RecommendedQuick Review by Icy_Guidance

Posted:
24 Sep 2021, 04:55 (edited 24 Sep 21, 20:40 by Stijn)
For: Newspaz3a
Level rating: 6.3
Rating
0.0

The one that started it all.

[Rating (10.0) changed to N/A]

RecommendedReview by Stijn

Posted:
23 Sep 2021, 22:54
For: Peoples Chimp pt 2
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

These two levels are decent fun. No fancy scripts or custom tilesets, but who needs that when you can rely on some oldschool running and gunning? The level design here is mostly ‘classic’ in style, with the twist of the levels being sort of open and non-linear, involving a good amount of back-tracking. That’s always tricky to do, and it’s easy to make a player feel lost when a level isn’t strictly a dash from the far left to the far right side of the map. Admirably, these levels mostly avoid that, somehow always nudging me in the right direction, though I will admit having to double-check every corner a few times. There are also a couple of bugs that can prevent progress, notably a rock falling in the wrong direction in the first level and a falling spring crate missing the ledge it supposedly was meant to land on in the second.

Apart from these issues, the levels are fun though not especially challenging; while the first level occasionally keeps you on your toes with its enemy placement, by the second level you’ll have stocked up on fast-fires and you can mostly just breeze through the enemies. At the end of the levels waits Bubba, who is never a particularly challenging boss. But despite not being a great challenge, the two levels on offer here are quite fun to play, and they’re worth checking out if only as rare succesful examples of levels that aren’t completely linear.

Quick Review by Icy_Guidance

Posted:
23 Sep 2021, 03:40 (edited 23 Sep 21, 23:12 by PurpleJazz)
For: Ramadan maps
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

AMOGUS!

[Rating (10.0) clearance. No meme reviews please. ~PurpleJazz]

Review by WaterRabbit

Posted:
22 Sep 2021, 23:28
For: Mystery of the Four Artifacts (Plus edition)
Level rating: 6.6
Rating
0.0

Playing through the new version, I seem to be experiencing a bug. In mo4a_0.j2l when I turn on the switch to make the platform move, the camera doesn’t return to the character’s position. I tried using jjk but then I couldn’t move at all.

Quick Review by Primpy

Posted:
19 Sep 2021, 14:16
For: Lonely House
Level rating: 6.4
Rating
8.0

Cooba’s review is exaggeratedly low. It’s a simple and visually appealing battle level, perhaps not ideal for competitive battles but I can see how it could be enjoyable for casual players looking for something fun and simple.

Not recommendedQuick Review by cooba

Posted:
19 Sep 2021, 12:34
For: Lonely House
Level rating: 6.4
Rating
2.0

Looks nice but gameplay is nonexistent. Don’t do things like carrots next to two seeker ammo crates, the player with the powerup will stay there forever and win. This is especially bad in this map because it’s literally the only room in this map.

RecommendedReview by Rysice

Posted:
19 Sep 2021, 11:38
For: Lonely House
Level rating: 6.4
Rating
6.0

Eyecandy in both levels is interesting (dirt tiles are repeating too much on some places). I like how you combinated carrotus with colon. Its interesting how you chosed to use lighter color in backround wich is more far, looks like there is sunrise in far but you are still in dark. I kinda dislike that roof on 70,35 has same color as another roof wich is up, i think it should be darker, cuz that roof is in backround and you cant step on it (its kinda confusing). Well is well.
Layout itself is kinda boring, looks too empty for me. Also there is not enought ammo.
Music is ok.

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
18 Sep 2021, 23:41
For: Jazz of the Jungle
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
8.0

A mildly scripted, non-linear SP level where you have to collect keys & gems to unlock doors. You also need to morph into different kinds of animals with unique abilities in order to pass certain areas. This involves some backtracking and memorization of points of interest to revisit, so I’d say it’s indeed a metroidvania albeit in a fairly basic form.

As a rabbit you’ll have the ‘boomerang’ weapon from Jill which is pretty fun to use (in hard mode you have to find a weapon first!). There’s also a spikeball weapon to be found that shoots diagonally and can break rocks. There’s plenty of enemies, some from JJ1 an others are (mostly) reskinned JJ2 enemies that follow their standard JJ2 behavior. And if you hate the (small) bees, then prepare yourself because they’ll be your true nemesis in this level!

