Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

30-Second Timeout (CTO) Solution

Reply
 
Thread Tools
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 4, 2007, 11:56 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
30-Second Timeout (CTO) Solution

JJ2 UDP Port Chooser v0.75

It's somewhat of a beta and fairly rushed, but just in time for AB9. From the readme:

Quote:
This program is meant to help those who cannot join servers without being timed-out after 30 seconds. Support for TSF (including the LK Avalon version) has been included.And now you can use JJ2's command line arguments with this program as well as port numbers below 1024.

How To Use:

Extract the files to the same directory then run jj2udp.exe. The program will be used to launch the JJ2 exe of your choosing and to decide which UDP port to use. The UDP port chosen must be between 1 and 65534 (inclusive). It is recommended that the port you choose is above 5000. For whichever port you choose, you may be forced to open that port within your router/firewall. If you have both 1.23 and TSF, you can choose to use the additional setting for TSF by running the program with "-tsf" as the argument. However, the "-tsf" argument is not necessary to be able to use TSF with this program. The program settings will automatically be saved when exiting the program (through pressing enter) after a successful launch of JJ2.
Feedback is appreciated.

Edit: With the addition of port choices below 1024, people with connection problems may be able to join games without any port forwarding. But using one of these port numbers might cause some problems. You're free to try them out though.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.


Last edited by blurredd; Jul 31, 2008 at 10:06 PM. Reason: More port numbers to use
Mercurio

JCF Member

Joined: Jun 2002

Posts: 54

Mercurio has disabled reputation

Apr 5, 2007, 01:30 AM
Mercurio is offline
Reply With Quote
Definately working with the infamous Speedtouch router.
__________________
[GpW]Mercurio
niek niek's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2003

Posts: 125

niek is doing well so far

Apr 5, 2007, 01:31 AM
niek is offline
Reply With Quote
This little program will solve alot of the player's problems for sure! For most people however, just forwarding the standard ports to their local IP is enough to make the game work (including mine), but this solution is a little easier since you can choice whatever UDP port you want to use for the game, and I've heard that for some people the standard ports just aren't even working. Port problems will be history atlast!
Olsen Olsen's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2004

Posts: 1,364

Olsen is doing well so far

Apr 5, 2007, 04:17 AM
Olsen is offline
Reply With Quote
Oh man, this is awesome.

Finally fixed it for me, ZyXEL 660H router here!
__________________
some kind of nature
PurpleJazz PurpleJazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2006

Posts: 818

PurpleJazz is OFF DA CHARTPurpleJazz is OFF DA CHARTPurpleJazz is OFF DA CHART

Apr 5, 2007, 04:45 AM
PurpleJazz is offline
Reply With Quote
Does the program allow hosting if you were unable to host before?
Neobeo

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2002

Posts: 409

Neobeo is an asset to this forumNeobeo is an asset to this forum

Apr 5, 2007, 05:05 AM
Neobeo is offline
Reply With Quote
Hosting, if I remember correctly, does not use an ephemeral port thus will work correctly even without this patch. (Given that you forward ports 10052 and 10054)
__________________
<TABLE border=1><TR><TD>Facts:
Jazz Sprite Dynamite (JSD)
Tileset Extractor
Neobeo's Firetruck

</TD><TD>Myths:
Jazz Creation Station Plus (JCS+) - 10%
Coming soon - a dedicated server! - 25%
Jazz Sprite Dynamite v2 (JSDv2) - 2%
Another generic single-player level - 0%
</TD></TR></TABLE>
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Apr 5, 2007, 06:01 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
Neobeo is right! Anyway, awesome that this idea was implemented at long last. Am I wrong to assume this will be added to your (well mostly yours) more extensive patchwork aswell, Blur?
__________________
<center></center>
n0

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,291

n0 is a forum legendn0 is a forum legendn0 is a forum legend

Apr 5, 2007, 06:07 AM
n0 is offline
Reply With Quote
Can't wait to try this when I get home.
__________________
<.<
>.>
-.-
CrimiClown CrimiClown's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2005

Posts: 4,886

CrimiClown is a forum legendCrimiClown is a forum legend

Apr 5, 2007, 06:14 AM
CrimiClown is offline
Reply With Quote
This should be a revelation for those who have had router problems for so long. Thank you very much.
cooba cooba's Avatar

