Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ (Updated June 30, 2010)

Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 825

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Jun 10, 2010, 09:32 PM
Seren is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo View Post
Make the levels automatically hurt you twice before actually starting? Many ways of doing this, mostly with the Hurt event.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo
Lets just create a monopoly. Forget those players who don't know about JJ2+, they don't need to discover new SP levels, get confused, and leave. And I really don't think new SP game modes are necessary. If we want to expand, do more online stuff. Host more coop. But single player is just...as you said... boring.
Editing each level of, let's say, devres, to be like that, would be pain. Also, (I hope) he means something like a super hard mode, where a player is who can choose to have 3 hearts in exchange of 5 or to only avoid enemies in exchange of shooting them. The TNT stuff was rather stupid for me, though. I see no reason to design a level like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo
If you're going to test a level, why would you wanna trigger stuff? If the level's designed for multiplayer, host it on LAN. If it's designed for SP, you know where the crate is, use it.
Let's say I made a mistake, and the crate has other ID than the trigger scenery, but I want to see how does its animation look like. It's not the best example, but right now I can't think about any better one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo
not when you have jjnext
Not when the next level is not where I want to go. If nothing "links" to a level, I must make a special level with a proper "next level" string. This consume too much time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo View Post
in other words, cheating
If anyone would use it for cheating, why would you care? In SP it won't hurt anyone but the cheaters. If they're okay with this, let them cheat. Additionally, Plus won't change anything, as they already have a whole lot of built-in cheats.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Jun 11, 2010, 11:20 AM
Black Ninja is offline
Troglobite's post makes me happy. ^_______^ <---- Happy BN face

So, JJ2+ needs a 'climb the exploding staircase' mode. Badly.
Dermo Dermo's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2005

Posts: 1,743

Dermo should make better posts

Jun 11, 2010, 07:53 PM
Dermo is offline
IDK, I find JJ2 fun online. Single player is just boring, it's good to have somebody to chat with you and help you cooperatively get through the level. The health issue does need to be fixed. However, I still don't see a point in adding more support for single player itself. All that's going to do is divert attention from the online community... Make good coop levels.

I agree with a lot of what Troglobite is saying when it comes to arguing how features could be useful. However, I would rather control a server, than be able to control single player. That just gets silly. And what's next? Level makers going to put in their readme's:
press t/smhealth 3 before beginning this level!

I see uses for testing levels... but that's about it. Not for actually playing them. There are multiple difficulty levels and such for a reason. Stick with that... Don't change every aspect of the game. Just fix the bug's in online mode, expand upon what the developers didn't, don't fix what they perfected...
__________________
Yes, I am, in fact, ALWAYS the one to blame for everything. And none of your are full of yourself. Good job.

Do you like Stijn? Take my poll!




Windows is not a virus. A virus is small and efficient...

Note to Stijn: how am i even getting away with this
ivo

Guest

Joined:

Posts: n/a

Jun 12, 2010, 07:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo View Post
IDK, I find JJ2 fun online. Single player is just boring, it's good to have somebody to chat with you and help you cooperatively get through the level. The health issue does need to be fixed. However, I still don't see a point in adding more support for single player itself. All that's going to do is divert attention from the online community... Make good coop levels.
Out of curiosity, do you actually play online? Every time I've seen you, you were either cheating or insulting random people. This said, I reckon you are against improvements to single player only because you need to argue with someone about something, no matter what exactly it is.
Dermo Dermo's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2005

Posts: 1,743

Dermo should make better posts

Jun 12, 2010, 08:28 AM
Dermo is offline
Not always, Hunter. I tend to play legit online games when there's a server worth playing on. But battle and ctf do tend to get old, that's why I like the custom modes JJ2+ offers. And the only custom game modes I really see are tests or hotels hosted by Polish. In that case, I do feel the need to cause trouble due to epic boredom. But yes, you can find me online during certain times. Like around 10pm GMT -5 I wish there would be MORE people playing. That's around evening when I like to unwind for the day and NOBODY is playing JJ2 around that time, except maybe Une. It really sucks.
__________________
Yes, I am, in fact, ALWAYS the one to blame for everything. And none of your are full of yourself. Good job.

Do you like Stijn? Take my poll!




Windows is not a virus. A virus is small and efficient...

Note to Stijn: how am i even getting away with this
ivo

Guest

Joined:

Posts: n/a

Jun 12, 2010, 10:43 AM
Let's summarize:

"Why should other people have fun if I'm not having any? I find single player, battle, ctf and pretty much everything else people play uninteresting. Polish people are so boring that I need to say lots of crap to make my JJ2 time worthwhile."

