Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ bug reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jan 18, 2015, 04:38 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
JJ2+ suggestions and bug reports

Now that i think about it, isn't it the time to get this fixed?

I didn't edit the level i swear! He won't die while falling on his stomach.
And feel free to suggest or report any bugs you find while playing JJ2(+)
__________________

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Jan 29, 2015 at 03:34 AM.
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Jan 18, 2015, 06:21 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
Looks like it only happens during pregames, and curiously /k doesn't affect you then either if you're in that position
__________________
<center></center>
Borgia Borgia's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 93

Borgia is doing well so far

Jan 18, 2015, 06:39 AM
Borgia is offline
Reply With Quote
Might as well use this thread for further bug reports, if no such threads exist already.

Does that bug only appear in this particular map, or did you encounter it elswhere too? If it's only the map, it should be easier to fix.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jan 18, 2015, 06:48 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
Might as well use this thread for further bug reports, if no such threads exist already.

Does that bug only appear in this particular map, or did you encounter it elswhere too? If it's only the map, it should be easier to fix.
Would ya look at that. Seems like this is the map's problem. Tried this out in face (had to edit the level in order to fall on the rabbit's belly) and I died.
__________________
Borgia Borgia's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 93

Borgia is doing well so far

Jan 18, 2015, 06:59 AM
Borgia is offline
Reply With Quote
As far as I can tell there are no other threads dedicated to bug reports. But maybe I have not seen every part of this forum.

And what happens if you don't edit anything?
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Jan 18, 2015, 07:00 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
If you can change the name of the thread to something like "JJ2+ Bug Reports", that would be nice. Good to know that it isn't a JJ2+ bug, but a map bug.

Btw, you write pretty nice with your mouse.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jan 18, 2015, 08:11 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
As far as I can tell there are no other threads dedicated to bug reports. But maybe I have not seen every part of this forum.

And what happens if you don't edit anything?
Um, i edited the level so i can fall on the stomach. All i did is replace the warp target so i can fall on the stomach in the pit. Without editing, this would be impossible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
Btw, you write pretty nice with your mouse.
Thanks?

EDIT:

Okay this is a big bug.

This is the Puke Nuk3m tests server. All shy did is spec off and this happened! He fell out of the level.
__________________

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Jan 20, 2015 at 02:39 PM.
Old Jan 20, 2015, 02:26 PM
Jelly Jam
This message has been deleted by Jelly Jam. Reason: Double post
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,532

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jan 20, 2015, 03:13 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Can you find a reliable way to replicate the issue?
__________________
Sir Ementaler Sir Ementaler's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 776

Sir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to allSir Ementaler is a name known to all

Jan 20, 2015, 03:46 PM
Sir Ementaler is offline
Reply With Quote
This is without doubt a case of #458, Violet, already known.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jan 25, 2015, 03:10 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Let's all die together!



Again, this is the Puke server. Shy and CS we're kinda doing something with the !k command, and they keep dying in an infinite loop. Also going to the right a bit, thus warping.
EDIT: I forgot to mention that they're going right cause of the wind.
__________________

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Jan 25, 2015 at 07:01 AM.
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 185

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Jan 26, 2015, 06:51 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Will Jazz Jackrabbit 2 TSF+ work on Windows 8.1? I think I will install Windows 8.1 or maybe not, but I really wanna know if Jazz Jackrabbit 2 TSF+ works on Windows 8.1 or what problem it has on Windows 8.1, if I do not install Windows 8.1 I think I'll install Windows 10 when it comes out.

