Quick Review by dragusela768943

Posted:
21 Nov 2020, 13:42
For: Diamondus 3
Level rating: 6.0
Rating
6.0

Golden Diamondus!

Review by dragusela768943

Posted:
14 Nov 2020, 17:00
For: Weed Jungle
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

Please inform me if there are any bugs

Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
9 Nov 2020, 19:25
For: DiamClassics
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

We forget, sometimes, how abnormally complicated level design for Jazz 2 has to be. Both the visible resolution and the characters’ mobility so far outstrip most other platformer games’ that there are few available analogs. What suffices as a perfectly functional, even engaging, layout or visual in another game is skipped over here in a matter of moments. Worse, even the official maps shipped with the game fail to perfectly illustrate the way forwards, having themselves been designed for a smaller resolution and more limited moveset.

All of which is to say: yes, these levels can be skipped through quickly, but it’s not really their fault.

Focusing on the moment to moment level design, there’s a lot of good work here. The ground goes up and down a lot as you progress through the maps, both using slopes and using tiny cliffs, and even some springs make their appearance. A few areas place pickups just off the main path, encouraging the player to explore. Vines and trees give the levels even more variety, including a memorable section in level 2 crossing a pit of spikes using multiple vines. Everything you see here is much more complicated and interesting than you could find in many other 2D platformer video games.

But it continues to run into this problem sometimes.

Now, to be clear, this pack is much, much less easily skippable than the author’s previous works. The author is clearly improving, which is great. Even that video is a bit unfair… levels 1 and 2 are much more interesting than level 3, and also put more work into avoiding that problem, even using the presence of flying enemies to prevent the player from easily sticking to the skies. But it’s still a problem. For all that the levels are getting more interesting to look at, the enemies more carefully placed, the floors less flat… there are still a lot of places where the player has the option of speeding through between enemies and ignoring all of that.

So there are two sorts of recourses:
  • Make it harder for the player to skip things. Level 1 does this the most; level 3 does this the least. Ceilings are a valid approach, but the main thing that Jazz 2 does that many other games do not is have the player change direction over the course of each level. The overall progression is still always from the left side of the map to the right side, but in the meantime, there are lots of times when the player has to go up, or down, or even left. Level gimmicks, such as springs and blocks, are also simple ways to force the player to pay attention to the level however briefly.
  • Make the player want to take their time. The most obvious way to do this is putting a lot of rewards in the level—food, gems, ammo, birds, shields…—in places that require just a little bit more work to access. How much extra work should be proportional to the reward… a few red gems could require no more than jumping instead of walking, but a powerup can require some actual work to find. Having lots of goodies around helps to keep the player engaged. It’s still possible for the player to ignore those goodies and run for the exit at top speeds, but then it becomes the player’s choice to be speedy—their choice not to pursue the rewards—rather than something the level simply fails to make impossible.

The other, more elusive option is to find a way to focus on speed above all else as the thing the level design should encourage. I don’t think that’s what the author is doing here, because there are a lot of enemies I had to sometimes purposefully avoid, but I don’t want to leave it out as a possibility and suggest the only good way to design levels (or video games) is to slow the player down as much as possible. Perhaps if anything you want a mixture of the two: challenges, then speed, then challenges, then speed. The official levels have a number of automated sections using springs and poles that seem to support this idea, which simultaneously give the player a chance to rest their fingers.

I don’t have much to say about the visuals in these levels. They’re functional and mostly nothing else, with the occasional cute moment like using a tree branch as a bridge instead of using normal floor tiles. This doesn’t look amazing at JJ2’s high resolutions but I think focusing on level design is more important, so I wouldn’t worry about this too much for now.

Overall the first level here is the best and the third is the worst, but none of them are terrible. Clearly a lot of thought was put into keeping each individual area interesting and distinct from the rest. But some more thought still needs to be put toward the bigger picture, focusing on more than putting down one set of tiles after another until the right side of the layer has been reached.