Instead of carrots and hearts you have a health bar. Eating 8 apples equals 1 heart, and apples are aplenty so there’s always an opportunity to recover from mistakes. It’s nice to have infinite lives and the animal morph ‘icons’ you touch act as checkpoints too. Hard mode can be challenging but with these additions it still makes a relaxing experience.

All the eyecandy, especially the foreground birds, can be a bit distracting at first. It’s not immediately clear if animals are enemies or part of eyecandy tiles. I suggest looking at Jaws’ old Amazon tileset first before playing this level. :P

I managed to glitch once by escaping the waterfall right from the key gem as a piranha (swim against the upper left tile), but other than that it was a smooth experience. Level recommended!

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
17 Sep 2021, 13:22 (edited 17 Sep 21, 13:22)
For: Lonely House
Level rating: 6.4
Rating
10.0

I really like the house design! And the atmosphere and wishing well placement are awesome!

10/10 HYPE!

Download recommended

Also, the music is made by snz (Warfare In My Mind) & radikson (I Realize).

Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
16 Sep 2021, 11:43
For: Battle Remake Levels
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

WHOOPS!!! I forgot to insert “MLLE-Include-1.5.asc” file into the pack, I’ll do it soon…

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
16 Sep 2021, 11:18
For: Swamps of The Sleeping Jaguar - Level for Agama's tileset
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
7.7

Jester I really like your challenging levels, especially with the Robot boss easy to defeat.

I’ll give you 7.7/10

I recommend everyone to download this

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
15 Sep 2021, 10:25
For: War Of The Rabbits 2: Taken For Good?
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
9.5

The pack looks good, and I really love this!

9.5/10

Download recommended

Also, level “The End of Everything?” in my opinion will be better when using “Martian Lovesong” music by necros (m5v-mars.it).

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
8 Sep 2021, 13:53
For: Tomatoe Garden
Level rating: 7.1
Rating
7.5

This SP level is so Lori based… and a-maze-ing!

I’ll give 7.5/10.

Also, in my opinion, you could insert Tweedle boss from Stone Abyss instead of Rocket Turtle.

Quick Review by Dragusela

Posted:
7 Sep 2021, 15:50
For: Rush Hour
Level rating: 6.0
Rating
6.0

how does the sky be cooler than the tileset itself

RecommendedQuick Review by Spaz Electro

Posted:
6 Sep 2021, 15:29
For: Ozymandius
Level rating: 9.8
Rating
10.0

very cool level, i like it a lot

RecommendedQuick Review by Dragusela

Posted:
5 Sep 2021, 21:43
For: violetclm DOM Episodes I and II
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

Wow – Dragusela

9/10 download recommended

RecommendedReview by Dragusela

Posted:
5 Sep 2021, 11:01
For: One Froggy Evening
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

One word: BEATIFUL. This is possibly one of the best multiplayer levels i have played, it has a great atmosphere of a fantasy forest, this demonstrates how the psych tileset can be used.
I love the eyecandy of this level, it looks like a lush cave in a swamp and i like that you used the texture backgound for the water
The music goes very well with this map

9/10 download recommended

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
5 Sep 2021, 10:42 (edited 5 Sep 21, 19:40)
For: Ethereal River
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

Nice atmoshpere of this level, good eyecandy and perfect for Battle matches.

I’ll give you 8.5/10.

Download recommended

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
4 Sep 2021, 10:38
For: Discord Rich Presence for JJ2
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
10.0

I’ve got no complaints about it. It does what it says it does, and it does it well. Definitely download this if you want other people over Discord to see your current JJ2 activity.

RecommendedReview by Dragusela

Posted:
3 Sep 2021, 22:25
For: IC-IF Medivo
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
9.0

This is a remake of the Medivo tilesets of jazz 2, at first glance they seem very nice and they are! there are some things related to the first game, namely lava falls, pipes and finally a textured backgorund!
there are 4 tilesets with different palette:

IC Medivo 1:
it has the original palette from the first game, it looks great. this is how medivo should be (my favorite).

IC Medivo 2:
it’s the 1 medivo tileset from jazz 2.

IC Medivo 3:
it’s the 2 medivo tileser from jazz 2.

IC Medivo 4:
now this is interesting, very different palette from the others, brown / yellow and blue, it is very cute so it looks like an abandoned Medivo. (also this is my favorite).

Rating: 9/10 download recommended

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1230