Review by MasterMan

Posted:
8 Dec 2019, 15:18
For: Medivo 3
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

Medivo 3 Is not in home coocked because this map is for to edit medivo2 to make next level medivo3

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
28 Nov 2019, 01:07
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 9.3
Rating
9.0

This level manages to stay relatively true to a traditional JJ2 single player level while introducing plenty of new twists on top of it. There are the usual enemies (with a black coat of paint), coins and gems (ehh skulls) to collect, and crates to stomp in order to progress. On the other hand there are sticky swinging platforms on rails, black blobs a.k.a. void that hurts you, rewarding praying spots, bombs that make the ground act like a springcord, and more.

Overall the level design is linear with some secrets and small detours here and there. Not very difficult but enough challenge to keep you alert at all times. The environmental hazards are definitely going to hit you more than the enemies. Especially those blobs placed right above springs were tedious to avoid with proper timing.

The aesthetics stand out with visual props everywhere. The repetitive music is not really a problem since this level took me just a bit longer to complete than the original JJ2 levels.

I did experience some FPS drops to around 15 – 20 in a few places when a lot of void blobs were on the screen at once. Different computers and OSes perform better or worse, but it shows that scripted levels can be CPU heavy at times!

And at last, the boss is original in that it doesn’t have it’s head as the weak spot. Video games quickly make you learn that heads are what you’d hit for the biggest damage. Not here! It’s innovative and makes you use different parts of your brain to beat it. Also, it’s weak spot is also it’s safe spot at times.

Thanks for reading this drunk nighttime review, now go and play this!

RecommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
25 Nov 2019, 20:44
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 9.3
Rating
10.0

Good level design, good mechanics, good aesthetics (if you like pastel goth, that is), good final boss. If you’re into JJ2 Single Player levels, this is a must-play.

Review by MoonBlazE

Posted:
25 Nov 2019, 00:46
For: Solstice
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

That’s a really cool edit of my sets. Really, I absolutely love how you used the mountain from my roller coaster set as a way to add a more rich and detailed background, making it look like you progressed further into the island. And the sunset is gorgeous. Thumbs up.

I wish I could download and try the level but my new computer doesn’t even have a slot for the good old Jazz 2 disc. So I can only comment on the screenshots unfortunately.

Also I don’t know the official site policy on editing sets, but anyone reading this comment has my full permission to update and change my sets as they please.

RecommendedQuick Review by Ragnarok!

Posted:
6 Nov 2019, 14:17 (edited 6 Nov 19, 14:18)
For: Pot Plant
Level rating: 9.1
Rating
9.1

Really fantastic use of one of my favourite tilesets!

Also, pretty fun layout, particularly a fan of the right-hand side.

Definitely suited for higher numbers of players.

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:45
For: Snowland
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
0.0

+ Visually decent in the night version
+ Good selection of weapons and powerups

- Fairly quirky flow, hard to move in smoothly – The vines at the top of the level are mostly on the way, rather than adding more gameplay depth – The buffer tubes and spawn positions are quite evil, it takes a long time to attack the enemy base after dying – The lower levels feel too cramped and it’s easy to hit the ceiling while moving – Some things are a bit unintuitive, such as the floor below the bases which is not one way

/ Seems to be playable in 2v2 and 3v3, but 3v3 might get a bit cramped
/ The day version might be a bit harsh to the eye, the night version works better

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:42
For: Time's up
Level rating: 7.2
Rating
7.0

From contest feedback:

+ Fairly original and inspiring level theme
+ Original choice of weapons
+ Generally solid layout with lots of potential if some improvements were made

- The big white blinking clock in the middle of the level is quite harsh to the eye, even if visually original, it could be less distractive – Some things like the vines blend too much with the level primary colors, makes them hard to see – Powered up roller weapon seems a bit overpowered in this map, it’s flying around literally everywhere – The tiles could be used better in the sprite layer, looks a bit dull visually

