RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
4 Aug 2019, 10:34
For: Battle of Waterloo 1835
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

Avant-garde

RecommendedQuick Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
4 Aug 2019, 10:31
For: Rúnheimr
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.7

Small in size, big in fun factor. The various tilesets have been amalgamated together in a very cohesive way that has resulted in a well-realised cave environment. The carrot placement is inventive, especially with the radically differing spawn times. This level went over very well in JDC 30’s ODT #2; we’ll likely be using it again at some point.

Not recommendedQuick Review by Violet CLM

Posted:
3 Aug 2019, 03:02
For: Team Survivor
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

This “new kind of survivor” is fundamentally unplayable. By placing all members of the same team in the same arena, you strip away their incentive to destroy any blocks, because that would only hurt their teammates. The crates to affect the opposing team’s arena help a little, but even destroying all of them is not enough to kill the whole team.

Not recommendedReview by DynamiteK

Posted:
1 Jul 2019, 02:24 (edited 1 Jul 19, 02:30)
For: Holiday Hare '18
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
3.0

I know I’m over half a year late with this review but I only recently came across this sequel. So, I’m glad to see you guys put in the effort to bash out a another mod, hopefully it’s better, right?

LEVEL 01 – Penguin Invasion:

Good Points:

- Compared to last year, Holiday Hare 2018 has a FAR easier opening map. For one thing, It’s not filled with cheap enemy placements, buggy mechanics and horrible checkpoint placements. The extra health mechanic is a great idea and makes you have extra HP as your run continues. Neat touch and finally gives the gems some usage!

- DAMN That’s a gorgeous opening song! I love it!

Bad Points:

- The springs inside the wooden boxes near the big beige gate for some reason disappear which means you can be trapped very easily. [Seems to be fixed after I re-added the mod?]

LEVEL 02 – Tipplenborough:

Good Points:

- Technically not a plus for this map but the extra health boost mechanic DOES carry over fore every level. Good idea. :)

- The music is quite cheery and upbeat. I like it. :)

Bad Points:

- Due to the new health mechanic, carrots are surprisingly hard to come by here which is a problem even on easy. Most of my damage is because of the robot penguins being in awkward spots to hit and the fact their shots bounce.

- Some parts of the map are hard to tell when it should be in the background and the foreground. Some trees can be landed on that look more in the foreground whereas other trees are clearly in the background can also be landed on, this is a little confusing.

- The building in the cave couldn’t be destroyed for the longest time but after like 3-4 attempts it all of a sudden allows me to break down the door? That’s rather buggy…

- The new ghost summoning enemy is quite a pain to deal with, especially since the small ghosts he spawns can move at lightning speeds.

LEVEL 03 – Cold Paw:

Good Points:

- The music is fine but nothing to write home about.

Bad Points:

- Way. Too. Dark. Seriously I can’t see what I am doing half the time.

- The hands that come out of the ground to swipe at you really aren’t easy to tell where they are again due to how dark the level is. This is Jazz 2, Not DooM 2.

LEVEL 04 – Under The Weather:

Good Points:

- The freezing mechanic sure is original and a nice touch to get you to keep pushing on rather than dawdle about.

Bad Points:

- The speed at which the heat gauge decreases is a little harsh if you prefer to stay alive (like on Turbo).

- The bouncy snowman enemies really don’t help with the already wonky enemy designs.

- Music really isn’t this level’s strongest point. Fairly bland.

LEVEL 05 – Breaking Out:

Good Points:

- This is very much a fun map to play. Some enemies are annoying sure but WOW is this a breath of fresh air! If you want a GOOD map in this set, this one so far wins

- The cute small story here is quite adorable. :)

- Great soundtrack to go along with a great stage!

Bad Points:

- Ended with an access violation… GG.

- The miniboss at the end dies rather easily to the toaster…

LEVEL 06 – Toyed Badlands:

Good Points:

- None.

Bad Points:

- Extremely confusing layout!

- The song isn’t bad nor good. Just neutral. :l

LEVEL 07 – Pikitia Ara:

Good Points:

- Nothing.

Bad Points:

- HORRENDOUS map design. I got lost very easily.

- The song for this map really is bland and dull.

- From what I can tell, this map straight up lacks an exit. Good map design.

LEVEL 08 – Frigid Fortress:

Good Points:

- The final boss was fun to defeat and I do love the vortex-y background effect. Neat touch!

Bad Points:

- Unless bosses gain more health on higher difficulties, the final boss goes down fairly easily with a healthy dose of seekers and bouncers aimed straight up.

