JazzJackrabbit Community Forums  

Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums > Open Forums > General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 13th, 2013, 09:33 AM   #241
French
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bordeaux, France
Reputation: French is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to French
Thanks for this quick reply!

This Gem Stomp bug also occurs with Gem Crates, and even when goodies are falling out of the enemies you shoot, actually. (And maybe that's not all?)

Other requests:
• In multiplayer, ammo in the map should appear powered-up if the player has the power-up, and not depending on the server.
• In spectate mode, we must see the amount of ammo in the bottom-right, or possibly nothing, instead of Î00.
• When an Ammo Crate is open by a player in multiplayer, the resulting ammo should depend on either the weapons of the player, the weapons in the map, or the weapons of all players, and not the weapons of the server. Potentially, we could choose in JCS which ammo may fall out, as for Gem Crates?

Last edited by French; July 13th, 2013 at 11:41 PM..
French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2013, 10:14 AM   #242
drabyss78
JCF Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Reputation: drabyss78 is doing well so far
New here, but this is great. Have loved JJR2 forever!!
drabyss78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2013, 08:03 AM   #243
Sean
JCF Member
be lurkin'
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Boston, US
Reputation: Sean is a forum legendSean is a forum legend
Send a message via MSN to Sean Send a message via Skype™ to Sean
Don't suppose we could add triggers changing on spectators depending who they're spectating? To be able to 'see what the players see', especially on maps with trigger-based gameplay. Copy the player's triggers onto the spectator's, and reset all triggers to 0 on unspectate? Would be a very nice effect on live streamed games.

There would have to be an option to disable this for maps relying on spectator triggers of course, but then again I've never heard of such maps.
__________________
drop by my SoundCloud or something if you want, it's my life's pride
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 03:09 PM   #244
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
I have a bug report and a request.
Bug: Some AS scripts need the gamemode to be changed to coop in order to work properly.

Request: Add detecting keys (up, down, left, right, shoot, jump and weapon change), like the running function in the JJPLAYER class.

Anyway, you did a great work, keep it up!
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 04:26 PM   #245
Violet CLM
JCF ╔minence Grise
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The Intergalactic Repneck Bar
Send a message via MSN to Violet CLM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean View Post
[triggers, spectating]
We had a talk about this in the dev forum and decided it probably wasn't a good idea. There are too many levels where something would end up going wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
Bug: Some AS scripts need the gamemode to be changed to coop in order to work properly.
Gonna need to be way more specific.
Quote:
Request: Add detecting keys (up, down, left, right, shoot, jump and weapon change), like the running function in the JJPLAYER class.
Already done setting them too, not just detecting. You wanna go all out and make your own cutscene, we've got you covered.

French, the stuff in your last post variously falls into a) already done or b) being actively considered as a practical design choice.
__________________
Violet CLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 04:11 AM   #246
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Quote:
Gonna need to be way more specific.
For example, I have a custom gun script. If I start the server, the default gamemode is battle, and my gun won't fire any bullets. But if I change the gamemode to coop, it works.

EDIT: Here's the code.
Code:
void CreateBullet1(int objectID) {
  int playerID = jjObjects[objectID].creator - 32768;
  int bulletID = jjAddObject(OBJECT::BLASTERBULLET, jjPlayers[playerID].xPos, jjPlayers[playerID].yPos, jjPlayers[playerID].playerID, CREATOR::PLAYER);
  jjObjects[bulletID].direction = jjPlayers[playerID].direction;
  jjObjects[bulletID].ySpeed = 2;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xSpeed = (jjObjects[bulletID].direction*10)+p.xSpeed*3;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xAcc = jjObjects[bulletID].direction*5;
}
 
void CreateBullet2(int objectID) {
  int playerID = jjObjects[objectID].creator - 32768;
  int bulletID = jjAddObject(OBJECT::BLASTERBULLET, jjPlayers[playerID].xPos, jjPlayers[playerID].yPos, jjPlayers[playerID].playerID, CREATOR::PLAYER);
  jjObjects[bulletID].direction = jjPlayers[playerID].direction;
  jjObjects[bulletID].ySpeed = -2;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xSpeed = (jjObjects[bulletID].direction*10)+p.xSpeed*3;
  jjObjects[bulletID].xAcc = jjObjects[bulletID].direction*5;
}
 
void onMain() {
 
  p.ammo[9] = 3;
 
  for (int i = 0;  i < jjObjectCount; i++) {
    if (jjObjects[i].isActive && jjObjects[i].creatorType == CREATOR::PLAYER) {
    //Create bullet
      if (jjObjects[i].eventID == OBJECT::ELECTROBULLET && jjObjects[i].state != STATE::EXPLODE) {
        jjDeleteObject(i);
        CreateBullet1(i);
        CreateBullet2(i);
        continue;
      }
    }
  }
}
This isn't the only one, there are more, mostly custom guns.

