Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

JJ2+ Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 843

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Mar 28, 2015, 03:32 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvalancheMaster View Post
I was thinking something along the lines of this:

Lori's heliears combined with Spazz' doublejump.



When she "jumps" again mid-air, the heli ears propel her upwards, keeping the X-momentum as well. The player cannot control Lori until she's down on the ground, to make up for balance and to keep things interesting.

I recon it could be done in AS.
That's actually one cool idea! Too bad it will most likely not be accepted.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
FawFul FawFul's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2007

Posts: 517

FawFul is a forum legendFawFul is a forum legendFawFul is a forum legend

Mar 28, 2015, 04:25 AM
FawFul is offline
Reply With Quote
I would like to make a suggestion: the ability to rebind weapon keys.

I think i can say on behalf of the community that play right-handed and use arrow keys it's pretty damn difficult to reach out to the numbers 7, 8 and 9 effectively. JJM had this feature back in the day where you can switch weapon keys around. It was a blessing to have electro(gun9) and ice(gun3) swapped around. However, that program is really outdated now and it's annoying to run tools aside from jj2.

Now with the addition of scripts and therefore new weapons and whatnot I started to feel this urge even more. I've just did a playtest in forgotton civilization (new map from PJ) and that level has custom weapons for gun8 and gun9. It was a pain in my butt to ever use these weapons effectively in a competitive mindset game by using the weapon change numbers.

I feel JJ2 needed this from that start..please make it happen jj2+ team.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Mar 28, 2015, 09:30 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
FawFul: I don't think that'll happen this release, but I do feel the need for a much better options screen, and that's a good candidate for something that would be really impractical to implement n any other way (e.g. commands, dropdown menu).
__________________
Lark

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2002

Posts: 1,564

Lark has disabled reputation

Apr 6, 2015, 03:57 PM
Lark is offline
Reply With Quote
Hello, hello. I'm new to JJ2+. Very new. Like, I've always had it downloaded but I don't think I've ever actually used it besides running a few example levels that Blacky, Violet or FS made and I was like WHOA THIS IS NOT JJ2 WHY AM I USING A MOUSE and got freaked out. Anyway, I think what JJ2+ calls for is some replayability factor added into the single player campaign. I'm sure we veterans have all beat the four episodes back to back at least a hundred times over. I'm not saying I'm bored of them, but how about something to keep us playing. Some incentive to reach higher and higher scores and eventually compete.

So here's an idea.

Let's fix the score system. In other words, when you die, reset the score so it's not possible to keep grabbing a one up, killing yourself, grabbing a bunch of gems, repeat. Let's make it impossible to cheat the system here.
Now let's add a game clock... A kill count (or percentage) perhaps? Par times?
All in all, since JJ2+ is a leap toward the newer generation of games, I want to be "graded" on how I do in JJ2. My score means nothing to me, and if I want to tally up how many gems I've collected, goodluck, the game shows you that but only for about half a second because it's irrelevant.
So, what am I trying to say, well, may the best turtle slayer win
Let's get a completely revamped highscore table which streams to J2O to compete against other users.

ALSO: An idea, but not so much as to what I was getting at; a grading system, similar to ones such in Devil May Cry, operating on a D, C, B, A, S, SS, SSS scale. (If ya haven't played Dmc, go play it, it's fun)


SECOND EDIT: Perhaps this would call for an OPTIONAL "login" when you play single player. You could use your J2O account to log in.
__________________
=D

Last edited by Lark; Apr 6, 2015 at 04:01 PM. Reason: sldkj
Loon Loon's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2010

Posts: 55

Loon is doing well so far

Apr 9, 2015, 06:08 AM
Loon is offline
Reply With Quote
I would like to make a suggestion for a later release.

Fireball still uses the pepperspray sprite at the bottom right of the screen. Is there a possibility to change that sprite into a fireball sprite?
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 9, 2015, 08:43 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loon View Post
Fireball still uses the pepperspray sprite at the bottom right of the screen. Is there a possibility to change that sprite into a fireball sprite?
Pepper Spray has been using Fireball's sprite since 1997.
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 191

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Apr 9, 2015, 10:11 AM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Suggestion: Change the menu's music with what ever music you like
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
SAMI SAMI's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2015

Posts: 364

SAMI is doing well so far

Apr 9, 2015, 11:22 AM
SAMI is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Pepper Spray has been using Fireball's sprite since 1997.
It actually looks like both pepper and fireball.

