Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

Windows 8: Can JJ2 survive?

Sean Sean's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Oct 2010

Posts: 720

Sean is a forum legendSean is a forum legend

Apr 14, 2012, 06:55 PM
Sean is offline
Reply With Quote
Windows 8: Can JJ2 survive?

Windows 8 is an entirely redesigned (from scratch, it is claimed) OS for the Windows line, though it's still in development. Lots of pre-existing code that has presumably allowed JJ2 to survive through the many instances of Windows from Windows 95-Windows 7 has been scrapped and redone, with a decent chance of framework that JJ2 relies on being changed.

What do we do in the chance that happens?

WHAT DO WE DO?

(although if JJ2 uses C++ then I'm just being paranoid and you can berate me for being totally ignorant)
__________________
drop by my SoundCloud or something if you want, it's my life's pride
KRSplat KRSplat's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 4,942

KRSplat is a forum legendKRSplat is a forum legend

Apr 14, 2012, 09:38 PM
KRSplat is offline
Reply With Quote
im using 8 preview and only difference for jj2 is widescreen functionality (stretched window)
__________________
Nonomu198 Nonomu198's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2007

Posts: 2,063

Nonomu198 is a forum legendNonomu198 is a forum legendNonomu198 is a forum legend

Apr 15, 2012, 01:40 AM
Nonomu198 is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRSplat View Post
im using 8 preview and only difference for jj2 is widescreen functionality (stretched window)
That is truly horrifying, and I'm not even being sarcastic you guys.
Stretched format is from the devil.







__________________
<img src="http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Lijik/Star-Wars-Figures-1/ewjclay.png" alt="I miss the techno Cheat." style="float: left; display: block;">

((\_/))
((<a href="http://www.explosm.net/db/files/Comics/Dave/comicbullyroot.jpg" target="_blank">o</a>.<a href="http://drmcninja.com/page.php?pageNum=44&issue=11" target="_blank">o</a>))
(()_())

Classical zombie retro extra fur rabbit.

Guys, remember 2010? LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Classical zombie retro extra fur rabbit
I sure miss non-living in ancient Greece!
MrAlextov MrAlextov's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2010

Posts: 182

MrAlextov has disabled reputation

Apr 15, 2012, 01:43 AM
MrAlextov is offline
Reply With Quote
Hmmm... I Had played JJ2 on Windows 8.
GPU drivers does not need. But when i switch to Fullscreen some things will start to be broken. The Network play will not work (list will show, but will display all servers as pinging.) and will start lags. To work again normally, JJ2 Need restart.
__________________
Sega Satan somewhat
DarkB DarkB's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2008

Posts: 494

DarkB is doing well so far

Apr 15, 2012, 01:53 AM
DarkB is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedComputer View Post
Hmmm... I Had played JJ2 on Windows 8.
GPU drivers does not need. But when i switch to Fullscreen some things will start to be broken. The Network play will not work (list will show, but will display all servers as pinging.) and will start lags. To work again normally, JJ2 Need restart.
Don't play at fullscreen
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/SvOQv.gif
Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Apr 15, 2012, 05:09 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkB View Post
Don't play at fullscreen
I always play fullscreen.

And Windows 8 is by no means build from scratch, it is built upon Windows 7 SP1. And I'd be surprised beyond believe if Win8 breaks JJ2 and/or DirectDraw.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Hare Hare's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2001

Posts: 1,449

Hare has disabled reputation

Apr 15, 2012, 02:59 PM
Hare is offline
Reply With Quote
I use Windows 8. I was on Jazz 2 last night.

Windowed mode is not too bad on a 32 inch 720p HDTV. I can imagine a 640x480 window gets pretty small at higher resolutions though. I haven't tried full-screen.
__________________

"Okay. I'm Understand" - burnout92
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 3, 2012, 03:06 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Sorry for reviving this old thread. The previous posts are too informative to justify a new thread.

I have just upgraded one of my PC's to Windows 8 to see how well it goes, and of course tried JJ2. The findings posted above appear to be correct. Windowed mode works fine, but pushes the FPS counter up to 110/120-ish numbers, which can't be right at all. Then when I switch to fullscreen (JJ2 relies on DirectDraw for that) it suddenly stucks at 30 FPS max which creates very visible lag.

And to make it worse, network play appears to be stuck right after joining. Chat will work, and I can see all players and their positions in the level, yet they keep blinking as if there is a CTO. I can however stay in this 'stuck' game without timing out. Both Windows Firewall and my router's NAT are still open to JJ2's traffic.

