Not recommendedReview by Violet CLM

Posted:
19 Feb 2024, 23:16
For: my first level
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Using a layout you're familiar with is a smart way to get used to a new editing tool! One thing you can try next is changing layer sizes and other layer properties, so the background sky can be the right size. You can press Ctrl+8 to edit layer 8's properties, for example. Another good thing to focus on is making sure you're using tiles that look right next to each other… most walls should look a little different on the sides than on the middle. But you've figured out how to place events and that's a good step, and the big carrots look great. I'd recommend looking through this site: https://www.ninjadodo.net/htjcs/

Also, this is a good source for JJ1 music, they're directly converted from the original files and have a much smaller filesize than mp3 versions: https://www.jazz2online.com/downloads/3151/jj1-music-pack/

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
13 Feb 2024, 07:58
For: Diamondus Ultimate
Level rating: 10
Rating
10

Oh boy, what a treat! An amazing tileset accompanied by an amazing example level. This is a labor of love and it really shows.

Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
13 Feb 2024, 04:47
For: Cybercity
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
N/A

The struggle I have with this tileset is I don't believe it's a city. There are hints of scaffolding, abstract skyscraper silhouettes, and a handful of signs suggesting buildings, but none of it quite convinces me, not when there are actual mouse cursors hovering around on top of what look more like banner ads than billboards. To me, "City" evokes something more like in "Tales of the Neon Sea." But I guess that's the difference between a cyber city and a cyberpunk city. This is a city that's inside a computer, but a more up to date version of a computer than the old green matrix stuff we used to get. This is Ralph Breaks the Internet. It's not what I was looking for, but it is, in itself, coherent and consistent.

Ten, twenty years ago I don't think we'd have liked this very much… the colors are flat with next to no attempts at shading, perspective lighting, anti-aliasing, what have you. It looks nothing like what Nick Stadler would have done. But somewhere along the way, flat colors became a style, at least when you got the shapes right. And this does do good shape work! There's a very cool mix of straight lines and rounded corners, and most of the ads (except the ones that just say "AD," which don't look so great) have nice detailed art. More importantly, everything's constantly flashing. (Except the most basic ground tiles… I guess that would be a bit much.) It definitely helps sell this tileset as digital and vibrant.

One nice thing about this set is how unique it is for JJ2. There are a couple other ad-centric city sets I can think of, though neither are on J2O, but they're both clearly physical cities, nothing like this purple-and-black cyberscape. It's always good to have something genuinely new to play around in. There are also a very respectable number of other incidental graphics, all or mostly also animated, besides the ads. There's no shortage of ways to keep levels looking interesting. Very good work there. I'm also fond of the harsh diagonal lines used by some of the background elements.

I can't deny that I'd prefer a hypothetical version of this set that did have shading and things. I do think there could be more here that signifies city, like vehicles of some sort. But this tileset has a very clear and unique idea of what it wants to do, and with only minor hiccups (again, the "AD" animations) it succeeds impressively.

RecommendedQuick Review by Tesooo

Posted:
11 Feb 2024, 15:11
For: Episode 4: Gene Machine
Level rating: 7.9
Rating
10

Thanks man!

its really fun to play JJ1 episodes in multipalyer ! =)

RecommendedQuick Review by Stijn

Posted:
4 Feb 2024, 16:11 (edited 4 Feb 24, 16:12)
For: Cybercity
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
N/A

Nice tileset! It does a good job of capturing the modern cyberpunk aesthetic and has a lot of tiles for theming, including many animations and a couple of rabbit sprites (including Razz!). I do think the contrast between the layer 4 background and the platform tiles is a bit too low, it made it hard to see what was and wasn't solid sometimes.

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
3 Feb 2024, 19:55 (edited 3 Feb 24, 19:55)
For: Cybercity
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.2

Cool concept, great execution!

Quick Review by Cranky

Posted:
30 Jan 2024, 16:15
For: accessvio (the question game)
Level rating: 10
Rating
10

It's amazing that you could achieve something like that before plus scripts were available. I wish I was there to play the question game with you!

Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
30 Jan 2024, 06:20 (edited 30 Jan 24, 06:21)
For: accessvio (the question game)
Level rating: 10
Rating
N/A

..some people will say "why was this uploaded?"
you should know: its a ..very old map (..in a time bevore time..)
..but i have to say: its nothing, against a question game based on plus scripts
..i uploaded it because maybe the one or other player will like it!
but dont forget: its a very old map, and need a normal jazz2 (also for the players)
to play this with many players can be fun
.
if you now ask: "after they got crashed, did they came back?"
..and yes they came back and we did enjoyed the question game
it was some kind of fun ;D
.
~ i think this old map should not be forgotten
.

RecommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
25 Jan 2024, 02:09 (edited 25 Jan 24, 02:14)
For: Hellfire
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
9.7

hellfire its a amazing creation:
+ the eyecandy is awesome here
+ the tileset is also very amazing (and lots of work was put here in)
..i would have much fun to use, the hellfire.j2t tileset!! ;D
+ the lava is absolutely impressive and awesome designed!!
+ also one of my favorite jazz2 levels ever.

Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
25 Jan 2024, 01:40 (edited 25 Jan 24, 01:43)
For: Hardware Database
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
N/A

thanks for uploading the level
(the download was broken here)
.
i played it
.
hmm..
hm…
.
+ some things i liked here
- but.. but.. many other things could be much better here!!
+ some little interesting parts inspired me :))
.
~ i think for this old jazz2 times..
=
~ that level is not bad.
.
. a few things here are a bit good.. (…but only a bit.. good)

RecommendedQuick Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
24 Jan 2024, 02:46
For: Knapweed Bog
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

I think the pairing of the big vertical areas and the vertical weapons works well here, though it may feel even more random than usual whether you hit people—Minimap might be in order. Bogs aren't the commonest theme but this hits it well, though fewer straight lines would help. Seems like a fine little level to me!

Quick Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
24 Jan 2024, 02:32
For: Azure Alluvion
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Judging MP gameplay is hard but this is roughly symmetrical, has cute tubes to go directly to the bases, and has great caves and plants to keep everything looking properly naturey. I see what the gems are doing but I think they're a little too distracting, likewise the fast water. Generally good at making a JJ1 set look good at big resolutions.

RecommendedReview by Loon

Posted:
19 Jan 2024, 12:56
For: Tubolation
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.2

FawFul delivers yet another beauty. The tilesets blend in perfectly with eachother, giving a nice and rather unique look. This in combination with all the new MLLE features make the level stand out even more. My only complaint is towards the upper section of the map. As there are only 3 ways to go 1 level lower. It might help to have 1 more path somewhere in the middle.
Other than that, the rest of the layout is well done. The bases are interesting to approach and to defend.

RecommendedReview by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 22:15 (edited 13 Jan 24, 22:24)
For: Survivor II Pack Platinum
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

i remember me
when we was playing all these survivor levels together!!
.
it was good.

and i also remember me:

- that i didn't liked – S2lvl 2
(survivor level 2) = i mean the worm lvl :s
i remember me, i really didn't liked this one.
.
.
the S2lvl 3 – is for many reasons the Best of all
i remember me, we played this map so endless much!! with lots of players!!
it was some kind of fun, and this was great.
for nowdays i also would have fun to play this level
i think it has become to something very good.

same for S2lvl 8 – is also good for nowdays.

and that S2lvl 7 – with that Hogwarts tileset,
i also remember me, this was very interesting for me.
.
.

RecommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 21:39 (edited 13 Jan 24, 21:42)
For: A Pleasant Eve
Level rating: 4.2
Rating
4.2

+ to the eye candy: i think this is something that did gone well
there are some secret warps here you can warp into the second area
- to the foreground layer, and background layer = it moves to fast
- if you gonna miss weapons
=
then you are not alone.

RecommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 19:24
For: The Crackdown
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
9.7

+ when i first saw it and played it
i was so amazed by it! it did gives me a awesome feeling!!
+ the music fits to it
+ the tileset combination you choose, its awesome
- further up of the level, this is me a bit to short here
+ then we have a very impressive designed background here
+ the level is absolutly impressed designed.

RecommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 19:11 (edited 12 Feb 24, 17:40)
For: Acid Reign
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.2

+ lots of new weapons we can find here
(from nuce weapon, to elektro weapons, to firecocktail is my fav)
- i would find it better if the slime would works like a pit
but the jail idea its also good..
+ the firecocktail this makes a lots of fun!!
+ i enjoyed playing this online with my friends
+ the overall concept its a amazing work

Not recommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 18:49 (edited 13 Jan 24, 18:51)
For: Test by [SS]Eragon
Level rating: 2.2
Rating
2.2

- as you can see all warp blocks comes in the same color
(if every testlvl would have a different color then, it would be much better)
+ a few things are not bad here
(There are also things here that turned out well.) ..but not much.
- the music + this tileset + this level = gives a boringness feeling
.. nah i can Not recommended this.

RecommendedReview by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 16:38 (edited 13 Jan 24, 16:48)
For: Cold Beers Beach
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
9.5

+ the idea with the Beer is really great ;D
(in this level we can find a custom pickup item
it makes your rabbit drunken, and give him for a short time a suggarush,
you also gets for a short time more fastfire on your gun, this also works on other weapons like seekers, and missiles
+ the water have a different color
- underwater the background could be different,
+ makes fun to play
+ great fun factor with the new custom item, the Beer ;D

RecommendedQuick Review by FabiAN[NC]

Posted:
13 Jan 2024, 02:41 (edited 13 Jan 24, 02:58)
For: Western Wilderness
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.2

+ i like the way you desinghed it!
+ the level have many interesting desinged parts
+ have many interesting places
- only a few things I miss
+ i really liked it, to play it!! :)
+ the new color scheme for this tileset looks very good!!!!
(the original tileset didn't come with that color, the new color looks new and good.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1287