RecommendedQuick Review by FawFul

Posted:
1 Nov 2020, 11:12 (edited 1 Nov 20, 11:14)
For: Frosted Peaks
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.0

A very professional level. This level is thematically at the top of levelmaking. The tileset could have used a little more visual variation, especially for making the middle more organic where the level struggles a little bit showing it’s symmetry. Besides that this a near perfect level. It plays really well too and includes surprising elements.

RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
30 Oct 2020, 12:47 (edited 30 Oct 20, 12:47)
For: Crayon Valley
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

Another solid CTF level from Faw. The various JJ1 sets have been amalgamated together in a nifty way to create a visually interesting level. The pastel colors in the background complement the sprite layer nicely without being distracting. The gameplay and the layout are pretty excellent for the most part, with a few handy tricks here and there.

RecommendedQuick Review by [CDF]Ninja

Posted:
7 Oct 2020, 11:14
For: Notepad++ AngelScript language support
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

u programed that!?

RecommendedQuick Review by ShakerNL

Posted:
7 Oct 2020, 00:10
For: La test mas larga
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
10.0

Good Test! 10/10

Quick Review by Rysice

Posted:
6 Oct 2020, 11:46 (edited 6 Oct 20, 11:47)
For: Sunrise Temple
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
6.7

- I think that background color is too aggressive,orange trees looks like you can stand on it and that’s kinda confusing.Map feels kinda empty, i think it needs more ammo.Iam wonder why is there spring on 95,37 I didn’t find it useful(mby it is but i just don’t see it).
+I like middle part layout and map idea (mby just change a bit palette?)

RecommendedReview by SmokeNC

Posted:
23 Sep 2020, 19:48
For: Operation: Clone Killer 3
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
9.5

Beautiful level with with great gameplay and many hidden secrets!

The first time I played this was in hard mode, it was challenging and the enemies are no joke (God those monkeys). One of the best levels I played for sure. The platforms’ creative effects and the waterfalls add up to the fun. Despite the level being kinda big, it never got repetitive and it kept getting better! It is also well balanced in difficulty: easy is truly easy and hard is truly hard, allowing players with different levels of skill to enjoy it.

Though there were some parts that I have complains about in hard mode:

The last part with the pumpkins: your screen is filled with enemies everywhere, the pumpkins are following you around and your adrenaline is high, you wanna get out of there ASAP, so it was easy to overlook that one special platform at the end that gets you out of there, instead i wasted my time to search for the exit in the water so the water in that part felt useless/misleading. I only noticed that platform when i replayed the level in easy mode (just to realize that i was at the very end when i lost in hard mode).

Some poles flew me straight to collide with enemies with no way to react.

I also agree with slaz about the airboard, I went there the first time without knowing that I needed an airboard to continue and got stuck. (Getting in, grabbing the airboard and getting out was also one of the most challenging parts)

All in all it remains a great level, download recommended!!!!

RecommendedQuick Review by snzspeed

Posted:
21 Sep 2020, 11:00
For: Sunrise Temple
Level rating: 7.8
Rating
9.0

nyt on kuumaa kamaa

RecommendedQuick Review by Angie

Posted:
4 Sep 2020, 03:47
For: Hotel Dream
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
10.0

One of my favourite hotels. A lot of memories came back to me after seeing it on main page ;d.

RecommendedQuick Review by dragusela768943

Posted:
1 Sep 2020, 14:22
For: Frosted Peaks
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.5

I really like this, good job

Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
1 Sep 2020, 12:35 (edited 2 Sep 20, 11:45)
For: Frosted Peaks
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
0.0

The background mountains were drawn by Vnitti, Trideka (yes I paid the $5) and the artist(s) for the game Terraria.

