Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ v5.6 (last updated 27 February, 2018)

Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 816

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2015, 04:40 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
Unfinished boss battle. I think everyone on the plus dev team ends up with reams of unfinished projects that we start to test various new features, only we end up focusing on making JJ2+ itself instead and those lesser projects languish into oblivion.
For the love of JJ2, someone has to finish that boss battle! It's like the most wonderful thing I have ever seen!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
Flipped, but the sprites for Jazz, Uterus, and the Crabs are rotating.
Amazing!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
And now in English, please. This does not look like something you can do in JCS...

Ah, why must the good stuff always be complicated!
Uhh, I think it's Angelscript? I don't know, try making a .j2as file :\
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 823

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Apr 7, 2015, 05:47 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
Another build to try out by Windows XP users.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 05:49 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
No option for setting FPS limit? Guess JJ2 is toast since I'm going for Windows 10.
__________________
Just Monika
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,936

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 7, 2015, 06:04 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgia View Post
And now in English, please. This does not look like something you can do in JCS...

Ah, why must the good stuff always be complicated!
http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/p...gelscript.html
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 07:38 AM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ementaler View Post
This one works, thank you very much!
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Superjazz Superjazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2003

Posts: 965

Superjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHART

Apr 7, 2015, 09:52 AM
Superjazz is offline
Reply With Quote
By the way, did you do anything in particular to improve player movement server-side? There was this nocap-bug which occurred when players were attempting to capture a flag with vertical movement involved, but failed due to them leaving the base too fast. With this release it seems like you fixed it (which is a great thing), but I couldn't find anything from the changelog that mentioned that something was done.

So I'm just asking if it was something that was fixed in particular, or was it for example a side effect of another glitch? Or I wonder if it only happened in Camel Duels...
__________________
Find It Out
MP

JJnet Duel Tournament 3.0
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 823

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Apr 7, 2015, 10:05 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
We don't yet know the details, but I believe that rewriting some of mask checking functions in an earlier version caused problems in what must have been fragile and technically incorrect code of JJ2 at assembly level. The issue has been addressed in 5.0 and my modifications to the functions seemed to grant much more appropriate results (even better than in vanilla JJ2 or previous versions of JJ2+ for that matter).
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Superjazz Superjazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2003

Posts: 965

Superjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHARTSuperjazz is OFF DA CHART

Apr 7, 2015, 10:41 AM
Superjazz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ementaler View Post
We don't yet know the details, but I believe that rewriting some of mask checking functions in an earlier version caused problems in what must have been fragile and technically incorrect code of JJ2 at assembly level. The issue has been addressed in 5.0 and my modifications to the functions seemed to grant much more appropriate results (even better than in vanilla JJ2 or previous versions of JJ2+ for that matter).
__________________
Find It Out
MP

JJnet Duel Tournament 3.0
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,690

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Apr 7, 2015, 12:46 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ementaler View Post
Thanks, SE! Once we get another positive report (Jelly or Shaker) I'll replace the dll in the main zip with this one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
No option for setting FPS limit? Guess JJ2 is toast since I'm going for Windows 10.
Why would you ever go for Windows 10 and expect anything to work on it.


As for the multiplayer announcements question, everybody settle down. We've been playing with these for many months now and barely even notice them, if anything finding them less obtrusive because they don't take up valuable space in the recent chat area that could have been used for seeing what actual players are saying. You've had them for less than 24 hours and have noticed that something is different than it was before. Give it a week or so and see how you feel.
__________________
ShakerNL ShakerNL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 86

ShakerNL is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2015, 01:10 PM
ShakerNL is offline
Reply With Quote
I can also confirm that SE's dll works good on my Windows XP machine. Thanks for the quick fix!
__________________
AvalancheMaster AvalancheMaster's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 89

AvalancheMaster is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 01:21 PM
AvalancheMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
Are there any new textured background options? I have ~20 waiting around; I can send them to be used in the next release.

Also, will there be new example levels? Any updates to the online version of plus-readme and plus-angelscript?
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,936

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 7, 2015, 01:22 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
There are obviously a lot of readme changes. They're still at the same location:

http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/p...gelscript.html
http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus-readme.html

I'm not sure there's demand for more textured backgrounds to be included in the next release, but feel free to put them here and the dev team can see if any would be good to include.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 7, 2015, 01:27 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvalancheMaster View Post
Any updates to the online version of plus-readme and plus-angelscript?
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,690

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Apr 7, 2015, 01:28 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvalancheMaster View Post
Also, will there be new example levels?
I'm not sure if we're having a miscommunication here, but the release has already happened. It was yesterday.

