Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ v5.6 (last updated 27 February, 2018)

Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,013

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

May 22, 2016, 08:32 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
[I know I can always play in Window mode but it looks ugly, choppy and whatnot].
That sounds like maximised windowed mode, which nobody should play in. You can put it down to the proper size by holding onto the edges of the window and dragging it down to its proper size. It won't preview initially, but it should work.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
ShakerNL ShakerNL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 80

ShakerNL is an asset to this forum

May 22, 2016, 10:42 AM
ShakerNL is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
You can put it down to the proper size by holding onto the edges of the window and dragging it down to its proper size.
There is a shortcut for that: You can hold CTRL and press F1 to F6 buttons to resize the window. The shortcut for 800x600 is missing though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
Getting CTO while changng from Fullscreen to window mode still happens even in Windows 10- no matter what compability mode I set.
It only happens when going from windowed to fullscreen mode. Switch to fullscreen mode before you join a server to prevent a cto.
__________________
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 354

SAMI is doing well so far

May 22, 2016, 11:06 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
That sounds like maximised windowed mode, which nobody should play in. You can put it down to the proper size by holding onto the edges of the window and dragging it down to its proper size. It won't preview initially, but it should work.
Yeah I know that. Thanks for the help. But fullscreen is a better experience unless its possible to got borderless window w/o taskbar. 3d games look good that way cause it upscales quite well. JJ2 looks sharp which is good too but the worst problem still remains as you all know. Vsync is disabled in windoed mode making the game lool unsmooth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakerNL View Post
There is a shortcut for that: You can hold CTRL and press F1 to F6 buttons to resize the window. The shortcut for 800x600 is missing though.



It only happens when going from windowed to fullscreen mode. Switch to fullscreen mode before you join a server to prevent a cto.
Yep that works. Currently doing this trick. But I can't still alt-tab and use other apps. Because returning back too JJ2 causes a screen blackout which is only possible to fix by switching to window mode and then going fullscreen again causing me CTO.


Anyways, I'll try to figure out something. The game feels half broken now with this severe bug. Fullscreen users who like alt tab during playing are going to have pain in the ass.
__________________
Just Monika
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,013

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

May 22, 2016, 01:16 PM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
Vsync is disabled in windoed mode making the game lool unsmooth.
I'm guessing thats a windows 8+ issue, because it works smoothly for me. I'm vista loser race.

Unless you're saying you prefer maximised windowed mode *hurls* over regular windowed mode, in which case - was never supported by vsync.

But I recall Slaz had some program that allowed better support for old games? I forgot what it was called and I don't remember its exact purpose.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 354

SAMI is doing well so far

May 22, 2016, 01:31 PM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Yeah, its fine upto Windows 7 (Win 7> 10) but now that MS is forcing us to use Win 10 by making new games exclusive to win 10 .. sucks.

Anyway, does anyone of you people from plus team figured how this problem is triggered? This little problen just shows how JJ2 is loosing compatibility and who knows what will happen in future. Lets hope it will remain playable in future.
__________________
Just Monika
blurredd

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

May 22, 2016, 07:43 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBrute View Post
Hello, any news related to the XP bug?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
No remaining ideas for what's causing it.
Violet, I used Windows XP Mode to run some of the DLLs you've uploaded to the repository, and here's what I've discovered:
  • The DLLs from pull 629 (jjbehaviorinterface) and 617 (birds) both work (they're from Mar 27; both are 2.63 MB).
  • The DLL from pull 634 (delegates r2309) doesn't work (it's from Apr 7; 3.62 MB).

I'm assuming the issue is related to compiling the DLL with VS2015, but installing the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015 doesn't appear to help. Maybe a component wasn't compiled to support Windows XP. I may try looking into this again later if I get a chance.

Getting Windows 7 Professional just for Windows XP Mode may have been useful after all. Maybe.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

May 23, 2016, 08:35 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's basically where we're at, yes. Something went wrong in the transition from 2012 to 2015, and the natural assumption is that one of the components is compiled wrong but I haven't been able to find the right setting on the right component.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jun 1, 2016, 08:42 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Yet another possible-XP build, though my hopes for this particular attempt are not high.

If this doesn't work, could people experiencing the problem say whether they're running SP2, SP3, or what?
__________________
ShakerNL ShakerNL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 80

ShakerNL is an asset to this forum

Jun 2, 2016, 10:58 AM
ShakerNL is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
Yet another possible-XP build, though my hopes for this particular attempt are not high.

If this doesn't work, could people experiencing the problem say whether they're running SP2, SP3, or what?
It does not work.

System:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional (virtual machine)
Service Pack 3
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jun 9, 2016, 12:11 PM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Doesn't work on Windows XP Professional SP2 either.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
3D3

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2016

Posts: 2

3D3 is doing well so far

Jun 13, 2016, 07:10 AM
3D3 is offline
Reply With Quote
Crash with save game

I created a save game in the pre-JJ2+ version and now it crashes the game when I try to open it with JJ2+ activated.