/ Playable only in 3v3 apparently

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:40
For: Riparius Ridge
Level rating: 7.9
Rating
0.0

From contest feedback:

+ Inspiring level theme and impressive visuals
+ Uncommon and interesting powerup choices, balanced pickups in general
+ The movable carrot gives more room for strategic play around it

- The flow is rather quirky and hard to get used to, lots of climbing on the sides of the level – Some areas require very precise movement like the middle with blue spring and flipper pads – The top of the level may get a bit campy and generally feels to be a bit isolated from the rest of the level (the level might be a bit too tall in general)

/ Playable in 3v3, not working in 2v2

Not rating it, because we’re in the same level group.

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:39
For: Ragnarok
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
0.0

From contest feedback:

+ Interesting layout with a few influences from other levels
+ Much room for skill moves like RF-climbs
+ Balanced with both open and closed areas

- Fairly peculiar flow, hard to get used to – Feels sometimes a bit cramped with the ceiling scenery, especially in the middle – The top area of the level feels a bit redundant and isolated

/ Playable in 3v3, not sure about 2v2

Not rating it, because we’re in the same level group.

Review by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:35 (edited 3 Nov 19, 11:35)
For: Percolator
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

From contest feedback:

+ Strategic layout and very different from other contest levels
+ Uncommon and balanced weapon/pickup placement

- Huge FPS drops in 8-bit mode for some reason – The level gameplay centers around the fly carrot too much, also because the only way to get rid of it is by going underwater – The level feels unfinished and empty in certain aspects, there isn’t much visuality nor scenery in the level – There is only one exit from the bases unless you have a fly carrot, which makes them quite evil dead ends

/ Seems like it could only work in 3v3, partly due the fly c as well

I’m looking forward to see a more finished version later on. :)

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:33
For: Byzantine Blues
Level rating: 8.2
Rating
0.0

From contest feedback:

+ Good usage of the tileset, visually decent and no distractive elements
+ Solid layout
+ Well placed platforms and ledges that allow diverse skill moves
+ Quite balanced for all characters

- The level seems slightly imbalanced regarding open/closed areas, there is only little room for safe play

/ Works only in 3v3 probably

Not rating it because we’re in the same level group.

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:31 (edited 3 Nov 19, 11:33)
For: Faster-Than-Light Starship
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

From contest feedback:

+ Fairly balanced layout with both open and closed areas
+ Pretty smooth and friendly flow with lots of diversity
+ Lots of room for strategic play and skill moves like RF-climbs
+ Balanced weapon and carrot placement
+ Visually impressive but not too distractive, no harsh colors

- Takes some time to learn completely, some areas are not so easily distinguishable – Some tubes are sometimes hard to move in – Some scenery is hard to distinguish as foreground from sprite layer, like the ceiling tubes at the top of the level

/ Seems playable in 2v2/3v3

RecommendedReview by Superjazz

Posted:
3 Nov 2019, 11:29
For: Galeloch Castle
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
9.5

From contest feedback:

+ Good strategic depth regarding the full carrot, possibility to shoot it down with certain weapons or block access by freezing springs
+ Well balanced weapon and powerup placement
+ No area is too easily campable but there are a few spots for breathing
+ Impressive visually without being too distractive to the eye

- The springs next to bases are sometimes hard to land on

/ Seems playable in both 2v2 and 3v3
/ The level is fairly big in size, but at the same time very open which compensates for it

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:32
For: Ragnarok
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.0

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Visual appeal
+ Very fun & unique Full NRG area

- Some incredibly awkward start positions – The bottom section of the level feels rather disjointed at parts, similarly, some ammo at the bottom feels very time consuming to collect (namely seekers) – Top section feels a bit isolated, I personally didn’t have issues with it in 3v3s, but in 2v2s it felt pretty much a defensive haven

Other comments:
I recommend for 3v3, although I would need to test this further in 2v2 to really endorse it for that too
Some flow (particularly at the bottom) can feel very odd and take a lot adjusting
I do like this map, and have rated it higher than others (that I voted for) because I feel like it has a better finish, but felt it wasn’t as suitable for ladders etc