Textures can be loaded from external files with jjSTREAM, transferred to a jjPIXELMAP, and then saved into the textured background from there, so strictly speaking if you have something you want people to be able to use it doesn't actually need to be in plus.j2d.
__________________
AvalancheMaster AvalancheMaster's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 89

AvalancheMaster is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 01:28 PM
AvalancheMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stijn View Post
There are obviously a lot of readme changes. They're still at the same location:

http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/p...gelscript.html
http://www.jazz2online.com/jj2plus/plus-readme.html

I'm not sure there's demand for more textured backgrounds to be included in the next release, but feel free to put them here and the dev team can see if any would be good to include.
The angelscript one is still the old one... nothing too major, as the new readme i included with the download. Still, it'd be nice to get it online, too.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 7, 2015, 01:32 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Press F5 if you're not seeing any changes, it should work then.
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,936

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 7, 2015, 01:47 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Or shift + f5/cmd+r if even that doesn't work.
AvalancheMaster AvalancheMaster's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 89

AvalancheMaster is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 01:58 PM
AvalancheMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Oops. Deleted cookies, works fine now. ;D
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2015, 11:25 PM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
Why would you ever go for Windows 10 and expect anything to work on it.
That wasn't my point. To play in fullscreen in Windows 8, there's a fix which disables Vsync and TrippleBuffer and in 60Hz monitors it sucks [Screen tearing, shaking] when playing with more FPS. So if it was possible to limit the FPS with plus.ini or something like that- the game would run atleast smoothly. Windows 10 is same as 8, that's why I said it.
__________________
Just Monika
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,690

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Apr 7, 2015, 11:52 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I mean no you're right it was an unnecessarily flippant response. But that's interesting. Are you saying regular JJ2, which is limited to 70 FPS, runs properly with that fix applied?

EDIT: Sir Ementaler informs me that regular JJ2 may have been lying in that regard.
__________________

Last edited by Violet CLM; Apr 8, 2015 at 12:38 AM.
Robo4900 Robo4900's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,045

Robo4900 has disabled reputation

Apr 8, 2015, 03:39 AM
Robo4900 is offline
Reply With Quote
Solution: Dual boot Windows 7 or earlier and 10.
__________________
AvalancheMaster AvalancheMaster's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 89

AvalancheMaster is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 03:43 AM
AvalancheMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo4900 View Post
Solution: Dual boot Windows 7 or earlier and 10.
Or emulate.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 04:50 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
I mean no you're right it was an unnecessarily flippant response. But that's interesting. Are you saying regular JJ2, which is limited to 70 FPS, runs properly with that fix applied?

EDIT: Sir Ementaler informs me that regular JJ2 may have been lying in that regard.
Since its 70 FPS, its still a bit choppy but when I test both Plus and regular JJ2- I find the regular JJ2 runs comparatively smoother. So atleast do something to set FPS limit [Without Vsync game never gets smooth but atleast if its possible to make FPS limited to refresh rate; it becomes smooth enough].

Thats why I want an option to set the FPS limit.

Also, if its possible make the rendering mode to Direct 3D, then theres no need of FPS limit option as Windows 8/10 won't have issues with Fullscreen mode then.

@Robo: Its not solution at all. Why would I waste my HDD space with dual OS?
__________________
Just Monika
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 823

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Apr 8, 2015, 05:23 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAMI View Post
Since its 70 FPS, its still a bit choppy but when I test both Plus and regular JJ2- I find the regular JJ2 runs comparatively smoother.
I call placebo.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 05:26 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
@SE: Whats your monitors Refresh Rate?

Edit: Are you guys even have plans for putting option for FPS limit? Yes or no?
__________________
Just Monika
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 823

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Apr 8, 2015, 06:16 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
My screen's refresh rate is 60 Hz. I experience no tearing.

Here's behavior of JJ2 regarding fps, according to my experience with the code (BlurredD may negate it if I'm wrong):
- in fullscreen: JJ2 and JJ2+ limit fps to the screen's refresh rate (if obtainable).
- in windowed mode: JJ2 and JJ2+ have no known limits of fps, although both seem to be capped at around 140 most of the time. Unlike JJ2+, JJ2 lies and shows the frame rate as 70 if it's any higher than that.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 06:22 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
I experience no tearing if only Fulscreen in OS below Windows 8.