But, its a good idea to make new sprites which look more like fireball. Also one which looks like pepper.
__________________
Just Monika
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Apr 9, 2015, 11:43 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxMoNsTeRXM View Post
Suggestion: Change the menu's music with what ever music you like
You may be looking for a more permanent solution, but JJ2+ has a Music->Load Music File... menu item that seems to work fine in the menu.
__________________
XxMoNsTeRXM XxMoNsTeRXM's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 191

XxMoNsTeRXM is doing well so far

Apr 9, 2015, 12:34 PM
XxMoNsTeRXM is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
You may be looking for a more permanent solution, but JJ2+ has a Music->Load Music File... menu item that seems to work fine in the menu.
Oh, didn't realize that, sorry.
__________________
~XxMoNsTeR
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 9, 2015, 12:50 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
XxMoNsTeRXM: This is pretty ill-advised, but you can use mod2j2b on most module files you want, then remove Menu.j2b and rename your new j2b to Menu.j2b.

Nobody should be using mod2j2b in 2015 though.
Lark

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2002

Posts: 1,564

Lark has disabled reputation

Apr 10, 2015, 08:04 PM
Lark is offline
Reply With Quote
speaking of which I never put it to the test but does JJ2+ fix music loops? i.e. if a channel on a mod has a sample that does not stop before the song ends it will continue to loop after the song restarts. KNITPICKING
__________________
=D
master sven

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2005

Posts: 319

master sven is doing well so far

Apr 11, 2015, 12:15 PM
master sven is offline
Reply With Quote
http://www.jazzjackrabbit.net/?leagu...8&page=1#16345
__________________
Clan history: CD (2002) VD (2003) CC (2004) SC (2004) CC (2005) RC/RL (2005) EP (2005) CC (2006) AMC (2007) TM (2008) CDF (2010)



<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/th3a.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204"></iframe>
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 11, 2015, 12:53 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Yes, we read jjnet (though every time I do I wish I was not), and as far as I can tell there is no clear consensus there either.
Love & Thunder Love & Thunder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2011

Posts: 1,101

Love & Thunder has disabled reputation

Apr 11, 2015, 02:02 PM
Love & Thunder is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooba View Post
Yes, we read jjnet
My condolences.

Anyway, I'm loving the new Plus.
__________________
AvalancheMaster AvalancheMaster's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2013

Posts: 89

AvalancheMaster is doing well so far

Apr 11, 2015, 02:04 PM
AvalancheMaster is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm a native Cyrillic user (Bulgarian is actually the first language to adopt this alphabet), and I don't give a stinking rabbit poo about Cyrillic in JJ2+.

Then again, I'm not keen on multiplaying.

And then again, I'd help with the graphics, if this idea comes to life.
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,046

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Apr 11, 2015, 02:23 PM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lark View Post
speaking of which I never put it to the test but does JJ2+ fix music loops? i.e. if a channel on a mod has a sample that does not stop before the song ends it will continue to loop after the song restarts. KNITPICKING
Blame j2bs. BASS.dll doesn't support them.

In other words, this is one reason why you shouldn't use the j2b format. I have found the original version of most converted j2bs.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 775

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Apr 12, 2015, 05:12 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvalancheMaster View Post
And then again, I'd help with the graphics, if this idea comes to life.
Same.
Primpy Primpy's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2014

Posts: 843

Primpy is an asset to this forumPrimpy is an asset to this forum

Apr 12, 2015, 11:54 AM
Primpy is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelly Jam View Post
Same.
I'm not the best at editing stuff, but I could give you a hand as well.
__________________

"Floppy ears and a big butt?" - Slaz
master sven

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2005

Posts: 319

master sven is doing well so far

Apr 12, 2015, 10:21 PM
master sven is offline
Reply With Quote
http://www.jazzjackrabbit.net/?leagu...1&page=1#16356
__________________
Clan history: CD (2002) VD (2003) CC (2004) SC (2004) CC (2005) RC/RL (2005) EP (2005) CC (2006) AMC (2007) TM (2008) CDF (2010)



<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/th3a.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204"></iframe>
StrikerTheHedgefox StrikerTheHedgefox's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2015

Posts: 12

StrikerTheHedgefox is doing well so far

Apr 17, 2015, 06:04 AM
StrikerTheHedgefox is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvalancheMaster View Post
I was thinking something along the lines of this:

Lori's heliears combined with Spazz' doublejump.



