RecommendedQuick Review by (SF)-SteFan-BG

Posted:
16 Oct 2017, 17:18 (edited 16 Oct 17, 17:18)
For: PSM and J2B modules player
Level rating: 7.5
Rating
6.5

Wow its true now.
btw there is no Continue for loop. :-/

RecommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
16 Oct 2017, 17:11
For: Level Guide
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
9.0

This mutator is both fun and useful. Works best with a lot of players.

RecommendedQuick Review by stellaantoine

Posted:
5 Oct 2017, 21:19
For: O Brother
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
10.0

Very good!
Good levels and I love the story!

Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
1 Oct 2017, 15:42 (edited 1 Oct 17, 15:43)
For: Flashback REBORN
Level rating: 6.1
Rating
0.0

@(SF)-SteFan-BG: Lol, it’s a series of levels, not just one.

Also, how does “great” match the 4.7 rating?

RecommendedReview by (SF)-SteFan-BG

Posted:
1 Oct 2017, 13:14 (edited 1 Oct 17, 13:15)
For: Flashback REBORN
Level rating: 6.1
Rating
4.7

Great level Mike_1990!

Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
26 Sep 2017, 14:48 (edited 26 Sep 17, 14:51)
For: Teutoburger Wald
Level rating: N/A
Rating
0.0

The Angelscript file doesn’t work.

But so far I like the Roman army references and the music.

Not recommendedQuick Review by P-F

Posted:
22 Sep 2017, 08:19
For: Golem Landscapes
Level rating: 8.3
Rating
5.0

bad level, way too symmetrical; awful gameplay, the routes seam trippy even though there is little to trip on.

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
18 Sep 2017, 11:57
For: Flashback REBORN
Level rating: 6.1
Rating
7.5

As always, it’s nice to see new Single Player releases and this seems like quite a large pack. It’s indeed not the first attempt at a Flashback episode remake. It seems lik the JJ1 shareware episode holds lots of nostalgic value to a lot of players.

Starting off in Diamondus, you’re ironically greeted by a familiar stoned Caterpillar protecting it’s apples, for some weird reason. The first few minutes of gameplay got me in the flow with enough secrets to explore and groups of enemies to hit. Bees were plenty so be prepared for them! I loved the placement of hard to get purple gems (mostly in corners), seems like a homage to EvilMike’s Devres series. I also loved the Text apology of wind events not pushing left.

While the Diamondus levels had minor tilebugs with some foreground, overall eyecandy placement was pretty well done. Sure most walls seem plain, but that’s made up by the placement of foliage in the play area. The Tube levels had some confusing background/foreground at times, making it really hard to see where to progress and where you can stand on. The multiple pathways including some Pinball stuff felt nice, especially the row of tubes near the end with a backtracking warp, encouraging to try them all to see where they lead. Those long 3D Spikeballs were both hilarious and annoying at the same time.

Medivo had a significant difficulty spike. Bats are hidden all over the place and spikeballs swing into you unexpectedly. Luckily there’s some Toaster ammo to get rid of them. The 2nd level focuses a lot on Airboard action which is a nice touch.

The bosses felt quite generic yet their arena designs made up for it a bit. They also have respawning enemies which force at least some movement from the player.

Biggest problems I experienced with these levels are about enemy placement and the lack of weapons in the earlier levels. Not once, but a lot of times I jumped down and got hit by walking enemies. Medivo also had some bats above springs that only muscle-memory a well-timed buttstomp could clear out. For the weapons, RF’s weren’t really useful in Diamondus, so I pushed through with a Blaster until the Tube levels got me at least some handy Bouncers. Spaz seems by far the best option for this pack, though I got through fine as Jazz missing some high placed pickups.

I do recommend this for a good burst of SP gameplay that’s both nostalgic and fresh. I don’t think this is the best Flashback remake out there, yet still a nice addition to play. Hard mode does indeed give some challenges to seasoned players (I lost 3 lives), but the other modes were pretty accessible apart from (maybe) some jumping/pinball stuff in Tubelectric. Well done Mike and good luck with future JCSing!

RecommendedQuick Review by Ragnarok!

Posted:
6 Sep 2017, 01:02
For: Complete Pipe Dream
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.8

The new custom weapon is really nice, and really goes well with the level’s layout. The level’s layout is pretty enjoyable and easy to learn, and offers quite varied gameplay throughout. Also, good call on adding the cobalt version because the original is a bit ‘jarring’ as the description says. Cool look otherwise. Great lev. DL rec!

RecommendedReview by Stijn

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 14:47 (edited 3 Sep 17, 09:51)
For: Kangaroo
Level rating: 9.0
Rating
8.5

This is very nice. The small kangaroos are like a souped-up version of the Fencers, swapping that enemy’s defensive parries with offensive jumps that go surprisingly high and far. They’re not impossible to avoid, but will certainly present a greater challenge than most vanilla enemies, which is a point in their favour as far as I’m concerned. One complaint I do have is that whereas all original enemies have a simple looping idle animation, these kangaroos stand completely still while not attacking. Which is fair enough, as animations are a lot of work, but it does look a bit strange and makes it obvious that these are imported rather than vanilla enemies.

The boss is a bigger and badder version of the small kangaroos, adding extensible boxing gloves to simply jumping at you to attack. The boxing gloves are a nice idea but perhaps a little too hard to avoid, reaching high enough that they’re very hard to not touch even when double-jumping over the kangaroo. This would perhaps be worth balancing a bit more.