In Fullscreen above Windows 7- FPS doesnt limit.
In Window in all OS- 135 FPS was max I got and most of the time it remains at 120.

Even if JJ2 lies, I found regular JJ2 more smoother than JJ2+.


Now, what about answer to my second question in my last post?
__________________
Just Monika
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,276

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Apr 8, 2015, 07:58 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ementaler View Post
I call placebo.
No. I don't know how or why, but for me on Windows 8 (with DDraw Hardware Accel disabled in Windows) vanilla JJ2 runs exceptionally smoother than Plus.

Monitor max refresh rate doesn't seem to affect it, as the result appears the same on both my 60hz and 75hz LCD screens. It's nowhere near unplayable tearing, in fact it's rather minimal. But it's definitely existent.

Plus appears to push my FPS all the way to around 120 in fullscreen (if it isn't lying), which is way too much and no doubt the cause of the tearing. Similar tearing happens with other games if FPS far exceeds the monitor refresh rate, even Direct3D/OpenGL rendered games.

For that I too suggest a manual FPS setting, if no Direct3D/OpenGL mode could be supported. I know it's easy for a non-techy like me to say all this, but it's just a suggestion that might enhance the JJ2 experience for future generations.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 772

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 08:55 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
I hear from some people that you guys broke cerebro

just wanted to point out that elec joined as cerebro still

k bye
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 8, 2015, 10:02 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
Plus appears to push my FPS all the way to around 120 in fullscreen (if it isn't lying), which is way too much and no doubt the cause of the tearing.
No, Plus merely removes artificial limit of 70 from the FPS counter, not the actual FPS value itself.
ShadowGPW ShadowGPW's Avatar

Super Moderator

Joined: Jan 2001

Posts: 2,813

ShadowGPW is a forum legendShadowGPW is a forum legendShadowGPW is a forum legend

Apr 8, 2015, 10:34 AM
ShadowGPW is offline
Reply With Quote
Windows XP? Why the hell would you want Win XP in 2015?
__________________
Join clan [GPW]'s discord!
https://discord.gg/ktCcYnv

S.H.A.D.O.W.: (aka Ins0mnia)
Synthetic Hydraulic Android Designed for Observation and Warfare

Mystic Legends
http://www.mysticlegends.org

Follow me on twitter: @Ins0mnia
Follow us on twitter: @Mystic_Legends
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 10:42 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowGPW View Post
Windows XP? Why the hell would you want Win XP in 2015?
My old PC still have Windows 98. Fortunately, it can't run JJ2 anymore [Long story, changed the hardwares to more low]. So if the question is "Why the hell would you wan't Win XP in 2015?" The answer is "If we can/or many people still uses Windows 95- why can't we use Windows XP?"

Also, Windows XP is the last OS where 320x240 was supported in Fullscreen if Vista doesn't support it [Never used Vista, so can't tell about it].
_____________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
No. I don't know how or why, but for me on Windows 8 (with DDraw Hardware Accel disabled in Windows) vanilla JJ2 runs exceptionally smoother than Plus.

Monitor max refresh rate doesn't seem to affect it, as the result appears the same on both my 60hz and 75hz LCD screens. It's nowhere near unplayable tearing, in fact it's rather minimal. But it's definitely existent.

Plus appears to push my FPS all the way to around 120 in fullscreen (if it isn't lying), which is way too much and no doubt the cause of the tearing. Similar tearing happens with other games if FPS far exceeds the monitor refresh rate, even Direct3D/OpenGL rendered games.

For that I too suggest a manual FPS setting, if no Direct3D/OpenGL mode could be supported. I know it's easy for a non-techy like me to say all this, but it's just a suggestion that might enhance the JJ2 experience for future generations.
This is what I've trying to explain the whole time.
__________________
Just Monika
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 823

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Apr 8, 2015, 11:14 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
I know what you are trying to explain but you are wrong.
I said it once but I can say it again. In windowed mode your fps is uncapped in both JJ2 and JJ2+. Your JJ2 probably runs at about 300 fps and your JJ2+ probably runs at around 140, presumably because it executes reasonably more code per frame. JJ2+ displays fewer frames per second than JJ2 in windowed mode.
In fullscreen mode both JJ2 and JJ2+ try to adapt to your screen refresh rate or whatever else your system informs the game is the most optimal. Hence some people may see 60 fps and others may see 75 or 120 but it's capped and consistent between versions. JJ2+ displays the same number of frames per second as JJ2 in fullscreen mode.
To view your real frame rate in vanilla JJ2 (or nearly real, as still limited to 256 on display), use Cheat Engine to no-op the mov operation at 0043E447 in 1.23 or 0043E2FC in 1.24.
You experience tearing because you disabled triple buffering.
We will do nothing to fix bugs that don't exist.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 360

