RecommendedReview by Merek

Posted:
6 Apr 2020, 20:27
For: JJ1MOD
Level rating: 4.5
Rating
4.5

To anyone using this in the future: if editing the bmp files this tool extracts in Photoshop, Photoshop will save them with four trailing hex 00s at the end. I have no idea why it does this, but it alters the file size and causes everything to be offset by 1 pixel, causing some nasty streaking. If you want to use this tool and Photoshop, make your edits to the bmp, save it, and then open it in a hex editor like HxD and delete (not clear, but delete) the last four zeros from the file. You can then repack them to BLOCKS.000 or whatever without issue.

Other than that, very useful too, has been fun making some tweaks to the tilesets.

RecommendedQuick Review by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
6 Apr 2020, 14:59
For: Custom Weapons (MLLE-compatible)
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

WTF can l say about this pack of weapons ?!
They are the coolest weapons I have ever seen!

The best weapon of them is the roller :D

RecommendedQuick Review by Ragnarok!

Posted:
3 Apr 2020, 18:37 (edited 3 Apr 20, 18:42)
For: Tubelectric from Jazz 1
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

a perfect 10

highly recommended by someone who has used the NOKA conversion for several completed levels in the past, and kicking himself that this didnt exist back then

RecommendedQuick Review by Rysice

Posted:
26 Mar 2020, 18:29
For: THE COOLEST COOP LEVELS #1
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
5.7

+ ams02 I very like this bonus level,its original.
+I like how you use butterflies and spin ammo

-am10 and am12 are full of bugs..i was afraid to touch wall because there was so many places when it makes you stuck in wall
-mby more eyecandy ? (Iam not sure if square rain in am8 is good idea and bubbles in am12 )
-its not coop

not bad ;)

RecommendedQuick Review by BlancaBee

Posted:
25 Mar 2020, 17:09
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 8.1
Rating
10.0

Absolute must play.
The sound, the visuals and the scripts all make it an absolute 10!
It was simply the best JJ2 experience I’ve had. If you’re reading this, don’t hesitate and play it now!

RecommendedReview by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
20 Mar 2020, 16:24
For: Weapon Mega
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.0

Cool weapons I can use them in my server and they are actually made in AngleScript
So .. I want to tell you something about them ..

First the blaster… It is about a fire that when you shoot it, it comes back to you, cool weapon

Second thr bouncer, it is like a digging machine that when you shoot it, it digs the ground, and it becomes unseen that makes the player have a hit without knowing why he had this hit. However, It is cool to make in a server.

Third the freezer, it looks like a flame weapon but freezes instead of toasting the player, but the bug in it that it finishes quickly, but I forgive this detail.

Forth the seeker, it looks like an electric fire that goes to a certain area then it increases in length if speed is fast.

Then the RF, it goes from two directions on left and right, so the player has known how to shoot to down.

Now the toaster is changed to a ring of bombs, that is cool for throwing the player away instead of running away from him.

The TNT, is changed to an area like the hurt event in JCS. Like a spike thing or another…

Now the fireball, it becomes multiple when comes to a certain area (like 1—2——4)

Finally the electro blaster (And it is the best one if them)
It is about a fire of electricity that goes up then goes down like a rocket, it is cool that you can fight of a masked wall.

So final rating is 8.0

DOWNLOAD IS RECOMMENDED!!!

Review by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
17 Mar 2020, 10:58 (edited 29 Mar 20, 14:49)
For: Multi-Layer Level Editor (v2.14)
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
5.2

Ok…First of all … This editor is actually weird and now I am going to talk about the details of this editor. (Bugs “-” and goods”+”)
+ It is good for paletting and drawing new tiles and editing tileset.
+ Good for making a j2as without opening the program, but you have to set tge default program first. – WTF, Fps is very low because of the feautures?
So I can’t rate this program 10.0. – Paletting is very difficult that you do to change the tileset color, I may ruin it, so I advise you to be much better in coloring the tileset.
+ You can search for events without hacing a long time while looking for an event.
+ Adding new layers is very good, that you can make about 100 layer with a forest and natural areas, makes the level good.
+ Instead of typing a number, you can check a box, or chossing the type easily. – This program needs framework.net 4.8 to work, firstly the program didn’t save changes, but when I tried to install framework.net before, it was not supported for opering my system, so I had to change my windows.
+ And finally I see a jazz jackrabbit 2 editor that can browse for music and play it while making a level, so it won’t be nassecery to know the music file name correctly, by typing the first two letters of the file, it appeares completely.
+ Yeah, and the four texturesare now set! thanks.
+ Flipping vertically is very good.
+ I can name this editor to a tileset creator! Because of editing tiles and adding new tilesets!

