Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   JazzJackrabbit Community Forums » Open Forums » Beyond Jazz Jackrabbit 2

OpenJazz: Multiplayer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

Mar 15, 2009, 02:26 PM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
OpenJazz: Multiplayer

Once again, there's a new version of OpenJazz.

For those of you who aren't familiar it, it's an open source re-implementation of the Jazz Jackrabbit 1 engine. It needs SDL to run. Before you try to play it, put OpenJazz.exe, openjazz.000, modplug.dll and sdl.dll in your Jazz 1 directory.

As usual, this version includes a number of small improvements. But it also has a major new feature: Multiplayer.

There are currently three modes to choose from: Cooperative, Battle and Team Battle. Just like in JJ2, you can change your player's fur, bandana, gun and wristband colours. You can also press F9 to view the player list.

Multiplayer isn't working properly yet. It works locally, but so far I've been unable to get it to work over the internet. I am behind a router, though, so you may have more luck.

Enjoy!
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
DoubleGJ DoubleGJ's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Sep 2002

Posts: 3,049

DoubleGJ has disabled reputation

Mar 16, 2009, 03:43 AM
DoubleGJ is offline
Reply With Quote
Sounds awesome. Who wants to try it out with me? I'm most certain I'm not behind a router.
__________________
"So unless I overwrote my heart with yours, I think not. But I might have." - Violet CLM

Two Games Joined releases:
Control / Splinter (twin singles)
|| Ballistic Bunny (EP)
||
Beyond (maxi-single)
|| Beyond: Remixed (remix EP)
|| Inner Monsters OST (mini-album)
||
Shadows (album)
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Mar 16, 2009, 09:50 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
I've edited my OpenJazz for Mac OS X package in the J2O downloads to this latest version. I also got sound working! Mac users rejoice!
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
n0

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,291

n0 is a forum legendn0 is a forum legendn0 is a forum legend

Mar 18, 2009, 04:53 AM
n0 is offline
Reply With Quote
It's pretty sweet! I even got it to run on Vista64, but I had to install the jj1 cd through Dosbox. Can't wait to see if we can get multiplayer working.
__________________
<.<
>.>
-.-
BlueDragon

JCF Member

Joined: Jan 2009

Posts: 97

BlueDragon is doing well so far

Mar 20, 2009, 10:25 AM
BlueDragon is offline
Reply With Quote
well you might try hamachi.
If you need a network i made 1 a long time ago(thought JJ1 will some day have MP and i was right :P).

Name: JJ1Server
Pass:No password
Troglobite Troglobite's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 691

Troglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legend

Mar 20, 2009, 06:42 PM
Troglobite is offline
Reply With Quote
I tried multiplayer over hamachi a few days ago, but was unable to connect, or have others on the network join. Not sure if its just me, but I'm guess even with Hamachi, we may have to wait until the next update.
__________________

Lexicographer: Someone who writes dictionaries
Neophyte: A novice, or newbie
Hemisemidemiquaver: In music, a sixty-fourth note


Exit Troglobite, Stage Left

Last edited by Troglobite; Mar 20, 2009 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Clicked submit without finishing the post.
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

Mar 22, 2009, 11:44 AM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
There's a new version up now. I've made some changes which should hopefully help.
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Mar 23, 2009, 08:12 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
Yet another new update for Mac in the J2O downloads section.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Troglobite Troglobite's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 691

Troglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legend

Mar 25, 2009, 06:35 PM
Troglobite is offline
Reply With Quote
I just played the PC version online. It actually works! Althogh there are some serious bugs. For example, dying can cause the screen to black out, and stay that way.
__________________

Lexicographer: Someone who writes dictionaries
Neophyte: A novice, or newbie
Hemisemidemiquaver: In music, a sixty-fourth note


Exit Troglobite, Stage Left
Marijn

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2006

Posts: 210

Marijn is doing well so far

Mar 26, 2009, 04:13 AM
Marijn is offline
Reply With Quote
yes. And I expected that the hoverboard doesnt work.. I excepted a strange bug there, as soon I hit the hoverboard, it works.. only the board dissapears
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Mar 28, 2009, 03:04 PM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
I just tried a LAN game of OpenJazz for Mac, and it was awesome. All it needs is a CTF mode. And a JJ1 Semi CTF conversion.

Also, good work on adding sound, Ricerind.
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Mar 28, 2009, 11:51 PM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Ninja View Post
Also, good work on adding sound, Ricerind.
Thanks! It was actually far easier than I'd anticipated.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

Mar 29, 2009, 02:19 PM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
Right, there's a new version that gets rid of the blacking-out bug.

The board has always been a problem. It's not part of Jazz's hovering sprites. But if I superimposed it, it would be there when playing as the bird in Birdland.