This is not really a bug report, but... I do not have a special JJ2+ Thread Post that isn't closed. #primpyclosedjj2+thread
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Jan 26, 2015, 08:47 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm running 1.23+ and 1.24+ on Windows 8.1 without any compability settings or anything of the sort. Seems to work just fine.
__________________
<center></center>
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 185

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Jan 26, 2015, 08:51 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grytolle View Post
I'm running 1.23+ and 1.24+ on Windows 8.1 without any compability settings or anything of the sort. Seems to work just fine.
Ok. Thanks for the help!
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
Zah dud4h

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 20

Zah dud4h is doing well so far

Feb 1, 2015, 11:37 AM
Zah dud4h is offline
Reply With Quote
i fought 1 vs 2 against the splitscreeners (boty and clown) on face
boty was camping the flag while i killed clown
this result came up:
[14:14:35] *** [CDF]Naps roasted bty>CLOWN
[14:14:36] *** bty>CLOWN lost the Red Flag
[14:14:36] *** bty>CLOWN captured the flag
[14:14:53] *** you killed yourself
[14:14:53] *** [CDF]Naps was looking good but died instead...
[14:14:53] *** [CDF]Naps lost the Blue Flag
[14:15:00] *** bty>CLOWN made the score
[14:15:00] *** Blue Team scored a point

what happened is:boty captured,but the game send the flag to clown
__________________
.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 1, 2015, 03:04 PM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
This ain't really a suggestion or a bug report, but, is someone from the plus team already drawing more letters from JJ2? I started drawing some today, I completed only these ones (so far ;p).

Yeah i just copied stuff from other letters, but still.
I'm planning to make bigger sizes and more missing letters, but I'm just checking if someone is already doing this, so I don't do this for nothing.
__________________
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 185

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 12:09 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
This ain't really a suggestion or a bug report, but, is someone from the plus team already drawing more letters from JJ2? I started drawing some today, I completed only these ones (so far ;p).

Yeah i just copied stuff from other letters, but still.
I'm planning to make bigger sizes and more missing letters, but I'm just checking if someone is already doing this, so I don't do this for nothing.
You should add like these ones: & and ^
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 12:36 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Planning to ;p. & could be just made out of 8 and < with a little editing, and ^ could be made out of / and \, also with a little editing.
But still, is someone already doing this?
EDIT: Speaking of animations, I can't seem to run jazz sprite dynamite. I don't understand, i have all the necesary files, and every time i run it, i get this. It worked fine like a month ago.

Does anyone have a sprite sheet or something? I highly doubt you do, though.
ANOTHER EDIT: Nevermind, got it working!
__________________

Last edited by Jelly Jam; Feb 2, 2015 at 01:04 AM.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 01:15 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Planning to ;p. & could be just made out of 8 and < with a little editing, and ^ could be made out of / and \, also with a little editing.
But still, is someone already doing this?
EDIT: Speaking of animations, I can't seem to run jazz sprite dynamite. I don't understand, i have all the necesary files, and every time i run it, i get this. It worked fine like a month ago.

Does anyone have a sprite sheet or something? I highly doubt you do, though.
ANOTHER EDIT: Nevermind, got it working!
That means you can delete both edits, since they don't have any purpose.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 01:34 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primpy View Post
That means you can delete both edits, since they don't have any purpose.
Off topic?

Anyway, can someone please answer my question from before?
Cause I already started, and I don't wanna go too far without any purpose.

There are bigger sizes of letters, right? I can't seem to find them in JSD.
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 01:36 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Off topic?

Anyway, can someone please answer my question from before?
Cause I already started, and I don't wanna go too far without any purpose.

There are bigger sizes of letters, right? I can't seem to find them in JSD.
This should go to "JJ2+ Suggestions" thread, not this one.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 01:39 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxMoNsTeRXM View Post
#primpyclosedjj2+thread
I thought he wasn't kidding.
Let's just say that missing letters is a bug .
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 01:41 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
I thought he wasn't kidding.
Let's just say that missing letters is a bug .
This is the suggestions thread and it's open.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 01:44 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
okay dude, Moving to your thread
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,532

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Feb 2, 2015, 01:47 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Jelly Jam, thank you for your interesting in contributing! Someone will send you a PM within the next 24 hours with more information about the font situation.

Primpy, granted, adding diacritics isn't exactly a bug report. A separate thread for offering help to JJ2+ might be interesting—the call for splash screens was both successful and entertaining, but the other way around, people spontaneously mentioning things they can do, hasn't really been tried. Of course it might not go anywhere but there's always the possibility that seeing a skill mentioned will inspire an idea for how to use it? Hmm. Anyway, you're probably right.

