Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Maintenance & Feedback » JJ2+ Issue Tracker

Feature Request Per-subscreen resolution sizes for splitscreen

Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,073

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Aug 23, 2020, 10:39 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Per-subscreen resolution sizes for splitscreen

This just occurred to me -- why not allow bigger total screensizes if you're playing splitscreen multiplayer, as long as the subscreens are 800x600 or smaller?

So, for instance, you could play a two-player game with each player playing in an 800x600 subscreen, making for a total ingame screen size of 1600x600 (perfect for anyone with a 1600x900 monitor).
Alternatively, a four-player game, with each player in an 800x540 subscreen, which would give a total ingame screen size of 1600x1080 (perfect for anyone with a 1080p monitor).
Or, you could even do a four-player game with each player in an 800x600 subscreen, giving a total size of 1600x1200.

Probably not the most useful feature to have in pandemic time, but when we can all start going over to friends' houses, it would be neat to have bigger splitscreen sizes.
__________________
ShakerNL ShakerNL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 101

ShakerNL is an asset to this forumShakerNL is an asset to this forum

Aug 26, 2020, 10:17 AM
ShakerNL is offline
Reply With Quote
I don't think jj2 can handle that and will just crash.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,781

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Aug 26, 2020, 11:55 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
If you want to have a 1600x1080 window while playing splitscreen, it's going to be 1600x1080 the rest of the time too. That'll leave a lot of empty space in all parts of the menu, and some big black borders around the game area of the window in any non-splitscreen ingame contexts. That's all awkward but okay. I am concerned about the effect it might have on FPS to basically draw two or more entire full-sized games at once.
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,073

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Sep 12, 2020, 04:28 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Can't it just change resolution when not ingame? The opening logos and such do this; they're at 640x480 or 320x240, then the game switches to whatever your resolution is when the game starts up.


Not really a big issue though, I guess. Probably the big issue would be, as you note, the question of whether it can do 2+ full-size screens.
__________________
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:19 PM.