Rating is 5.2. But if fps improvs, I will rate it 10.0, I promise ;)

Review by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
16 Mar 2020, 09:02 (edited 18 Mar 20, 10:59)
For: THE COOLEST COOP LEVELS #1
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
0.0

@VioletCLM : First of all,, If we play single player with these events you require me to do,we won’t be able to finish these lvls.

Then, about trigger crates I didn’t have ideas to make trigger crates (however, I made some in these lvls), After that, ‘‘Multi-Player” events are not recommended to make in these lvls.

Many Coins Warps I meant this beacuse it encourages you to look for coins, not to get it as a speedrun, Now, All of layers 7,6 and 5 are only move horizontally beacuse the lvl may be ruined if I make them move vertically.

About Ammo, I put one type per level so the player can have much ammo in the next levels, and I put the powerup of each ammo type and I made some ammo rings, I hope you liked them.

These are all your questions. Have more? Ask me.

Quick Review by Ðx

Posted:
12 Mar 2020, 20:39
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 8.1
Rating
1.5

i think its boring but fine

RecommendedQuick Review by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
9 Mar 2020, 09:22
For: Ozymandius
Level rating: 9.8
Rating
9.5

This level is pretty cool and I like it….Looks like an Egyptian level that is made by another tool :D

Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
4 Mar 2020, 21:26
For: THE COOLEST COOP LEVELS #1
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
0.0

It’s unclear what makes these “coop” levels. They’re fully linear…the path never splits in two like you might imagine. Not a lot of high jumps where one player should stand on another’s head. No trigger crates or anything are available to encourage one player to help another. No multiplayer-only events that I notice. Many coin warps (one in almost every level), which are one of the least coop-friendly mechanics available.

But they’re solidly… okay. The graphics are more or less functional, and the layouts are mostly horizontal but do have moments of vertical movement that force you to pay attention to the level instead of holding the run key. Enemies are varied and generally appropriate to their tilesets; only butterflies are seemingly omnipresent but they’re so rare in levels outside this pack that I’m inclined to forgive this detail.

Ammo is pretty good too, despite the occasional misstep of placing powerups (ostensibly inside coin warp areas) where they may be shot by electroblaster. This pack adapts a common theme from early (think J2C-era) single player packs where it pretends the player has never played JJ2 before and so all mechanics need to be reintroduced, from ammo types to gems and savepoints… this conceit has never once made the least bit of sense, of course, but it’s cute enough, despite the occasional english issue. Even after all the weapons have been introduced, the pack mostly fits each level with only one weapon type, an interesting design holdover from the official JJ2 levels which maybe doesn’t get used as often by other people. There’s a surprisingly good effort to match enemies and layouts to the weapons most useful against them.

I can’t claim this pack does anything memorable. The levels are disconnected with not even a hint of storyline to justify the random assortment of tilesets, and the layouts are never spectacular. But there’s a lot of effort on display here nonetheless. Many of the levels do genuinely have features unique to them, attempting to match the design to the graphics. That kind of variety is a great thing. This is promising. THE COOLEST COOP LEVELS #2 will surely be better still.

Not recommendedReview by Violet CLM

Posted:
1 Mar 2020, 04:53
For: The extreme bosses battles
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

