Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

what type of music file to use on jj2

General Hare

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2006

Posts: 58

General Hare is doing well so far

May 29, 2006, 05:14 AM
General Hare is offline
Reply With Quote
Question what type of music file to use on jj2

What type of music file (example s3m etc) should i use besides by modplug?
Xobim Xobim's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2005

Posts: 2,454

Xobim is doing well so far

May 29, 2006, 06:29 AM
Xobim is offline
Reply With Quote
You can only use modules and .j2b files. JJ2 can play .XM .Mod .MTM .IT and .699 files.
__________________
Earth Mantra, for all your ambient music needs.
JelZe GoldRabbit

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 620

JelZe GoldRabbit is doing well so far

May 29, 2006, 08:25 AM
JelZe GoldRabbit is offline
Reply With Quote
Don't forget .s3m. The module types .mod, .xm, .it, and and .s3m are the most common. JJ2 can't handle types like MIDI, .wav and .mp3. Also, be carefull of the size: JJ2 will sometimes give Amnesia Errors with modules that are too large (>2 MB).

And no, you can't convert MP3's to Modules.

- JelZe GoldRabbit =:3
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,964

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

May 29, 2006, 04:04 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by JelZe GoldRabbit
And no, you can't convert MP3's to Modules.
You can
Birdie Birdie's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2005

Posts: 1,796

Birdie is doing well so far

May 29, 2006, 07:28 PM
Birdie is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn
Quote:
Originally Posted by JelZe GoldRabbit
And no, you can't convert MP3's to Modules.
You can
Doesn't that depend on the mp3 you want to convert?
__________________
JelZe GoldRabbit

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 620

JelZe GoldRabbit is doing well so far

May 30, 2006, 07:43 AM
JelZe GoldRabbit is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdie
Doesn't that depend on the mp3 you want to convert?
It depends on your ear for, and knowledge of music. MP3's are wave-type files, the file is a recording of the sound made. Modules (and Midis) are more like sheet music: at such time either a note is played on such instrument (MIDI) or a sample is played (Moldules)

With that in mind, transscribing MP3's into Modules is very cumbersome, but it can be done.

- JelZe GoldRabbit =:3
MoonRazor

JCF Member

Joined: May 2006

Posts: 18

MoonRazor is doing well so far

May 30, 2006, 11:39 PM
MoonRazor is offline
Reply With Quote
When I create my own stages, my computer lets me use only S3M or IT-files. Even MP3 won't do! And I even hadn't heard of other music files(I mean what you have listed.)! ^^'
__________________
Me? Yeah, I'm some kinda weirdo... If you know Gaia Online, then add me to your friends, my name is Sazz Jockrabbit




She's the man! xD
Xobim Xobim's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2005

Posts: 2,454

Xobim is doing well so far

May 31, 2006, 06:33 AM
Xobim is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdie
Doesn't that depend on the mp3 you want to convert?
It depends on the bit-speed. The higher, the bigger the file is when you convert the mp3 to a wav. The wav can be used as a sample. It becomes very big in filesize and JJ2 will crash onto it. The only way is to lower the bit-speed, thus lowering the music quality.
__________________
Earth Mantra, for all your ambient music needs.
Birdie Birdie's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2005

Posts: 1,796

Birdie is doing well so far

May 31, 2006, 07:28 AM
Birdie is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonRazor
When I create my own stages, my computer lets me use only S3M or IT-files. Even MP3 won't do! And I even hadn't heard of other music files(I mean what you have listed.)! ^^'
=O Of course mp3 won't work.
__________________
Torkell Torkell's Avatar

Stealth Admin

Joined: Jul 2004

Posts: 2,153

Torkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legend

Jun 1, 2006, 11:03 AM
Torkell is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xobim
It depends on the bit-speed. The higher, the bigger the file is when you convert the mp3 to a wav. The wav can be used as a sample. It becomes very big in filesize and JJ2 will crash onto it. The only way is to lower the bit-speed, thus lowering the music quality.
Um, no.