I'm indeed surprised beyond believe... Anyone who could share some findings and/or solutions?
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Nov 3, 2012, 03:11 AM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
So network play doesn't work in window mode?
__________________
<center></center>
GoldRabbit

JCF Member

Joined: Jul 2006

Posts: 218

GoldRabbit is an asset to this forumGoldRabbit is an asset to this forum

Nov 3, 2012, 04:18 AM
GoldRabbit is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
The findings posted above appear to be correct. Windowed mode works fine, but pushes the FPS counter up to 110/120-ish numbers, which can't be right at all.
That's the way it's supposed to be. JJ2+ removed the hardcoded limit of 70 fps, so now the standard for windowed mode if you have a good computer is ~120 fps.
__________________
so we will shut our mouth when
we are trying to be bastards
and speak loudly when we see injustice
because everybody plays the game this way

saints especially
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 3, 2012, 12:11 PM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldRabbit View Post
That's the way it's supposed to be. JJ2+ removed the hardcoded limit of 70 fps, so now the standard for windowed mode if you have a good computer is ~120 fps.
I never noticed since I always play fullscreen, haha. Thanks for pointing that out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grytolle View Post
So network play doesn't work in window mode?
Nope, network play doesn't work in fullscreen. I tried some ALT+TAB switching in Zeal Alpha and everything works fine in windowed mode, but from the moment I switch to fullscreen, the FPS gets locked at 30 and apparently the netcode doesn't like that and gets out of sync, or something.

So JJ2 isn't broken at all, it's more likely the DirectDraw feature itself. I'll try to find out. If other fullscreen DirectDraw games get locked at 30 FPS, it'll make the problem way more widespread.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Grytolle Grytolle's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2004

Posts: 4,126

Grytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legendGrytolle is a forum legend

Nov 3, 2012, 03:13 PM
Grytolle is offline
Reply With Quote
So network play does work in window mode? If so, JJ2 should have no problem surviving
__________________
<center></center>
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 4, 2012, 05:10 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grytolle View Post
So network play does work in window mode? If so, JJ2 should have no problem surviving
Yes, network play works fine in windowed mode. So JJ2's survival isn't a problem indeed.

I'm likely in the minority of fullscreen players, so I'd need to do some troubleshooting to find out what's causing Windows 8 to lock fullscreen at 30 FPS.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

ShakerNL ShakerNL's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 82

ShakerNL is an asset to this forum

Nov 4, 2012, 04:25 PM
ShakerNL is offline
Reply With Quote
I've installed Windows 8 about two months ago via MSDNAA and never noticed the network error in fullscreen mode. I haven't tried it until I read about it here. And yes, I'm losing connection. Also having 30 fps when I play in fullscreen mode and 3 fps when I have hardware acceleration enabled in fullscreen mode.
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 13, 2012, 12:11 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Maybe a silly question, but do you see any differences between 1.23 and TSF and between Plus and non-plus?
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 16, 2012, 06:31 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrythabest View Post
Maybe a silly question, but do you see any differences between 1.23 and TSF and between Plus and non-plus?
Little to no difference. I tried both plusified and non-plusified 1.23 and TSF on Windows 8, and here are the results:

Plusified 1.23/TSF: Windowed: 120FPS - Fullscreen: 30FPS + lost connection.
Non-plusified 1.23/TSF: Windowed: 70FPS - Fullscreen: 28FPS + lost connection.

Plus improves 2 FPS on Windows 8, hooray!
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 16, 2012, 07:33 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Thanks for trying! Then at least it's not Plus breaking it. Maybe someone could have a look at this to get a fix into Plus or so. But I don't have Windows 8
__________________
Jake Jake's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2006

Posts: 973

Jake is an asset to this forumJake is an asset to this forum

Nov 16, 2012, 04:01 PM
Jake is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldRabbit View Post
That's the way it's supposed to be. JJ2+ removed the hardcoded limit of 70 fps, so now the standard for windowed mode if you have a good computer is ~120 fps.
As far as I know, the limit wasn't removed, it was only put to 140. At least I can't get anything going faster than that.
__________________
<s>Galactica process: something like 8%</s> Scratch that, unnamed project process: 0%
Fix Pinging!
Improve your ping!
SC2; Jgke, 467.
My miserable life:
GM/MU/S dpu s-:- a--- C++ P L+ W+ K- w+ M-- PS+++ PE+ Y+ PGP- t 5+ X R !tv b+ D+ G h! r! !y
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 17, 2012, 01:53 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
And btw, I also tried and confirmed wat Shaker said above: enabling hardware acceleration in fullscreen mode will dramatically decrease FPS to 3.

