Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » JCS & Scripting

MLLE - Playing catch-up with DJazz

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 23, 2011, 10:32 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
But not all of us use Windows
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Dec 23, 2011, 11:38 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
That's true. But not all of us use Chrome either.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 23, 2011, 12:49 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I definitely plan on Mac and Linux versions, I just haven't gotten around to that yet. Doing my best to write cross-platform compatible code; we'll see how well I've been doing when the time comes.
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 23, 2011, 01:55 PM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
Pity that your code will ultimately be a port to some platform
Mono for GNU/Linux or Cygwin or something similar for Windows...
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 23, 2011, 02:40 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Umm... Jake, I don't understand what you just said(Specifically the second paragraph), can you clarify, please?
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 24, 2011, 12:18 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
Mono is a replacement for .NET framework (Violet, if you can kick yourself for it, convert to it and you're one step closer to cross-platform), and Cygwin is a kind of shell replacement for Windows.
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Dec 24, 2011, 03:27 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
But Chrome pwns, what's wrong with you n4bs?
__________________
<center></center>
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 24, 2011, 06:07 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Because:
A) I'm not used to Chrome.
B) It's not as secure as Firefox(Which I use).
and C) It has tracking cookies to see whatever you're doing whenever you're doing it(So Google know everything you're doing).
__________________
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Dec 24, 2011, 06:19 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
But noone is asking you to make Chrome your main browser (disregarding that point 2 and 3 are questionable)
__________________
<center></center>
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 24, 2011, 09:12 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Yeah, I just put the first point because almost no-one is used to Chrome. Also, another thing, Chrome has practically no interface! XD So, I hope WebJCS works for Firefox at some point.
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 24, 2011, 10:12 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
Sorry, but it uses the Chrome engine. So it probably won't work with Firefox (or any of it's afterbirths) in atleast 5 years.
djazz djazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2009

Posts: 257

djazz is OFF DA CHARTdjazz is OFF DA CHARTdjazz is OFF DA CHART

Dec 24, 2011, 10:30 AM
djazz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo4900 View Post
Yeah, I just put the first point because almost no-one is used to Chrome.
Chrome is the world's second largest browser after IE. Everyone i know use Chrome.
I want to support more browsers but technically and feature-wise they are far behind. When the HTML5 specification is "finished", then WebJCS should be no problem to use crossbrowser, if those browsers support HTML5 fully.
Also, why is Chrome less secure?
__________________
WebJCS 2 (new and in progress)
WebJCS 1 (old but complete)
SGIP Simple Games in Progress list
Level Packer v2 - With a GUI!
PHP Tileset Compiler
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,805

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Dec 24, 2011, 10:32 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo4900 View Post
Yeah, I just put the first point because almost no-one is used to Chrome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo4900 View Post
Also, another thing, Chrome has practically no interface! XD
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,953

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Dec 24, 2011, 10:36 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
hey guys lets not turn this thread into a browser war discussion
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Dec 24, 2011, 12:25 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
O! I got a feature request!

You could add a Save & Run menu option to the right click menu of the layer editor. When it's clicked, MLLE saves a temporary copy of the level with a single Start Position in that spot and runs that. Would be a very easy way to test certain parts of a level without having to move the start positions manually (or using warps or whatever).
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 24, 2011, 12:35 PM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
Ooh, nice idea. And make it complain if you are trying to run a level without a start position.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 24, 2011, 08:42 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake View Post
Pity that your code will ultimately be a port to some platform
Mono for GNU/Linux or Cygwin or something similar for Windows...
Yep. While I care enough about cross-platform support to want to make it possible, I don't care enough to redesign the interface twice over, at least not anytime soon. Features are simply a higher priority than native application style.

Jerry: this is a good idea and I will find a way to make it happen.
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 26, 2011, 04:11 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
I've got a suggestion!

How about you can choose which character to play as with Save & Run? That would make Spaz-players' lives easier(Although, it won't affect me, as I play as Jazz. XD).
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Dec 27, 2011, 01:04 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
And also choosing the default player for ctrl+r
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 27, 2011, 07:30 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Yes, those two ideas(Mine and Jake's) mixed together would be complete awesome.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 27, 2011, 06:23 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I shied away from that in Reworder (and earlier programs that I never released) because TSF and JJ2+ have a -spaz command line argument but regular JJ2 refuses to run your level if you pass it that argument, but I guess that could be toggled in the game profile .ini files. It shall be looked into.
__________________
minmay

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2002

Posts: 1,181

minmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesomeminmay is immeasurably awesome

Dec 28, 2011, 07:44 AM
minmay is offline
Reply With Quote
How does CaptainCook do it?
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 11:02 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
I have no idea.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 12:43 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
How about you add a tickbox which you check to indicate JJ2+, and if you select TSF or JJ2+, you could have Spaz Mode?
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 04:11 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Not generic enough. Don't worry, I've got this.
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 05:27 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
This post will probably make me sound stupid, but what do you mean(The above post)? Oh, and just out of curiosity, is there a -lori command in TSF?
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 06:33 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
"I've got this" is an English idiom (probably a shortened form of "I've got this covered") meaning roughly "I have the situation under control and anticipate no difficulty in taking care of it."