Zd, thank you for the report! I can easily imagine things going wrong with splitscreen. How reproducible is the problem?
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,224

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Feb 2, 2015, 03:22 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Ninja's recent question concerning JJ2 and Windows 8 reminded me of some issues still present. And with Microsoft ignoring the problem and the highly praised Windows 10 just around the corner, the future of JJ2's fullscreen doesn't look so bright if things stay the way they are. Here are the 2 issues as quoted from Ninja's thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
1: A major video performance loss occurs while using fullscreen, Hardware Mode slows it down even further! This is not exclusive to JJ2, but will happen in any game on Windows 8 utilizing DirectDraw in combination with either double or triple buffering. The hardcoded -notriple flag thus doesn't work as there'll be double buffering instead. So far Microsoft support reps have ignored the issue saying 'DirectDraw is an old technology that should be avoided'..

2: Network connectivity (netcode?) will be lost when switching out of fullscreen during an online game (not in the menu). This doesn't happen if you enter an online game windowed and switch to fullscreen from there. If this happens, you can only get connectivity back by closing and restarting JJ2.
So to any Plus dev/tester with Windows 8 and some spare time, maybe you can look (especially) into the issue concerning lost connectivity while switching out of fullscreen during online games? And maybe look into adding a -nodouble flag as well, if even necessary. As it goes to my understanding that Plus 5.0 adds new graphical options anyway.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny.
Join JazzJackrabbit.net for the best online play experience.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - JJ.net - mIRC.com
Old Feb 2, 2015, 03:24 AM
Jelly Jam
This message has been deleted by Jelly Jam. Reason: Off-topic
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 339

SAMI is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 03:36 AM
SAMI is online now
Reply With Quote
Off topic but important for me.
So I was planning to take Win 10 for my new PC. So, windows 10 still have the direct draw issue? If its still in win 10, then in hell with win 10. I'll take win 7 then.
__________________
I'm crazy, Yes I mean crazy.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 03:43 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
Off topic but important for me.
So I was planning to take Win 10 for my new PC. So, windows 10 still have the direct draw issue? If its still in win 10, then in hell with win 10. I'll take win 7 then.
I don't want to be that kind of person pretending to be a mod, but why don't you open a thread for that?
__________________
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 185

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 04:24 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
I thought he wasn't kidding.
Let's just say that missing letters is a bug .
There's a difference between the "JJ2+" thread and the "JJ2+ Suggestions" thread, JJ2+ thread is closed, but the JJ2+ Suggestions was made by Primpy after the JJ2+ thread was closed.
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Feb 2, 2015, 04:25 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
Primpy, if you don't wanna be it, why are all your last posts in this thread to that effect?


Awesome work Jelly!
__________________
<center></center>
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 05:25 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grytolle View Post
Primpy, if you don't wanna be it, why are all your last posts in this thread to that effect?


Awesome work Jelly!
I don't want to be it, but I feel like being it.
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 09:13 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxMoNsTeRXM View Post
There's a difference between the "JJ2+" thread and the "JJ2+ Suggestions" thread, JJ2+ thread is closed, but the JJ2+ Suggestions was made by Primpy after the JJ2+ thread was closed.
But the JJ2+ thread was closed like ages ago, and the JJ2+ Suggestions thread is Primpy's thread. When you said 'primpyclosedjj2+thread', no wonder i got to the conclusion that the sugestions thread is closed ;p.
Okay, enough going off-topic. This is JJ2(+)bugs thread.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,532

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Feb 2, 2015, 09:56 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
So to any Plus dev/tester with Windows 8 and some spare time, maybe you can look (especially) into the issue concerning lost connectivity while switching out of fullscreen during online games? And maybe look into adding a -nodouble flag as well, if even necessary.
Jerry and I have both looked at the issue and not had any luck so far. SE has an alternate solution in the works but even if it does pan out it'll take a while to finish.
__________________
Old Feb 2, 2015, 09:59 AM
Primpy
This message has been deleted by Stijn.
Old Feb 2, 2015, 10:06 AM
Stijn
This message has been deleted by Stijn.
Torkell Torkell's Avatar

Stealth Admin

Joined: Jul 2004

Posts: 2,147

Torkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legend

Feb 2, 2015, 10:09 AM
Torkell is offline
Reply With Quote
Enough. This is the JJ2+ bug report thread, not the "Should Primpy be a moderator" thread.

