Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

Conn

carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 12, 2004, 09:55 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
Unhappy Conn

Hi! I know that thers a lotta threads out in this forum on this thingy but i didnt help me! When i joins a server, then 30 sec later it kicks me out and say "connection timed out"!

what do i have to make it work??????
Nimrod

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2001

Posts: 827

Nimrod has disabled reputation

Jan 12, 2004, 11:48 AM
Nimrod is offline
Reply With Quote
Learn to search before you ask:

http://www.jazz2online.com/jcf/showthread.php?t=9102
__________________
-Nimrod
Old Jan 12, 2004, 12:03 PM
carrot
This message has been deleted by carrot.
Old Jan 12, 2004, 12:32 PM
carrot
This message has been deleted by carrot.
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 13, 2004, 05:59 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
ok lets say then, that it isnt the router thas wrong! what do i then have to do????
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,955

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jan 13, 2004, 06:41 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Try to edit your posts instead of posting 3 in a row.
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 13, 2004, 06:48 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
yes yes, but do you know how to do this???
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrot
ok lets say then, that it isnt the router thas wrong! what do i then have to do????
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,955

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jan 13, 2004, 06:58 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
I don't understand what you mean.
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 13, 2004, 07:37 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by carrot
Hi! I know that thers a lotta threads out in this forum on this thingy but i didnt help me! When i joins a server, then 30 sec later it kicks me out and say "connection timed out"!

what do i have to make it work??????

Thats what i mean Fl@sh!
Lark

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2002

Posts: 1,564

Lark has disabled reputation

Jan 14, 2004, 02:21 PM
Lark is offline
Reply With Quote
Try to connect to a server using dial-up instead of cable or DSL or whatever you're using.
__________________
=D
Link Link's Avatar

Untitled

Joined: Apr 2001

Posts: 2,099

Link is doing well so far

Jan 14, 2004, 04:59 PM
Link is offline
Reply With Quote
Here's a picture of what is happening:



Basically you can connect out to the server fine, but something is blocking it from sending certain things back to you. Hence the 30 second time out.

What you must do it find out what is blocking the connection. You either have some sort of gateway\router, a firewall program on your computer, an ISP that is blocking for some reason, or a combination thereof. After you find this out, we can help you further.

I did create an article to be put on J2Ov2, but I'm hosting it myself in the meantime. It may help:

http://link.idlegames.com/~cbruton/jj2_gateway.html
__________________
With our extreme gelatinous apology,
We beg to inform your Imperial Majesty,
Unto whom be dominion and power and glory,
There still remains that strange precipitate
Which has the quality to resist
Our oldest and most trusted catalyst.
It is a substance we cannot cremate
By temperatures known to our Laboratory.

~ E.J. Pratt
 
Cpp Cpp's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 1,557

Cpp is doing well so far

Jan 15, 2004, 10:26 AM
Cpp is offline
Reply With Quote
Haha Go Link!

I too had this problem as soon as I set up my private network. What I did was forward the ports (10052, 10054 tcp + udp) from my gateway/masq server to my internal PC. And it worked!
__________________
<a href="http://nmap.org/"><img border="0" alt="Nmap Security Scanner" src="http://images.insecure.org/nmap/images/prop/nmap_bnr_matrix_pfos.gif"/></a>

Last edited by Cpp; Jan 15, 2004 at 10:42 AM.
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 20, 2004, 11:30 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
Unhappy

MY NETWORK DEaler said that our Router is open on all slots so what can then be wrong```????
Newspaz Newspaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2001

Posts: 2,678

Newspaz has disabled reputation

Jan 20, 2004, 12:49 PM
Newspaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Your network dealer
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 21, 2004, 09:03 PM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newspaz
Your network dealer
yes or what you call him
Old Jan 22, 2004, 10:31 AM
carrot
This message has been deleted by carrot. Reason: do you read this? man! you must be bored!
Link Link's Avatar

Untitled

Joined: Apr 2001

Posts: 2,099

Link is doing well so far

Jan 22, 2004, 11:33 AM
Link is offline
Reply With Quote
Your network dealer can't possibly know that. You have to check the router yourself. Look at my previous post and read the article I linked to.
__________________
With our extreme gelatinous apology,
We beg to inform your Imperial Majesty,
Unto whom be dominion and power and glory,
There still remains that strange precipitate
Which has the quality to resist
Our oldest and most trusted catalyst.
It is a substance we cannot cremate
By temperatures known to our Laboratory.

~ E.J. Pratt
 
Tik Tik's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 4,982

Tik is doing well so far

Jan 22, 2004, 12:20 PM
Tik is offline
Reply With Quote
Yo, Quito...can you give me 10 ounces of....network?
Old Jan 24, 2004, 02:01 PM
carrot
This message has been deleted by carrot.
carrot

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 58

carrot is doing well so far

Jan 26, 2004, 10:28 AM
carrot is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Link
Your network dealer can't possibly know that...
ohh yes he can cause he set up the router!

he says that all ports are open so what am i supposed to do now???????!
__________________
CLIK HERE
Link Link's Avatar

Untitled

Joined: Apr 2001

Posts: 2,099

Link is doing well so far

Jan 26, 2004, 11:46 AM
Link is offline
Reply With Quote
Carrot, we cannot help you further. We have told you that what you must do, but we cannot tell you how to do it. You need to take some initiative. Look at manuals for your router. Find out if you have other firewalls. Get help from other people in your house. There are plenty of resources here for general information, but everyone's configuration is different, so we can't give you specific instructions for your setup. I've given you a very detailed article. Have you read that? Have you tried the instructions given in it? Have you shown it to your 'network dealer'?
__________________
With our extreme gelatinous apology,
We beg to inform your Imperial Majesty,
Unto whom be dominion and power and glory,
There still remains that strange precipitate
Which has the quality to resist
Our oldest and most trusted catalyst.
It is a substance we cannot cremate
By temperatures known to our Laboratory.

~ E.J. Pratt
 
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,955

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Jan 27, 2004, 01:11 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Carrot, do you happen to have an Alcatel Speedtouch 500 series modem? It is plainly impossible to play online with it. Mono knows some way to host with it, though.
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 PM.