JCF Veteran

Joined: Jan 2004

Posts: 7,791

cooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of lightcooba is a glorious beacon of light

Apr 5, 2007, 06:16 AM
cooba is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimiclown™ View Post
Thank you very much.
[si] training time >:)
Sacrush Sacrush's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2004

Posts: 748

Sacrush is doing well so far

Apr 5, 2007, 07:51 AM
Sacrush is offline
Reply With Quote
That's awesome Blur! Although Ive never had that problem it is very nice for people who did had that problem.
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 5, 2007, 11:21 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercurio View Post
Definately working with the infamous Speedtouch router.
Not for me. Did you do anything else than just running jazz2.exe via the program?
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 5, 2007, 12:12 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
From the readme:
Quote:
For whichever port you choose, you may be forced to open that port within your router/firewall.
I would guess most users who have connection problems would have to forward the UDP port, which is what Mercurio had to do. If you are able to host a server or (presumably) use Hamachi, you should be able to use this program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grtolle View Post
Am I wrong to assume this will be added to your (well mostly yours) more extensive patchwork aswell, Blur?
I probably will, eventually.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Old Apr 5, 2007, 12:40 PM
Stijn
This message has been deleted by Stijn. Reason: nevermind, fixed. BlurredD rocks.
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Apr 5, 2007, 05:29 PM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
It would fit perfectly in the custom settings dialog
__________________
<center></center>
Monolith

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,221

Monolith is doing well so far

Apr 5, 2007, 10:13 PM
Monolith is offline
Reply With Quote
This actually fixes things for people? I'm surprised. But that's good.
__________________
<div style="float: right; width: 100px; height: 70px; margin: 5px 15px;"><img src="http://madskills.org/monolith/idleserver.gif" style="width: 98px; height: 65px;"><img src="http://madskills.org/monolith/theserver.gif" style="width: 98px; height: 65px; position: relative; top: -65px;"></div><div style="margin: 0 3em; font-size: 80%; font-style: italic;">Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.</div><div style="text-align: right; text-size: 80%;">1 Corinthians 13:4-7</div>
Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 08:52 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
My jj2 Version 1.24 dont work with this..... u know how to help me?
Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 08:57 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
mine keeps sayin Connection Timed Out all the time...
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 09:27 AM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
Have you tried forwarding the UDP port the program uses (default is 50045)?
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 09:45 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
How do u forward the UDP port ?? O_O
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 7, 2007, 09:48 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Perhaps this site is helpful for you.

http://portforward.com/help/portforwarding.htm
Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 09:48 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
it says Version of jj2 not supported

BTW does this even work for Secret Files

Last edited by Stijn; Apr 7, 2007 at 09:56 AM. Reason: doublepost
Old Apr 7, 2007, 09:53 AM
Ricky1111
This message has been deleted by Stijn. Reason: doublepost
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Apr 7, 2007, 09:57 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Read the readme before asking, it makes sure you don't post such questions. TSF is supported. If you want to post two messages in a row, please use the button to edit your last post.
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 10:07 AM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
I suppose whenever I say "TSF support," I should add an asterisk indicating the program supports the version of TSF used by most players. Those who have the "LK Avalon" version--as opposed to the version released by Project2 Interactive--won't be able to use this program.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 10:13 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
awwwww i got that LK Avalon aswell......dam
Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Apr 7, 2007, 10:38 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlurredD View Post
I suppose whenever I say "TSF support," I should add an asterisk indicating the program supports the version of TSF used by most players. Those who have the "LK Avalon" version--as opposed to the version released by Project2 Interactive--won't be able to use this program.
*signs up for converting code to support it, if blur's too lazy himself*
__________________
<center></center>
Ricky1111

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2007

Posts: 6

Ricky1111 is doing well so far

Apr 7, 2007, 11:41 AM
Ricky1111 is offline
Reply With Quote
yh make it work on LK Avalon, i wna play with others

Last edited by Ricky1111; Apr 7, 2007 at 12:51 PM.
Speeza Speeza's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2006

Posts: 1,628

Speeza is an asset to this forumSpeeza is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 12:59 PM
Speeza is offline
Reply With Quote
ive had 9 complaits it doesn't work including my self so 10

any idea why?
__________________
You like it when I talk bad about myself don't you cooba <3
The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.

