Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ v5.12 (last updated 20 August, 2023)

French French's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 26

French is doing well so far

Jul 13, 2013, 10:33 AM
French is offline
Reply With Quote
Thanks for this quick reply!

This Gem Stomp bug also occurs with Gem Crates, and even when goodies are falling out of the enemies you shoot, actually. (And maybe that's not all?)

Other requests:
• In multiplayer, ammo in the map should appear powered-up if the player has the power-up, and not depending on the server.
• In spectate mode, we must see the amount of ammo in the bottom-right, or possibly nothing, instead of ×00.
• When an Ammo Crate is open by a player in multiplayer, the resulting ammo should depend on either the weapons of the player, the weapons in the map, or the weapons of all players, and not the weapons of the server. Potentially, we could choose in JCS which ammo may fall out, as for Gem Crates?

Last edited by French; Jul 14, 2013 at 12:41 AM.
drabyss78

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 1

drabyss78 is doing well so far

Jul 16, 2013, 11:14 AM
drabyss78 is offline
Reply With Quote
New here, but this is great. Have loved JJR2 forever!!
Sean Sean's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2010

Posts: 720

Sean is a forum legendSean is a forum legend

Jul 22, 2013, 09:03 AM
Sean is offline
Reply With Quote
Don't suppose we could add triggers changing on spectators depending who they're spectating? To be able to 'see what the players see', especially on maps with trigger-based gameplay. Copy the player's triggers onto the spectator's, and reset all triggers to 0 on unspectate? Would be a very nice effect on live streamed games.

There would have to be an option to disable this for maps relying on spectator triggers of course, but then again I've never heard of such maps.
__________________
drop by my SoundCloud or something if you want, it's my life's pride
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 26, 2013, 04:09 PM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
I have a bug report and a request.
Bug: Some AS scripts need the gamemode to be changed to coop in order to work properly.

Request: Add detecting keys (up, down, left, right, shoot, jump and weapon change), like the running function in the JJPLAYER class.

Anyway, you did a great work, keep it up!
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,975

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 26, 2013, 05:26 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean View Post
[triggers, spectating]
We had a talk about this in the dev forum and decided it probably wasn't a good idea. There are too many levels where something would end up going wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
Bug: Some AS scripts need the gamemode to be changed to coop in order to work properly.
Gonna need to be way more specific.
Quote:
Request: Add detecting keys (up, down, left, right, shoot, jump and weapon change), like the running function in the JJPLAYER class.
Already done setting them too, not just detecting. You wanna go all out and make your own cutscene, we've got you covered.

French, the stuff in your last post variously falls into a) already done or b) being actively considered as a practical design choice.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 27, 2013, 05:11 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Gonna need to be way more specific.
For example, I have a custom gun script. If I start the server, the default gamemode is battle, and my gun won't fire any bullets. But if I change the gamemode to coop, it works.

EDIT: Here's the code.
Code:
void CreateBullet1(int objectID) {
  int playerID = jjObjects[objectID].creator - 32768;
  int bulletID = jjAddObject(OBJECT::BLASTERBULLET, jjPlayers[playerID].xPos, jjPlayers[playerID].yPos, jjPlayers[playerID].playerID, CREATOR::PLAYER);
  jjObjects[bulletID].direction = jjPlayers[playerID].direction;
  jjObjects[bulletID].ySpeed = 2;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xSpeed = (jjObjects[bulletID].direction*10)+p.xSpeed*3;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xAcc = jjObjects[bulletID].direction*5;
}
 
void CreateBullet2(int objectID) {
  int playerID = jjObjects[objectID].creator - 32768;
  int bulletID = jjAddObject(OBJECT::BLASTERBULLET, jjPlayers[playerID].xPos, jjPlayers[playerID].yPos, jjPlayers[playerID].playerID, CREATOR::PLAYER);
  jjObjects[bulletID].direction = jjPlayers[playerID].direction;
  jjObjects[bulletID].ySpeed = -2;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xSpeed = (jjObjects[bulletID].direction*10)+p.xSpeed*3;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xAcc = jjObjects[bulletID].direction*5;
}
 
void onMain() {
 
  p.ammo[9] = 3;
 
  for (int i = 0;  i < jjObjectCount; i++) {
    if (jjObjects[i].isActive && jjObjects[i].creatorType == CREATOR::PLAYER) {
    //Create bullet
      if (jjObjects[i].eventID == OBJECT::ELECTROBULLET && jjObjects[i].state != STATE::EXPLODE) {
        jjDeleteObject(i);
        CreateBullet1(i);
        CreateBullet2(i);
        continue;
      }
    }
  }
}
This isn't the only one, there are more, mostly custom guns.

