Review by WaterRabbit

Posted:
4 Dec 2018, 06:08
For: Episode Five: The Fortress of Ruin
Level rating: 9.8
Rating
0.0

I’m not sure if this is just me but I wanted to warn that with JJ2+ the crystal puzzle on devres66.j2l (Deluge) seems to be broken. I activated the three crystals and the door still won’t open. I tested it in non-plus and it worked fine.

RecommendedQuick Review by WaterRabbit

Posted:
26 Nov 2018, 23:23
For: Tomb Rabbit 2 Unfinished
Level rating: 9.4
Rating
9.5

So this is great. But it’s a shame the rest will probably never be finished. I will write a proper review later, but I will say it does some things the original Tomb Rabbit didn’t do, and the variety of areas you go to is a nice change from just exploring tombs. (Not that I didn’t enjoy the tombs!)

RecommendedQuick Review by abgrenv

Posted:
22 Nov 2018, 21:39
For: Jungle 2.0
Level rating: 8.3
Rating
9.0

Awesome, love original level recolors, once I start making the rest of the People Chimp I’m definitely going to use the Jungle Storm tileset. I’ve been looking for a really dark version of the tileset and this will be perfect!

Download recommended! It brings some variation to the original tilesets.

[null]

Review by WaterRabbit

Posted:
22 Nov 2018, 07:14 (edited 2 Dec 18, 07:46)
For: A Generic Single Player Level II
Level rating: 9.4
Rating
0.0

I’m not sure if one of the JJ2+ updates broke anything, but the music doesn’t change for me. Also oddly “neve.s3m” doesn’t play, and I had the same issue with the original levels.

Edit: I opened up the original UMX file in OpenMPT and saved it as an S3M over top of the one in my JJ2 folder and it works now.

Quick Review by cake137

Posted:
21 Nov 2018, 22:00
For: Mission Spaz: Foreseeable Future
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
N/A

how do i play this level it has no .exe file?

[Please don’t rate levels you didn’t play.]

RecommendedReview by Kastorp

Posted:
17 Nov 2018, 12:47
For: The Napoleonic Wars
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

I searched a long time for this upload, as Xobim said, it should be labelled as Single Player… ; I had played it ten years ago, and I found the gameplay uncommon for this game. It left me a lasting memory.

STORY
It is set in a middle of a war (before, and during it) To complete the levels, you have to “talk” with static characters. The story is somewhat consistent, and especially the fact that it takes a central place, although the texts are not that astonishing.

SYSTEM OF INDOORS/OUTDOORS
I found the idea of indoors/outdoors also good: some parts of the level were duplicated, and through a warp, you go in the building. Those warps are above the doors, so you may unwantedly warp in the building.

STRATEGY
To compare it properly, with elements from other single player games, I would say that the difficulty (enemy placement, strategy) is absent there. There are no ennemies but for two levels, where they are gathered in one place, in groups of 50 or 100, and with Spaz you get rid of them in one movement.

TILESET/VISUALS
The tileset isn’t especially beautiful.

RecommendedQuick Review by Superjazz

Posted:
14 Nov 2018, 20:55
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

I loved every level of it (no pun intended)! It was already awesome to see all the references of other JJ2 players and levels which were executed well. However the way the levels managed to keep a very humoristic/parodic atmosphere through the episode while keeping up to top-notch visual- and gameplay-quality impresses me more than anything.

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
13 Nov 2018, 14:01 (edited 1 Dec 18, 16:50)
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

“A messy masterpiece” is the best way to describe it. 10/10, I enjoyed the heck out of this. Also, Violet should make his own video game someday.

EDIT: I didn’t expect a meme SP pack to bring me on the verge of tears.

RecommendedQuick Review by snzspeed

Posted:
10 Nov 2018, 12:31
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

level 6 made me wow. the save music made me lol.

level is tedium.

RecommendedReview by SmokeNC

Posted:
9 Nov 2018, 00:16
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

Where do I start, this pack is my favorite pack so far.
Here are my notes:

+The storyline is well done, with the levels having many surprises.

+The dialogues are hilarious and very well written. The dialogues and the storyline alone make the levels fun enough and worth playing .

+The levels, dialogues , names and the pack as a whole contain many genius references. You may find ones even in the most meticulous places.

+Many secret areas throughout the pack.

+Awesome new enemies, some of them are funny (I ROFL whenever I see the fat chick) and great bosses.