When she "jumps" again mid-air, the heli ears propel her upwards, keeping the X-momentum as well. The player cannot control Lori until she's down on the ground, to make up for balance and to keep things interesting.

I recon it could be done in AS.
I don't really like the idea of taking control from the player like that, sounds like it could get irritating. How about making it like Yoshi's flutter-jump in Yoshi's Island? (Where you get pulled up like in your diagram, but only for a second or so and fall at normal speed, while still retaining control.)
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 775

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Apr 17, 2015, 07:57 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote


Ya know how the player warp color gets changed depending on his/hers fur?
Well for Jazz it stays default (green)

short story even shorter: i think you should make jazz's warp color depended on the player's fur.
Exploder Exploder's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2016

Posts: 3

Exploder is doing well so far

Sep 1, 2016, 10:56 AM
Exploder is offline
Reply With Quote
Add wait/delay function. Example:
Code:
jjAlert("You will die in 5 seconds.);
jjWait(5);
player.kill();
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 866

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Sep 1, 2016, 11:24 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
That is not how code works.
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Sep 1, 2016, 03:58 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Presumably it would look more like this:
Code:
jjAlert("You will die in 5 seconds.);
jjWait(5000, function(){
    jjLocalPlayers[0].kill();
);
(That simple sort of use case is what jjPLAYER::timerStart() and accompanying methods/properties are for, but I can see the appeal of a more general way of delaying things that doesn't make the scriptwriter do all the timekeeping themselves. That said, I think it could probably be a library instead of a built-in script feature.)
__________________
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 775

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Oct 23, 2016, 06:06 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
What do you guys think of making the trigger scenery event available in all of the layers in JCS?
Example: when you break a trigger box or go through a trigger zone, it will make some blocks in layer 3 appear/disappear.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Oct 23, 2016, 09:14 AM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
You can't literally place events in other layers because that's just not how level files work, but that is what jjTileSet and/or jjLAYER::tileSet are for.
__________________
Seren Seren's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2010

Posts: 866

Seren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to allSeren is a name known to all

Oct 23, 2016, 11:30 AM
Seren is offline
Reply With Quote
(Also Reworder is still available and functional, if you're not into scripting.)
__________________

I am an official JJ2+ programmer and this has been an official JJ2+ statement.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,812

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Oct 23, 2016, 02:18 PM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
(With that said, scripting it is faster and easier, and by learning how to script, you do yourself a favor)
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 775

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Oct 24, 2016, 11:19 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Yeah I know it's probably possible in AS. I was just wondering if it's worth adding it as a JCS function so everyone can use it. Thanks for the reply tho
Jelly Jam Jelly Jam's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2014

Posts: 775

Jelly Jam is doing well so far

Nov 17, 2016, 10:26 AM
Jelly Jam is offline
Reply With Quote
Make a setting in JCS that makes all of the objects which are pushable in single player pushable in multiplayer as well (big box, big rock, pickup crates, trigger crate, barell, ammo boxes, powerup TV's, morphs, and everything else I haven't mentioned). These items are not pushable in multiplayer, so the player just passes through them, making the box and rock almost useless.
The setting would be optional, of course, like the 'Hide level in Home cooked levels list' setting.
burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 236

burnout92 is doing well so far

Nov 28, 2016, 01:47 PM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
Hey everyone!

I have a suggestion. If i want to select another music for a level. Lets you select outside from the Jazz2 folder. When i choose my favorite song or whatever outside the game folder it's display a message: 'The file does not exist'.

Thank you if you listening me.
__________________
"Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone" Akuma from Street Fighter Alpha The Animation
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,046

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Nov 28, 2016, 02:45 PM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnout92 View Post
Hey everyone!

I have a suggestion. If i want to select another music for a level. Lets you select outside from the Jazz2 folder. When i choose my favorite song or whatever outside the game folder it's display a message: 'The file does not exist'.