Last edited by szmol96; Jul 27, 2013 at 05:57 AM.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Jul 27, 2013, 05:23 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
For example, I have a custom gun script. If I start the server, the default gamemode is battle, and my gun won't fire any bullets. But if I change the gamemode to coop, it works.
It would be much more helpful if you shared the script in question.

EDIT: The above script works fine for me when I host it in Battle.

Last edited by cooba; Jul 27, 2013 at 06:21 AM.
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 27, 2013, 07:11 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
The above script works fine for me when I host it in Battle.
Do you have Tunngle? Then I could show you.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Jul 27, 2013, 07:24 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm hosting it right now.
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 864

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Jul 27, 2013, 11:47 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
You need to place electroblaster ammo somewhere in the level. Otherwise JJ2+ assumes you are trying to cheat by shooting ammo that you couldn't have obtained. And by the way, unless you're planning to put more inside of that for() loop, the continue; instruction is completely unnecessary.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 27, 2013, 02:49 PM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Oh, thank you! This is the real answer to my problem.
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 30, 2013, 11:27 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
I have another two requests:
1. Could you make the Home Cooked levels list longer?
2. Frog Master game mode.
Rules
If you kill a player, he/she is morphed into frog and you own that player.
If you get killed by other players, you lose all your frogs and they are morphed back to normal and you get morphed into frog.
The goal is to own all other players as frogs.
Sorry for bothering and thanks!
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Jul 30, 2013, 01:56 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
1, longer HCL: I think we can, can't we? Though it might get annoying to browse, so maybe we'd need to add an easier way to browse by pages (for examle the left/right arrow buttons).
2, Frog Master: Nice idea, sounds a bit like pestilence but with the zombies disarmed. The limited movement of frogs can be an annoyance though. But the idea of owning players is awesome
__________________
L853RCHU L853RCHU's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 9

L853RCHU is notorious for his worthless posts

Jul 31, 2013, 02:17 AM
L853RCHU is offline
Reply With Quote
Please fix the home cooked levels. It just plays the rabbit in training level and you win it crashes. Please fix.
__________________
Violet, Salamander & 555 are awesome.
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 31, 2013, 04:17 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Frog Master: Nice idea, sounds a bit like pestilence but with the zombies disarmed.
Actually, it's like Slave Master in Unreal Tournament, with frogs.
Obi1mcd Obi1mcd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 692

Obi1mcd is OFF DA CHARTObi1mcd is OFF DA CHARTObi1mcd is OFF DA CHART

Jul 31, 2013, 06:48 AM
Obi1mcd is offline
Reply With Quote
Regarding HCL, perhaps pressing a letter to jump to that point in the list, if that's doable? With a large number of levels it's certainly tedious to navigate.
__________________
Define 'normal'.
French French's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2013

Posts: 26

French is doing well so far

Aug 1, 2013, 01:50 AM
French is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
1, longer HCL: I think we can, can't we? Though it might get annoying to browse, so maybe we'd need to add an easier way to browse by pages (for examle the left/right arrow buttons).
You can already browse HCL by pages (with navigation keys: PgUp and PgDn).
But probably you could show more levels by page, or browse subdirectories. Is it possible?
What do you mean by “longer”? Is there currently a limit?
And have you tried adding more pages for J2E's ?
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Aug 1, 2013, 03:35 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
What do you mean by “longer”? Is there currently a limit?
Yes, there is a 256 level limit.

EDIT: Also, I have more ideas/requests. (I know I'm getting annoying.)
- An integrated join/leave notifier like NotifyJJ2 by Link.
- Testing for ANY player's chat in AS.

Last edited by szmol96; Aug 1, 2013 at 04:53 AM.
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Aug 1, 2013, 10:23 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
I Have a simple idea, when there is new JJ2+ version released the old version will show warning message on the Splash screen and pester you to download the new update.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Aug 2, 2013, 06:56 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
I forgot to tell about a carrrot bug. So, when I have less hearts than max health and pick up a carrot, I get dragged around a bit and I have the same health as before.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,975

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Aug 2, 2013, 10:49 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's if you pick up a fake carrot that you think exists but the server doesn't agree with you about.
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,101

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Aug 3, 2013, 07:07 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
What I think should be done with the Home Cooked Levels list: Raise the limit to 512, and make the left/right arrow keys mimic the PageUp/PageDown keys.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Aug 3, 2013, 07:28 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Raise the limit to 512
I think many people have more than 512 levels. For example, I have 1186 at the moment.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,101

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Aug 3, 2013, 07:55 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Ah... Well, maybe 2048?
__________________
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Aug 3, 2013, 11:14 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
I can't think of any reason why we would need to have any limit (without looking at the actual code).
__________________
ColdMetal