+Intriguing puzzles, you often have to play with switches, platforms and use physics to your favor, and sometimes think outside the box.

+AMAZING physics! Sometimes you will even wonder if this is JJ2.

+Some of the levels are Metroidvania styled.

+Beautiful looking levels and eyecandy.

+Cool score and enemy killing system.

+Unlike most SP levels, you have infinite lives here, and the enemies you defeated do not come back after death, making it more convenient to go back and forth. This favors less skilled players, the more you retry a certain part, the more you kill, the more it gets easier, the only price you pay is time.

+The levels have unique design, you don’t just stomp enemies and destroy trigger crates.

+Generally speaking, if you find yourself stuck anywhere, try looking around for any passages that you might have missed, or objects/items that you can use, play with the switches/platforms. Trust me, you will eventually always figure out a way :)

+Level 4 is a MASTERPIECE. (Make sure you dedicate at least 2 hours for it, or less… depending on how much you’re better than me I guess)

I don’t have any complaints, with all the eminent effort and details that went to this, I personally don’t see why I would rate it less than 10.
Obviously download recommended, duh xD

RecommendedReview by Seren

Posted:
7 Nov 2018, 02:31 (edited 11 Nov 18, 23:50)
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
0.0

Pros:
+ so far the only thing to be made by Violet this month
+ not sure if I helped write the ferris wheel code but I probably did
+ JJ to the power of an imaginary number
+ no tilebugs regarding Eva’s feet
+ animal husbandry and retention
+ practically no packet loss
+ This is not a test.
+ progressive non-binary enum Gender { Male, Female, Random }
+ edit: the story premise is the second gayest internet ever
+ edit: not a zero think, although by some that could be seen as a disadvantage

Cons:
- horrible
- deviates from the standard
- probably generates a security hole Someone Else will have to fix
- multiple ways to trafton
- the buildings are upside down imo
- only enemies experience orgasms
- now I can’t find my Nintendo Switch anywhere
- idling counter-intuitively not a valid strategy against the first boss
- edit: (-)(-)(-)(-)(-)(-)(-)(-)(-)(-)
- edit: boss dog

Final score: 861/839. Not bad but leaves -22 points of room for improvement.

(Acronym edit. -Trafton)[This review has been edited by Trafton AT]

RecommendedReview by WaterRabbit

Posted:
6 Nov 2018, 05:37 (edited 16 Nov 18, 22:30)
For: Foo Single Player 2/14: Electric Foorufoo: BunnyLover 2018: This Time It's Personnel, Kid
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

This level pack is fantastic and probably one of the best made in a long time. There’s a lot of variety between the different levels, with my favourite being the fourth level (I love Metroidvanias). I thought the gravity reversing balloon was a clever idea, and the raptor claw puts an interesting twist on the physics of JJ2. The new enemies are all really cool, and the restriction on special moves adds an extra bit of challenge.

I had a very good time with this pack and it was actually the first I was able to (mostly) fairly beat. This probably had something to do with having infinite lives. And I only missed some gems on two (three?) levels.

The pack is a great showcase of what can be done with JJ2+ and AngelScript (much like Violet’s earlier Ozymandius) and I would highly recommend everyone to download and play this pack (especially if you haven’t played JJ2 in a long while like me). I look forward to more levels and packs like this (from Violet and other people).

Review by abgrenv

Posted:
5 Nov 2018, 17:34
For: Peoples Chimp
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
0.0

Thanks for the review :)

I was actually hoping you would check it out. Glad you enjoyed it.

I was actually thinking about adding 1-2 more save points, but when playing I realised the level isn’t that long despite the size due to the splitting paths.

I also noticed the tilebug, it’s an inconsistency in the tileset, despite the color transition the blue colored tree is actually a tad bit wider than the brown, so unless the blue color is used for 2 tileblocks it will look uneven.

Anyway, I think I will change it back to the proper brown tree color.

Thank you for the feedback!

RecommendedReview by Bloody_Body

Posted:
5 Nov 2018, 16:34 (edited 5 Nov 18, 16:37)
For: Peoples Chimp
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

This level inherited most of abgrenv’s earlier work’s properties. The level is big, there are splitting paths, gameplay is pretty classic, the tileset is original but author obviously feeled himself free to experiment with it.

