll be fully separated.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 18, 2014, 09:53 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
So... instalation should be the same like for JJ2 (using plusfiller)?
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Dec 18, 2014, 10:04 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
I imagine it would be like OpenJazz, where you just put all the data files in the correct folder.
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 18, 2014, 10:56 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Question related to JJ2+:
I deleted JJ2 from my computer because it had waaay to many maps (Like 200-300). I know in "Home Cooked Levels" there were a few test levels showing the features of JJ2+ (One of them had falling Devan as a boss). Where/How can I get them back?
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 18, 2014, 11:01 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote


This is the Devan containing level I'm talking about.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 18, 2014, 11:36 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
There's a link to the example levels at the start of this thread.
Also, can't wait to download JJ1 again so I can see the new features
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 18, 2014, 12:25 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Played the "multiple exits" map and I got into this awesome menu:

How can I get into it quicker? I mean... dunno... why isn't this an actual menu?
Damn my lack of exprimation.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Dec 18, 2014, 12:33 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
It's not an actual menu, it's a (blank) level with a script.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 18, 2014, 01:06 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
It's not an actual menu, it's a (blank) level with a script.
I know, I am not dumb. I was just wondering if there is or could be a shortcut for it.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Dec 18, 2014, 01:26 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
I know, I am not dumb. I was just wondering if there is or could be a shortcut for it.
Save & Run from JCS.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 18, 2014, 01:39 PM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
I know, I am not dumb. I was just wondering if there is or could be a shortcut for it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
I'm dumb.

Anywho,will there be a enable/disable gun9 powerup command? Cuz the powered up electro will change some levels
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Dec 18, 2014, 01:45 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
There is no plus component in the making that I'm aware of that does anything with JJ1. I suppose Violet's screenshot were instead showcasing the (impressive) new things you can do with Actionscript.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 18, 2014, 01:50 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
/strongpowerups <on|off> is already available I think
__________________
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Dec 18, 2014, 02:00 PM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn View Post
Actionscript.
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 18, 2014, 11:22 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Save & Run from JCS.
How? What?
...
I'm dumb.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 19, 2014, 12:21 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
How? What?
...
I'm dumb.
He means, open the level file in jcs. Then go to 'file', and click 'save and run'
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 19, 2014, 12:51 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote

Nope. "Jazz Jackrabbit 2 -".
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,681

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 19, 2014, 01:00 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's because JCS runs Jazz2.exe, and you're looking for Jazz2+.exe or some similar name.

Now, there's nothing stopping you from making a shortcut with the target C:\Games\Jazz2\Jazz2+.exe plusMenu.j2l (adjust for your own computer's file system as necessary). Or you could configure your computer so you never have to use Save+Run for other people's levels again. (Though later versions of Windows have made the process harder, so you may need to download a program specifically for editing file type associations.)
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 19, 2014, 01:07 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
/strongpowerups <on|off> is already available I think
Does that effect all of the powerups or just the electroblaster one (and probably pepper spray)?
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 19, 2014, 05:40 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
That's because JCS runs Jazz2.exe, and you're looking for Jazz2+.exe or some similar name.

Now, there's nothing stopping you from making a shortcut with the target C:\Games\Jazz2\Jazz2+.exe plusMenu.j2l (adjust for your own computer's file system as necessary). Or you could configure your computer so you never have to use Save+Run for other people's levels again. (Though later versions of Windows have made the process harder, so you may need to download a program specifically for editing file type associations.)
Thanks a lot, it really helped!
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,024

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Dec 19, 2014, 11:26 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
I deleted JJ2 from my computer because it had waaay to many maps (Like 200-300).
Or you could've deleted the levels instead, or opened them in JCS and ticked hide in home cooked levels (by clicking tools then selecting level properties). I use a password cracker if I can't access the level. http://www.jazz2online.com/downloads/6627/-/

I have way more than 200-300 levels. I don't mind at all. I have a lot of WIPs and like having a big archive.

I don't rely on HCL to open levels most of the time, as I find it one of the most tedious and unreliable ways to open levels. I only use it to see what levels are lying around, and I try to use "run..." for SP instead, which opens the level instantly without going into JJ2;

"C:\Games\Jazz2tsf\jazz2.exe sedec -turbo -spaz"
You need to know the directory of the folder, though. If you leave the difficulty and character as blank, it defaults to Jazz and medium. I renamed my Jazz2+.exe for convenience with JCS. I find the run program, by typing it in the start menu search bar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Does that effect all of the powerups or just the electroblaster one (and probably pepper spray)?
You should really look at the plus readme. Ctrl + F is your friend (then type strongpowerups and you should find out specifically what it does).