I wanted this to be a featureless boss rush so I’d have had nothing to say about it, but unfortunately this pack does grow gradually more ambitious as it progresses, but never in a good way. Besides the obvious technical issues—several custom tilesets aren’t included in the zip, and the rocket turtle level is completely unplayable due to broken masking preventing you from entering the arena—there’s a lack of interesting content. Boss rushes are always a weird video game concept, but they make the most sense in games that aren’t very moddable, where it would normally take a lot of time to encounter all the bosses because you have to play the entire game linearly to do so. This isn’t the case with JJ2, which has custom single players dating back to 1998, meaning there are innumerable chances to fight the various bosses already out there, most of them more interesting than this. The bosses are complete experiences on their own but this pack doesn’t add much to them—Uterus is underwater, the robot boss has some oddly masked flames, Devan has a whole bunch of respawning enemies, but nothing mindblowing. The graphics are likewise rudimentary at best. The only real appeal of this pack is the bosses themselves—depending on any given player’s personal opinions of them—but the thing is, that’s the part of the pack that you played the least role in creating. What moments there are of non-boss gameplay are largely unnecessary pickup collection or shooting through various destructible blocks. Again, there’s nothing new here, and what there is isn’t executed with any great aplomb. To make successful single player levels, lean less heavily on giant chunks of other people’s preexisting effort and focus more on what you can uniquely bring to the table with your own work.

Review by L853RCHU

Posted:
25 Feb 2020, 05:42
For: L853RCHU's First Test
Level rating: 4.0
Rating
0.0

Looking back at this 6 years later, I have to agree with ShadowGPW here. Yes it is a test level, for a first level for someone to make it’s eh… I will keep it uploaded for archival reasons. 4/10 from me too.

– L853RCHU (later Pezbeth, later Cirnomiji)

RecommendedReview by Ahmed Magdy

Posted:
6 Feb 2020, 09:34
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 8.1
Rating
0.0

THE COOLEST UPLOAD FOR YOU (And I think Bl18 is nice too)
But some cool tricks and intellegence that changes the game
LOL….That can be anotther game not JJ2+++ only!!
YOU ARE THE KING OF JJ2++!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review by Rysice

Posted:
5 Feb 2020, 21:33 (edited 5 Feb 20, 21:37)
For: The extreme bosses battles
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

[21:21:15] Ahmed: Just post a review!
Uhm ok ok …so , Gj I think ..
Btw why is my name in Credits ?

RecommendedQuick Review by Dodges.

Posted:
31 Jan 2020, 22:42
For: Alien Palace
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.3

Beauty.

RecommendedReview by Violet CLM

Posted:
27 Jan 2020, 04:02
For: Azazilisland
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

Azazilisland starts strong (as shown in the screenshot), placing you in the middle of the level with a bunch of stuff going on in every direction. This is a very non-linear level, so you can go in any direction and still make progress, assuming progress is defined by gradually removing all enemies and pickups from the level. There are a handful of spots in the level that are actually necessary to visit, in order to hit certain trigger zones, but for the most part there’s not a lot distinguishing those spots from any other possible destination, so your best strategy is just to go everywhere and do everything. If there’s an enemy near you, you haven’t gone that direction yet, so give it a try.

There seems to be a bit of an intended order for you to visit the trigger zone spots, in that certain of them are initially locked off by trigger scenery blocks that get removed by others. Nothing about this order is explained anywhere in the level, and nor is the end area made very explicit, and yet somehow I found myself visiting everything in exactly the right order (and guessing where the end area was). I don’t know if this is coincidence or level design genius but either way it’s hard to complain about.

This is, then, a level all about exploration, and thankfully there’s a decent variety in areas contained within the level: you’re not just in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike. The most obvious example is that the entire bottom section is a sandy beach, but the thin wooden platforms are more or less common in different parts of the level, and there are a handful of other landmarks to help you figure out where you are. Additionally, the level is very easy to explore (if you’re willing to do the occasional uppercut/double jump onto a higher wooden platform), preferring lots of small blocks over long tunnels, so it’s always possible to change direction and wander until you find somewhere genuinely new. The only real slipups on the explorability fronts are certain tiles which look like they should be vines but are in fact fully solid, therefore preventing vertical movement between areas.

Indeed, the level is so navigable that there’s even a witch enemy toward the top of the level, with Eva placed a little farther down, more in the middle. If you forget where she is, it’s possible to fall all the way down to the bottom of the level and eventually climb back up to find her again (provided you don’t die along the way). I’m not sure how I feel about the witch’s inclusion overall, but I appreciate that the level makes sure you can get back up to her as a frog… but not much farther up than that.