The longer the MP3, the larger the WAV that will be produced when you convert an MP3 to a WAV. As a rule of thumb, WAVs are 10MByte per minute of CD-quality audio (44.1kHz 16bit stereo). You can get smaller files without compressing by lowering the sample rate (which gets rid of higher frequencies - 22.05kHz is usually acceptable, 11.025kHz usually isn't), lowering the bit depth (you can sometimes get away with 8bit, depending on the music), or reducing it to one channel (you can usually get away with this without losing too much quality). A 11.025kHz 8bit mono wav will be around 0.75MByte/min. For reference a 128kbps MP3 is about 1MByte/min, and usually will be 44.1kHz 16bit stereo.

Bit-speed (or bitrate) has nothing to do with how large an uncompressed MP3 is.
__________________
-- Torkell



Xobim Xobim's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2005

Posts: 2,454

Xobim is doing well so far

Jun 1, 2006, 11:32 AM
Xobim is offline
Reply With Quote
Right, I need to upgrade I think. =]
__________________
Earth Mantra, for all your ambient music needs.
Birdie Birdie's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2005

Posts: 1,796

Birdie is doing well so far

Jun 6, 2006, 04:40 PM
Birdie is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by JelZe GoldRabbit
Don't forget .s3m. The module types .mod, .xm, .it, and and .s3m are the most common. JJ2 can't handle types like MIDI, .wav and .mp3. Also, be carefull of the size: JJ2 will sometimes give Amnesia Errors with modules that are too large (>2 MB).

And no, you can't convert MP3's to Modules.

- JelZe GoldRabbit =:3
Don't forget stm mtm and 669
__________________
Speeza Speeza's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2006

Posts: 1,628

Speeza is an asset to this forumSpeeza is an asset to this forum

Jun 6, 2006, 11:17 PM
Speeza is offline
Reply With Quote
Mp3 won't work but there is a way you can covert it,i have some converted mp3 songs
__________________
You like it when I talk bad about myself don't you cooba <3
The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.

Your friendly JCF Hillybilly
DavidkazBest poster of 2010 ! [GpW]
Puffie40 Puffie40's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2002

Posts: 894

Puffie40 is doing well so far

Jun 7, 2006, 01:16 AM
Puffie40 is offline
Reply With Quote
I have succesfully converted two MP3's into a .it

my method involves converting the MP3 to a .wav (I lower the quality so it will be small enougth), where it is then able to load into modplug.

For some reason I do not know of, the music is one big sample (Compared to a MIDI when you load it up) I find I have to lengthen the song "Spaces" in order for jazz jackrabbit 2 to play the song completly, otherwise the song will "loop" (Start at the beginning) midway in. Listen a couple of times and make sure it loops where you want it.
General Hare

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2006

Posts: 58

General Hare is doing well so far

Jul 21, 2006, 12:25 PM
General Hare is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonRazor
Even MP3 won't do!
You can't play tunes in jazz 1 or 2 from MP3 anyway (unless you mute the music and play MP3 on a player).
Erik Erik's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2005

Posts: 1,304

Erik is doing well so far

Jul 24, 2006, 01:43 AM
Erik is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdie
Doesn't that depend on the mp3 you want to convert?
It doesn't
Hareoic

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2001

Posts: 2,578

Hareoic is doing well so far

Aug 10, 2006, 05:55 PM
Hareoic is offline
Reply With Quote
I've converted an MP3 to .it without any loss of quality. Unfortunately, I was actually HOPING for some loss of quality, preferably enough so that you couldn't tell there was any singing.
__________________
But perhaps the most likely reason of all,
was that his bombs were simply two sizes too small
Snipperdepipper

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2006

Posts: 17

Snipperdepipper is doing well so far

Aug 21, 2006, 09:20 AM
Snipperdepipper is offline
Reply With Quote
How can you cenvert a MIDI to a file for JJ2
__________________
Tomb Sweet Tomb
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:31 PM.