Slaz/SAMI: It's a reasonable question, but any further discussion on Windows 10 support probably belongs in its own thread (or the JJ2+ Suggestions thread) as it's not really a bug caused by JJ2+.
__________________
-- Torkell



Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,224

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Feb 2, 2015, 10:20 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
Jerry and I have both looked at the issue and not had any luck so far. SE has an alternate solution in the works but even if it does pan out it'll take a while to finish.
Thanks for looking into it in the first place. Windows 8 users are a minority now, but since Windows 10 won't fix it, the issue will become more mainstream by the day..
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny.
Join JazzJackrabbit.net for the best online play experience.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - JJ.net - mIRC.com
Old Feb 2, 2015, 10:59 AM
Primpy
This message has been deleted by Stijn. Reason: blanket warning: pimpy is now banned from any meta-discussion
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,532

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Feb 2, 2015, 11:40 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
primpy, read the room, please

I don't know of anything in any boss's code that would care about players going underwater. My guess is that you're talking about bosses deactivating when the player is simply too far away, which is a level design matter. Either don't let the player run away from the boss, or set jjObjectPresets[whatever].deactivates = false;
__________________
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 754

Primpy is an asset to this forum

Feb 2, 2015, 02:38 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
primpy, read the room, please

I don't know of anything in any boss's code that would care about players going underwater. My guess is that you're talking about bosses deactivating when the player is simply too far away, which is a level design matter. Either don't let the player run away from the boss, or set jjObjectPresets[whatever].deactivates = false;
Are you sure about that? I was going to make a map with an underwater boss and I choosed Uterus for this. Each time I jump in the water his health fills up. I'll try with a smaller area, hope that will fix it.
__________________
Zah dud4h

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 20

Zah dud4h is doing well so far

Feb 2, 2015, 02:48 PM
Zah dud4h is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
Zd, thank you for the report! I can easily imagine things going wrong with splitscreen. How reproducible is the problem?
i actually dunno,it happened like 2-3 times

also those 2 splitscreeners couldn't go "/ready" cause they would get kicked by the camel bot because of "spam",i really don't know if its because of jj2+ or the bot is bugged
__________________
.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 671

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Feb 3, 2015, 02:05 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zah dud4h View Post
i actually dunno,it happened like 2-3 times

also those 2 splitscreeners couldn't go "/ready" cause they would get kicked by the camel bot because of "spam",i really don't know if its because of jj2+ or the bot is bugged
You could try opening a server while in splitscreen and use the /ready command.
__________________
Zah dud4h

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 20

Zah dud4h is doing well so far

Feb 3, 2015, 03:56 AM
Zah dud4h is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
You could try opening a server while in splitscreen and use the /ready command.
i was trying to say that you can actually spam the "/ready" command faster as a splitscreener than a non-splitscreener player

Edit:also i think the only way to fix,is actually making a special ready message for them
example:
Player 1 and Player 2 are ready!
instead of:
Player 1 is ready!
Player 2 is ready!
and actually resulting in getting kicked
__________________
.

Last edited by Zah dud4h; Feb 3, 2015 at 04:09 AM.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 339

SAMI is doing well so far

Feb 3, 2015, 04:03 AM
SAMI is online now
Reply With Quote
That's typically the bot causing this issue. It doesn't occur in other servers. [I've tested it by opening my own server in 1 player only and joined it with splitscreen and typed /ready command. Nothing happens then.

So its a bug of camel bot.
__________________
I'm crazy, Yes I mean crazy.
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 AM.