RecommendedQuick Review by Spaz Electro

Posted:
23 Aug 2020, 20:16
For: Devan's Revenge (Intro)
Level rating: 9.6
Rating
10.0

Awesome level, awesome story, awesome gameplay, hope this gets completed, i’ve messed around with it a lot, gj on the level

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
20 Aug 2020, 21:56
For: Operation: Clone Killer 3
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
9.5

While this level looks aesthetically modern and contains many scripted elements, this is still the most vanillish JJ2 level by Violet in a while due to the obvious theme of the contest it was made for. While having enough original quirks, the main course here is a pretty straightforward mostly linear level with a mild focus on exploration. Secrets are traditionally placed in walls and most of them are accesed a bit more intuitively than just by hugging every wall around them. There are also more open secret areas that can often be found by following the path not guided by arrow signs.

Gameplay mostly follows JJ2 standards, although there are a few platforming sections that take more precision by means such as chains of platforms appearing and disappearing one after another quickly. Hence why Violet decided to make these skippable by giving good old Coin Bunny a mere 10 coins. The carrot rockets are also a surprising addition, as well as the water slides. And while not by far among the hardest of JJ2 levels, this one is definitely more difficult than standard JJ2 and a slow & steady traverse is recommended above running & gunning around.

Enemies are mostly slight alterations of original JJ2 enemies, such as faster throwing Monkeys and Fencers standing on airboards so that they can cover more vertical space. There are also Devan and Devil Devan clones that behave like their regular boss variant but take only a few shots to kill. The most original enemies are the swarms of pesky pumpkins that can poison you, forcing you to look around for antidotes if you were unfortunate enough to touch one. Ammo is very balanced, with the more useful types such as Seekers and Toasters being relatively scarce. Most of the powerups and shields are placed within secret areas to make them feel rewarding. Bird cages are less secret yet placed very out of the way.

The only problem I encountered on my first run (on Hard) was that I somehow missed the airboard and jumped straight through the vine area assuming the large carrot platforms were meant to be long-jumped. That all went well until I got stuck below, got confused and died to get back up to the checkpoint. Maybe there is a way to clear it without the airboard but I don’t think it was meant to be.

And finally, the bossfight didn’t feel so special and recycled a bit of the Angelscript example level. It’s still better than ending such a beatifully crafted level without a bossfight. The typical J2C-style credits text near the end of the level got me by surprise though. I also liked how the player grading feature from Bunnylover was ported over, it encourages replayability a lot.

Download highly recommended as long as you enjoy SP levels!

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
19 Aug 2020, 16:14
For: Operation: Clone Killer 3
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
10.0

This will be Carrotus graphics in 2014!

RecommendedQuick Review by dragusela768943

Posted:
15 Aug 2020, 12:10 (edited 15 Aug 20, 19:49 by PurpleJazz)
For: Operation: Clone Killer 3
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
10.0

I’m in awe, I’m amazed by the charm of this level. It’s full of things I’ve never seen in jazz 2 before, devan clones, rocket carrot, tube carrots, etc…
I really like the water in this level, it’s just too white and I can’t see well. However I find this level a masterpiece,
You really amazed me Violet!

[Changed to quick review]

RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
14 Aug 2020, 10:19
For: Bubble gum
Level rating: 7.7
Rating
7.7

I like the atmosphere and the color scheme. I feel like the bricks are a bit mismatched with the tileset though. I also think the weapon balance is slightly off, with Fireball PU outclassing Blaster PU. The layout is decent, although the pit is probably unnecessary, and the hanging wooden beams were a bit obstructive. Overall, cool level though!

RecommendedQuick Review by dragusela768943

Posted:
12 Aug 2020, 10:22 (edited 12 Aug 20, 10:23)
For: Illumination
Level rating: 9.6
Rating
9.5

I’m amazed at your level, it’s a small map but well filled, I really like the fact of the mushrooms that act as springs. I think there aren’t so many ammo in the level, the layout is simple but with this background it makes complicated.
Good job PurpleJazz

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
9 Aug 2020, 20:37
For: Illumination
Level rating: 9.6
Rating
9.7

This level looks gorgeous.
It’s a bit claustrophobic and there are too many pick-ups but, overall, it plays nicely.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1225