So the overall review:

I can see that you guys wanted to be more relaxed in your approach with HH’18 and I can see why, not every map pack needs to top the previous. My biggest issue here was how it was presented. This did feel rushed. The levels aren’t super well designed (level 7 comes to mind) and I did struggle quite often, even on easy difficulty. Whilst not as hard as HH’17 in some spots, HH’18 really needs polishing. Maybe add in a few more ammo types earlier on? Bouncers only started appearing by level 5, which is over half-way. Another thing I didn’t understand was, why was the music files separate? Without them the game is just mute.

Do I recommend it? Personally I recommend HH’17 over this and I blammed that one fairly harshly as well. If you want a good christmas map-pack I again recommend HH’98. It’s still better to run through.

3/10

RecommendedQuick Review by Loon

Posted:
26 Jun 2019, 18:08
For: Chasing the Stars
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.7

A really cool map with stunning visuals. Though the only downside of this map is that the main interest of players tend to go to the special tube in the upper part of the map. So it often leads to a clustering of players near that area.
Overall a solid map with a nice layout. Download recommended.

RecommendedQuick Review by Loon

Posted:
26 Jun 2019, 16:02
For: Giant's Steps
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
9.1

The background layers in this map will blow you away, though the sprite eyecandy lacks a bit. The layout seems to work well for larger games. Download recommended.

RecommendedQuick Review by Loon

Posted:
26 Jun 2019, 15:54
For: Relic Valley
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
8.9

A lovely battle map with pleasant eyecandy. The level features traps which instantly kills the player nearby, this is to avoid camping on crucial spots. Though the flow is a bit bumpy sometimes, however this can be adjusted to. The level features some custom weapons which work well for the layout. Download recommended!

RecommendedQuick Review by Loon

Posted:
26 Jun 2019, 15:51
For: Scarwood
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.4

An experimental layout is the basis for this map. Which is well done since it feels balanced. The eyecandy is also nice and not distracting. Though it feels that that Tornado gun offsets the bouncers.
Definitely the best work from Jelly so far in terms of gameplay.
Download recommended!

RecommendedQuick Review by Loon

Posted:
26 Jun 2019, 15:48
For: The Fingers of Icarus
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
8.8

Really solid level by cooba. The theme is well executed and it has some neat features like swinging vines. Default sprites have been replaced to give this level an extra boost towards being different than other maps. The custom weapons this map features are also helping for the given layout. The only downside for this map would be the fps loss. DR!

RecommendedQuick Review by Superjazz

Posted:
23 Jun 2019, 10:53
For: Isla de Muerta
Level rating: 9.7
Rating
9.7

Very inspirational level by Loon with stunning visuals! The different tileset parts combine here smoothly, giving the level a very unique and epic atmosphere together with the music choice!

RecommendedReview by abgrenv

Posted:
11 Jun 2019, 00:03
For: Puszi-nyúl Pác
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.5

I really enjoyed this level, reminds me a bit of the original ones but with additional difficulty. Some of the enemy placements were a bit mean (like the 3 monkeys around you when you drop down through the tree log, and the bats hidden in layer 3 tiles and dragons used on the tree branches where blended in with the leafs) but otherwise I think the difficulty was fair.

The level design was pretty cool as well. I really liked the layout especially in the areas with the boulders. My only complaint would be that I think there should be maybe a bit more carrots 2-3 in the level, you don’t get any untill about 40% of the level (though most likely there are more on easy difficulty).

Personally I like the original music for the jungle level, but the final level music is fine I guess.

This gets a definite recommendation, especially for players who like the original levels as far as layout goes (though it’s a bit harder).

Also nice to see someone else from Hungary also making levels.

Not recommendedReview by itstheworm

Posted:
10 May 2019, 17:32 (edited 10 May 19, 17:33)
For: The Beach Megamix
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
N/A

Download link is dead… Can anyone re-upload?

[Don’t rate files you can’t download.]

RecommendedQuick Review by Superjazz

Posted:
22 Apr 2019, 09:48
For: Multi-Layer Level Editor (v2.13)
Level rating: 9.6
Rating
9.5

What can I say, this editor eases a level maker’s job at creating very creative levels by a landslide. At the beginning it may take a short while to get used to if you have been using JCS for years, but after that it really pays back in speed and diversity.