I'm happy you only play at times most active players are asleep.
Superjazz Superjazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2003

Posts: 968

Superjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHART

Jun 12, 2010, 01:53 PM
Superjazz is offline
Today I encountered something very abnormal that hasn't happened to me before, and I'm not sure at all if it was the fault of the game or my system, but...



I was chatting in Snooze's private TSF-server with himself and PJ, when suddenly without even really noticing it all at first, my chat started to drop out U-letters as you can see(ignore the language.) In addition to this I was also unable to use some certain letter-combinations such as 'V+E' that made my chat cursor disappear and I was unable to type more. I didn't check my own chatlog, but of course Snooze saw my chat normally with U-letters, as the glitch was with me only. In addition to this, some strange mess appeared to the bottom- and right-side of the game screen. I picked a couple of screens and decided to close and restart to notice the problem was gone as expected with that.

But anyway, have some of you ever got any similar experiences?
__________________
Find It Out
MP

JJnet Duel Tournament 3.0
snzspeed

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2003

Posts: 1,369

snzspeed is a forum legendsnzspeed is a forum legendsnzspeed is a forum legend

Jun 12, 2010, 03:38 PM
snzspeed is offline
I was hosting in 1.23, SJ joined with TSF, btw
__________________
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Jun 12, 2010, 05:53 PM
minmay is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivando View Post
But anyway, have some of you ever got any similar experiences?
Sounds and looks like you ran out of memory to me. Though that shouldn't be happening with 1.23+, let alone 1.24+ - what kind of enormous level was that anyway?
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Jun 12, 2010, 11:02 PM
Black Ninja is offline
Random thought: I'd like to see in-game translation of text (don't know how feasible this is).
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 825

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Jun 13, 2010, 12:38 AM
Seren is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by minmay View Post
Sounds and looks like you ran out of memory to me. Though that shouldn't be happening with 1.23+, let alone 1.24+ - what kind of enormous level was that anyway?
If it's not any edit, it's a level of Ever Story, ever2, 256x64.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Dermo Dermo's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2005

Posts: 1,743

Dermo should make better posts

Jun 13, 2010, 04:01 AM
Dermo is offline
Random thought: Add bots to the next version of jj2+
__________________
Yes, I am, in fact, ALWAYS the one to blame for everything. And none of your are full of yourself. Good job.

Do you like Stijn? Take my poll!




Windows is not a virus. A virus is small and efficient...

Note to Stijn: how am i even getting away with this
DanZeal

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2008

Posts: 301

DanZeal is an asset to this forum

Jun 13, 2010, 04:02 AM
DanZeal is offline
Overclocked or overheated?
__________________

ZStats
"The myth that women should not lift heavy is advanced only by women who fear effort and men who fear women." Eric Midkiff
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 825

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Jun 13, 2010, 04:13 AM
Seren is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivando View Post
But anyway, have some of you ever got any similar experiences?
Oh yeah, right now I remember, I had something similar when my monitor was full of water because it was placed too close to a hole in the roof. Cool colorful random lines. But when it comes to no "u" in chatbox then no, not really.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
DanZeal

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2008

Posts: 301

DanZeal is an asset to this forum

Jun 13, 2010, 11:13 PM
DanZeal is offline
Is JJ2+ supporting IEEE 802.1p QoS?
__________________

ZStats
"The myth that women should not lift heavy is advanced only by women who fear effort and men who fear women." Eric Midkiff
Raven aka StL Raven aka StL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2005

Posts: 1,823

Raven aka StL should make better posts

Jun 14, 2010, 05:39 AM
Raven aka StL is offline
In recent weeks when I've been in snz's server, similar stuff has occured twice.
Some letters not showing in the chat and random texture errors on the screen.
snzspeed

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2003

Posts: 1,369

snzspeed is a forum legendsnzspeed is a forum legendsnzspeed is a forum legend

Jun 14, 2010, 06:30 AM
snzspeed is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven aka StL View Post
In recent weeks when I've been in snz's server, similar stuff has occured twice.
Some letters not showing in the chat and random texture errors on the screen.
yeah, this is absolutely my servers fault. If this kind of glitch was present for you, why didnt you do the same what SJ did? or better, why didnt you notify me about it? I find that very strange..
__________________
KiMO KiMO's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2009

Posts: 63

KiMO is notorious for his worthless posts

Jun 15, 2010, 01:37 AM
KiMO is offline
Question

Has anyone seen or had these stats before (look at Xere's ones)?