Last edited by szmol96; July 27th, 2013 at 04:57 AM..
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 04:23 AM   #247
cooba
JCF Veteran
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
For example, I have a custom gun script. If I start the server, the default gamemode is battle, and my gun won't fire any bullets. But if I change the gamemode to coop, it works.
It would be much more helpful if you shared the script in question.

EDIT: The above script works fine for me when I host it in Battle.

Last edited by cooba; July 27th, 2013 at 05:21 AM..
cooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 06:11 AM   #248
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Quote:
The above script works fine for me when I host it in Battle.
Do you have Tunngle? Then I could show you.
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 06:24 AM   #249
cooba
JCF Veteran
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light
I'm hosting it right now.
cooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 10:47 AM   #250
Sir Ementaler
JCF Member
Currently sadistically consuming marshmallows
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fridge
Reputation: Sir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to all
Send a message via Skype™ to Sir Ementaler
You need to place electroblaster ammo somewhere in the level. Otherwise JJ2+ assumes you are trying to cheat by shooting ammo that you couldn't have obtained. And by the way, unless you're planning to put more inside of that for() loop, the continue; instruction is completely unnecessary.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Sir Ementaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2013, 01:49 PM   #251
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Oh, thank you! This is the real answer to my problem.
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2013, 10:27 AM   #252
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
I have another two requests:
1. Could you make the Home Cooked levels list longer?
2. Frog Master game mode.
Rules
If you kill a player, he/she is morphed into frog and you own that player.
If you get killed by other players, you lose all your frogs and they are morphed back to normal and you get morphed into frog.
The goal is to own all other players as frogs.
Sorry for bothering and thanks!
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2013, 12:56 PM   #253
Jerrythabest
JCF Member
Can I has cookie?
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wassenaar, the Netherlands
Reputation: Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend
Send a message via MSN to Jerrythabest Send a message via Skype™ to Jerrythabest
1, longer HCL: I think we can, can't we? Though it might get annoying to browse, so maybe we'd need to add an easier way to browse by pages (for examle the left/right arrow buttons).
2, Frog Master: Nice idea, sounds a bit like pestilence but with the zombies disarmed. The limited movement of frogs can be an annoyance though. But the idea of owning players is awesome
__________________
Jerrythabest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 01:17 AM   #254
L853RCHU
JCF Member
L853RCHU
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth, maybe.
Reputation: L853RCHU is notorious for his worthless posts
Please fix the home cooked levels. It just plays the rabbit in training level and you win it crashes. Please fix.
__________________
Violet, Salamander & 555 are awesome.
L853RCHU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 03:17 AM   #255
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Quote:
Frog Master: Nice idea, sounds a bit like pestilence but with the zombies disarmed.
Actually, it's like Slave Master in Unreal Tournament, with frogs.
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 05:48 AM   #256
Obi1mcd
JCF Member
Tileset maker
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: C:\Games\Jazz2\Tiles
Reputation: Obi1mcd is OFF DA CHARTObi1mcd is OFF DA CHARTObi1mcd is OFF DA CHART
Regarding HCL, perhaps pressing a letter to jump to that point in the list, if that's doable? With a large number of levels it's certainly tedious to navigate.
__________________
Define 'normal'.
Obi1mcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 12:50 AM   #257
French
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bordeaux, France
Reputation: French is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to French
Quote:
1, longer HCL: I think we can, can't we? Though it might get annoying to browse, so maybe we'd need to add an easier way to browse by pages (for examle the left/right arrow buttons).
You can already browse HCL by pages (with navigation keys: PgUp and PgDn).
But probably you could show more levels by page, or browse subdirectories. Is it possible?
What do you mean by “longer”? Is there currently a limit?
And have you tried adding more pages for J2E's ?
French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 02:35 AM   #258
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Quote:
What do you mean by “longer”? Is there currently a limit?
Yes, there is a 256 level limit.