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 11:43 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Ok ok, sorry. I'll no more ask about FPS limit option. Btw, I know very well that in Fullscreen JJ2's FPS is capped to that of refresh rate.
__________________
Just Monika
szmol96 szmol96's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2013

Posts: 83

szmol96 is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 12:17 PM
szmol96 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowGPW View Post
Windows XP? Why the hell would you want Win XP in 2015?
Because Win7 lags the crap out of my old machine. What do you expect of a Celeron CPU, a Radeon 9200 and 1 GB RAM?
__________________
All your base are belong to us.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 816

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Apr 8, 2015, 12:25 PM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by szmol96 View Post
Because Win7 lags the crap out of my old machine. What do you expect of a Celeron CPU, a Radeon 9200 and 1 GB RAM?
I know that feel.
For 10 years more exactly.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,690

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Apr 8, 2015, 12:38 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Believe me, if switching to Direct3D or whatever other technology were that easy, we'd have done it.
__________________
Toni_

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2011

Posts: 193

Toni_ is doing well so far

Apr 8, 2015, 03:11 PM
Toni_ is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by master sven View Post
Those big messages in the middle of the screen surely look awesome.
However, they can also be really annoying and confusing.
If I saw it correctly, captures are only shown in the bottom left, roasts only in the middle and scores are shown both in the bottom left and in the middle.
While playing it can be really annoying and hard to follow whats going on in the game when there are 2 or more messages filling your screen.

I think there should be at least an option to disable the messages in the middle of the screen and preferably a settings menu where one can select which kind of messages they want apear in which place.
I second this. I totally agree. It's too distracting for serious play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
As for the multiplayer announcements question, everybody settle down. We've been playing with these for many months now and barely even notice them, if anything finding them less obtrusive because they don't take up valuable space in the recent chat area that could have been used for seeing what actual players are saying. You've had them for less than 24 hours and have noticed that something is different than it was before. Give it a week or so and see how you feel.
No. You are wrong. For me and much more players I asked, it's more important to see if there's a player on your screen you can hit, or if there is any pickup available than seeing if you roasted someone or someone lost the flag. Please make it custom so we can turn it off if we want to. It's easy to do. Please.

Also I noticed one bug. If you are playing Single Player, then use jjmorph to morph to frog or bird, and go to warp - you wont warp (just like before). But, if you then go away from the warp and use jjmorph again to morph to Jazz/Spaz/Lori, you will warp automatically, even tho you are not in the warp at that time.
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,936

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 8, 2015, 03:14 PM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just a Random User View Post
No. You are wrong. For me and much more players I asked, it's more important to see if there's a player on your screen you can hit, or if there is any pickup available than seeing if you roasted someone or someone lost the flag. Please make it custom so we can turn it off if we want to. It's easy to do. Please.
I understand the sentiment, but besides the assertion that it is "easy to do" (which is never a wise thing to say about a software project you don't know the inner workings of), Violet never said anything to the contrary. He just asked everyone to give it a chance and see if you still think it's annoying after playing with it for a short while. Which I think is perfectly reasonable, as the first reaction to change is usually annoyance just because it's different, regardless of whether it's actually worse.

Which it could be! But let's see if maybe it's just the change everyone needs to adjust to. If a lot of people still think it's annoying after that, I'm sure the team will consider making changes.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,276

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Apr 8, 2015, 03:28 PM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ementaler View Post
You experience tearing because you disabled triple buffering.
We will do nothing to fix bugs that don't exist.
Ok, sorry, I didn't expect anything to be fixed. I just expressed what I saw, and tried to determine what caused it without knowing Plus' technical details. The tearing is thus clearly a side effect caused by turning Hardware Accel off in Windows, and can't be helped by the Plus team anyway as it's not a Plus problem.

Nevertheless, on my Win8 setup, there is less tearing on Vanilla JJ2 than on Plus. Maybe it's a coincidence due to the lower framerate caused by Plus. I don't know or go into the technical reason, it just is, and it doesn't really matter either.

On a positive note, I'm really enjoying Plus' new features so far the past 2 days. The HUD messages, muts like weaponBunny, and even Lori's authentic gun are awesome! Really looking forward to the Bash now.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:59 PM.