At first I wished it had more savepoints, but I guess it’s OK.
The only tilebug I noticed is here:
https://yadi.sk/i/_IzNY89HfKD0wg

RecommendedQuick Review by abgrenv

Posted:
3 Nov 2018, 16:42
For: Improved Medivo
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
10.0

Love tileset recolors
I’ll definitely use one of these if I ever want Medivo levels

RecommendedQuick Review by Kwasiu

Posted:
6 Oct 2018, 21:03
For: Between Fire and Steel (Medivo remix)
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

Fantastic remix!

RecommendedReview by SmokeNC

Posted:
6 Oct 2018, 01:19
For: Yamato Castle
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

Yamato castle uses tiles from Captain Claw (and used excellently) which is an instant plus for me.
The music in the level is also great.
You have to collect 20 coins spread throughout the map and submit them to the judges in order to win. Took me some time but I eventually won (around 1 week before this review). The coin counter at the left upper corner is a nice addition. Carrots/food/gems were well placed throughout the map (thank god for that ICE PU).

Overall the layout and areas were fun and the visuals were a pleasure. The level isn’t easy but it’s worth giving it a shot.

But I’d like to list some WTF moments:

-There was only one coin which was inside a wall (next to a spinning spikeball) which I couldn’t figure out how to get without jjnowall/jjfly.

-At some point you will become a frog and the way to unfrog back (figured out after a couple of deaths) is to fall into a PIT that warps you to eva. What makes it worse is that the arrows (in the area where you play as a frog) point to the OPPOSITE direction of where that pit is located.

-There were 2 coins which when you got close to them the screen would show an IMMENSE annoying light

-I thought the sucker on top of the switch puzzle had anything to do with it, like having a trigger in it or something (the raven out there made it even worse)

-the boss is kinda WTF, mainly because of the camera, but I don’t blame a 10 year old level

RecommendedReview by Anubis

Posted:
23 Sep 2018, 23:42
For: Nidavellir
Level rating: 7.9
Rating
8.3

Gameplay:

This map seems more suitable for 3v3 than 2v2, due to the high vertical height where there’s a lot of space to hide. The layout is based on different horizontal levels with platforms where you can usually reach a higher level using the springs.

Bases can be reached from the top, middle or bottom (a tube containing a +1 carrot). The base can be camped by hanging on the vines above it. Due to the choice of power-ups in the map the bases are not too campy, though. The most useful ammo for camping the area, seekers (on base) and bouncers (from the vines), both come without a power-up. There are pepper and rf power-ups in the bottom corners, and toaster at the top instead. Pepper and rf are especially useful in the open area at the top. While it may seem counterintuitive at first to position rf and pepper/fireball symmetrically to each other, as rf is generally stronger, fireball can be really useful for blocking the way from bases at the top, as there’s a position where fireball covers the whole width of the area.

The full NRG carrot can be shot down through a bridge thanks to a script. It can be shot down either directly or through the walls around it, for which there are electro blaster pickups near the walls. The walls are quite fast to reach from the bases. Any player could die, get some electro blaster pickups and shoot the carrot down within three seconds. Gameplay here would therefore revolve around controlling when exactly the carrot spawns, and/or always having a player around to check if the carrot is up or down.

Eyecandy:

The eyecandy makes use of the good variety Lava Fortress has to offer, from wall columns and industrial background layers, to lava waterfalls, natural or flowing from pipes, or having pipes underneath them to collect the lava! The waterfall at 48,83 seems to be coming from behind a wall, but its origin is somehow missing from the background at the top. The rest all looks quite logical (and fireball pu in a pool of lava, how cool is that!) The vines are a bit difficult to notice due to their color in the tileset, but luckily they are only used at quite an obvious place above the bases.

Summary:

Recommended level for 3v3, should be played with /fireball on. A non-campy map without many overpowered power-ups, and a very interesting carrot area.

Review by SmokeNC

Posted:
18 Sep 2018, 19:24
For: Psychomondus
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
0.0

The level seems fun at first, but I don’t like grinding and turning to a frog over and over, I didn’t like this as much as I like Stone Abyss levels, but i guess it’s just not my type.

RecommendedQuick Review by SmokeNC

Posted:
18 Sep 2018, 19:11
For: EmeraldusV
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
9.5

I like every single bit of this level. The enemies are cool, the sonic loop stuff and the stuff that you cling to blew my mind. Not to mention the amazing boss with some cool physics. Tileset was great too. background might have been slightly distracting (it’s damn good) but it wasn’t a problem. One of my favorite single player levels ever.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1223