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:30
For: Percolator
Level rating: N/A
Rating
N/A

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Visual appeal
+ Unique to have usage of fly-C and water mechanic, although I really wish it was used better or didn’t feel like the only way to play the level…
+ I really enjoy the small oneway climb areas towards the middle, fun gameplay-wise

- Bases feel like death traps – I’m not a huge fan of the ammo placement, and it’s even lacking at parts. Toaster feels useless – Whilst I complimented the fly-C/water concept, I think many of the people I played with mentioned wanting copters instead or a limited duration – Level feels empty at parts

Other comments:
I recommend 2v2/3v3
I like the fly-C/water concept on paper, but in practice it’s a bit annoying in CTF!
I think ammo should have been unmovable given the layout
While this level is pretty good from a design perspective, I was unsure on its suitability for the mappool

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:27
For: Galeloch Castle
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
0.0

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Fun Full NRG area
+ Very suitable ammo/PU choices given the layout, and logical ammo placement
+ Interesting to have ice feeling useful in a level with spring trolling (for once)

- Does feel a bit like there’s not much safety in the level, which is great for 2v2 in fairness, but may encourage double hunting (which I personally like, but I know others don’t)

Other comments:
I recommend 2v2/3v3
I found the EC somewhat distracting in-game, but lowdetail really helped, good job building support for ppl who are blind like me!
I’d like if the small C’s were a bit more easily accessible, perhaps a personal nitpick…
Rating omitted since ez-product

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:26
For: Faster-Than-Light Starship
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
0.0

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Fun carrot areas
+ Versatile & fast-paced gameplay
+ Probably most suitable for 2v2 + 3v3, gameplay-wise

- Some minor flow blips (that have potentially been updated):
• shooting gun8 PU seems suboptimal from left-side
• weird suckertube delay at bottom left
• some layer 3 pipes feel a bit bumpier than expected, probably easy to fix

Other comments:
I recommend 2v2/3v3
Rating omitted since ez-product

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:24
For: Snowland
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
6.7

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Fun C area
+ Fun to do tricks with the base through the floor
+ Some useful RF climbs that don’t feel forced
+ Atypical PU scheme

- I don’t like the mixed ammo patches – Ceilings are incredibly bumpy – Some really awkward spawn positions that allow free rushes – Generally very cramped, making gameplay feel quite rigid

Other comments:
I recommend as 2v2/3v3

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:22
For: Byzantine Blues
Level rating: 8.2
Rating
7.3

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Really fun carrot area
+ Atypical PU scheme, and also very rare to see RF PU being a superpower in a level
+ Very fun to DD at bases with flag ;P

- I feel the level is too horizontal, and could be shrunk ever so slightly to reduce reaction times – Sad that you can’t get RF PU with gun9 from below – I think the gameplay is quite rigid on the whole

Other comments:
I recommend 3v3 ONLY

RecommendedReview by Ragnarok!

Posted:
1 Nov 2019, 20:19 (edited 1 Nov 19, 20:22)
For: Time's up
Level rating: 7.2
Rating
7.5

Copy pasted from contest feedback, note this is rated on its suitability for 2v2/3v3

+ Unique PU scheme
+ Layout actually complements roller very nicely
+ Intuitive flow

- The PUs in the top corners feel a tiny bit too isolated – Some strange asymmetry at parts, namely missing oneways at 64,24 – Bumpy ceilings at 74, 14 – Would have preferred slightly more meaningful ammo placement, less gun9 perhaps? Could have also been cool if gun9 was easier to use to shoot the top PUs – I don’t like the use of floatups instead of slopes

Other comments:
I have only tested this in 3v3, but assume it’s too big for 2v2s
Roller PU might seem really clowny for CTF, more a criticism on the gun than the level
Also firework gun seems quite fitting for the layout
For the record, this would have been my 4th vote

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1219