But overall this is a very useful addition to the game, giving single player level makers more tools to work with and adding some variety to JJ2’s by now stale palette of enemies.

RecommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 02:14 (edited 2 Sep 17, 02:16)
For: Fauztinville
Level rating: 8.5
Rating
8.8

I like balanced asymmetric CTF maps, this level is one of them. The carrot area has many ways of entering and defending.

Though the blue base is kind of too open for bouncers. It would’ve been cool if it wasn’t like that from both sides.

RecommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 02:11
For: Forest Swamp
Level rating: 8.8
Rating
9.0

The eyecandy and layer work is probably the best part, but it seems to have nice gameplay as well.

Not recommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 02:08
For: Maps
Level rating: 1.0
Rating
1.0

xd sorry but these levels have so many flaws to be battle levels.

RecommendedQuick Review by Jelly Jam

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 01:45 (edited 2 Sep 17, 01:46)
For: Complete Pipe Dream
Level rating: 8.7
Rating
8.6

Overall a good map for events with lots of people. I like the custom weapon and the level generally looks cool, although I like the cobalt version better because I dont like the way the dark purple radios look in front of the light blue background .

RecommendedReview by Jelly Jam

Posted:
2 Sep 2017, 01:39 (edited 2 Sep 17, 01:40)
For: Arcane Weapons
Level rating: 10.0
Rating
10.0

Well the mutator does exactly what it is supposed to so there is no reason not to give this a perfect rating.

I guess I should at least point out how it’s great that none of these weapons copy the standard JJ2 weapons in any way (that I know of) and every weapon is useful in it’s own situation, where they both have pros and cons, making some kind of balance between the weapons.

The animations look cool and I like the small details on the ammo boxes and powerup monitors.

Review by PurpleJazz

Posted:
20 Aug 2017, 08:28
For: Borgia's Improved Haunted Test
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
0.0

Might be worth noting that you need to use TSF to play this test because of the levels that require Lori to pass.

RecommendedQuick Review by FireSworD

Posted:
20 Aug 2017, 04:54
For: Corridors of chaos
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.0

Quite a solid level, which means it’s not very chaotic unfortunately. Bouncer pu doesn’t really offset RF pu with this layout though.

RecommendedReview by Jelly Jam

Posted:
19 Aug 2017, 17:02
For: Borgia's Improved Haunted Test
Level rating: 8.0
Rating
8.0

Alrighty! I passed the test, so now it’s reviewing time!

First of all, I love the ambient. The level of detail and the spooky music really make you feel like you’re all alone in a haunted house. And all the stuff written on those graves was seriously creepy (except ‘those’ two :D).

The eyecandy is good and not distracting, the walls and pillars in the foreground did not present much of a problem, at some places they even made the platforming more enjoyable and challenging! Well done with using those lights at places where pillars completely block the platforms out of sight.

The levels are not too hard, even noticed some levels from your previous test. They are fun, the frog level got my attention especially. It’s not too long either, in fact, the moment I felt like doing something else, I got to the win area!

As for the win area I kind of like it more when it’s open and not just put the player in a box full of goodies (yeah i did the same thing once :/). IMO this is the only thing you should change in your future tests.

You could’ve used a script to morph the player, by the way. That way it could’ve been playable in CTF. Ask someone to do it for you and this test is ready for Puke!

So overall yeah I really enjoyed this test! Download recommended!

RecommendedReview by Slaz

Posted:
17 Aug 2017, 11:37
For: Yellow Diamond and Inside Level
Level rating: 5.7
Rating
5.7

It’s always nice to see new singleplayer released, and this time by a new author! First things first, I appreciate the choice of community tilesets for a first release, especially with MLOrganic which I don’t think had been used after the initial example level was made.

This pack contains 2 levels, and starts with ‘Yellow Diamond’, using the Lava version of the Diamondus Beta set. Once started, it becomes quickly apparent that these levels don’t make very good use of vertical space, although there are many slopes and vines to jump on. It feels a bit like the original Jazz2 SP levels mixed with horizontal Mario stages.

There are many crate ‘puzzles’ along the way, most of which are quick and easy path-clearing. Yet some crates don’t really make clear what they do and why they’re even there. There’s also many random warps, and some have their Warp Target very close to enemies causing unavoidable hits. Also, the coin warps don’t have their usual Coin Bunny present to tell you it’s a paid warp. A lot of walls are tilebugged with improper edges and eyecandy is quite scarce.

As far as pickups and enemies go, it’s a little all over the place but not too bad. Enemies are a random mix of walking and flying enemies, and as usual the Diamondus level is full of bees. There was enough food to gain 2 Sugar Rushes and gems are plenty with maybe too many Blue Gems.

While the levels are pretty easy, the only real chalenging part was the ‘wind tunnel’ with collapsing ground and many bees.

I recommend this download if you want to have a quick blast at single player again while seeing some rather unusual tilesets. Otherwise, you may better look for other SP levels out there.

And good luck with further JCSing, bpulido!

RecommendedQuick Review by Sir Ementaler

Posted:
10 Aug 2017, 01:00
For: BoredSet
Level rating: 8.4
Rating
8.2

Likely the best tileset by Disguise, one that actually shows some artistic skill and includes a background that won’t make you feel embarrassed about placing it in your level. Not a whole lot of eyecandy and a few flaws here and there but overall a very decent set. Would be nice if warm weren’t the only tasteful palette though.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 1214