RecommendedQuick Review by Superjazz

Posted:
23 Jun 2019, 10:53
For: Isla de Muerta
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
9.7

Very inspirational level by Loon with stunning visuals! The different tileset parts combine here smoothly, giving the level a very unique and epic atmosphere together with the music choice!

RecommendedReview by abgrenv

Posted:
11 Jun 2019, 00:03
For: Puszi-nyúl Pác
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

I really enjoyed this level, reminds me a bit of the original ones but with additional difficulty. Some of the enemy placements were a bit mean (like the 3 monkeys around you when you drop down through the tree log, and the bats hidden in layer 3 tiles and dragons used on the tree branches where blended in with the leafs) but otherwise I think the difficulty was fair.

The level design was pretty cool as well. I really liked the layout especially in the areas with the boulders. My only complaint would be that I think there should be maybe a bit more carrots 2-3 in the level, you don’t get any untill about 40% of the level (though most likely there are more on easy difficulty).

Personally I like the original music for the jungle level, but the final level music is fine I guess.

This gets a definite recommendation, especially for players who like the original levels as far as layout goes (though it’s a bit harder).

Also nice to see someone else from Hungary also making levels.

Not recommendedReview by itstheworm

Posted:
10 May 2019, 17:32 (edited 10 May 19, 17:33)
For: The Beach Megamix
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
N/A

Download link is dead… Can anyone re-upload?

[Don’t rate files you can’t download.]

RecommendedQuick Review by Superjazz

Posted:
22 Apr 2019, 09:48
For: Multi-Layer Level Editor (v2.12)
Level rating: 9.6
Rating
9.5

What can I say, this editor eases a level maker’s job at creating very creative levels by a landslide. At the beginning it may take a short while to get used to if you have been using JCS for years, but after that it really pays back in speed and diversity.

RecommendedReview by SmokeNC

Posted:
12 Apr 2019, 16:15
For: Thermae
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.7

My most favorite level from Jelly Jam so far, the tileset is used creatively to create this ancient roman theme, the lake, the pillars, etc, with nice visuals overall. The level involves a nice mix of water and land, it has two power-ups under water which makes swimming in there fun and worthy. Plus you cannot stay underwater for too long since you have limited oxygen. Personally I’m not a huge fan of the pinball bumpers but I got used to them after a while, I guess.
Overall the level plays and flows well. Download recommended.

RecommendedQuick Review by Ragnarok!

Posted:
5 Apr 2019, 00:36
For: h?
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

does exactly what it needs to…

i can see why SJ said what he said but personally i think it might get a bit spammy. this is great.

thank you violet!

Quick Review by Primpy

Posted:
4 Apr 2019, 20:32
For: Level in which a spiked wall kills you
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
6.7

It’s not particularly good but it’s at least honest.

RecommendedReview by Laro B.

Posted:
12 Mar 2019, 19:02
For: Mt. Cinder
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

Mt. Cinder, the volcano mountain.

Gameplay:
Both CTF bases are on the far edges of the map with the blue base on the left and the red on the right, sitting each on top of the tower. Yes, this level is symmetric, which works quite well in a map like this with the Mt. Cinder in the middle. The volcanic mountain is also where most of the fighting will take place apart from the bases, alot of power-ups sitting on the edges of the mountain or scattered in caves right upon entry. It is where you will also find the full carrot at the bottom where the lava will kill you in an instant aswell as a small carrot at the top of the mountain plus each base also have a small carrot. Flying carrots are also scattered across the exterior of the map, the flying carrots can only be used for ten seconds, but it will also deactivate upon entry of the interiors like the towers or the mountain, which is well thought of to prevent too much flying, and that is important in a map of this size. This makes the map suitable for large public games.

Pickups
This map uses different ammo for some weapons like the bouncers being replaced as stone balls or seekers being replaced as fireworks going straight in the air. The choices of weapons suit the gameplay very well, as the fireworks will be most usefull in taking down players who use the flying carrot. There is plenty of ammo around and spawn quite frequent.

