RecommendedQuick Review by FireSworD

Posted:
20 Aug 2017, 05:54
For: Corridors of chaos
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.0

Quite a solid level, which means it’s not very chaotic unfortunately. Bouncer pu doesn’t really offset RF pu with this layout though.

RecommendedReview by Jelly Jam

Posted:
19 Aug 2017, 18:02
For: Borgia's Improved Haunted Test
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

Alrighty! I passed the test, so now it’s reviewing time!

First of all, I love the ambient. The level of detail and the spooky music really make you feel like you’re all alone in a haunted house. And all the stuff written on those graves was seriously creepy (except ‘those’ two :D).

The eyecandy is good and not distracting, the walls and pillars in the foreground did not present much of a problem, at some places they even made the platforming more enjoyable and challenging! Well done with using those lights at places where pillars completely block the platforms out of sight.

The levels are not too hard, even noticed some levels from your previous test. They are fun, the frog level got my attention especially. It’s not too long either, in fact, the moment I felt like doing something else, I got to the win area!

As for the win area I kind of like it more when it’s open and not just put the player in a box full of goodies (yeah i did the same thing once :/). IMO this is the only thing you should change in your future tests.

You could’ve used a script to morph the player, by the way. That way it could’ve been playable in CTF. Ask someone to do it for you and this test is ready for Puke!

So overall yeah I really enjoyed this test! Download recommended!

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
17 Aug 2017, 12:37
For: Yellow Diamond and Inside Level
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
5.7

It’s always nice to see new singleplayer released, and this time by a new author! First things first, I appreciate the choice of community tilesets for a first release, especially with MLOrganic which I don’t think had been used after the initial example level was made.

This pack contains 2 levels, and starts with ‘Yellow Diamond’, using the Lava version of the Diamondus Beta set. Once started, it becomes quickly apparent that these levels don’t make very good use of vertical space, although there are many slopes and vines to jump on. It feels a bit like the original Jazz2 SP levels mixed with horizontal Mario stages.

There are many crate ‘puzzles’ along the way, most of which are quick and easy path-clearing. Yet some crates don’t really make clear what they do and why they’re even there. There’s also many random warps, and some have their Warp Target very close to enemies causing unavoidable hits. Also, the coin warps don’t have their usual Coin Bunny present to tell you it’s a paid warp. A lot of walls are tilebugged with improper edges and eyecandy is quite scarce.

As far as pickups and enemies go, it’s a little all over the place but not too bad. Enemies are a random mix of walking and flying enemies, and as usual the Diamondus level is full of bees. There was enough food to gain 2 Sugar Rushes and gems are plenty with maybe too many Blue Gems.

While the levels are pretty easy, the only real chalenging part was the ‘wind tunnel’ with collapsing ground and many bees.

I recommend this download if you want to have a quick blast at single player again while seeing some rather unusual tilesets. Otherwise, you may better look for other SP levels out there.

And good luck with further JCSing, bpulido!

RecommendedQuick Review by Sir Ementaler

Posted:
10 Aug 2017, 02:00
For: BoredSet
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.2

Likely the best tileset by Disguise, one that actually shows some artistic skill and includes a background that won’t make you feel embarrassed about placing it in your level. Not a whole lot of eyecandy and a few flaws here and there but overall a very decent set. Would be nice if warm weren’t the only tasteful palette though.

RecommendedQuick Review by Sir Ementaler

Posted:
10 Aug 2017, 01:35
For: Prismatic Palace
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
7.7

This is a great, versatile tileset when it comes to basic ground tiles. There are numerous ways to get creative with them. The glaring issue is that it has almost nothing else to offer. It’s as if the LMAT team challenged themselves to create a tileset without inputting any artistic prowess, only basic geometric shapes, CG textures, and gradients.

Quick Review by Sir Ementaler

Posted:
10 Aug 2017, 01:11
For: Nature's Ruins
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
6.7

The decorations available for the ground are masterful and it’s good that there are two types of ground. That’s about it; the perspective on slopes is Picasso levels of messed up, the trees look like a bunch of flat Play-Doh pieces, and the background ones look like they were drawn by somebody who only knows trees from tales.

Quick Review by Sir Ementaler

Posted:
10 Aug 2017, 00:58
For: Stargazer
Level rating: 8.2
Rating
6.0

This tileset is functionally sound but not really attractive. The 3 types of ground all look very similar, and everything has a somewhat generic, unrecognizable texture. One could say it’s possible to tell what things are meant to be thanks to their shape, but not what they’re made of. Other than that, it’s just not a very interesting set.

Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
25 Jul 2017, 02:43
For: Calculator Core
Level rating: 5.0
Rating
5.0

The +1 carrots at the bottom are a bit campy. To add to it, if you go in there, you can get completely rekt because there is no other way out. The FullNRG carrot in CTF is the easiest JCS trick that generaly works well, so I’d recomend sticking to that trick in your next CTF level.

The teams are balanced when it comes to ammo in my opinion. That’s a good thing, of course.

By the way, it’s barely possible to get to the top carrots as Lori, you need RF to do it. But since you tagged this as a 1.23 level I wont let this ruin my rating.

Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
25 Jul 2017, 02:37
For: Flow - JJ2 Episode
Level rating: 5.0
Rating
5.0

First of all I’d like to mention how I’m doing a review exchange thingy, so I apoligise to EchoNox for this low rating even though he gave my level a high rating, which I thank him for.

Well first of all, the whole .j2e thing doesnt work for me. I have labrat3 but I dont see why would that be the first level of the episode since:

1. It’s not your level
2. It cycled to another level completely unrelated to this level pack (labrat1n).

Maybe it’s just my problem but I still dont see how to get past it.

Alright, the levels. Not sure how to properly review a single player level since Inever released one and all of my VIP single player levels are gone and they sucked.

Well, the levels are too short. It’s just ordinary lineral gameplay with a bunch of enemies on your way and much more pickups, there are so many pickups I was equiped for the rest of the pack even after level 1.

At least you made another path in level 1 that leads you to a gold coin, so you have to kill enemies on your way, making the gold coin a reward (the bouns warp needs 5 coins). This is a nice start. So, reward the player for going off the main path in future levels somehow.

The boss arenas are too big for bosses that are slow and easy to beat, you should’ve made a lot smaller arenas with maybe hurt events here and there to make the boss fights more instense, but here even the blaster ammo is enough.

Oh and Diamondust and diamondustN are basicly the same level with a diffirent tileset palette, i dont see why would they be in the same episode. Well actually after passing diamondust and cycling to diamondustN it took me a minute to realise i was playing the same level.

The levels dont have any tilebugs it seems, however, they barely have any eyecandy. It’s simply boring, you could’ve at least put something in layer7.

Well this is all I can think of ATM. I dont want to be mean or anything, but it’s just the way it is! Try looking up to some popular single player releases on J2O and find some cool stuff could try to use! No one got a perfect 10 out of their first try! Please dont let this rating stop you from JCSing!

Quick Review by EchoNox

Posted:
24 Jul 2017, 17:59
For: Corridors of chaos
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.7

i PLAYED THIS AND IT WAS WAY BETTER THAN I TOUGHT!!

Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
24 Jul 2017, 16:11 (edited 24 Jul 17, 16:12)
For: Borgia's Original Test Pack
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

Download things before you review them :/
But it is cool. Here you can clearly see Borgia’s improvement from 2014 to 2016, at least in terms of eyecandy! I already played all of these tests before.

RecommendedQuick Review by EchoNox

Posted:
24 Jul 2017, 14:19
For: Molten Core
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
8.7

This is Good!

Review by EchoNox

Posted:
24 Jul 2017, 14:14
For: Borgia's Original Test Pack
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

This is cool!

RecommendedQuick Review by DawidPL

Posted:
29 Jun 2017, 17:23
For: Arcane Weapons
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

Amazing mod, PJ!

RecommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
28 Jun 2017, 23:31
For: Multi-Layer Level Editor (v2.5)
Level rating: 9.2
Rating
10.0

Way easier to use than JCS and the features are more than useful.

Quick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
16 Jun 2017, 13:10 (edited 17 Jun 17, 02:58 by cooba)
For: Polaris
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
0.0

That laser blaster reminds me of System Shock 2 game. The colors of Laser Blaster are the same as in SS2’s Laser Pistol: blue(normal mode) Red (over mode)

By the way 10/10 download recommended

[Please rate the level and not a custom weapon it features. ~cooba]

RecommendedQuick Review by FireSworD

Posted:
14 Jun 2017, 15:06 (edited 14 Jun 17, 15:18)
For: Forgotten Civilisation
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
8.8

I didn’t forget about this civilization, because it balances game-play between flag carriers and non-flag carriers well in my opinion. The level is vertically oriented, but the top areas aren’t too advantageous in my opinion. The eye-candy looks nice, but with the exception of the bottom, it’s mostly the same idea throughout the level.

RecommendedQuick Review by ForthRightMC

Posted:
14 Jun 2017, 14:14
For: gsaurus lost levels
Level rating: 7.6
Rating
9.2

I think these levels are some good, with the amnesia error fixed in new JJ2+, I can play them without errors. 9.2/10 is perfect.

Download recommended

By the way, I’m translating text of levels to english using Google Translator.

Not recommendedReview by PurpleJazz

Posted:
13 Jun 2017, 19:06
For: Nivo
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

I’m really not a fan of the infinite ammo script in lieu of traditional ammo pickups, because there’s literally no reason not to fire seekers like a madman at every moment; IGS levels at least encourage smart ammo use to an extent. The regular version is pretty much unplayable for this reason unless you enjoy complete and utter chaos. The Street Fight version doesn’t have this issue of course, though the upper part looks very campy.

RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
12 Jun 2017, 14:09
For: Forest Swamp
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

While the EC tends to look slightly contrived in places, most likely as a result of FS’ desire to use every tile in the set, it has a solid overall look and a strong atmosphere that lives up to the theme of the tileset. Gameplaywise it’s perhaps not as tight as ARF but is nonetheless well made and suitable for games of up to 16 players.