EDIT: Also, I have more ideas/requests. (I know I'm getting annoying.)
- An integrated join/leave notifier like NotifyJJ2 by Link.
- Testing for ANY player's chat in AS.

Last edited by szmol96; August 1st, 2013 at 03:53 AM..
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 09:23 AM   #259
MrAlextov
JCF Member
Killed by rabbit ;P
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Formerly: RedComputer
Send a message via MSN to MrAlextov
I Have a simple idea, when there is new JJ2+ version released the old version will show warning message on the Splash screen and pester you to download the new update.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
MrAlextov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2013, 05:56 AM   #260
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
I forgot to tell about a carrrot bug. So, when I have less hearts than max health and pick up a carrot, I get dragged around a bit and I have the same health as before.
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2013, 09:49 AM   #261
Violet CLM
JCF ╔minence Grise
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The Intergalactic Repneck Bar
Send a message via MSN to Violet CLM
That's if you pick up a fake carrot that you think exists but the server doesn't agree with you about.
__________________
Violet CLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2013, 06:07 AM   #262
Robo4900
JCF Member
The Almighty Tallest
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dimension C-137
What I think should be done with the Home Cooked Levels list: Raise the limit to 512, and make the left/right arrow keys mimic the PageUp/PageDown keys.
__________________
Robo4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2013, 06:28 AM   #263
szmol96
JCF Member
No interesting stuff here.
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hungary
Reputation: szmol96 is doing well so far
Send a message via Skype™ to szmol96
Quote:
Raise the limit to 512
I think many people have more than 512 levels. For example, I have 1186 at the moment.
szmol96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2013, 06:55 AM   #264
Robo4900
JCF Member
The Almighty Tallest
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dimension C-137
Ah... Well, maybe 2048?
__________________
Robo4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2013, 10:14 AM   #265
Jerrythabest
JCF Member
Can I has cookie?
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wassenaar, the Netherlands
Reputation: Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend
Send a message via MSN to Jerrythabest Send a message via Skype™ to Jerrythabest
I can't think of any reason why we would need to have any limit (without looking at the actual code).
__________________
Jerrythabest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2013, 01:30 PM   #266
ColdMetal
JCF Member
Crazed Inventor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: ColdMetal is doing well so far
If it's possible to increase or remove the limit on how many levels are able to be listed in the HCL, then I think having the left/right arrow keys change what level types are currently listed (ie. have All / Single Player / Battle / Treasure / CTF listed as categories on the top of the screen, and have the current selection highlighted with the other ones darkened) would be a useful way to quickly sort through high numbers of levels -- particularly if the list is made accessible through the server setup screen instead of having to type in a .J2L filename.
ColdMetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2013, 01:34 PM   #267
Violet CLM
JCF ╔minence Grise
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The Intergalactic Repneck Bar
Send a message via MSN to Violet CLM
Levels don't have any internal specification of what gamemode they're for, though. The closest they get is the Multiplayer checkbox, which is a pretty blanket category, not always applied, and would anyway necessitate decompressing each .j2l file in order to read it.
__________________
Violet CLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2013, 02:19 AM   #268
MrAlextov
JCF Member
Killed by rabbit ;P
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Formerly: RedComputer
Send a message via MSN to MrAlextov
The categories to be shorted as parts...
For example the first would have the 1-256 levels
the second 257-513
and continues...

Can you made Hotel mode? It is based on Unknown mode but it saves the coins and whatever you had.
WHAT IS UNKNOWN MODE:
Rarely happen a server to host as unknown mode, it is a mode that it looks like coop. But without lives and some other differences...
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat

Last edited by MrAlextov; August 5th, 2013 at 02:30 AM..
MrAlextov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2013, 05:45 AM   #269
cooba
JCF Veteran
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedComputer View Post
Can you made Hotel mode?
We can. But we won't.
cooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2013, 08:09 AM   #270
Robo4900
JCF Member
The Almighty Tallest
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dimension C-137
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedComputer View Post
Can you made Hotel mode?
... The horror!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
We can. But we won't.
Thank the Flying Spaghetti Monster(And his noodly appendages)!