Every issue discussed in this thread has to do with fullscreen. I wonder if other games using JJ2's engine have the same problem, and what about other games that rely on good old DirectDraw for fullscreen mode? I will experiment a bit as soon as I'm on my PC!

I kinda hope the problem is just with DDraw mode, that way other game communities might make a universal DDraw fix before we know it.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 17, 2012, 11:59 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
If other games are not suffering, we'll probably have to dig really deep to find out what is taking so long.

Though with the right approach it shouldn't be too hard to pinpoint the problem. I figure some function call is taking a lot of time. So by disabling certain drawing functions one at a time we might quickly run into the one that is breaking things.
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 18, 2012, 02:09 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Ok, as said yesterday I've expermimented a bit and here's some info that might be of interest:

I tried another JJ2 engine game, Animaniacs A Gigantic Adventure, and the same issue happened there. Windowed works fine, Fullscreen is slow, fullscreen with hardware-accel is sloooooowww.

Next I started the GBA emulator Visual Boy Advance, since it has many rendering settings. And choose to use DirectDraw. And yes, same FPS drop occured! But in full suprise, disabling Triple Buffering for DirectDraw made it run at 100% speed! I'm not very technical on this, I have no idea how triple buffering could interfere with frame processing in such a matter that it drops more than half.

A Google search didn't gave me anything usefull last week, but now it gave me a link to this thead on some Windows 8 discussion board, which describes the exact problem. Unfortunately, the advice in that thread didn't fix JJ2, yet it sure pointed at the right direction.

Just like Windows Vista/7, Win8 comes with an integrated version of DirectX (11.1?) and is missing some libraries from good old 9.0c. Some games rely on those libraries, and installing a DirectX package using the web installer or a standalone package always did the trick. With Windows 8 however, it's the first time the web installer detects a higher version on the system and aborts the installation of the 9.0c package. So we're forced to manually download and install the stand-alone package now. Thank you, Microsoft!

So to get back to the point, does JJ2 use triple buffering in fullscreen? And can I disable it somehow?
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

djazz djazz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2009

Posts: 257

djazz is OFF DA CHARTdjazz is OFF DA CHARTdjazz is OFF DA CHART

Nov 18, 2012, 04:49 AM
djazz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaz View Post
So to get back to the point, does JJ2 use triple buffering in fullscreen? And can I disable it somehow?
http://www.jazz2online.com/wiki/List...Line+Arguments

Use the -NOTRIPLE command line flag maybe? Might try some other flags too.
__________________
WebJCS 2 (new and in progress)
WebJCS 1 (old but complete)
SGIP Simple Games in Progress list
Level Packer v2 - With a GUI!
PHP Tileset Compiler
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 18, 2012, 11:34 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
If that would fix it, I guess for now Plus could have a workaround to detect Windows 8 and disable triple buffering in that case.
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 18, 2012, 12:51 PM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
I'm afraid that didn't fix it. Just tried it, among with several related flags. No visible changes in fullscreen. WTF? I also tried some options from my NVIDIA control panel on JJ2, like disabling triple buffering and Vsync, but no results. Then some compatibility options (WinXP/98/nothemes etc.) again without results. I guess I'd need to run some more DirectDraw based games then...

Perhaps someone could try Windows 8 and JJ2 on a different set of hardware, such as ATI/Intel graphic adapters? Or maybe I'd wait for better optimized driver support on Windows 8 or some Windows update from M$ themselves? Hardware is still very unlikely to be the culprit here since DirectDraw is supposed to be a software rendering standard.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

KRSplat KRSplat's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 4,942

KRSplat is a forum legendKRSplat is a forum legend

Nov 20, 2012, 09:14 AM
KRSplat is offline
Reply With Quote
JJ2 stopped working on Windows 8 Consumer preview about the time Windows 8 was released. So I know not what to do, maybe get an emulator for Windows 95.
__________________
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Nov 20, 2012, 10:16 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Since people are saying JJ2 works (more or less) on Windows 8 RTM, I figure the problem you have might just be Microsoft purposefully crippling the Consumer Preview to make you buy the full product.
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Nov 20, 2012, 01:47 PM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Just tried another program with DirectDraw support, ZSnes, and got the same framerate drop again, and a strange DirectDraw error message on startup.. Surprisingly, turning Triple Buffering off fixed it entirely for ZSnes too!