We were playing in my server (admin idle), Xere had the biggest stats of all (130+), when he somehow dropped his points down to -70 or more. As long as he was killing more, the numbers were approaching to 0.
Lithium Lithium's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2008

Posts: 386

Lithium is an asset to this forum

Jun 15, 2010, 04:21 AM
Lithium is offline
Happens when the score is high,but I do not know how and why.
__________________
Best offlane WR of Soviet Russia!
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Jun 15, 2010, 04:24 AM
Grytolle is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiMO View Post
Has anyone seen or had these stats before (look at Xere's ones)?



We were playing in my server (admin idle), Xere had the biggest stats of all (130+), when he somehow dropped his points down to -70 or more. As long as he was killing more, the numbers were approaching to 0.
A few pages back you will find a similar screenshot of mine where I brag about how I'm too much of a killer machine for jj2+ It happens because blur used one-byte values (un)signed(I never rememer which is which xD). 255 is the maximum you can have in the stats, anyway
__________________
<center></center>
Toni Toni's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2009

Posts: 396

Toni should make better posts

Jun 15, 2010, 08:03 AM
Toni is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo View Post
Random thought: Add bots to the next version of jj2+
I agree. DJazzy is making it atm (or he made it, dunno), and tested in server. It works perfectly, and you can set target to enemy/flag/etc. But only 1 thing is there in that bot what I don't like. If you set target to enemy, bot will just follow enemy, and enemy can't hide from a bot.

About KiMO, yeah, it happened to me once. I was playing 1v2 against Faw and GaL in ZD on Mulch. I had the most kills (and scores ), and then it started, I had 255 kills, and started -253, -251, -249, -247, all until -1, then started 2, 4, 6, 8 ... etc. and we finished the game . I think Faw or GaL remembers it.
Raven aka StL Raven aka StL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2005

Posts: 1,823

Raven aka StL should make better posts

Jun 15, 2010, 10:39 AM
Raven aka StL is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by snzspeed View Post
yeah, this is absolutely my servers fault. If this kind of glitch was present for you, why didnt you do the same what SJ did? or better, why didnt you notify me about it? I find that very strange..
I'm not blaming your server... just pointed that out.
It's happened sometime in the past too, but more recently only in your server.
And I did mention it at that time... maybe not too clearly or sth.
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,040

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Jun 15, 2010, 10:58 AM
Treylina is offline
It also happens even without plus. I remember pwning everyone one day (several months ago) and suddenly my scores went all -32039021931892 or something like that...really wierd.
Vegito

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2003

Posts: 2,861

Vegito is an asset to this forum

Jun 15, 2010, 01:48 PM
Vegito is offline
Its fun doing that with coins haha.
__________________
ivo

Guest

Joined:

Posts: n/a

Jun 15, 2010, 02:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tropiCCo View Post
started -253, -251, -249, -247, all until -1, then started 2, 4, 6, 8 ...
Lies.
Toni Toni's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2009

Posts: 396

Toni should make better posts

Jun 16, 2010, 02:13 AM
Toni is offline
No. Ask Faw and Gal!
HotRodGR HotRodGR's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2009

Posts: 14

HotRodGR is notorious for his worthless posts

Jun 17, 2010, 01:51 AM
HotRodGR is offline
Idea: King of the Hill gamemode. I don't see how that isn't possible. It would be much like DOM but you have to STAY in the "spot" to keep the score running. The more players in the "spot", the faster the score increases. If two opponents are in the same "spot", no scores would be given to either. You get the idea. Also the "spot" could change possitions every 60 seconds, or even better, give the admins ability to change the delay, or disable it completely with simple commands. DOM levels could be used for this gamemode with a few adjustments, much like you convert a CTF to JB.

What do you think...?
ivo

Guest

Joined:

Posts: n/a

Jun 17, 2010, 02:36 AM
Of course it's possible, it's been done already, actually.
HotRodGR HotRodGR's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2009

Posts: 14

HotRodGR is notorious for his worthless posts

Jun 17, 2010, 06:46 AM
HotRodGR is offline
Then why not add it to plus...? Gry's patch doesn't work with plus... Better make one universal patch than have 5 different copies of the game on your disk, opening each accordingly to what you want to play.
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,040

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Jun 17, 2010, 10:41 AM
Treylina is offline
Ah, that also brings up another thing I wanted to suggest. It would be really nice if there was an option to turn auto weapon change off for plus itself, as the current patch only works for 1.23. (look here, ZD is TSF only now, and I don't use 1.23 anymore and the big res release has had an impact making even less servers 1.23 friendly)

And I was really lazy to do this, but anyway heres the clothing colours that change along with airboard.