Lori
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 28, 2011, 06:44 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
When I said "What do you mean" I was talking about "Not generic enough".
__________________
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Dec 29, 2011, 01:58 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Violet tries to make MLLE in such a way that it can be used to edit JJ2, TSF, Battery Check, and Animaniacs levels. A checkbox to indicate TSF or JJ2+ would not make any sense to the other games; it's too specific to JJ2+ and TSF. I guess that's what he meant with it being 'Not generic enough'.
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 29, 2011, 06:50 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Maybe you could add two another options in the games list, and have 1.23+ next to 1.23, and TSF+ next to TSF. It would remove confusion. But, I still think a tickbox would be good, it would be available on 1.23 and TSF, and would enable plus-only things.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 29, 2011, 09:16 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
kids I have versions (other than the BC/1.00o issue) under control
relaaaaaax
__________________
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Dec 30, 2011, 12:22 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
1.00o
It's 1.10o
__________________
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Dec 31, 2011, 06:36 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
So, what feature is currently at top priority?

EDIT: Hi, guys, I just want to know how things are going with MLLE? Also, I have a suggestion: Online Colaberation(WebJCS-style)! ... That is, unless there are technical limitations or if it's already been suggested.
__________________

Last edited by Love & Thunder; Jan 3, 2012 at 03:23 PM.
Old Jan 3, 2012, 03:22 PM
Love & Thunder
This message has been deleted by Love & Thunder. Reason: Double-post. XD Fail!
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Jan 8, 2012, 06:47 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Suggestion: How about you release another beta? It would be nice to be able to test some of the new features, and acutally be able to place tiles using it.
__________________
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,839

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Jan 10, 2012, 08:31 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
This post can serve as an unordered to-do list of features that I want to complete before I do another release. (I reserve the right to silently add items to this list at any time.) See, progress has slowed down significantly, and I think that making a release would license me to slow down even more; in case the next release is the last, either forever or for a while, this list contains stuff that I really want in there, either because they're extremely important or because they should actually be kind of fun to code:
  • Fix undo/redo code to work in AGA levels.
  • Eliminate scrollbar-induced crashes. (?)
  • Distinguish Battery Check from 1.10o.
  • Fix Save & Run not working with Battery Check.
  • Add a better startup sequence.
  • Add ambient sound support.
  • Add that localized Start Position thing.
  • Improve the .ini files significantly.
    • Shared events among different JJ2 versions extracted into their own file
    • Illuminate Surroundings now removable
    • Generator now dependent on .ini
    • Renaming event difficulties for Battery Check now works
  • Get a better fill algorithm.
  • Add Tile Cache control in accordance with my proposal for .j2l files.
  • Fix some tileset display issues.
  • Fix bugs with events on animated tiles.
  • Fix parallax view to stop adjusting layers with Limit Visible Region checked if Tile Height is also checked.
  • Allow scrolling when viewing layer 8 in parallax mode.
  • Get scrollbars to stop misestimating tileset/layer sizes by 256 pixels.
  • Add message if you try to exit (or open another level) without saving.
  • Force filename-selection window when you hit Save or Save&Run on a new level, instead of using "Made in MLLE.j2l."
  • Add error messages when trying to read files that aren't real levels or tilesets.
  • Allow levels and tilesets to be passed to MLLE by command line or dragged-and-dropped into it.
  • Change selection behavior so that the selection box in the tileset view only disappears if that's no longer the stamp, instead of disappearing whenever you select anything in the layer view.
  • Add .j2b support.
  • Allow music files to be previewed from within Level Properties.
  • Pause music when using Save & Run, so you don't have two programs playing the same track at the same time.
  • Make nice with Mac/Linux systems.
EDIT: this has become a general combination to-do list and changelog, instead of being tied to any particular release schedule.
__________________

Last edited by Violet CLM; Jun 23, 2017 at 11:43 AM.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Jan 10, 2012, 11:21 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
I know how you can distinguish BC from 1.10o.
Highlight block to show spoiler: check the anims.j2a file, the animations of BC are completely different from that of any version of JJ2. Just have a simple check that looks for Batteryman, and if it finds him in a specific animation(Just pick an animation of Batteryman and pick a frame), and if it does, it goes into BC mode, if not, it goes into 1.10o mode. And I don't mean for it to check if a frame exists, I'm talking about checking that a frame matches what it looks like for the BC anims file.

I hope this helps.

EDIT: I have a suggestion: Online Colaberation(WebJCS-style)! ... That is, unless there are technical limitations or if it's already been suggested.
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Jan 11, 2012, 01:47 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
Robo, it's not about anims, it's about the file.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Jan 11, 2012, 01:50 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
That doesn't matter, it just has to check the anims file, and it'll know which is which. Unless you have Battery Check and 1.10o in the same folder, which would
A) Not work
and B) Be very stupid.
__________________
Jgke Jgke's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 974

Jgke is an asset to this forumJgke is an asset to this forum

Jan 11, 2012, 02:07 AM
Jgke is offline
Reply With Quote
What if someone does have only one level and nothing else?
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,100

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Jan 11, 2012, 05:56 AM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
... That's irrelivent, if you have JJ2 and BC in the same folder, their anims.j2a files would clash, and only one of them would work.
__________________
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:09 PM.