Thank you if you listening me.
At that point, just use a music player? It's what I do.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Nov 28, 2016, 04:13 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
burnout92: that problem was addressed in version 5.2. Just add any folder you want to be able to load music files from to your Additional File Folders list.
__________________
burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 236

burnout92 is doing well so far

Nov 29, 2016, 07:18 AM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
Thanks Violet and sorry to asking this again.
__________________
"Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone" Akuma from Street Fighter Alpha The Animation

Last edited by burnout92; Nov 29, 2016 at 07:43 AM.
Sonic Boom Sonic Boom's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2016

Posts: 5

Sonic Boom is doing well so far

Dec 22, 2016, 12:10 PM
Sonic Boom is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm late, but I think it should be possible to "lay" Events on top of each other.
If that could be pulled off, I'd be so happy!
Treylina Treylina's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2009

Posts: 1,046

Treylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legendTreylina is a forum legend

Dec 22, 2016, 01:17 PM
Treylina is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic Boom View Post
I'm late, but I think it should be possible to "lay" Events on top of each other.
If that could be pulled off, I'd be so happy!
That is possible via MCEs and probably scripting too.
__________________


Jazz Jackrabbit group: https://discord.gg/vZm95tQ
Simon Simon's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2016

Posts: 58

Simon is doing well so far

Dec 30, 2016, 02:31 PM
Simon is offline
Reply With Quote
Hi, I got reeled into the Discord community because I speedrun JJ1, and I gave JJ2 a shot today. According to BinaryBlob and TreyLina, both vanilla JJ2 and JJ2+ are eligible for running. I stumbled into two issues/missing features.

Pixel doubling

I'm happy with JJ2's field-of-view at 640x400. But this generates an extremely small window on my physical screen. I'd like the window twice as big, showing the 640x400 image at 1280x800. I don't have to see more of the map, so Bigjazz doesn't help. Fullscreen is not an option during a run, I'd read the run timer and twitch chat meanwhile. Even for casual play, fullscreen is too large on a 34-inch screen.

While I can enlarge the window by mouse-dragging its border (Archlinux with the xfce4 desktop, JJ2 runs via Wine) and get the desired pixel-scaling, this has severe drawbacks:
* It's laborius pixel-precise mouse-movement, or I'd have to script the window manager.
* The window size instantly resets when the first level starts, the window must be re-dragged.

The feature wish, thus, is pixel-doubling supported by the game.

I didn't find any option or discussion on pixel doubling. Has this ever come up in the past? Does anyone play with a 4K display, which would generate an even smaller window at 800x600?

Remap A and S (edit 5 hours later: solved, it was the collision prevention with player 2's keys)

The keys A and S are exactly on physical keys that I prefer for game input. JJ2+ doesn't let me bind anything to A or S. I understand that this isn't possible even in vanilla JJ2, which may well be weird design that you must inherit.

Can you make these keys rebindable? Are there already workarounds within the game?

---

BinaryBlob mentioned that JJ2+ has fixed a bug to kill bosses fast, but the speedrun relies on that bug. This makes the pixel-doubling issue more general than a JJ2+ feature wish. <_<;

-- Simon

Last edited by Simon; Dec 30, 2016 at 08:11 PM.
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,990

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Dec 30, 2016, 07:11 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
In Windows, pixel doubling doesn't reset across level transitions and the A and S keys are perfectly usable, so I think the problem/s must be in Wine (or your configuration thereof) somewhere. Do A and S just not work for you at all? Even while chatting?
__________________
Simon Simon's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2016

Posts: 58

Simon is doing well so far

Dec 30, 2016, 07:40 PM
Simon is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet CLM View Post
In Windows, pixel doubling doesn't reset across level transitions
Yes, pixel doubling is preserved across level-to-level transistions here, too. The size resets on the transistion from menu to first level, on selecting the first episode.

If even that doesn't happen on Windows, I'll look into a scripting workaround. I'm happy that the window scales nicely at all, that's 90 % of the work.

Quote:
and the A and S keys are perfectly usable, so I think the problem/s must be in Wine (or your configuration thereof) somewhere. Do A and S just not work for you at all? Even while chatting?
I can enter the player name "AaSs" for a JJ2 hotseat game just fine. Still, I should investigate my setup -- thanks for confirming that it works on Windows. (All 26 letters work for player name entry. A, S, W, F, G aren't bindable, but Q, Z, X, C, V, T are. Weird. Still likely that the issue is on my side.)

I apologize for rushing to conclusions that the game doesn't allow remapping A/S at all. I'm biased by JJ1, which hardwired functions to S, M, T and some other keys.

Edit: Oh my, A/S issue solved. JJ2 prevents for player 1 exactly the keys that player 2 is using. Obvious in hindsight, JJ2 is a multiplayer game. <_<;;

-- Simon

Last edited by Simon; Dec 30, 2016 at 08:08 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 AM.