Besides the one witch, there’s a respectably-sized menagerie of enemies that seem appropriate to the tileset, all managing to pose the occasional, yet never outsized, thread. The level also boasts a solid, yet never excessive, number of carrots and ammo pickups to make your battles that much easier. And ultimately its success lives and dies on the question of how much you enjoy walking around and shooting normal JJ2 enemies, because it gives you a whole lot of opportunities to do that, without any obvious flaws but without any enormous innovation or variety… and there’s nothing wrong with that.

RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
19 Jan 2020, 10:31
For: Isla de Muerta
Level rating: 9.5
Rating
9.8

Absolutely sublime, my favourite level of 2019 by a long shot. I especially love the integration of the Oasis and Aztec2 elements, greatly enriching the Islands tileset. My only slight complaint is I find the bottom area feeling a bit lacking compared to the rest, but if anything that’s a reflection on well designed everything else is.

RecommendedQuick Review by Seren

Posted:
18 Jan 2020, 22:18
For: Candy Goth
Level rating: 8.1
Rating
9.5

Design-wise, Violet’s best level to date. You can clearly tell that this was made by someone familiar with actual game design philosophies. My biggest issue is that the boss fight would be a perfect time to put players’ skills acquired during the level to the test, but none of the cool custom mechanics taught earlier are brought back for it.

RecommendedReview by FawFul

Posted:
18 Jan 2020, 13:29
For: Galeloch Castle
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
8.2

I’ve recently given this level some thought and decided to write a review on it. To start off, this level does not have any glaring negatives. Everything in this level certainly works to an extent. The theming is superb. PJ shows again how good he is setting up a theme, put attention to detail and make a nice polished level around it. The combination of tile elements and colouring gives this level a new and fresh feel. From my experience this is not an easy thing to come up with and to deliver constantly, but PJ shows he can surprise us with each upload.

To me, where there is a surprise in theming and eyecandy, it somewhat lacks in gameplay. It’s certainly not bad, however i’m certain we’ve seen every gameplay element in this level before in another level. That is except for the carrot area. But i’m going to be honest that despite how clever the carrot area is, the risk going into the dead end is too short to really have a big influence on gameplay.

To give a short summary on the rest of the level: We’ve seen the triple pathfloors before, we’ve seen the scale of pathways before, the linearity & width around gap placements in paths, the typical spring on every end of a path to go up. It’s not an understatement that the pathing in this level is extremely simple and likely won’t suprise neither challenge anyones skill. There is nothing to me layout-wise that makes me think like… “Oh, that’s new and clever”.

Of course one could argue that this was the plan all along to keep it simple for players. But in my opinion this is a step down in professional levelmaking as we’ve known. The next step in JCS is also about inventing and you need to be taking some risks. This can be great if it pays off and I think we’re not done reinventing multiplayer levels to a big audience. This layout however is as risk free as it can get. I feel like PJ can be more creative to bring new and fresh gameplay elements to the table.

And even if we look at the entire JJNet mappool levels now, where does this level stand? I hate to say it but it really doesn’t feel like it brings a new choice to the table. If i want my typical open layout flatground level, with somewhat equal scorepacing and expected player skill, then there is a lot to choose from already. I could also go with Facing worlds, Byzantine Blues, Starlit CTF, All Your Base, Gauntlet, Ancient Museum, Dragon eyrie and to some extend Stronghold CTF. These levels also have very limited chokepoints and are quite easy to learn.

To put this into perspective: Right before the clanwar CC vs CDF, many of the old warteam members came back one day before it to train the entire mappool. I remember especially Vegito was hesitant at first learning the new levels, but we came to the fast conclusion that a lot of these in the current pool play the same way. Eventhough we struggled in Butrinti, we liked it a lot more cause it felt like there was room for tactical improvement. We have ideas on how to control that level more optimally and where to position ourselfs around chokepoints. I think it’s nice when a level does that. This is why i rather would have wanted something new to the mappool. This is just hard in a level that doesn’t challenge you to adapt much to the level. Galeloch works, but feels generic with what we’ve seen. To me this could have been a 9+ level if it had great gameplay to go with the theme.

Of course despite this PJ is still a very professional JCSer and this level was made very professionally. I just hope we take the next step in JCS by taking some creative risks and making them work. PJ is one those JCSers who can certainly do that.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1220