You can download the save game from here: https://mega.nz/#!nwsGnADZ!9zQPD-9Bt...mimLO7BEtXo9cw

OS: Linux, under Wine 1.8.2.
Old Jun 13, 2016, 08:28 AM
Treylina
This message has been deleted by Treylina. Reason: nvm
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,013

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Jun 13, 2016, 08:31 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D3 View Post
I created a save game in the pre-JJ2+ version and now it crashes the game when I try to open it with JJ2+ activated.

You can download the save game from here: https://mega.nz/#!nwsGnADZ!9zQPD-9Bt...mimLO7BEtXo9cw

OS: Linux, under Wine 1.8.2.
I opened it in vanilla (means a game without mods) 1.23, and it still crashed.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
3D3

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2016

Posts: 2

3D3 is doing well so far

Jun 13, 2016, 10:06 AM
3D3 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
I opened it in vanilla (means a game without mods) 1.23, and it still crashed.
Hmm, thanks for investigating it. Then I must have muddled it somehow. Anyway, it's a good game enough to start again .
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jun 13, 2016, 10:30 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Is that just castle1n.j2l that you saved in? That's an odd level to get crashes in.
__________________
Borgia Borgia's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 96

Borgia is doing well so far

Jul 1, 2016, 10:11 AM
Borgia is offline
Reply With Quote
Not sure if this is the right thread to put it, but here's a thing I encountered:

After Urban Brawl, the game switched to the hiscore list. I thought that it would just continue on into Knight Cap, or has it always been this way? I vaguely remember that it would just continue and you'd have all your points, powerups etc from The Secret Files in the original run.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 354

SAMI is doing well so far

Jul 1, 2016, 01:29 PM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
http://www.wsgf.org/dr/jazz-jackrabbit-2/en

We need to extend horizontal resolution limit to 2132 pixels. Multi monitor rock. And 1120x480 for ultra wide monitor.
__________________
Just Monika
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jul 1, 2016, 03:22 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
Not sure if this is the right thread to put it, but here's a thing I encountered:

After Urban Brawl, the game switched to the hiscore list. I thought that it would just continue on into Knight Cap, or has it always been this way? I vaguely remember that it would just continue and you'd have all your points, powerups etc from The Secret Files in the original run.
The best way to do that would probably to just change the next level setting of Urban Brawl.

SAMI: Stop asking, please. This has been exhaustively addressed already and resolutions larger than 800x600 will not be supported for the foreseeable future.

Last edited by Stijn; Jul 1, 2016 at 03:38 PM.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 354

SAMI is doing well so far

Jul 2, 2016, 04:58 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn View Post
The best way to do that would probably to just change the next level setting of Urban Brawl.

SAMI: Stop asking, please. This has been exhaustively addressed already and resolutions larger than 800x600 will not be supported for the foreseeable future.
Okay I understand. Is there atleast a way for manually overriding the resolution by hex editing the exe myself?
__________________
Just Monika
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jul 2, 2016, 05:48 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
No, adding more resolutions is far less trivial than simply adding a few numbers to a list.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 3, 2016, 01:45 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
BlurredD did some research and found a remarkably obscure option that we think was the last step on the way to restoring XP support. Once again try this out and hopefully the server list can stop being so fractured now.
__________________
rezsicc

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2016

Posts: 3

rezsicc is doing well so far

Jul 4, 2016, 02:18 AM
rezsicc is offline
Reply With Quote
Hello Guys,

I am in trouble and I need your help!
I installed jj2 on Windows 98 SE to my old PC. I succesfully patched to 1.23 but when I applied the jj2+ patch nothing has changed. When I click to JJ2+.exe it shows the version 1.23.

I copied it to the pendrive and I ran the same app on windows 7 and it works. ver. 2016-04-20...

The question is: Doesn't work JJ2+ on Windows 9x? Is it unsupported operation system?

I am waiting for your response!

Thanks is advance!

Best Wishes,
Tibor from Hungary

Last edited by rezsicc; Jul 4, 2016 at 02:38 AM.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 4, 2016, 02:35 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I would be very surprised if JJ2+ did work in 98. As you may have seen, we've been having trouble the last couple months trying to get it to run even in Windows XP, which is rather more recent (although equally unsupported by microsoft) than 98. You can try the alternate plus.dll that I linked to in the post above yours and see if that makes a difference, but making something that can run on Windows 98 has not been a priority in a long time, if it ever was to begin with.
__________________
rezsicc

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2016

Posts: 3

rezsicc is doing well so far

Jul 4, 2016, 04:20 PM
rezsicc is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
I would be very surprised if JJ2+ did work in 98. As you may have seen, we've been having trouble the last couple months trying to get it to run even in Windows XP, which is rather more recent (although equally unsupported by microsoft) than 98. You can try the alternate plus.dll that I linked to in the post above yours and see if that makes a difference, but making something that can run on Windows 98 has not been a priority in a long time, if it ever was to begin with.
Unfortunately it didn't work with windows 98 but it works under XP. The plus.dll file has been changed.
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 5, 2016, 05:53 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
I can confirm this, it really works on XP. Thank you very much for your hard work on finding the solution.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Ja22 Ja22's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2014

Posts: 10

Ja22 is doing well so far

Jul 5, 2016, 06:25 AM
Ja22 is offline
Reply With Quote
Hello,

I have a strange problem with JJ2, but I am not sure if it is related to JJ2+. I downloaded JJ2 from jazzjackrabbit.net, and I only installed TSF, JCS for 1.23 and TSF and all the episodes that are offered by this installer.