RecommendedReview by SmokeNC

Posted:
12 Apr 2019, 16:15
For: Thermae
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.7

My most favorite level from Jelly Jam so far, the tileset is used creatively to create this ancient roman theme, the lake, the pillars, etc, with nice visuals overall. The level involves a nice mix of water and land, it has two power-ups under water which makes swimming in there fun and worthy. Plus you cannot stay underwater for too long since you have limited oxygen. Personally I’m not a huge fan of the pinball bumpers but I got used to them after a while, I guess.
Overall the level plays and flows well. Download recommended.

RecommendedQuick Review by Ragnarok!

Posted:
5 Apr 2019, 00:36
For: h?
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

does exactly what it needs to…

i can see why SJ said what he said but personally i think it might get a bit spammy. this is great.

thank you violet!

Quick Review by Primpy

Posted:
4 Apr 2019, 20:32
For: Level in which a spiked wall kills you
Level rating: 6.7
Rating
6.7

It’s not particularly good but it’s at least honest.

RecommendedReview by Laro B.

Posted:
12 Mar 2019, 19:02
For: Mt. Cinder
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

Mt. Cinder, the volcano mountain.

Gameplay:
Both CTF bases are on the far edges of the map with the blue base on the left and the red on the right, sitting each on top of the tower. Yes, this level is symmetric, which works quite well in a map like this with the Mt. Cinder in the middle. The volcanic mountain is also where most of the fighting will take place apart from the bases, alot of power-ups sitting on the edges of the mountain or scattered in caves right upon entry. It is where you will also find the full carrot at the bottom where the lava will kill you in an instant aswell as a small carrot at the top of the mountain plus each base also have a small carrot. Flying carrots are also scattered across the exterior of the map, the flying carrots can only be used for ten seconds, but it will also deactivate upon entry of the interiors like the towers or the mountain, which is well thought of to prevent too much flying, and that is important in a map of this size. This makes the map suitable for large public games.

Pickups
This map uses different ammo for some weapons like the bouncers being replaced as stone balls or seekers being replaced as fireworks going straight in the air. The choices of weapons suit the gameplay very well, as the fireworks will be most usefull in taking down players who use the flying carrot. There is plenty of ammo around and spawn quite frequent.

Visuals:
First of, this map is freakin’ huge, and with that, finishing it in just 3 days as stated above is pretty impressive. Despite of being symmetric, you can clearly see how much details PJ put in this map. Also the originality is surely visible, with tilesets like BurningTowers3, Rootalopicus and Volcano(you don’t see these alot nowadays)you can safely state this as a one of a kind map. Everything is amazingly put together while it’s not too distracting while playing, but when standing still you will be amazed by the visuals of this map. The music also fits the level just fine.

Overall this is a unique, very detailed map made for public games of atleast 4vs4 or above. Download recommended? Absolutely.

RecommendedQuick Review by Laro B.

Posted:
12 Mar 2019, 18:15
For: Giant's Steps
Level rating: 8.9
Rating
8.7

Very nice map, original made tileset. Love it. :)

Not recommendedQuick Review by Primpy

Posted:
9 Mar 2019, 09:48 (edited 9 Mar 19, 09:49)
For: Discofever (come and join the time:)
Level rating: 8.6
Rating
6.0

Ow, my eyes.

[Changed to quick review ~PurpleJazz]

RecommendedReview by master sven

Posted:
1 Mar 2019, 10:29 (edited 1 Mar 19, 10:31)
For: Castle of Devan Shell
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
8.5

Gameplay:

Players can choose to move from base to base quickly through the crowded middle area, which is probably most populated together with the base areas themselves.
One can also choose for a safer but longer route from the sides by picking up a fly c and venturing through the top of the map which contains a seeker powerup which most people are too lazy to take. You can also attempt to take a flag from below, which is slightly longer but safer as few people are paying attention to this route, although its easy for them to camp the end of the tube which goes quite slowly.

Eyecandy:

Multiple layers have been filled well with stuff as original as the tileset allows. Quite a lot is happening graphically if you pay attention to it, yet it is not distracting while playing

Originality:

This level is such a relief after all those new mappool maps of last year which had similar pathways and carrot areas. Castle of Devan Shell’s layout is unique, yet it works in games and requires players to think of movements and tactics they never had to think of before. Im really glad you made this so people can be inspired by its originality for making future maps. This map is definitely worth it being played in JDC events and even possibly mappool material.

I tried to adjust my rating a bit to people’s ratings nowadays so it would be more fair, yet Im glad that others already gave you a high grade so I can stick to my principles a bit more.

Final Grade: 8.5

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1216