CTF mode is tricky, because there are no flag/base sprites. Something could be used as a substitute, though. Capture the bird?
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
Violet CLM Violet CLM's Avatar

JCF Éminence Grise

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 10,630

Violet CLM has disabled reputation

Mar 29, 2009, 03:42 PM
Violet CLM is offline
Reply With Quote
Airboard: DD's notes say that all that sprite pointer stuff is in Block 11, as in "Accessory Animations" in J1E.
__________________
plunK plunK's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2008

Posts: 514

plunK is an asset to this forum

Mar 30, 2009, 09:10 AM
plunK is offline
Reply With Quote
capture the bird? yes man that totally wins those birds are so cute id totally want to go steal one
Nonomu198 Nonomu198's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Feb 2007

Posts: 2,063

Nonomu198 is a forum legendNonomu198 is a forum legendNonomu198 is a forum legend

Mar 30, 2009, 11:26 AM
Nonomu198 is offline
Reply With Quote
Would the flag-bird fly once you get shot once? Sounds like a very turtle(DEVAN SHELL)-happy game.
__________________
<img src="http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Lijik/Star-Wars-Figures-1/ewjclay.png" alt="I miss the techno Cheat." style="float: left; display: block;">

((\_/))
((<a href="http://www.explosm.net/db/files/Comics/Dave/comicbullyroot.jpg" target="_blank">o</a>.<a href="http://drmcninja.com/page.php?pageNum=44&issue=11" target="_blank">o</a>))
(()_())

Classical zombie retro extra fur rabbit.

Guys, remember 2010? LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Classical zombie retro extra fur rabbit
I sure miss non-living in ancient Greece!
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Mar 30, 2009, 11:41 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
New Mac version available.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Mar 30, 2009, 03:22 PM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricerind View Post
New Mac version available.
Very awesome. I've been secretly hoping you'd implement file storage outside of the .app.
Troglobite Troglobite's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 691

Troglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legend

Apr 1, 2009, 07:09 PM
Troglobite is offline
Reply With Quote
Ok, played online again. Works quite well. However, at one point time ran out, or something, and both players died at the same time. We respawned on the checkpoint, but we couldn't move (although shooting still worked), and constantly were gaining lives.
__________________

Lexicographer: Someone who writes dictionaries
Neophyte: A novice, or newbie
Hemisemidemiquaver: In music, a sixty-fourth note


Exit Troglobite, Stage Left
plunK plunK's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2008

Posts: 514

plunK is an asset to this forum

Apr 6, 2009, 02:13 PM
plunK is offline
Reply With Quote
Ya i was with troglobite....andf to add to his statement it changed his name to the same as mine and i had a bird only he could see
vanfanel

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 3

vanfanel is doing well so far

May 20, 2009, 02:51 AM
vanfanel is offline
Reply With Quote
In the DMG you've uploaded, the READMe is missing.
Where should we put the JJ1 data files???

Thanks!
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

May 26, 2009, 02:43 PM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
There's a new version. The time-running-out bug and the bird bug have been fixed. I couldn't reproduce the name-changing bug.
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
Troglobite Troglobite's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: May 2008

Posts: 691

Troglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legendTroglobite is a forum legend

May 26, 2009, 06:18 PM
Troglobite is offline
Reply With Quote
I think the name change may have been caused by something else. I'm pretty sure it wasn't caused by openjazz
__________________

Lexicographer: Someone who writes dictionaries
Neophyte: A novice, or newbie
Hemisemidemiquaver: In music, a sixty-fourth note


Exit Troglobite, Stage Left
Cpp Cpp's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 1,557

Cpp is doing well so far

May 27, 2009, 02:59 AM
Cpp is offline
Reply With Quote
This name changing bug just sounds soooo familiar.
__________________
<a href="http://nmap.org/"><img border="0" alt="Nmap Security Scanner" src="http://images.insecure.org/nmap/images/prop/nmap_bnr_matrix_pfos.gif"/></a>
vanfanel

JCF Member

Joined: May 2009

Posts: 3

vanfanel is doing well so far

May 27, 2009, 07:26 AM
vanfanel is offline
Reply With Quote
As for the MAC version, sound/music is not working on PowerPC macs, and colors seem to be all wrong for most resolutions.
Endianess problems, I suspect...
Neo2001

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2009

Posts: 10

Neo2001 is doing well so far

May 30, 2009, 05:53 AM
Neo2001 is offline
Reply With Quote
gamepad configuration bug

Since version from March 22, 2009 there's been problem with defining keys of gamepad. When I'm trying to define "UP key", I got message "press control", the game does not respond, I can only press ESC; however in game, joypad works (B1-shot, B2-jump, B3-change). This problem didn't occur in previous (20090315) version (I was only unable to assign Button1).
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