I'm wondering, does anyone here know of some method to see if JJ2 is actually triple buffering even though the -notriple flag is on? Some benchmarking program maybe?
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Torkell Torkell's Avatar

Stealth Admin

Joined: Jul 2004

Posts: 2,147

Torkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legendTorkell is a forum legend

Nov 20, 2012, 03:03 PM
Torkell is offline
Reply With Quote
Check your graphics card settings - you may be able to force triple buffering off with that.
__________________
-- Torkell



zardav

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 2

zardav is doing well so far

Dec 2, 2012, 09:25 AM
zardav is offline
Reply With Quote
The answer is yes.
Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Dec 2, 2012, 10:03 AM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
Yes, as in, that fixed the slowness of JJ2 in fullscreen?
__________________
burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 234

burnout92 is doing well so far

Dec 2, 2012, 10:19 AM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
I never be played JJ2 on Windows 8 because not compatible for Windows 8. I be wait Patch or anything else for fix this full screen problem.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Dec 3, 2012, 06:20 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrythabest View Post
Yes, as in, that fixed the slowness of JJ2 in fullscreen?
That never fixed it for me. I'm using a Geforce GTX 260 with the latest drivers, and forcing triple buffering to 'No' on JJ2 doesn't change even a single frame.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 234

burnout92 is doing well so far

Dec 3, 2012, 12:46 PM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
Disable DirectDraw in the game use -noddraw in the command line.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Dec 8, 2012, 03:35 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnout92 View Post
Disable DirectDraw in the game use -noddraw in the command line.
That will disable fullscreen as a whole, as ddraw is the only screen output JJ2 supports. The goal I'd like to achieve is to save JJ2's fullscreen play in Windows 8.

Anyway, I've tested some screen output features with DOSBox and found that the same slowdowns happen with DDraw and Double Buffering! That might explain why using the -notriple flag doesn't fix it for JJ2..
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

burnout92 burnout92's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 234

burnout92 is doing well so far

Dec 8, 2012, 10:43 AM
burnout92 is offline
Reply With Quote
What your video card are you using?
__________________
"Where I walk, I walk alone. Where I fight, I fight alone" Akuma from Street Fighter Alpha The Animation
DiamonduS327

JCF Member

Joined: Dec 2012

Posts: 3

DiamonduS327 is doing well so far

Dec 15, 2012, 04:45 AM
DiamonduS327 is offline
Reply With Quote
That is, the problem extends to the FPS online game, and single?

...However, the answer is obvious...
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Apr 13, 2013, 03:49 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
As I said yesterday, I hereby post this excellent workaround I found on another forum that discussed the same problem with a DDraw based game.

1: Go to the DirectX Settings. Appears to be hidden in Windows8, download this cpl component shortcut: directx.cpl
2: Make sure you open this applet with admin rights, proceed if you have.
3: Go to the DirectDraw tab and untick the checkbox Use Hardware Acceleration.
4: Make sure you do this on DirectDraw only, as disabling hardware accel on Direct3D will likely break modern games. Just don't casually tick anything else.
5: Press OK to apply settings. If you have JJ2 open, restart it to take effect.

It should be noted that this will come with a strange side effect. It pushes the fullscreen FPS to 120 while normally that would've been 70. It'll make screen movement slightly more wobbly somehow, but at least it plays lots and lots better than the 30 FPS you're otherwise stuck with on Windows 8.

And to clarify for those interested to look further into the problem, it's proven with several setups (by me and other folks) that this Win8/DDraw bug only happens while using DDraw with either double or triple buffering, but not with a single buffer. Even though JJ2 has a -notriple flag, it'll make no difference as it apparently just double buffers instead.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Jerrythabest Jerrythabest's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 2,602

Jerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legendJerrythabest is a forum legend

Apr 13, 2013, 01:16 PM
Jerrythabest is offline
Reply With Quote
The 120 FPS is not really a 'strange side effect' but rather a feature of JJ2 Plus. If you play vanilla JJ2 I bet you'll get the 70 FPS cap just fine

Looks like this workaround is indeed a fully-working fix. Though it's about time Microsoft starts unbreaking their products.
__________________
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,264

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Apr 14, 2013, 06:37 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
Ah thanks for noting that Jerry! I always seem to forget about Vanilla JJ2 (a.k.a JJ2- according to some peeps in the Bash ) and the hardcoded 70 FPS limit.

And yeah, Microsoft should be more carefull concerning backwards compatibility. I believe it has always been one of their pros, adding new features while carefully making sure older software remains compatible through some way. Not this time apparently..
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:00 AM.