Visuals:
First of, this map is freakin’ huge, and with that, finishing it in just 3 days as stated above is pretty impressive. Despite of being symmetric, you can clearly see how much details PJ put in this map. Also the originality is surely visible, with tilesets like BurningTowers3, Rootalopicus and Volcano(you don’t see these alot nowadays)you can safely state this as a one of a kind map. Everything is amazingly put together while it’s not too distracting while playing, but when standing still you will be amazed by the visuals of this map. The music also fits the level just fine.

Overall this is a unique, very detailed map made for public games of atleast 4vs4 or above. Download recommended? Absolutely.

RecommendedQuick Review by Laro B.

Posted:
12 Mar 2019, 18:15
For: Giant's Steps
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.7

Very nice map, original made tileset. Love it. :)

Not recommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
9 Mar 2019, 09:48 (edited 9 Mar 19, 09:49)
For: Discofever (come and join the time:)
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
6.0

Ow, my eyes.

[Changed to quick review ~PurpleJazz]

RecommendedReview by master sven

Posted:
1 Mar 2019, 10:29 (edited 1 Mar 19, 10:31)
For: Castle of Devan Shell
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
8.5

Gameplay:

Players can choose to move from base to base quickly through the crowded middle area, which is probably most populated together with the base areas themselves.
One can also choose for a safer but longer route from the sides by picking up a fly c and venturing through the top of the map which contains a seeker powerup which most people are too lazy to take. You can also attempt to take a flag from below, which is slightly longer but safer as few people are paying attention to this route, although its easy for them to camp the end of the tube which goes quite slowly.

Eyecandy:

Multiple layers have been filled well with stuff as original as the tileset allows. Quite a lot is happening graphically if you pay attention to it, yet it is not distracting while playing

Originality:

This level is such a relief after all those new mappool maps of last year which had similar pathways and carrot areas. Castle of Devan Shell’s layout is unique, yet it works in games and requires players to think of movements and tactics they never had to think of before. Im really glad you made this so people can be inspired by its originality for making future maps. This map is definitely worth it being played in JDC events and even possibly mappool material.

I tried to adjust my rating a bit to people’s ratings nowadays so it would be more fair, yet Im glad that others already gave you a high grade so I can stick to my principles a bit more.

Final Grade: 8.5

RecommendedReview by Jelly Jam

Posted:
1 Mar 2019, 03:36
For: Castle of Devan Shell
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
9.0

Here we have a level which is not too large for a casual 3vs3 match, but is also not too small to suit events with a greater number of players, though the spawntimes for the latter may not work for everyone, considering that there’s generally not too much ammo piles scattered around the level. But worry not! Those kinds of events are usually hosted with fast spawn settings enabled.

What probably makes this level stand out is the complex layout, which is more or less open at the far ends, and becomes more and more cramped the more you travel to the center of the level where, conveniently, the only carrot is, which makes the center area juicy for some close and chaotic combat. Don’t get too carried away with the chaos though, one wrong move and you may fall into the dreadly pits, so don’t just run around like a headless fly, have some control over your movement!

But don’t let the center make you feel like you should leave the outer areas out, since the outside is where the majority of the powerups are, particularly the seeker powerup at the top middle of the map, which is evenely spaced out and quite isolated and far for both teams, but such a strong and useful powerup is worth the visit to it. That’s a nice little quirk to get some more traffic in the top area, which has a whole new layer of combat since it’s accessable only with the fly carrots. However, with annoying seekers flying around, this path should be used with caution as seekers are even more useful in areal combat, but the huge pillars give the player some nice cover and a chance to utilize the environment against their opponent.

There are also blaster powerups in the walls at the far left and right. Even when you have no ammo you should always try to take one of these just in case. It’s always useful for stuff like fending the flagholder off from the bases. There’s also two electroblaster powerups but those may be less important, unless you happen to be passing by them with really low on electroblaster ammo, you never know.

Lastly, there’s the RF powerup at the bottom middle, quite impossible to miss. This is probably where the most stuff is going on, as it’s right below the carrot and in the fastest route between the bases. If you manage to snag it while it’s there, good for you, it has multiple purposes. You can use its far range to snipe someone flying far away at the top, or use it’s strong blast to get your enemies away from the carrot or bases. There you have it, some might say it’s a bit of an unusual choice of powerups but it’s different from most setups nowadays, and it certainly works with the gameplay.