Your friendly JCF Hillybilly
DavidkazBest poster of 2010 ! [GpW]
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 01:14 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky1111 View Post
yh make it work on LK Avalon, i wna play with others
This is one of those issues where I want to say you're better of getting another version of JJ2, since you're going to run into other problems eventually.

To Ryder: Could you explain where exactly the problem is occuring? Your problem may have already been answered in this thread.

Edit: The program now supports the LK Avalon version, for whatever that's worth.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.


Last edited by blurredd; Apr 7, 2007 at 02:02 PM.
Neobeo

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2002

Posts: 409

Neobeo is an asset to this forumNeobeo is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 03:09 PM
Neobeo is offline
Reply With Quote
Any particular reason for not uploading this on J2O downloads?
__________________
<TABLE border=1><TR><TD>Facts:
Jazz Sprite Dynamite (JSD)
Tileset Extractor
Neobeo's Firetruck

</TD><TD>Myths:
Jazz Creation Station Plus (JCS+) - 10%
Coming soon - a dedicated server! - 25%
Jazz Sprite Dynamite v2 (JSDv2) - 2%
Another generic single-player level - 0%
</TD></TR></TABLE>
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 7, 2007, 05:11 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
Two reasons:

1.) It's still in its beta stages, as I made the initial version of the program haphazardly within two days. A thread is a great place to announce updates and to help people who have problems while trying to use the program.

2.) J2O has tyrannical rules about betas.

I plan on uploading the final version to J2O in due time.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Apr 8, 2007, 09:40 AM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm sad to say this program seems to have been thwarted by my DI-524 router.
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 8, 2007, 11:47 AM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
I take it you've tried fowarding the UDP port already. Are you currently able to forward the ports needed to host a server?
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Apr 8, 2007, 12:43 PM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
Haven't tried hosting, actually. I'll try that next.
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Apr 9, 2007, 07:34 AM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
Argh double post.

Anyway, I can't host games either. I guess maybe I'm just screwed.
ShadeJackrabbit ShadeJackrabbit's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 1,342

ShadeJackrabbit is doing well so far

Apr 9, 2007, 08:01 AM
ShadeJackrabbit is offline
Reply With Quote
*throws book out window*
This is sooOOOoo annoying. Here's what I've done:

-Unblocked all TCP and UDP ports Jazz 2 normally uses.
-Unblocked all TCP and UDP ports Jazz 2 now uses with the program.
-Unblocked Jazz 2 and the program.
-Patched for the proper list servers.

Here's my information:
-D-Link Wireless Extreme G - rev. B
-Some sort of wireless + wired Bell router.
|_Does not allow Static IP
|_Uses an odd GUI witch was built so you can't get Static IP
|_Therefor uses a DHCP given IP Adress
-4 computers on network
-Running Windows XP on all of them
-My computer has Linux, so I might attempt to use WINE once I can get the dll files from XP.
__________________

Stop talking sense, this is an internet argument. ~Doubble Dutch
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 9, 2007, 04:36 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
For anyone else who still has problems, please mention whether or not other players are able to join a server you've hosted.
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.


Last edited by blurredd; Apr 10, 2007 at 03:20 PM.
ShadeJackrabbit ShadeJackrabbit's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 1,342

ShadeJackrabbit is doing well so far

Apr 10, 2007, 04:27 PM
ShadeJackrabbit is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlurredD
For anyone else who still has problems, please mention whether or not other players are able to join a server you've hosted.
I forgot to point out that it's not working in my post.
__________________

Stop talking sense, this is an internet argument. ~Doubble Dutch
blurredd blurredd's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2001

Posts: 1,896

blurredd is an asset to this forumblurredd is an asset to this forum

Apr 10, 2007, 11:21 PM
blurredd is offline
Reply With Quote
In your D-Link advanced settings, have you tried using Virtual Server?
__________________
D3
Extra. No CTO v0.75
Animating Tiles Properties.
ATB Contest. Scripting Language.
Gameplay Theories.
1UP. Pitfall. Desolation.
SC2.

Anubis

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 592

Anubis is doing well so far

Apr 11, 2007, 05:17 AM
Anubis is offline
Reply With Quote
No more annoying Hamachi for some people yay!
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:33 AM.