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2011

Posts: 27

ColdMetal is doing well so far

Aug 4, 2013, 02:30 PM
ColdMetal is offline
Reply With Quote
If it's possible to increase or remove the limit on how many levels are able to be listed in the HCL, then I think having the left/right arrow keys change what level types are currently listed (ie. have All / Single Player / Battle / Treasure / CTF listed as categories on the top of the screen, and have the current selection highlighted with the other ones darkened) would be a useful way to quickly sort through high numbers of levels -- particularly if the list is made accessible through the server setup screen instead of having to type in a .J2L filename.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,975

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Aug 4, 2013, 02:34 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Levels don't have any internal specification of what gamemode they're for, though. The closest they get is the Multiplayer checkbox, which is a pretty blanket category, not always applied, and would anyway necessitate decompressing each .j2l file in order to read it.
__________________
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Aug 5, 2013, 03:19 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
The categories to be shorted as parts...
For example the first would have the 1-256 levels
the second 257-513
and continues...

Can you made Hotel mode? It is based on Unknown mode but it saves the coins and whatever you had.
WHAT IS UNKNOWN MODE:
Rarely happen a server to host as unknown mode, it is a mode that it looks like coop. But without lives and some other differences...
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat

Last edited by MrAlextov; Aug 5, 2013 at 03:30 AM.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Aug 5, 2013, 06:45 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedComputer View Post
Can you made Hotel mode?
We can. But we won't.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,101

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Aug 5, 2013, 09:09 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedComputer View Post
Can you made Hotel mode?
... The horror!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
We can. But we won't.
Thank the Flying Spaghetti Monster(And his noodly appendages)!

On a slightly more serious note, perhaps left and right could jump one page at a time, and PageUp/PageDown could jump ten pages at a time?
__________________
FawFul FawFul's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2007

Posts: 517

FawFul is a forum legendFawFul is a forum legendFawFul is a forum legend

Aug 6, 2013, 03:42 AM
FawFul is offline
Reply With Quote
Just make the list unlimited, a scroll function and smaller font like the current jj2+ serverlist that was changed ages ago. On top a search function that searches on levelname of filename by simply pressing keys. All of this combined should the best option.
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Aug 6, 2013, 04:05 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by FawFul View Post
Just make the list unlimited, a scroll function and smaller font like the current jj2+ serverlist that was changed ages ago. On top a search function that searches on levelname of filename by simply pressing keys. All of this combined should the best option.
Good idea... But may problem that the JJ2 has a number... Too big numbers for example 512000 may work
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
Sean Sean's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2010

Posts: 720

Sean is a forum legendSean is a forum legend

Aug 7, 2013, 11:09 AM
Sean is offline
Reply With Quote
Another feature suggestion, don't suppose while spectating we could implement the ability to press the number of the player you want to spectate, or maybe even bind some players to certain numbers? The thought occurred to me while I was streaming a game of JJ2, and it would be quite useful when there's someone I want to watch at this specific moment but I don't want to waste time cycling through all the current players.
__________________
drop by my SoundCloud or something if you want, it's my life's pride
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Aug 7, 2013, 12:39 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
There's not enough for buttons for 32 players.
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Aug 7, 2013, 01:11 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
My TV has 1000 channels, but the remote has only 10 numeric buttons. Remarkably, it works fine! Maybe we need to look into Sony's patents (or the user manual) to see how they did that?
__________________
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Aug 8, 2013, 01:46 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
About switch players with numbers there would be another window to see what numbers you are spectating to be not visible in live (or without this window, but in a Logitech keyboard with weird screen) and to spectate someone when you arent in the chat punch keys |1|>|4|>|ENTER| and you spectating him. Also good to use |-| for Red flag and |+| for the blue flag in ctf.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
Toni_

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2011

Posts: 193

Toni_ is doing well so far

Aug 9, 2013, 08:41 AM
Toni_ is offline
Reply With Quote
Not sure if anyone suggested and is it possible already, but wouldn't it be easier for some players to change controls for ammo? For example - 7, 8 and 9 are hard to press while playing. It would be easier to bind them on some letters instead.
Old Aug 9, 2013, 01:20 PM
MrAlextov
This message has been deleted by MrAlextov. Reason: Nah, i am stupad
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,975

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Aug 9, 2013, 03:03 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
No, JaRU is making a suggestion unrelated to yours.
__________________
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Aug 10, 2013, 01:30 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
No, JaRU is making a suggestion unrelated to yours.
Oh... (Now its deleted), but actually great idea because the numbers are too far. Instead using 1-9 you can use Z, X, C, V, B, N,M, ",", "." and makes your live better.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,101

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Aug 10, 2013, 06:38 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
While we're talking about controls, would it be possible to add a previous weapon button for Controllers? Even though this won't affect too many people, it will be a massive help for those it does help.
__________________
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:50 PM.