"When enabled, pepper spray and electro-blaster will deal 2 hearts of damage when powered up. (Server must be running latest version of JJ2+.)"
If doesn't affect other powerups because it doesn't mention it.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 19, 2014, 11:31 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
Or you could've deleted the levels instead, or opened them in JCS and ticked hide in home cooked levels (by clicking tools then selecting level properties). I use a password cracker if I can't access the level. http://www.jazz2online.com/downloads/6627/-/

I have way more than 200-300 levels. I don't mind at all. I have a lot of WIPs and like having a big archive.

I don't rely on HCL to open levels most of the time, as I find it one of the most tedious and unreliable ways to open levels. I only use it to see what levels are lying around, and I try to use "run..." for SP instead, which opens the level instantly without going into JJ2;

"C:\Games\Jazz2tsf\jazz2.exe sedec -turbo -spaz"
You need to know the directory of the folder, though. If you leave the difficulty and character as blank, it defaults to Jazz and medium. I renamed my Jazz2+.exe for convenience with JCS. I find the run program, by typing it in the start menu search bar.


You should really look at the plus readme. Ctrl + F is your friend (then type strongpowerups and you should find out specifically what it does).

"When enabled, pepper spray and electro-blaster will deal 2 hearts of damage when powered up. (Server must be running latest version of JJ2+.)"
If doesn't affect other powerups because it doesn't mention it.
Thanks for the tips
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 19, 2014, 11:35 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
When enabled, pepper spray and electro-blaster will deal 2 hearts of damage when powered up. (Server must be running latest version of JJ2+.
If doesn't affect other powerups because it doesn't mention it.
Thanks
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 19, 2014, 12:19 PM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote

Was barely waiting for something like this. So, since the blue-orange bird stomps even when it's your buddy, does that mean when we're green-red birds we can shoot?
Also it's good to see that the bird is going up the way it was originaly intended to.
Doh i can't wait anymore... I want to try this...
Also

This looks SUPER MEGA GIGA TERA ULTRA SWEET!SPLITSCREEN FOR JJ1, HOLY WOW, JJ1 IS NOW BETTER THAN JJ2.
But in the story of jj1, jazz is supposed to save the galaxy by himself, not with a companion

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Dec 19, 2014 at 12:31 PM.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 19, 2014, 11:28 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
May I suggest fixing the frog getting stuck in the ropes/strings/whatever?
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 771

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Dec 20, 2014, 12:12 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
May I suggest fixing the frog getting stuck in the ropes/strings/whatever?
Oh that. You guys can probably make the frog walk on the vine. Also, when shooting unpowered rf up while on a vine, it hits the vine, and with poweredup rf and every other weapon it's perfectly fine. I suggest making unpowered rf not hit the vine or whatsoever.
EDIT: in the next update, of course... Unless we find it in this update?

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Dec 20, 2014 at 12:34 AM.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 20, 2014, 03:07 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Oh that. You guys can probably make the frog walk on the vine. Also, when shooting unpowered rf up while on a vine, it hits the vine, and with poweredup rf and every other weapon it's perfectly fine. I suggest making unpowered rf not hit the vine or whatsoever.
EDIT: in the next update, of course... Unless we find it in this update?
Frogs can walk on the ropes, but nothing more. The ropes are deadly, since you can't jump off them. My suggestion is to be able to get off the ropes OR to be unable to touch the rope (Like Hip Hop, I guess).
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
KRSplatinum KRSplatinum's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 263

KRSplatinum is a forum legendKRSplatinum is a forum legend

Dec 20, 2014, 03:17 AM
KRSplatinum is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
Frogs can walk on the ropes, but nothing more. The ropes are deadly, since you can't jump off them. My suggestion is to be able to get off the ropes OR to be unable to touch the rope (Like Hip Hop, I guess).
Maybe that's not a bug but an intended interaction. That sounds like fly paper for frogs.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 812

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Dec 20, 2014, 03:45 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRSplatinum View Post
Maybe that's not a bug but an intended interaction. That sounds like fly paper for frogs.
Then why can they still move?
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:20 AM.