Now lets get to the aesthetics! The Medivo castle theme is supported nicely with some athmospheric music from Michael van de Boos. The visuals are not at all distracting, so players can easily concentrate on their game, and if they happen to be stationary for a little while, they definitely have a lot to look at, the level is full of fun little details. You can clearly tell apart the cold, foggy blue background from the yellow-orange hot castle in the foreground, the contrast here is simply brilliant, the platforms are clearly visible in motion.

To put it all more simply: great map. An enjoyable, decent CTF level, that’ll surely leave you beside yourself and give you something different from what most popular CTF levels offer nowadays.

RecommendedQuick Review by DennisKainz

Posted:
28 Feb 2019, 18:00
For: Castle of Devan Shell
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
9.0

The flag placement is good, and the level offers some good crossroads. The tileset and music fit nicely, and the scripted eyecandy is a touch of class. I also liked the use of fly carrots and walled in powerups, as well as the Damnation background used as a fresco in the middle of the map.

Quick Review by DennisKainz

Posted:
22 Feb 2019, 10:09
For: Sweet Release
Level rating: 7.2
Rating
7.2

I like the PU only accessible at the beginning, the candy theme and the slippery parts, but I don’t like the tight tunnels, how there are other bouncy PU’s around, how a base is above and one’s below and that layer 8 textured BG moving faster than the sprite layer. I mean… There’s AngelScript, and the jjUseLayer8Speeds function!

Quick Review by DennisKainz

Posted:
22 Feb 2019, 09:59 (edited 22 Feb 19, 10:01)
For: Toxicity
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
6.7

I have a few complaints about this map: – 7th Lava Fall is overused – The map doesn’t offer freedom of movement – The map is too small and the ammunitions are too many
On the other side, I liked the crate with a plethora of ammo, just not in a map this small.
And some people don’t like spikes in battle games. I do, but others don’t.

RecommendedQuick Review by Laro B.

Posted:
21 Feb 2019, 23:58
For: Cold Cavern Classic
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

Love the sets, especially the blue one. Nice remake. :)

RecommendedQuick Review by headshot2018

Posted:
9 Feb 2019, 19:10 (edited 9 Feb 19, 19:10)
For: Chat Indicator
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
9.2

just like on Teeworlds… nice!

Review by cooba

Posted:
21 Jan 2019, 22:56
For: Holiday Hare '18
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
0.0

I’ve only properly played through the first three so far, but I am very impressed, especially by level 2 which I thought really captured the spirit of the original HH98 levels and built upon it, using the 20 years of JCS history that followed.

RecommendedReview by Primpy

Posted:
20 Jan 2019, 13:23 (edited 16 Jun 19, 14:56)
For: Holiday Hare '18
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
9.5

So, there it is, Holiday Hare ’18. After three months of work and around a month of delay, it’s finally here. The pack consists of 7 levels, each being made by a different level maker. Despite my implication in this level pack, I promise that this review isn’t biased and I’ll give my thoughts on each level with the exception of my level, as well as general ideas about the episode.

General information about the episode

The gameplay is mostly well made. The difficulty scaling is done properly and there barely any sections that make you want to say “Bah, that’s bulls**t!”. What I consider to be worth mentioning is that the level pack is very easy. I suggest picking Hard difficulty instead of Medium for a more challenging experience and if you want to play it casually, Medium is the best pick. As for Easy, unless you’re very inexperienced with video games (or with JJ2), don’t even consider it. Visually, the level pack is mostly pleasant to the eye, with no noticeable tile bugs. The music is well chosen, a bad loop or two here and there but nothing too irritating.

Level 1: “Penguinvasion” by Jelly Jam – Rating: 9.7/10

As much as I’m trying to give this level a lower rating, I can’t bring myself to do so. It’s a perfect introduction to what the level pack has to offer, teaching the player all the mechanics and shenanigans they’ll have to deal with throughout the episode. The visuals are gorgeous… until the later part of the level. Jelly’s idea to add the “Club Penguin” section was very nice but the tileset chosen for it was not really the best. The music chosen is also very fitting.

