Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » General Jazz Jackrabbit Talk

I have a problem with Jazz Jackrabbit 1

JustRob

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2009

Posts: 80

JustRob is doing well so far

Aug 19, 2017, 02:16 PM
JustRob is offline
Reply With Quote
I have a problem with Jazz Jackrabbit 1

So I got an old machine with Windows 98 SE running on it, and a VIA AC'97 sound card. I got Jazz Jackrabbit to run using the TPPatch, ran the setup, and just selected Soundblaster Pro cuz my soundcard wasn't listed.

The music and sound both work, but the music is a little broken. It's a bit hard to explain, but somehow it doesn't play the complete track. For example, on the main menu theme, you know how eventually it goes into a higher pitch? Mine doesn't do that, it just repeats the first part over and over.

I don't know if anyone else has ever had this problem, but this is the only place I thought someone might be able to help.

Edit: Nevermind. I selected Sound Blaster Clone and now it works fine. Should have experimented a bit more before making this thread, sorry.
ionut

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2016

Posts: 11

ionut is doing well so far

Aug 19, 2017, 03:25 PM
ionut is offline
Reply With Quote
Hello ! I have been confronted with this problem in the past. I had a PC with windows xp and I had this problem with jazz 1 but I solved it. The solution is to select what is written below,, no sound card,, select one, save and exit, try to see if open the game if you do not try the next one and do the same. Good luck, it worked for me .If you can not let me know.
Slaz Slaz's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Aug 2004

Posts: 1,238

Slaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legendSlaz is a forum legend

Aug 24, 2017, 01:43 AM
Slaz is offline
Reply With Quote
From what I remember, using the original Sound Blaster (Mono) option was a great fallback solution too if games didn't play well with some different branded soundcards. Jazz's tracks sound surprisingly good in mono, actually. I often felt like the SB-16/Pro setting made the melody take away more volume from the drum/bass beats.

It could've been my flaky soundcard. It was the 90's and I don't remember well.
__________________
Add SlazRabbit on Xbox Live if you want to play some GoW1/2/3/J or Destiny1/2.
Jazz Jackrabbit 2 Forever!!
Civilian Defence Force - Jazz2 Virtual Factory
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 AM.