I really like the blue clothing, though some clothing colours seem a little off. Like pink clothing is a bit too dark it almost looks default purple like. Red clothing is a little too dark too, almost looks brown. Orange is a bit too...lets say "neon". Other than that, they're fine.

I also found a bug reguarding the allred/allblue feature I think. I once forgot to turn allred off, with one of the members appearing red on my own server, who was actually blue to others on my server was getting killed by his own teammates. Friendlyfire was off too.
Dermo Dermo's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2005

Posts: 1,743

Dermo should make better posts

Jun 17, 2010, 11:49 AM
Dermo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter View Post
Of course it's possible, it's been done already, actually.
I actually was still using that program for the longest time (when I was able to host). And I would continue to use it. Only for one function: /allspaz on

The only game mode I use to host was Ground Force. I got out of level-building and such when I realized though that I can't host anymore
__________________
Yes, I am, in fact, ALWAYS the one to blame for everything. And none of your are full of yourself. Good job.

Do you like Stijn? Take my poll!




Windows is not a virus. A virus is small and efficient...

Note to Stijn: how am i even getting away with this
DanZeal

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2008

Posts: 301

DanZeal is an asset to this forum

Jun 17, 2010, 12:27 PM
DanZeal is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
as the current patch only works for 1.23.
Use The weapon project instead.
__________________

ZStats
"The myth that women should not lift heavy is advanced only by women who fear effort and men who fear women." Eric Midkiff
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,040

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Jun 17, 2010, 12:36 PM
Treylina is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dermo View Post
I actually was still using that program for the longest time (when I was able to host). And I would continue to use it. Only for one function: /allspaz on

The only game mode I use to host was Ground Force. I got out of level-building and such when I realized though that I can't host anymore
Haha does that mean we can have alllori and alljazz on too sometime? xD Not that it's really necessary though...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanZeal View Post
Use The weapon project instead.
Even so, it would be a bit more convenient if auto weapon change options was with plus as well.

Last edited by Treylina; Jun 17, 2010 at 12:55 PM.
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Jun 18, 2010, 10:05 AM
minmay is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treylina View Post
It would be really nice if there was an option to turn auto weapon change off for plus itself, as the current patch only works for 1.23.
Agreed (make Plus Settings actually do something useful?). Of course, it's very easy to join a 1.24 "only" server with 1.23+...
Dermo Dermo's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2005

Posts: 1,743

Dermo should make better posts

Jun 18, 2010, 05:52 PM
Dermo is offline
Also, the auto run feature under plus settings. And add some more like weapon switch and such under that submenu box
__________________
Yes, I am, in fact, ALWAYS the one to blame for everything. And none of your are full of yourself. Good job.

Do you like Stijn? Take my poll!




Windows is not a virus. A virus is small and efficient...

Note to Stijn: how am i even getting away with this
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Jun 30, 2010, 03:17 PM
blurredd is offline
New update. Barely tested as usual. Hey, that's why it's still beta.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Old Jun 30, 2010, 04:31 PM
Merlyn
This message has been deleted by Merlyn.
Merlyn

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2002

Posts: 25

Merlyn is doing well so far

Jun 30, 2010, 04:49 PM
Merlyn is offline
Thanks BlurredD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Readme
- Increased the maximum distance a player can be hit by TNT in online games when Extended TNT Range is enabled.
Awesome.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,719

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jun 30, 2010, 05:18 PM
Violet CLM is offline
There are some great, useful, SP-related features in there! Thanks! Would it be possible to include another couple bytes in the Level End events to specify which start position to begin at (using, say, the "pos" parameter, basically akin to Warp/Warp Target), or can you not pass numbers like that between levels?
__________________
KiMO KiMO's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2009

Posts: 63

KiMO is notorious for his worthless posts

Jun 30, 2010, 11:03 PM
KiMO is offline
KiMO KiMO's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2009

Posts: 63

KiMO is notorious for his worthless posts

Jun 30, 2010, 11:10 PM
KiMO is offline
Found a bug. Sometimes when a player has 1/2 and he takes the carrot, he still has that health and can't see the c anymore. The spectator can see that he passed through the carrot without taking it.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:50 AM.