May 31, 2009, 04:16 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
I've noticed that sometimes jump stops working, and you have to move to a different position to be able to jump again. This appeared in the second latest version, and is quite common.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Jun 5, 2009, 01:58 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanfanel View Post
As for the MAC version, sound/music is not working on PowerPC macs, and colors seem to be all wrong for most resolutions.
Endianess problems, I suspect...
It appears that on PowerPC Macs the sound problem is unique to the music, as the sound effects in the latest version of OpenJazz work fine. The colour distortion when changing resolutions is a bug in OpenJazz in general and as far as I know it is not unique to Mac, let alone PowerPC.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Black Ninja Black Ninja's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 2,312

Black Ninja is an asset to this forumBlack Ninja is an asset to this forum

Jun 5, 2009, 12:22 PM
Black Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
Ricerind, I'd like to take this time to somewhat randomly thank you for the awesome work porting OpenJazz to the Mac platform, and always quite expediently after the official release. The Mac crowd in the JCF is very small and not too vocal (with the exception of my ranting), so it's good to see us get some support once in a while.

Thanks again.
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Jun 6, 2009, 10:34 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
Thanks! Speaking of which, there's another version I need to upload
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Ricerind

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2005

Posts: 319

Ricerind is doing well so far

Jun 7, 2009, 08:51 AM
Ricerind is offline
Reply With Quote
I've uploaded the latest version.
__________________
You've reached the end
And still you don't feel
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

Jun 21, 2009, 11:21 AM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
New version!

The colour problem that appears when you change resolution has been fixed. I don't know what the problem with sound is. I don't get any sound in Linux, but I suspect that's just an issue with my install.

Neo2001: Oops. I made a silly mistake there. It's now fixed.

Ricerind: I've fiddled about a bit, and I think I've fixed the jumping problem. I didn't get it very often, though, so it's hard to be sure.
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
defalcon

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2001

Posts: 2,366

defalcon has disabled reputation

Aug 21, 2009, 11:44 PM
defalcon is offline
Reply With Quote
Okay. How is it that someone has ported this game to the Dremcast, GP2X, GP32, the Palm Pilot, the Wii and even the PSP, and yet there's not a port for the Nintendo DS yet? :P
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Aug 22, 2009, 02:05 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Oh hey, defalcon!
Alister Alister's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 908

Alister is doing well so far

Aug 22, 2009, 09:41 AM
Alister is offline
Reply With Quote
If you know anyone who can port stuff to the DS, feel free to give them a poke!

Btw, OpenJazz is now on SourceForge (here). All contributions are welcome - from large chunks of code to niggling bug reports!
__________________
OpenJazz: Site - Talk
Palette Suite: Site - Talk
Yours truly: Site
plunK plunK's Avatar

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2008

Posts: 514

plunK is an asset to this forum

Aug 22, 2009, 07:14 PM
plunK is offline
Reply With Quote
Using the nifty Program SUPER
http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html
you can convert ROM's to .nds which is the DS game file. This would still leave 2 problems, making OJ into a ROM and finding a way to run it over DS without modding it (DS's are a pain to use custom content on)
defalcon

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2001

Posts: 2,366

defalcon has disabled reputation

Aug 23, 2009, 06:48 AM
defalcon is offline
Reply With Quote
Plunk: not sure that's entirely necessary...the DS has a large homebrew community, just like the other consoles.

Alister: Ah, I wish. I don't know anyone with any coding ability :P

Stijn: Hey...the name is familiar, but I'm blanking. Sorry. Did you have a prior username?
Stijn Stijn's Avatar

Administrator

Joined: Mar 2001

Posts: 6,934

Stijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to beholdStijn is a splendid one to behold

Aug 23, 2009, 11:10 AM
Stijn is offline
Reply With Quote
Flash/Fl@$h
Ninja

JCF Member

Joined: Apr 2002

Posts: 2,505

Ninja is an asset to this forumNinja is an asset to this forum

Sep 4, 2009, 07:59 AM
Ninja is offline
Reply With Quote
Alister, you're one of the coolest organisms on this planet. Also, seeing this on the DS would be insane.
Warz

JCF Member

Joined: Nov 2009

Posts: 1

Warz is doing well so far

Nov 15, 2009, 09:27 AM
Warz is offline
Reply With Quote
This is pretty awesome! Good job...! I havn't tried it online yet, but I'm wondering do you need to open any specific port? I tried entering "ip : port" but I couldn't enter the colon symbol... so is there any default port?

I think it's pretty amazing how you can see this huge part of the level by simply dragging the game screen all accross your screen.
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:33 AM.