Level 2: “Tipplenborough” by PT32 – Rating: 8.5/10

“Tipplenborough” takes an interesting approach to designing a JJ2 level. Unlike most of the levels, it’s very open and lets the player choose whatever path they want to. This, however, makes exploring for gems and coins a little bit tedious. Due to its massive size, secrets are a bit of a hassle to find and backtracking to explore another path can be a bit tedious, if not impossible (it’s no longer possible to backtrack at some points in the level, such as the ending part). Most of the secrets are very well hidden, to the point that you can replay the level a bunch of times and still be unsure where to find some of them. If you want to get the proper bonus for this level, you’ll have to explore a lot to find enough coins for it since they are, again, well hidden. The level is still interesting regardless of its flaws. The visuals are nice but there are some tile bugs scattered around the level. The music chosen for this level is very fitting.

Level 3: “Cold Paw” by Archon (w/ Slaz) – Rating: 9/10

There isn’t much to say about this level, though that doesn’t mean it’s bad. The level design is nice, although a bit too narrow at times. Well done eyecandy, the music is nice as well. Again, it’s a very nice level but just not as memorable as the others.

Level 5: “Breaking Out” by happygreenfrog – Rating: 9.3/10

HGF’s idea of a level is also very interesting, as “Breaking Out” revolves around collecting a certain amount of coins in order to proceed. This level is the shortest but it certainly is not a bad level. The level design is mostly well done, the visuals are pleasant to the eye and the music is fitting. The boss at the end of the level is the cherry on top, shoutouts to Smoke for making such an interesting boss battle for this level. The boss is a bit too easy on Easy and Medium but a challenge worth considering in Hard and Turbo.

Level 6: “Toyed Badlands” by Slaz – Rating: 9.7/10

“Toyed Badlands” is a perfect blend of open spaces and narrow paths. Not linear in the slightest but at the same time not confusing to explore and getting lost in it is out of the question. The only problem I had with this level is the eyecandy. Don’t get me wrong, the tileset is well chosen, there are no buggy tiles, it has nice animations and all that jazz (pun intended). It’s just that I don’t like how the colors the level uses blend together. This might be very subjective but I don’t think the blue-pink-red of the sprite layer works with the green-mint green of the background. The music is… okay. Neither too fitting, nor completely unrelated to the level’s theme.

Level 7: “Pikitia Ara” by Loon – Rating: 10/10

I consider this level to be the gem of the pack. The gameplay is challenging, as expected for the final regular level of the pack. Just like Slaz’s level, it’s neither too narrow nor too open. The level revolves around spikeballs, which serve for both aesthetics and level design. The enemies are well placed, the pacing is good and the theme of an underground base is conveyed perfectly. The eyecandy is a perfect blend of Carrotus and a shady, metal based bunker. The music chosen fits the level like a glove. Stunning in every single aspect.

Boss: “Frigid Fortress” by PurpleJazz – Rating: 10/10

The perfect way to end such a wintry JJ2 episode. Very well done and nicely scripted final bosses, as well as great visuals and well chosen music. This level consists in two bosses, both of which are fair and challenging (especially in Hard and Turbo). The way of presenting the story of this final level is very nice, properly combining humor with seriousness. Very naisu!

FINAL RATING: 9.5 / 10

TL;DR: Great wintry level pack with nice visuals, gameplay and music. Pick “Hard” instead of “Medium” if you’re looking for a slightly more challenging experience. It’s a must-play for every JJ2 player!

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
11 Jan 2019, 19:20
For: Deserted Diamondus
Level rating: 7.9
Rating
7.5

This is not really a “deserted” Diamondus as it’s full of goodies and nice eyecandy everywhere. I like how the beginning has 2 separate pathways, adding some replay value. It’s also the first level where I saw a turtle shell fall through Destruct Scenery blocks, well that’s something lol. While it’s a fairly standard Diamondus level, the underwater race and little backtrack near the end felt original. Too bad ceiling spikes couldn’t work at the time this level was made, as this clearly wanted to utilize them.

I recommend playing this at least once. It’s better than reading reviews. :P

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1216