On a slightly more serious note, perhaps left and right could jump one page at a time, and PageUp/PageDown could jump ten pages at a time?
__________________
Robo4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2013, 02:42 AM   #271
FawFul
JCF Member
Nope.avi
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a Tedium place
Reputation: FawFul is a forum legendFawFul is a forum legend
Just make the list unlimited, a scroll function and smaller font like the current jj2+ serverlist that was changed ages ago. On top a search function that searches on levelname of filename by simply pressing keys. All of this combined should the best option.
FawFul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2013, 03:05 AM   #272
MrAlextov
JCF Member
Killed by rabbit ;P
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Formerly: RedComputer
Send a message via MSN to MrAlextov
Quote:
Originally Posted by FawFul View Post
Just make the list unlimited, a scroll function and smaller font like the current jj2+ serverlist that was changed ages ago. On top a search function that searches on levelname of filename by simply pressing keys. All of this combined should the best option.
Good idea... But may problem that the JJ2 has a number... Too big numbers for example 512000 may work
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
MrAlextov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2013, 10:09 AM   #273
Sean
JCF Member
be lurkin'
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Boston, US
Reputation: Sean is a forum legendSean is a forum legend
Send a message via MSN to Sean Send a message via Skype™ to Sean
Another feature suggestion, don't suppose while spectating we could implement the ability to press the number of the player you want to spectate, or maybe even bind some players to certain numbers? The thought occurred to me while I was streaming a game of JJ2, and it would be quite useful when there's someone I want to watch at this specific moment but I don't want to waste time cycling through all the current players.
__________________
drop by my SoundCloud or something if you want, it's my life's pride
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2013, 11:39 AM   #274
cooba
JCF Veteran
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light
There's not enough for buttons for 32 players.
cooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2013, 12:11 PM   #275
Jerrythabest
JCF Member
Can I has cookie?
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wassenaar, the Netherlands
Reputation: Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend
Send a message via MSN to Jerrythabest Send a message via Skype™ to Jerrythabest
My TV has 1000 channels, but the remote has only 10 numeric buttons. Remarkably, it works fine! Maybe we need to look into Sony's patents (or the user manual) to see how they did that?
__________________
Jerrythabest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2013, 12:46 AM   #276
MrAlextov
JCF Member
Killed by rabbit ;P
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Formerly: RedComputer
Send a message via MSN to MrAlextov
About switch players with numbers there would be another window to see what numbers you are spectating to be not visible in live (or without this window, but in a Logitech keyboard with weird screen) and to spectate someone when you arent in the chat punch keys |1|>|4|>|ENTER| and you spectating him. Also good to use |-| for Red flag and |+| for the blue flag in ctf.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
MrAlextov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2013, 07:41 AM   #277
Just a Random User
JCF Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: Just a Random User is doing well so far
Not sure if anyone suggested and is it possible already, but wouldn't it be easier for some players to change controls for ammo? For example - 7, 8 and 9 are hard to press while playing. It would be easier to bind them on some letters instead.
Just a Random User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2013, 12:20 PM
MrAlextov
This message has been deleted by MrAlextov. Reason: Nah, i am stupad
Old August 9th, 2013, 02:03 PM   #278
Violet CLM
JCF ╔minence Grise
JCF Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The Intergalactic Repneck Bar
Send a message via MSN to Violet CLM
No, JaRU is making a suggestion unrelated to yours.
__________________
Violet CLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2013, 12:30 AM   #279
MrAlextov
JCF Member
Killed by rabbit ;P
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Formerly: RedComputer
Send a message via MSN to MrAlextov
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
No, JaRU is making a suggestion unrelated to yours.
Oh... (Now its deleted), but actually great idea because the numbers are too far. Instead using 1-9 you can use Z, X, C, V, B, N,M, ",", "." and makes your live better.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
MrAlextov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2013, 05:38 AM   #280
Robo4900
JCF Member
The Almighty Tallest
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dimension C-137
While we're talking about controls, would it be possible to add a previous weapon button for Controllers? Even though this won't affect too many people, it will be a massive help for those it does help.
__________________
Robo4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
JCF © 2001-Infinity Jazz2Online