I also installed the newest JJ2+, I am sure there's no problem with its installation, becuase I have done it a few times before, and I also have 5.2 working. The only problem is, there's no music in the game intro and in the menu. It's also strange because all the levels have music, and the game works perfectly.

If you may ask, I am not running the game from Jazz2tsf-avalon, although I don't know what is this avalon-thing, if someone could explain it, I'd be grateful.

Thank you in advance.
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 750

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jul 5, 2016, 08:49 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
I can confirm this, it really works on XP. Thank you very much for your hard work on finding the solution.
YeY! This means I can see the JJ2+ updates when my laptop gets fixed!
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 5, 2016, 09:38 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
That's so good to hear! Now that that's taken care of, 5.3 should be along pretty soon to clean up any residual issues from 5.2, and after that... who knows?
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,263

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Jul 7, 2016, 01:03 PM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
I remember (vaguely) that some versions among the Blur-line of Plus did work on Windows 98. Some later versions could also work if you install the unofficial service pack for 98SE. That said, you should just use XP on older systems that can't handle Vista and up.

If you want to experiment with Plus on 98 though, try older versions from old to new and see what works!
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 8, 2016, 09:27 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I've just updated http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus-2016-04-20.zip and its alias http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus.zip to use the XP dll. Could some kind soul double-check that I got that right? If so I can finally feel comfortable putting 5.2 on ModDB.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 9, 2016, 05:27 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
I've just updated http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus-2016-04-20.zip and its alias http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus.zip to use the XP dll. Could some kind soul double-check that I got that right? If so I can finally feel comfortable putting 5.2 on ModDB.
I've checked them. Both good to go.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 800

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Jul 9, 2016, 10:55 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
We have finished work on a new version.

Download it here.

See the readme and AngelScript readme for changes.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,777

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Jul 9, 2016, 11:04 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Bumping so this is displayed on the frontpage instead of a discussion about underwater levels
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 750

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jul 9, 2016, 12:36 PM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Though does this new version work with Windows XP? ;p
__________________
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jul 9, 2016, 01:40 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Though does this new version work with Windows XP? ;p
Didn't you reply to a post confirming that it does, in fact, work with Windows XP like a day ago?
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,643

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jul 9, 2016, 06:47 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn View Post
Didn't you reply to a post confirming that it does, in fact, work with Windows XP like a day ago?
That was a different build compiled by a different person in a different version of Visual Studio using different versions of libraries.

That said, I'm pretty sure this works in XP if only because we'd probably have heard about it by now if not.
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 10, 2016, 12:22 PM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Though does this new version work with Windows XP? ;p
It DOES.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Borgia Borgia's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2014

Posts: 96

Borgia is doing well so far

Jul 13, 2016, 03:59 AM
Borgia is offline
Reply With Quote
So, Lori now makes a sound when she buttstomps. It's really cute, and it makes me wonder about the following thing: wasn't Lori originally supposed to have lines in her idle situation, like "hello, is this thing on?" etc? Also, a hurt-sound of her goes "ouch, don't touch me there!" Now that the 'new' buttstomp sound has been implemented, is it also possible to put those other missing sounds/lines in as well?
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 750

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Jul 13, 2016, 04:13 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
So, Lori now makes a sound when she buttstomps. It's really cute, and it makes me wonder about the following thing: wasn't Lori originally supposed to have lines in her idle situation, like "hello, is this thing on?" etc? Also, a hurt-sound of her goes "ouch, don't touch me there!" Now that the 'new' buttstomp sound has been implemented, is it also possible to put those other missing sounds/lines in as well?
I''m sure it's possible, if we know with what action should each sound go, though. Maybe some of those lines are intro lines, if there was supposed to be a diffirent intro for TSF.
"Ouch, don't touch me there!", teehehehehee...
__________________
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Jul 13, 2016, 06:51 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
I noticed some minor bugs.

1. When someone stands on you, the wrong animation plays.
2. The companion bird gets halfway into the tile it's standing on when idling.
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,013

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Jul 13, 2016, 10:41 AM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
So, Lori now makes a sound when she buttstomps. It's really cute, and it makes me wonder about the following thing: wasn't Lori originally supposed to have lines in her idle situation, like "hello, is this thing on?" etc? Also, a hurt-sound of her goes "ouch, don't touch me there!" Now that the 'new' buttstomp sound has been implemented, is it also possible to put those other missing sounds/lines in as well?
I would think the touch one was removed for deliberate reasons.

The other voice clips were for the TSF intro that never happened. You'll hear some used in my Lori platform test though..if that ever gets finished.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:48 PM.